yes, therapy helps!
Exhibitionism: causes and symptoms of this sexual paraphilia

Exhibitionism: causes and symptoms of this sexual paraphilia

June 24, 2021

"Fernando, a twenty-four-year-old man, arrives at the psychologist's office. Once in Fernando, Fernando says that he has come due to a problem that causes him deep discomfort. He confesses that in recent months he has an urgent need to go out into the street, to sit in a dark corner and, when a woman passes, to show him his genitals. Later, after seeing his reaction, he proceeds to flee and when he gets home he masturbates thinking about the surprise of the person he has shown himself, a fact that causes him great excitement and reduces his stress. Because of this, Fernando has been arrested and convicted on one occasion, but considers that he will do it again if he does not have help, and this causes him great anxiety when he considers it a disgusting behavior ".


The case cited here is an invented example of one of the best-known paraphilias, the exhibitionism .

Exhibitionism as paraphilia

In order to have a better understanding of exhibitionism it is necessary to understand the main characteristics of the group of disorders of which it is a part, the paraphilias.

Formerly called sexual deviations, paraphilias they refer to the repeated presentation of intense sexual fantasies in which the object of desire is atypical . Generally these desires are focused on objects or non-human beings, suffering and humiliation of their own or others or people who do not consent in a period of six months. These behaviors may or may not be understood as alteration by those who present them, being in many cases considered immoral by the subjects themselves. In any case, the paraphilias cause a serious deterioration in various vital areas of the individual, and there may or may not be discomfort on the part of the subject.


Although some of these paraphilias may not have legal repercussions or be too invalidating beyond restricting the sexual interest and discomfort that can cause in the subject itself or the difficulty to be accepted by sexual partners (for example the desires focused towards objects such as fetishism), other paraphilias can result in serious crimes and even crimes such as pedophilia or somnophilia (sexual desire for sleeping subjects, which implies rape).

Diagnostic criteria and symptoms

Having visualized the type of disorder we are talking about, we can now make a more coherent explanation of what exhibitionism implies as paraphilia.

The main symptoms are based on the existence during at least six months of recurrent and very exciting fantasies of exposure of the genitals to a stranger who does not expect it, having also to have carried out and / or produce a clinically significant malaise in the subject or its functioning in relevant areas of his life.


It is the most common paraphilia, and often accompanied by others such as voyeurism. This problem usually appears around the age of majority, having a maximum prevalence between twenty and thirty years and decreasing after forty.

The excitement and pleasure achieved by the exhibitionist are obtained through the observation of the reactions of the people to whom it is shown, generally those of fright, surprise and curiosity. It is possible that the subject masturbates during his exposition, or after this when reimagining the reactions of his victims. Generally, they do not really intend to maintain any sexual activity with their victim, not being the person per se the reason for excitement but the fact of surprising it. In fact, the escape of the exhibitionist is not infrequent if the victim corresponds positively to his reaction. However, reactions of indifference or ridicule can be extremely painful for these subjects, due to their low level of self-esteem.

Psychological profile of the exhibitionist

The typical exhibitionist subject is a generally heterosexual male , often with difficulties when establishing contact with the sex object of their desire, although it is also frequent to appear in subjects with a partner and even married apparently having normal relationships.

In general, the exhibitionist subject presents a high level of withdrawal and introversion, with a high lack of confidence in himself that pushes him to carry out his performance, probably as a defense mechanism. This type of subjects, then, are not usually a real threat, not having in their majority aggressiveness or intention to harm their performance.

Legal treatment

As mentioned above, some paraphilias can constitute felonies punishable by jail.

In the case of exhibitionism, we would be facing a paraphilia typified as a crime against sexual freedom , being able to be punished with prison sentence of between six months to a year or with a fine of one to two years, evaluating the circumstances of the exhibitionist in question.

Keep in mind that when assessing the possibility of creating a diagnostic category to refer to a mental disorder, not only is taken into account if it harms the quality of life of those who experience it in their own flesh. It is also taken into consideration the discomfort and discomfort generated to third parties , and this is exactly what happens in the case of exhibitionism.

Expose the genitals to another person, with the intention of feeling pleasure for it, makes the dignity of others is attacked and, in addition, in many cases produces fear, to be interpreted as the beginning of a violation.

Etiology (causes) of exhibitionism

The causes of this type of parafílicos behaviors is object of a wide debate in the psychological literature.

Many of the theories in this regard indicate the participation of learning processes in the acquisition of these behaviors, proposing that they are learned behaviors through accidental conditioning between sexual excitement and an atypical stimulus, conditioning reinforced by the repetition of situations and the beginning of the application of the stimulus in the imagination during masturbation.

The imitation of models observed in childhood has also been explored as a possible cause , due to the presence of patterns of violence and anomalous sexual behavior in some cases of individuals with little socialization, intrafamily violence and excessively repressive education of sexuality.

In the same way, the presence of deficits in social and communication skills has also been explored, due to the presence of courtship difficulties in many of the cases studied. In these subjects has been observed the existence of a high complex of inferiority, low self-esteem, impulsivity and few communication skills, which can lead to the performance of behaviors considered immoral, unethical, surprising or bizarre as a defense mechanism.

Another one of the hypotheses shuffled is the behavioral termination of McConaghy, according to which if a behavior is very common a mechanism is created in the brain which is activated when perceived stimuli associated with the behavior in question , producing a high level of tension. This causes the individual not to stop performing the action, so that the tension does not appear. It has a certain resemblance to the mechanism of action of obsessive-compulsive disorder.

Caution: not everything is paraphilia

The exhibitionism is a paraphilia that can be a serious problem for those who suffer, both for the discomfort it generates and the effects it can cause in different areas of life such as socialization, the affective field.

Do not confuse, however, exhibitionism as paraphilia with fantasies and sexual behaviors Occasionally used as a sexual stimulus. Erotic games and fantasies with the couple such as striptease or the use of their own anatomy to provoke the desire of the couple will not be encompassed as paraphilia, which implies the need to present this type of behavior in a compulsive way to obtain a sexual gratification, for at least six months and producing significant discomfort or abnormalities in normal life.

So, what characterizes the exhibitionism is that the action of undressing in the sight of others, on the one hand, is made simply with the intention that others see it, and on the other, it is not consensual , besides that it is born of an irrepressible necessity.

In the same way, behaviors such as topless or protest use in demonstrations are not catalogable as paraphilic behavior, since they do not imply a compulsive sexual gratification.

Neither can this disorder be diagnosed if the behavior of exposure is due and appears only during an altered state of consciousness or other disorders, such as in cases of manic episodes, psychotic outbreak, intoxication or dementia.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.
  • Belloch, Sandín and Ramos (2008). Manual of Psychopathology. McGraw-Hill. Madrid.
  • Cáceres, J. (2001). Paraphilias and violation. Madrid: Editorial Síntesis.

Paraphilia ( Sexual Disorders): List, Treatment & Types(Hindi) (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Exhibitionnisme: causes et symptômes de cette paraphilie sexuelle

Exhibitionnisme: causes et symptômes de cette paraphilie sexuelle

Janvier 22, 2022

"Fernando, un homme de vingt-quatre ans, arrive au bureau du psychologue. Une fois à Fernando, Fernando dit qu'il est venu à cause d'un problème qui le gêne profondément. Il avoue qu'au cours des derniers mois, il a un besoin urgent de sortir dans la rue, de s'asseoir dans un coin sombre et, lorsqu'une femme passe, de lui montrer ses organes génitaux. Plus tard, après avoir vu sa réaction, il s’enfuit et quand il rentre à la maison, il se masturbe en pensant à la surprise de la personne qu’il s’est montrée, ce qui l’excite beaucoup et réduit son stress. Pour cette raison, Fernando a été arrêté et condamné à une occasion, mais estime qu'il le fera à nouveau s'il ne dispose pas d'aide, ce qui le rend très anxieux lorsqu'il le considère comme un comportement dégoûtant ".


Le cas cité ici est un exemple inventé d'une des paraphilias les plus connues, l'exhibitionnisme .

L'exhibitionnisme comme paraphilie

Afin de mieux comprendre l'exhibitionnisme, il est nécessaire de comprendre les caractéristiques principales du groupe de troubles dont il fait partie, les paraphilias.

Anciennement appelé déviations sexuelles, paraphilies ils font référence à la présentation répétée de fantasmes sexuels intenses dans lesquels l'objet du désir est atypique . Généralement, ces désirs se concentrent sur des objets ou des êtres non humains, sur la souffrance et l'humiliation de leur part ou sur celle d'autrui ou sur des personnes qui ne consentent pas dans un délai de six mois. Ces comportements peuvent ou ne peuvent pas être compris comme une altération par ceux qui les présentent, étant dans de nombreux cas considérés comme immoraux par les sujets eux-mêmes. Dans tous les cas, les paraphilies provoquent une grave détérioration dans divers domaines vitaux de l’individu, et le sujet peut être mal à l’aise ou non.


Bien que certaines de ces paraphilies n'aient pas de répercussions juridiques ou soient trop invalidantes, elles vont au-delà de la limitation de l'intérêt sexuel et de l'inconfort que peut causer chez le sujet lui-même ou de la difficulté à être accepté par les partenaires sexuels (par exemple les désirs axés sur des objets tels que fétichisme), d’autres paraphilies peuvent entraîner des crimes graves et même des crimes tels que pédophilie ou somnophilie (désir sexuel de sujets endormis, ce qui implique un viol).

Critères de diagnostic et symptômes

Après avoir visualisé le type de désordre dont nous parlons, nous pouvons maintenant expliquer de manière plus cohérente ce que l’exhibitionnisme implique en tant que paraphilie.

Les principaux symptômes sont basés sur l'existence pendant au moins six mois de fantasmes récurrents et très excitants d’exposition des parties génitales à un étranger qui ne l’attend pas, qui doit également avoir provoqué et / ou produire un malaise cliniquement significatif chez le sujet ou son fonctionnement dans des domaines pertinents de sa vie.


C'est la paraphilie la plus courante, et souvent accompagnée par d'autres, comme le voyeurisme. Ce problème apparaît généralement autour de l'âge de la majorité, avec une prévalence maximale entre vingt et trente ans et une diminution après quarante ans.

L’excitation et le plaisir des exhibitionnistes s’obtiennent en observant les réactions des personnes à qui il est présenté, généralement celles de la frayeur, de la surprise et de la curiosité. Il est possible que le sujet se masturbe au cours de son exposé ou après en repensant les réactions de ses victimes. Généralement, ils n'ont pas vraiment l'intention de maintenir une activité sexuelle avec leur victime, ce n'est pas la personne en soi qui est la raison de l'excitation mais le fait de la surprendre. En fait, la fuite de l'exhibitionniste n'est pas rare si la victime correspond positivement à sa réaction. Cependant, les réactions d'indifférence ou de ridicule peuvent être extrêmement douloureuses pour ces sujets, en raison de leur faible estime de soi.

Profil psychologique de l'exhibitionniste

Le sujet exhibitionniste typique est un homme généralement hétérosexuel , souvent avec des difficultés pour établir le contact avec l'objet sexuel de leur désir, bien qu'il soit également fréquent d'apparaître chez des sujets avec un partenaire et même mariés apparemment ayant des relations normales.

De manière générale, le sujet exhibitionniste présente un niveau élevé de repli sur soi et d'introversion, avec un manque de confiance en soi qui le pousse à exécuter sa performance, probablement comme un mécanisme de défense. Ce type de sujets ne constitue donc généralement pas une menace réelle, car ils n’ont pas pour la plupart une agressivité ou une intention de nuire à leur performance.

Traitement juridique

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, certaines paraphilies peuvent constituer des crimes passibles d’une peine de prison.

En cas d'exhibitionnisme, nous serions confrontés à une paraphilie qualifiée de crime contre la liberté sexuelle , pouvant être puni d'une peine de prison de six mois à un an ou d'une amende d'un à deux ans, en évaluant les circonstances de l'exhibitionniste en question.

Gardez à l'esprit que lors de l'évaluation de la possibilité de créer une catégorie de diagnostic pour faire référence à un trouble mental, non seulement est pris en compte si cela nuit à la qualité de vie de ceux qui en souffrent. Il est également pris en compte l'inconfort et l'inconfort générés à des tiers , et c’est exactement ce qui se passe dans le cas de l’exhibitionnisme.

Exposer les parties génitales à une autre personne, avec l'intention d'en ressentir du plaisir, porte atteinte à la dignité d'autrui et, de plus, produit souvent de la peur, à interpréter comme le début d'une violation.

Étiologie (causes) de l'exhibitionnisme

Les causes de ce type de comportement parafílicos font l’objet d’un large débat dans la littérature psychologique.

Beaucoup de théories à cet égard indiquent la participation des processus d'apprentissage à l'acquisition de ces comportements, proposant qu'ils soient des comportements appris par le biais d'un conditionnement accidentel entre l'excitation sexuelle et un stimulus atypique, conditionnement renforcé par la répétition de situations et le début de l'application du stimulus dans l'imagination pendant la masturbation.

L’imitation des modèles observés dans l’enfance a également été explorée comme une cause possible , en raison de la présence de schémas de violence et de comportements sexuels anormaux dans certains cas d’individus peu socialisés, de violence intrafamiliale et d’éducation sexuelle excessivement répressive.

De la même manière, la présence de déficits dans les compétences sociales et de communication a également été explorée, en raison de la présence de difficultés de cour dans de nombreux cas étudiés. On a observé chez ces sujets l’existence d’un complexe complexe d’infériorité, de faible estime de soi, d’impulsivité et de peu de communication, ce qui peut conduire à la réalisation de comportements considérés comme immoraux, contraires à l’éthique, surprenants ou bizarres.

Une autre des hypothèses remaniées est la terminaison comportementale de McConaghy, selon laquelle si un comportement est très courant un mécanisme est créé dans le cerveau et est activé lorsque les stimuli perçus sont associés au comportement en question , produisant un niveau de tension élevé. Cela amène l'individu à ne pas arrêter d'effectuer l'action, de sorte que la tension n'apparaisse pas. Il a une certaine ressemblance avec le mécanisme d'action du trouble obsessionnel-compulsif.

Attention: tout n'est pas paraphilie

L'exhibitionnisme est une paraphilie qui peut constituer un problème sérieux pour ceux qui souffrent, à la fois pour le malaise qu'il génère et les effets qu'il peut entraîner dans différents domaines de la vie, tels que la socialisation, le champ affectif.

Cependant, ne confondez pas l’exhibitionnisme en tant que paraphilie avec des fantasmes et des comportements sexuels. Utilisé à l'occasion comme stimulus sexuel. Les jeux et fantasmes érotiques avec le couple tels que le strip-tease ou l'utilisation de leur propre anatomie pour provoquer le désir du couple ne seront pas assimilés à la paraphilie, ce qui implique la nécessité de présenter ce type de comportement de manière compulsive pour obtenir une gratification sexuelle, depuis au moins six mois et produisant un inconfort ou des anomalies importants au cours de la vie normale.

Ainsi, ce qui caractérise l'exhibitionnisme, c'est que l'action de se déshabiller aux yeux des autres, d'une part, est faite simplement dans l'intention que les autres le voient, et, d'autre part, ce n'est pas consensuel , outre qu'il est né d'une nécessité irrépressible.

De la même manière, des comportements tels que l'utilisation de seins nus ou de protestation dans des manifestations ne peuvent pas être catalogués comme comportement paraphilique, car ils n'impliquent pas une gratification sexuelle compulsive.

Ce trouble ne peut pas non plus être diagnostiqué si le comportement d'exposition est dû et n'apparaît que pendant un état de conscience altéré ou d'autres troubles, tels que des épisodes maniaques, une poussée psychotique, une intoxication ou une démence.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.
  • Belloch, Sandín et Ramos (2008). Manuel de psychopathologie. McGraw-Hill. Madrid
  • Cáceres, J. (2001). Paraphilias et violation. Madrid: Résumé de la rédaction.

Hypersexual Disorder (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes