yes, therapy helps!
Escitalopram: therapeutic uses and side effects

Escitalopram: therapeutic uses and side effects

May 24, 2022

Selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors are the most commonly used antidepressant drugs. In this article we will describe the therapeutic uses and side effects of escitalopram, a very popular SSRI that is especially effective in treating depression and various anxiety disorders because of its precise pharmacological activity.

  • Related article: "Types of psychotropic drugs: uses and side effects"

What is escitalopram?

Escitalopram is an antidepressant drug from the class of selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs). Other commonly used drugs in this group are sertraline, paroxetine, fluoxetine, fluvoxamine and citalopram, a history of escitalopram very similar to this one .


This psychopharmaceutical was created between 1997 and 2001 by the pharmaceutical companies H. Lundbeck A / S and Forest Laboratories, which had previous experience in the production of citalopram. At present it is one of the most used SSRIs.

It is marketed under different names in many countries of the world. Some of the best known are Cipralex, Lexapro, Esertia, Meridian, Ipran and Heipram ; A large number of brands include the term "Escitalopram" in the name of the product.

Unlike other SSRIs, escitalopram has a highly selective effect on serotonin receptors; This means that its interaction with other neurotransmitter receptors is poor. For this reason, some authors attribute it a higher efficacy than other SSRIs in the treatment of severe depression.


  • You may be interested: "The 5 side effects of antidepressants"

Selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs)

SSRIs are the group of antidepressants that is prescribed more frequently. Its effectiveness in treating symptoms of depression and anxiety It is attributed to its agonism of different monoamines (a type of neurotransmitter very relevant): serotonin, noradrenaline and dopamine.

The mechanism of action of SSRIs is not known exactly, although its effects are known to be associated with the blockade of serotonin reuptake, as its name suggests. These drugs increase the availability of serotonin in the synaptic space by limiting its reabsorption by postsynaptic receptors.

Drugs in this class are mainly used to treat symptoms of depression, although many of them have also been shown to be effective in the management of anxiety disorders, such as generalized anxiety disorder or obsessive-compulsive disorder. Fluoxetine is also prescribed in some cases of bulimia nervosa.


What is it for?

Like other SSRIs, escitalopram has been shown to be effective in treating multiple symptoms related to anxiety and depression, although not in all countries its use for the same disorders is approved.

Let's see what they are The most common therapeutic uses of escitalopram .

1. Major depressive disorder

Various scientific investigations have shown the effectiveness of escitalopram in the treatment of major depressive disorder. Some of the additional uses of this drug are associated with alterations biologically related to depression , in particular generalized anxiety disorder, obsessive-compulsive disorder and bulimia nervosa.

  • Related article: "Are there several types of depression?"

2. Generalized anxiety disorder

The therapeutic effects of escitalopram in cases of generalized anxiety disorder are significant and rapid; Clear improvements are detected in the condition of most patients approximately two months after starting treatment.

3. Panic disorder

Panic disorder is characterized by emergence of anguish crisis , during which symptoms such as tachycardia, breathing difficulties and fear of dying arise. It may or may not be accompanied by agoraphobia.

4. Social phobia

In social phobia they appear anxiety and avoidance symptoms associated with social interaction . In addition to antidepressants, anxiolytics are sometimes prescribed, particularly beta-blockers and benzodiazepines.

5. Obsessive-compulsive disorder

Escitalopram and some other SSRIs are also frequently used for the treatment of obsessive-compulsive disorder or OCD, which is diagnosed when obsessive thoughts are present that provoke anxiety and behavioral rituals that aim to reduce discomfort.

Side effects of escitalopram

The most common side effects of escitalopram use are the headache, nausea, diarrhea and insomnia . Other less common ones include the appearance of anxiety, dizziness, fatigue, drowsiness, sweating, dry mouth, constipation, burning and gas from the stomach.

It is also relatively common for them to develop Sexual dysfunctions as a result of treatments with escitalopram and other SSRIs , especially desire decrease, genital anesthesia, arousal disorders, ejaculatory delay and anorgasmia.

Among the serious adverse reactions that may occur with the taking of escitalopram, although they are rare, include seizures, breathing difficulties, changes in heart rhythm and inflammation of the face, hands and ankles.

Precautions and contraindications

Special caution must be exercised when prescribing escitalopram if the person presents heart, respiratory, liver or kidney disorders relevant, as well as if you have suffered manic episodes or epileptic seizures.

In children and adolescents, hostile behaviors and suicide attempts associated with escitalopram appear with a higher frequency than that detected in adults; However, it is also possible for people who are of legal age to produce these reactions, which are usually detectable by monitoring the effects of treatment during the first weeks.

