yes, therapy helps!
Ethical dilemmas: what are they, types and 4 examples that will make you think

Ethical dilemmas: what are they, types and 4 examples that will make you think

September 19, 2022

Ethics and morals are constructs that regulate human behavior and allow their direction to what both individually (ethically) and collectively (morally) is considered acceptable and positive. What is good and what is bad, what we should do and what we should not do, and even what aspects we care about and value are elements derived to a great extent from our ethical system.

But sometimes we encounter situations in which we do not know what to do: choosing A or B has, in both cases, negative and positive repercussions at the same time and the different values ​​that govern us enter into a conflict. We are facing situations that pose ethical dilemmas .


  • Related article: "The 6 differences between ethics and morals"

A part of moral philosophy

It is understood as an ethical dilemma to all that situation in which there is a conflict between the different values ​​of the person and the available options for action . These are situations in which there is going to be a conflict between several values ​​and beliefs, there being no totally good solution and another totally bad option, both having positive and negative repercussions at the same time.

This type of dilemma requires a more or less profound reflection on the alternatives available to us, as well as the value given to the moral values ​​with which we are governed. Often we will have to prioritize one or the other value, both entering into conflict in order to make a decision. They also allow you to see that things are not either white or black, as well as understand people who make decisions other than their own .


The existence of ethical dilemmas existing in real life or possible have generated an interesting branch of study focused on our beliefs and values ​​and how they are managed.

They allow us to see how we reflect and what elements we take into account in order to make a decision. In fact, ethical dilemmas are often used as a mechanism to educate in the use and management of emotions and values , to raise awareness about some aspects or to generate debate and share points of view among people. They are also used in the workplace, specifically in the selection of personnel.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 10 types of values: principles that govern our lives"

Types of ethical dilemmas

The concept of ethical dilemma may seem clear, but the truth is that there is no single type. Depending on different criteria, we can find different types of dilemmas, which may vary in their level of concretion, in the role of the subject to whom it is presented or in its verisimilitude. In this sense, some of the main types are the following:


1. Hypothetical dilemma

These are dilemmas that place the person who is asked in a position where you are confronting a situation that is very unlikely to happen in real life . These are not impossible phenomena, but they are something that the person must face on a regular basis. It is not necessary that the person to whom the dilemma is raised is the protagonist of this, being able to ask what the character should do.

2. Real dilemma

In this case the dilemma raised is about a topic or situation that is close to the people to whom it is posed, either because it refers to an event that has lived or something that can happen relatively easily in their day to day. Although they tend to be less dramatic than the previous ones, can be as much or more distressing for this reason. It is not necessary that the person to whom the dilemma is posed be the protagonist of this, being able to ask what the character should do.

3. Open or solution dilemma

The dilemmas posed as open or solution are all those dilemmas in which a situation and the circumstances that surround it are presented, without the protagonist of the story (who may or may not be the subject to whom it is raised) has yet made any action to solve it. It is intended that the person to whom this dilemma is suggested choose how to proceed in said situation.

4. Closed or analysis dilemma

This type of dilemma is one in which the situation has already been solved in one way or another, having made a decision and carried out a series of specific behaviors. The person to whom the dilemma is posed it must not decide what is done, but value the performance of the protagonist .

5. Complete dilemmas

It is about all those dilemmas in which the person who is asked about the consequences of each of the options that can be taken is informed.

6. Incomplete dilemmas

In these dilemmas the consequences of the decisions made by the protagonist are not made explicit, depending to a large extent on the capacity of the subject to imagine advantages and disadvantages .

Examples of ethical dilemmas

As we have seen there are very different ways of proposing different types of ethical dilemmas, existing thousands of options and being limited only by the imagination itself. We'll see now some examples of ethical dilemmas (some well-known, others less) in order to see how they work.

1. Heinz's dilemma

One of the best-known ethical dilemmas is Heinz's dilemma, proposed by Kohlberg to analyze the level of moral development of children and adolescents (inferred from the type of response, the reason for the given response, the level of obedience to the rules or the relative importance that monitoring may have in some cases). This dilemma is presented as follows:

"Heinz's wife is ill with cancer, and she is expected to die soon if nothing is done to save her. However, there is an experimental drug that doctors believe can save your life: a form of radio that a pharmacist has just discovered. Although this substance is expensive, the pharmacist in question is charging many times more money than it costs to produce it (it costs $ 1,000 and charges 5,000). Heinz collects all the money he can to buy it, counting on the help and loan of money from all his acquaintances, but he only manages to collect 2,500 dollars of the 5,000 that the product costs. Heinz goes to the pharmacist, who tells him that his wife is dying and who asks him to sell the drug at a lower price or to let him pay half later. The pharmacist nevertheless refuses, arguing that he must make money with him since he has been the one who discovered it. That said, Heinz becomes desperate and plans to steal the medicine. "What should I do?

  • Related article: "The moral development theory of Lawrence Kohlberg"

2. Tram dilemma

The dilemma of the tram or the train is another classic between the ethical / moral dilemmas, created by Philippa Foot. In this dilemma, the following is proposed:

"A tram / train runs out of control and at full speed on a track, shortly before a change of needles. On this road there are tied five people, who will die if the train / tram reaches them. You are in front of the change of needles and you have the possibility of causing the vehicle to be diverted to another way, but in which a person is tied. Bypassing the tram / train will cause a person to die. Do not do it, let five die. What would you do?"

This dilemma also has multiple variants, being able to greatly complicate the election . For example, the choice may be that you can stop the tram, but this will derail it with a 50% chance that all its occupants will die (and 50% will be saved). Or you can look for more emotional involvement of the subject: propose that in one of the ways there are five or more people who will die if nothing is done and in the other one, but that this one is the couple, son / daughter, father / mother, brother or relative of the subject. Or a child.

3. Prisoner's dilemma

The prisoner's dilemma is one of the dilemmas used by John Nash to explain incentives and the importance of decisions not only his own but also others to obtain certain results, and cooperation is necessary to achieve the best possible result. Although it is more economic than ethical, it also has implications in this regard .

The prisoner's dilemma proposes the following situation:

"Two alleged criminals are arrested and locked up, unable to communicate with each other, on suspicion of involvement in a bank robbery (or a murder, depending on the version). The penalty for the crime is ten years in prison, but there is no tangible evidence of the involvement of any in these events. The police propose to each one of them the possibility of leaving free if it reveals the other. If the two confess the crime they will each serve six years in prison. If one denies it and the other provides evidence of his involvement, the informant will be released and the other will be sentenced to ten years in prison. If the two deny the facts, both will remain in prison for a year. "

In this case, more than moral we would be talking about the consequences of each act for oneself and for the other and how the result depends not only on our performance but also on that of others.

4. The noble thief

This dilemma raises the following:

"We are witnesses of how a man steals a bank. However, we note that the thief does not keep the money, but gives it to an orphanage that lacks the resources to support the orphans who live in it. We can report the theft, but if we do, it is likely that the money that the orphanage can now use to feed and care for the children has to return the stolen goods. "

On the one hand, the subject has committed a crime, but on the other he has done it for a good cause. What to do? The dilemma can be complicated if it is added, for example, that during the robbery to the bank a person has died.

Sometimes we also have to face them in real life

Some of the ethical dilemmas proposed above are statements that may seem false or a hypothetical elaboration that we will never have to face in real life. But the truth is that in day to day we can get to have to face difficult decisions , with consequences or negative implications, let us take the decision we make.

For example, we may find that an acquaintance performs some unethical act. We can also observe some case of school bullying, or a fight, in which we can intervene in different ways. We are often homeless, and we can face the dilemma of whether or not to help them. Also at a professional level : a judge for example has to decide whether or not to send someone to prison, a doctor can face the decision to artificially lengthen the life of someone or not or who should or should not be operated.

We can observe professional malpractice. And we can also face them even in personal life: we can, for example, be witnesses of infidelities and betrayals towards loved ones or carried out by them, having the conflict of whether to tell them or not.

In conclusion, ethical dilemmas are an element of great interest that puts our convictions and beliefs to the test and they force us to reflect on what motivates us and how we organize and participate in our world. And it is not something abstract and alien to us, but can be part of our day to day.

Bibliographic references:

  • Benítez, L. (2009). Activities and resources to educate in values. Editorial PCC.

Would You Rather: 6 Hardest Moral Dilemmas Ever (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Dilemmes éthiques: quels sont-ils, quels types et 4 exemples qui vous feront réfléchir

Dilemmes éthiques: quels sont-ils, quels types et 4 exemples qui vous feront réfléchir

Mai 21, 2022

L'éthique et la morale sont des constructions qui régulent le comportement humain et permettre leur direction à ce que individuellement (éthiquement) et collectivement (moralement) est considéré comme acceptable et positif. Ce qui est bon et ce qui est mauvais, ce que nous devrions faire et ce que nous ne devrions pas faire, et même quels aspects nous tenons à cœur et à qui nous accordons de la valeur, sont des éléments largement dérivés de notre système éthique.

Mais nous rencontrons parfois des situations dans lesquelles nous ne savons pas quoi faire: choisir A ou B a, dans les deux cas, des répercussions négatives et positives à la fois et les différentes valeurs qui nous gouvernent entrent en conflit. Nous sommes confrontés des situations qui posent des dilemmes éthiques .


  • Article connexe: "Les 6 différences entre éthique et morale"

Une partie de la philosophie morale

Il est compris comme un dilemme éthique pour tout ce qui situation dans laquelle il existe un conflit entre les différentes valeurs de la personne et les options d'action disponibles . Ce sont des situations dans lesquelles il y aura conflit entre plusieurs valeurs et croyances, il n'y aura pas de solution tout à fait satisfaisante et une autre option totalement mauvaise, ayant à la fois des répercussions positives et négatives.

Ce type de dilemme nécessite une réflexion plus ou moins profonde sur les alternatives qui s'offrent à nous, ainsi que sur la valeur accordée aux valeurs morales avec lesquelles nous sommes gouvernés. Nous devrons souvent donner la priorité à l'une ou l'autre valeur, les deux entrant en conflit pour prendre une décision. Ils vous permettent également de voir que les choses ne sont ni blanches ni noires, ainsi que comprendre les personnes qui prennent des décisions autres que les leurs .


L’existence de dilemmes éthiques existant dans la vie réelle ou possible ont généré une branche d’étude intéressante axée sur nos croyances et nos valeurs et leur gestion.

Ils nous permettent de voir comment nous réfléchissons et quels éléments nous prenons en compte pour prendre une décision. En fait, les dilemmes éthiques sont souvent utilisés comme mécanisme pour éduquer à l'utilisation et à la gestion des émotions et des valeurs , pour sensibiliser à certains aspects ou pour susciter un débat et partager les points de vue des gens. Ils sont également utilisés sur le lieu de travail, en particulier pour la sélection du personnel.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 10 types de valeurs: principes qui régissent nos vies"

Types de dilemmes éthiques

Le concept de dilemme éthique peut sembler clair, mais la vérité est qu’il n’ya pas de type unique. En fonction de différents critères, on peut trouver différents types de dilemmes, dont le degré de concrétisation peut varier, dans le rôle du sujet à qui il est présenté ou dans sa vraisemblance. En ce sens, certains des principaux types sont les suivants:


1. Dilemme hypothétique

Ce sont des dilemmes qui placent la personne à qui il est demandé dans une position où vous faites face à une situation très improbable dans la vie réelle . Ce ne sont pas des phénomènes impossibles, mais c’est quelque chose que la personne doit affronter régulièrement. Il n'est pas nécessaire que la personne à qui le dilemme est confronté soit le protagoniste, en mesure de demander ce que le personnage doit faire.

2. Véritable dilemme

Dans ce cas, le dilemme soulevé concerne un sujet ou une situation proche des personnes à qui il est posé, soit parce qu’il fait référence à un événement vécu ou à quelque chose qui peut se produire relativement facilement au quotidien. Bien qu’ils aient tendance à être moins dramatiques que les précédents, peut être aussi ou plus pénible pour cette raison. Il n'est pas nécessaire que la personne à qui le dilemme est posé en soit le protagoniste, en mesure de demander ce que le personnage doit faire.

3. Dilemme ouvert ou de solution

Les dilemmes posés comme ouverts ou résolus sont tous ces dilemmes dans lesquels une situation et les circonstances qui l’entourent sont présentées, sans le protagoniste de l’histoire (qui peut être ou non le sujet à qui elle est posée) action pour le résoudre. Il est prévu que la personne à qui ce dilemme est suggéré choisisse la manière de procéder dans cette situation.

4. Dilemme fermé ou d'analyse

Ce type de dilemme en est un dans lequel la situation a déjà été résolue d’une manière ou d’une autre, ayant pris une décision et mis en œuvre une série de comportements spécifiques. La personne à qui le dilemme est posé il ne doit pas décider ce qui est fait, mais valoriser la performance du protagoniste .

5. Compléter les dilemmes

Il s’agit de tous ces dilemmes dans lesquels la personne à qui on pose des questions sur les conséquences de chacune des options qui peuvent être prises est informée.

6. Dilemmes incomplets

Dans ces dilemmes, les conséquences des décisions prises par le protagoniste ne sont pas explicites, car elles dépendent dans une large mesure de la capacité du sujet à imaginez les avantages et les inconvénients .

Exemples de dilemmes éthiques

Comme nous l’avons vu, il existe différentes manières de proposer différents types de dilemmes éthiques, des milliers d’options existantes et une limitation limitée à l’imagination. Ensuite nous verrons quelques exemples de dilemmes éthiques (certains connus, d'autres moins) afin de voir comment ils fonctionnent.

1. Le dilemme de Heinz

L'un des dilemmes éthiques les plus connus est le dilemme de Heinz, proposé par Kohlberg pour analyser le niveau de développement moral des enfants et des adolescents (déduit du type de réponse, du motif de la réponse donnée, du niveau d'obéissance aux règles ou de l'importance relative que le suivi peut avoir dans certains cas). Ce dilemme se présente comme suit:

"La femme de Heinz est atteinte d'un cancer et on s'attend à ce qu'elle meure bientôt si rien n'est fait pour la sauver. Cependant, il existe un médicament expérimental qui, selon les médecins, peut vous sauver la vie: une radio que le pharmacien vient de découvrir. Bien que cette substance soit chère, le pharmacien en question demande beaucoup plus d'argent qu'il n'en coûte pour la produire (elle coûte 1 000 dollars et coûte 5 000 euros). Heinz collecte tout l'argent qu'il peut pour l'acheter, comptant sur l'aide et le prêt d'argent de toutes ses connaissances, mais il ne parvient à collecter que 2 500 dollars sur les 5 000 que le produit coûte. Heinz se rend chez le pharmacien qui lui dit que sa femme est en train de mourir et qui lui demande de vendre le médicament à un prix inférieur ou de le laisser payer la moitié plus tard. Le pharmacien refuse néanmoins, arguant qu'il doit gagner de l'argent avec lui, car c'est lui qui l'a découvert. Cela dit, Heinz devient désespéré et envisage de voler le médicament. "Que dois-je faire?

  • Article connexe: "La théorie du développement moral de Lawrence Kohlberg"

2. Dilemme du tram

Le dilemme du tram ou du train est un autre classique des dilemmes éthiques / moraux créés par Philippa Foot. Ce dilemme propose ce qui suit:

"Un tram / train est hors de contrôle et à pleine vitesse sur une piste, peu de temps avant le changement d’aiguilles. Cinq personnes sont attachées sur cette route et mourront si le train / le tramway les rejoint. Vous êtes en face du changement d'aiguilles et vous avez la possibilité de faire détourner le véhicule d'une autre manière, mais dans lequel une personne est attachée. En contournant le tram / train, une personne mourra. Ne le faites pas, laissez cinq mourir. Que ferais tu?"

Ce dilemme a aussi de multiples variantes, être capable de compliquer grandement l'élection . Par exemple, vous pouvez choisir d’arrêter le tram, mais cela le fera dérailler avec 50% de chances que tous ses occupants décèdent (et 50% seront sauvés). Ou vous pouvez rechercher une implication plus émotionnelle du sujet: proposez que de l'une des façons, il y ait cinq personnes ou plus qui mourront si rien n'est fait et de l'autre, mais que celle-ci est le couple, son fils / fille, son père / mère, frère ou parent du sujet. Ou un enfant.

3. Le dilemme du prisonnier

Le dilemme du prisonnier est l'un des dilemmes utilisés par John Nash pour expliquer les incitations et l'importance des décisions, non seulement des siennes mais aussi des autres, pour obtenir certains résultats, et la coopération est nécessaire pour obtenir le meilleur résultat possible. Bien qu’il soit plus économique qu’éthique, il a également des implications à cet égard. .

Le dilemme du prisonnier propose la situation suivante:

"Deux criminels présumés sont arrêtés et incarcérés, incapables de communiquer l'un avec l'autre, soupçonnés d'implication dans un vol de banque (ou un meurtre, selon la version). La peine prévue pour le crime est de dix ans de prison, mais il n’ya aucune preuve tangible de l’implication de tels actes dans ces événements. La police propose à chacun d'entre eux la possibilité de sortir librement s'il révèle l'autre. Si les deux confessent leur crime, ils purgeront chacun six ans de prison. Si l'un refuse et que l'autre apporte la preuve de son implication, l'informateur sera libéré et l'autre sera condamné à dix ans de prison. Si les deux nient les faits, ils resteront tous deux en prison pendant un an. "

Dans ce cas, plus que moral nous parlerions des conséquences de chaque acte pour soi et pour l'autre et comment le résultat dépend non seulement de notre performance, mais également de celle des autres.

4. Le noble voleur

Ce dilemme pose les problèmes suivants:

"Nous sommes témoins de la façon dont un homme vole une banque. Cependant, nous notons que le voleur ne conserve pas l'argent, mais le donne à un orphelinat qui manque de ressources pour soutenir les orphelins qui y vivent. Nous pouvons signaler le vol, mais si nous le faisons, il est probable que l'argent que l'orphelinat peut maintenant utiliser pour nourrir et prendre soin des enfants doit restituer les biens volés. "

D'un côté, le sujet a commis un crime, mais de l'autre, il l'a fait pour une bonne cause. Que faire? Le dilemme peut être compliqué s’il est ajouté, par exemple, qu’au cours du vol qualifié commis à la banque, une personne est décédée.

Parfois, nous devons aussi les affronter dans la vie réelle

Certains des dilemmes éthiques proposés ci-dessus sont des déclarations qui peuvent sembler fausses ou une élaboration hypothétique à laquelle nous n'aurons jamais à faire face dans la vie réelle. Mais la vérité est que, au jour le jour, nous pouvons arriver à faire face à des décisions difficiles , avec des conséquences ou des implications négatives, prenons la décision que nous prenons.

Par exemple, nous pouvons constater qu'une connaissance effectue un acte contraire à l'éthique. Nous pouvons également observer des cas d’intimidation à l’école ou de bagarre dans lesquels nous pouvons intervenir de différentes manières. Nous sommes souvent des sans-abri et nous pouvons faire face au dilemme de les aider ou non. Toujours à un niveau professionnel : un juge, par exemple, doit décider d’envoyer ou non une personne en prison, un médecin peut faire face à la décision d’allonger artificiellement la vie d’une personne ou non, ou qui devrait ou ne devrait pas être opéré.

Nous pouvons observer des fautes professionnelles. Et nous pouvons également y faire face, même dans la vie personnelle: nous pouvons, par exemple, être témoins d'infidélités et de trahisons envers des êtres chers ou être exécutés par eux, en ayant le conflit de leur dire ou non.

En conclusion, les dilemmes éthiques sont un élément de grand intérêt qui met nos convictions et nos croyances à l'épreuve et ils nous obligent à réfléchir à ce qui nous motive et à la manière dont nous nous organisons et participons à notre monde. Et ce n’est pas quelque chose d’abstrait et d’étranger pour nous, mais peut faire partie de notre quotidien.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Benítez, L. (2009). Activités et ressources pour éduquer aux valeurs. Éditorial PCC.

Le Test de Morale le Plus Compliqué Qui Soit ! (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes