yes, therapy helps!
Evolution of schizophrenia: symptoms and prognoses

Evolution of schizophrenia: symptoms and prognoses

June 20, 2024

The evolution of schizophrenia can be studied considering different aspects . For example, according to the manifestation, development and reduction of cognitive, behavioral or affective symptomatology.

Likewise, and as with other psychiatric and medical diagnoses, the evolution of these manifestations depends on many variables. Some of them are the psychological and biological susceptibility, and also the conditions or recovery models in which the person is.

Next we will make a brief review of research that has analyzed the evolution of schizophrenia, specifically focusing on the symptoms of the cognitive dimension.


  • Related article: "What is schizophrenia? Symptoms and treatments"

Evolution of schizophrenia and prognosis

The term "schizophrenia" refers to a psychiatric classification, and is generally defined as a chronic and serious disorder that affects the way people think, feel and act. It is one of the less frequent mental disorders, although more representative of psychiatry.

As the previous definition explains, schizophrenia develops both in a behavioral dimension (the way of acting), as in an affective one (the way of feeling) and another cognitive (in thought). The latter is, in fact, one of the most representative dimensions for diagnosis.


This is because many of the people with the diagnosis of schizophrenia hear or see things that other people do not perceive. These things can be threatening, but not necessarily.

Depending on how they are presented and how they are received by other people, the development and evolution of cognitive-type manifestations can be an obstacle for the person to develop their activities and daily interactions on a regular basis.

The above depends largely on the development and individual clinical history , as well as the treatment options to which the person and their family have access. For this reason, one of the most relevant topics for the scientific community has been the study of the evolution of these manifestations and the variables involved in this.

  • You may be interested: "What is psychosis? Causes, symptoms and treatment"

How do cognitive manifestations develop?

In a review of 30 longitudinal studies (ie, a realizer over time) on the evolution of cognitive symptoms in schizophrenia, Ojeda, et al. (2007) report that cognition is significantly altered from the beginning.


They also report that the alteration increases gradually and especially in institutionalized patients , and no cases are reported that reach the degree of cognitive alteration of neurodegenerative disorders.

We will see some details about these studies, from the appearance of the first psychotic episodes to long-standing schizophrenia.

1. In the first psychotic episodes

Studies conducted since the first psychotic episodes confirm the presence of a cognitive deficit from the early stages of development of schizophrenia .

However, the same studies suggest that, after performing attention tasks, verbal fluency, psychomotricity and visual and verbal memory; This deficit tends to improve significantly in the first year. The latter has been associated with the stabilization of positive symptoms during the first twelve months.

In other studies carried out towards the first 2 and 5 years of the disorder, the stability of the symptoms is also reported. They also report stability in language tasks and visual memory , and a notable improvement in others, such as conceptual tasks, and attention / concentration.

However, other studies that have also followed the first two years report little improvement, or even slight deterioration in visuospatial reasoning and processing speed. On the other hand, longer explorations suggest that the course of cognitive manifestations presents general stability in the first years, although a gradual deterioration towards later periods .

2. In long-standing schizophrenia

The first studies in schizophrenia of long evolution or chronicle, realized from the 60's, had reported a general stability of the performance, with a slight deterioration in the dimension of the language. The latter was later debated, since it was not known whether this deterioration was the cause of schizophrenia or was caused by the natural aging process.

In general, subsequent studies confirm the stability of cognitive symptoms in the evolution of schizophrenia, although in some cases significant improvements are reported and, in others, impairments. In the latter, one of the important variables has been institutionalization, since many of the people were in long stay hospitalization .

In fact, from this last point the interest to know the differentiation between the evolution of schizophrenia and other clinical pictures has increased. Likewise, it has increased the scientific analysis of the variables involved in the stability, improvement or deterioration of cognitive functions in people diagnosed with schizophrenia. Recently schizophrenia has been linked to the development of dementia , especially in hospitalized geriatric patients.

Bibliographic references:

  • National Institute of Mental Health (2015). Schizophrenia. Retrieved October 11, 2018. Available at //www.nimh.nih.gov/health/publications/espanol/la-esquizofrenia/index.shtml.
  • Ojeda, N., Sánchez, P., Elizagárate, E., Yöller, A.B., Ezcurra, J., Ramírez, I. and Ballesteros, J. (2007). Evolution of cognitive symptoms in schizophrenia: a review of the literature. Spanish Acts in Psychiatry, 35 (4): 253-270.

Schizophrenia - causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment & pathology (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Evolution de la schizophrénie: symptômes et pronostics

Evolution de la schizophrénie: symptômes et pronostics

Février 27, 2024

L’évolution de la schizophrénie peut être étudiée sous différents aspects. . Par exemple, en fonction de la manifestation, du développement et de la réduction de la symptomatologie cognitive, comportementale ou affective.

De même, et comme avec d'autres diagnostics psychiatriques et médicaux, l'évolution de ces manifestations dépend de nombreuses variables. Certains d'entre eux sont la susceptibilité biologique et psychologique, ainsi que les conditions ou les modèles de récupération dans lesquels se trouve la personne.

Nous passerons ensuite à une brève revue des recherches qui ont analysé l’évolution de la schizophrénie, en nous concentrant spécifiquement sur les symptômes de la dimension cognitive.


  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que la schizophrénie? Symptômes et traitements"

Evolution de la schizophrénie et pronostic

Le terme "schizophrénie" désigne une classification psychiatrique, et est généralement définie comme un trouble chronique et grave cela affecte la façon dont les gens pensent, ressentent et agissent. C'est l'un des troubles mentaux les moins fréquents, bien que plus représentatif de la psychiatrie.

Comme l'explique la définition précédente, la schizophrénie se développe aussi bien dans une dimension comportementale (la manière d'agir) que dans une dimension affective (la manière de ressentir). et un autre cognitif (en pensée). Ce dernier est en fait l’une des dimensions les plus représentatives du diagnostic.


En effet, beaucoup de personnes chez qui on a diagnostiqué une schizophrénie entendent ou voient des choses que les autres ne perçoivent pas. Ces choses peuvent être menaçantes, mais pas nécessairement.

Selon la manière dont elles sont présentées et comment elles sont reçues par d'autres personnes, le développement et l'évolution de manifestations de type cognitif peuvent constituer un obstacle pour que la personne développe régulièrement ses activités et ses interactions quotidiennes.

Ce qui précède dépend en grande partie du développement et de l'histoire clinique individuelle , ainsi que les options de traitement auxquelles la personne et sa famille ont accès. Pour cette raison, l’un des sujets les plus pertinents pour la communauté scientifique a été l’étude de l’évolution de ces manifestations et des variables impliquées.

  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "Qu'est-ce que la psychose? Causes, symptômes et traitement"

Comment se développent les manifestations cognitives?

Dans une revue de 30 études longitudinales (c.-à-d. Un réalisateur dans le temps) sur l'évolution des symptômes cognitifs dans la schizophrénie, Ojeda, et al. (2007) signalent que la cognition est modifiée de manière significative depuis le début.


Ils rapportent aussi que l'altération augmente progressivement et en particulier chez les patients institutionnalisés et aucun cas n’atteignant le degré d’altération cognitive des troubles neurodégénératifs.

Nous verrons quelques détails sur ces études, depuis l’apparition des premiers épisodes psychotiques jusqu’à la schizophrénie de longue date.

1. Dans les premiers épisodes psychotiques

Les études menées depuis les premiers épisodes psychotiques confirment la présence de un déficit cognitif dès les premiers stades de développement de la schizophrénie .

Cependant, les mêmes études suggèrent qu’après avoir effectué des tâches d’attention, la fluence verbale, la psychomotricité et la mémoire visuelle et verbale; Ce déficit tend à s’améliorer de manière significative au cours de la première année. Ce dernier facteur a été associé à la stabilisation des symptômes positifs au cours des douze premiers mois.

Dans d'autres études menées vers les 2 et 5 premières années de la maladie, la stabilité des symptômes est également rapportée. Ils rapportent aussi stabilité dans les tâches linguistiques et la mémoire visuelle et une amélioration notable dans d’autres domaines, tels que les tâches conceptuelles et l’attention / concentration.

Cependant, d'autres études qui ont également suivi les deux premières années font état d'une légère amélioration, voire d'une légère détérioration du raisonnement visuospatial et de la vitesse de traitement. De plus longues explorations suggèrent que le cours des manifestations cognitives présente une stabilité générale dans les premières années, bien que une détérioration progressive vers les périodes ultérieures .

2. Dans la schizophrénie de longue date

Les premières études sur la schizophrénie à longue évolution ou chronique, réalisées à partir des années 60, avaient révélé une stabilité générale de la performance, avec une légère détérioration de la dimension de la langue. Ce dernier a ensuite été débattu, car on ne savait pas si cette détérioration était la cause de la schizophrénie ou était causée par le processus de vieillissement naturel.

En général, des études ultérieures confirment la stabilité des symptômes cognitifs dans l'évolution de la schizophrénie, bien que des améliorations significatives soient rapportées dans certains cas et, dans d'autres, des altérations. Dans ce dernier cas, l’une des variables importantes a été l’institutionnalisation, car beaucoup de gens étaient en hospitalisation de long séjour .

En fait, à partir de ce dernier point, l’intérêt de connaître la différenciation entre l’évolution de la schizophrénie et d’autres tableaux cliniques a augmenté. De même, il a augmenté l'analyse scientifique des variables impliquées dans la stabilité, l'amélioration ou la détérioration des fonctions cognitives chez les personnes atteintes de schizophrénie. La schizophrénie a récemment été associée à le développement de la démence , en particulier chez les patients gériatriques hospitalisés.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Institut national de la santé mentale (2015). La schizophrénie. Consulté le 11 octobre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/publications/espanol/la-esquizofrenia/index.shtml.
  • Ojeda, N., Sánchez, P., Elizagárate, E., Yöller, A.B., Ezcurra, J., Ramírez, I. et Ballesteros, J. (2007). Evolution des symptômes cognitifs dans la schizophrénie: une revue de la littérature. Spanish Acts in Psychiatry, 35 (4): 253-270.
Articles Connexes