Given that there is some risk of pharmacological tolerance and dependence, the abrupt cessation of consumption may cause the onset of serotonin syndrome characteristic of SSRIs. In this case, the most common symptoms are the appearance of depressive reactions, irritability, sensations of dizziness and akathisia.

Its potential for negative interaction with other substances is low compared to that of other SSRIs, particularly paroxetine. It is advisable to avoid taking escitalopram and antidepressants from the class of monoamine oxidase inhibitors (MAOIs) because of the increased risk of developing serotonin syndrome.

Bibliographic references:

  • General Council of Official Associations of Pharmacists. (2009). Mood disorders: depression and anxiety. Strategic plan for the development of pharmaceutical care'09. [Internet].
  • Morán I, Baldirà J, Morocco L, Nogué S. (2011). Clinical toxicology Madrid: Legal Dissemination and Current Issues S.A.
  • Spanish Agency of Medicines and Health Products. Use of antidepressant medications in Spain during the period (2015). 2000-2013. Drug Utilization Report [Internet] 2015 [Access: August 2, 2018] Available at: //www.aemps.gob.es/medicamentosUsoHumano/observatorio/docs/antidepresivos2000-2013.pdf

Depression Symptoms & Help : Side Effects of Celexa: Anti-Depressants (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Escitalopram: usages thérapeutiques et effets secondaires

Escitalopram: usages thérapeutiques et effets secondaires

Avril 15, 2021

Les inhibiteurs sélectifs de la recapture de la sérotonine sont les antidépresseurs les plus couramment utilisés. Dans cet article, nous allons décrire les utilisations thérapeutiques et les effets secondaires de l'escitalopram, un ISRS très populaire particulièrement efficace dans le traitement de la dépression et de divers troubles anxieux en raison de son activité pharmacologique précise.

  • Article connexe: "Types de médicaments psychotropes: usages et effets secondaires"

Qu'est-ce que l'escitalopram?

L'escitalopram est un antidépresseur de la classe des inhibiteurs sélectifs de la recapture de la sérotonine (ISRS). Les autres médicaments couramment utilisés dans ce groupe sont la sertraline, la paroxétine, la fluoxétine, la fluvoxamine et citalopram, une histoire d'escitalopram très semblable à celle-ci .


Ce médicament psychopharmaceutique a été créé entre 1997 et 2001 par les sociétés pharmaceutiques H. Lundbeck A / S et Forest Laboratories, qui possédaient une expérience dans la production de citalopram. À l'heure actuelle, il s'agit de l'un des ISRS les plus utilisés.

Il est commercialisé sous différents noms dans de nombreux pays du monde. Certains des plus connus sont Cipralex, Lexapro, Esertia, Meridian, Ipran et Heipram ; Un grand nombre de marques incluent le terme "Escitalopram" dans le nom du produit.

Contrairement à d'autres ISRS, l'escitalopram a un effet hautement sélectif sur les récepteurs de la sérotonine; Cela signifie que son interaction avec les autres récepteurs de neurotransmetteurs est faible. Pour cette raison, certains auteurs lui attribuent une efficacité supérieure à celle des autres ISRS dans le traitement de la dépression sévère.


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Les 5 effets secondaires des antidépresseurs"

Inhibiteurs sélectifs de la recapture de la sérotonine (ISRS)

Les ISRS sont le groupe d'antidépresseurs qui est prescrit plus fréquemment. Son efficacité dans le traitement des symptômes de dépression et d'anxiété Il est attribué à son agonisme de différentes monoamines (un type de neurotransmetteur très pertinent): sérotonine, noradrénaline et dopamine.

Le mécanisme d'action des ISRS n'est pas connu avec précision, bien que ses effets soient associés au blocage de la recapture de la sérotonine, comme son nom l'indique. Ces drogues augmenter la disponibilité de la sérotonine dans l'espace synaptique en limitant sa réabsorption par les récepteurs postsynaptiques.

Les médicaments de cette classe sont principalement utilisés pour traiter les symptômes de la dépression, bien que nombre d'entre eux se soient également révélés efficaces dans la gestion des troubles anxieux, tels que le trouble anxieux généralisé ou le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif. La fluoxétine est également prescrite dans certains cas de boulimie nerveuse.


À quoi sert-il?

Comme d'autres ISRS, l'escitalopram s'est révélé efficace pour traiter plusieurs symptômes liés à l'anxiété et à la dépression, bien que son utilisation pour les mêmes troubles ne soit pas approuvée dans tous les pays.

Voyons ce qu'ils sont Les utilisations thérapeutiques les plus courantes de l'escitalopram .

1. Trouble dépressif majeur

Diverses études scientifiques ont montré l'efficacité de l'escitalopram dans le traitement du trouble dépressif majeur. Certaines des utilisations supplémentaires de ce médicament sont associées à altérations biologiquement liées à la dépression , en particulier trouble d'anxiété généralisée, trouble obsessionnel-compulsif et boulimie nerveuse.

  • Article connexe: "Existe-t-il plusieurs types de dépression?"

2. Trouble d'anxiété généralisé

Les effets thérapeutiques de l'escitalopram en cas de trouble d'anxiété généralisée sont importants et rapides; Une nette amélioration est détectée dans l'état de la plupart des patients environ deux mois après le début du traitement.

3. trouble panique

Le trouble panique est caractérisé par émergence de crise d'angoisse , au cours desquels apparaissent des symptômes tels que la tachycardie, les difficultés respiratoires et la peur de la mort. Elle peut être accompagnée ou non d'agoraphobie.

4. Phobie sociale

Dans la phobie sociale, ils apparaissent symptômes d'anxiété et d'évitement associés aux interactions sociales . En plus des antidépresseurs, des anxiolytiques sont parfois prescrits, en particulier des bêta-bloquants et des benzodiazépines.

5. Trouble obsessionnel compulsif

L'escitalopram et certains autres ISRS sont également fréquemment utilisés pour le traitement du trouble obsessionnel-compulsif, ou TOC, diagnostiqué en présence de pensées obsessionnelles provoquant l'anxiété et de rituels comportementaux visant à réduire l'inconfort.

Effets secondaires de l'escitalopram

Les effets indésirables les plus courants de l'utilisation d'escitalopram sont les suivants: mal de tête, nausée, diarrhée et insomnie . L’anxiété, les vertiges, la fatigue, la somnolence, la transpiration, la sécheresse de la bouche, la constipation, les brûlures et les gaz de l’estomac.

Il est également relativement courant qu'ils développent Dysfonctionnements sexuels à la suite de traitements par l'escitalopram et d'autres ISRS , en particulier diminution du désir, anesthésie génitale, troubles de l’excitation, retard de l’éjaculation et anorgasmie.

Parmi les effets indésirables graves pouvant survenir lors de la prise d’escitalopram, bien qu’ils soient rares, figurent les suivants: convulsions, difficultés respiratoires, changements du rythme cardiaque et inflammation du visage, des mains et des chevilles.

Précautions et contre-indications

Une prudence particulière doit être exercée lors de la prescription d'escitalopram si la personne présente troubles cardiaques, respiratoires, hépatiques ou rénaux pertinentes, ainsi que si vous avez eu des épisodes maniaques ou des crises d'épilepsie.

Chez les enfants et les adolescents, les comportements hostiles et les tentatives de suicide associés à l'escitalopram apparaissent avec une fréquence plus élevée que celle détectée chez l'adulte; Cependant, il est également possible pour les personnes majeures de produire ces réactions, qui sont généralement détectables en surveillant les effets du traitement au cours des premières semaines.

Étant donné qu'il existe un risque de tolérance pharmacologique et de dépendance pharmacologique, l'arrêt brutal de la consommation peut provoquer l'apparition du syndrome sérotoninergique caractéristique des ISRS. Dans ce cas, les symptômes les plus courants sont l’apparition de réactions dépressives, une irritabilité, des sensations de vertige et une acathisie.

Son potentiel d'interaction négative avec d'autres substances est faible comparé à celui d'autres ISRS, en particulier la paroxétine. Il est recommandé d'éviter de prendre de l'escitalopram et des antidépresseurs de la classe des inhibiteurs de la monoamine oxydase (IMAO) en raison du risque accru de syndrome de sérotonine.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Conseil général des associations officielles de pharmaciens. (2009). Troubles de l'humeur: dépression et anxiété. Plan stratégique pour le développement des soins pharmaceutiques '09. [Internet].
  • Morán I, Baldirà J, Maroc L, Nogué S. (2011). Toxicologie clinique Madrid: diffusion juridique et questions d'actualité S.A.
  • Agence espagnole des médicaments et des produits de santé. Utilisation d'antidépresseurs en Espagne au cours de la période (2015). 2000-2013. Rapport sur l'utilisation des médicaments [Internet] 2015 [Accès: 2 août 2018] Disponible à l'adresse: http://www.aemps.gob.es/medicamentosUsoHumano/observatorio/docs/antidepresivos2000-2013.pdf.

CLONAFIT PLUS Tablet NRX_Escitaloparm & Clonazepam ( use depression , migraine , Mirgi ) (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes