yes, therapy helps!
Experimental psychology: its 5 orientations and objectives

Experimental psychology: its 5 orientations and objectives

November 20, 2022

From psychology we propose the scientific study of how we perceive, learn, feel, etc. Experimental psychology studies these processes from the experimental method, which includes observation, recording and manipulation of variables.

There are three types of variables: independent variables, which are manipulated by the experimenter; dependent variables, those that are registered and strange or intervening variables, that may appear in the process being studied. In this article we will discuss the different perspectives what's inside experimental psychology .

  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

The currents within experimental psychology

Historically, the most important perspectives within the field of psychology are the following.


1. Structuralism

The structuralism, whose representative was Wilhelm Wundt, was the first current of the scientific psychology in relation to the perceptive processes. For them, perception is determined by the brain structures that the subject possesses. These structures are not given innately , but they are generated through a learning process of a perceptual type.

Structuralism has an empiricist component, in such a way that perception is studied by lending great interest to the sensation as a unit of analysis. This analysis led to the development and study of thresholds, giving rise to psychophysics. Thus, perception depends on stimulation and the sensation is the result of a complex learning process.


2. Gestalt

At the beginning of the 20th century a psychological current appears, the theory of Gestalt . According to it, the whole is much more than the simple union of the parts.

In the Gestalt, the conscious experience of the observer is used, also called "phenomenological description", in which, unlike structuralism, the subject is not required to discriminate between perceptions, but rather to describe the data as objectively as possible. of the perceptive scene.

The psychologists of the Gestalt they gave special importance to the perception of emerging properties , that come to be the product that arose fruit of the relation between the different components of the perceptive scene. For them, the organization and relations between the components were carried out in an orderly manner, generating a series of laws. In addition, the principles that constitute our perception were not the result of what the subject had learned perceptively, but the result of the interaction of the innate brain structures with the environment.


  • Related article: "Theory of Gestalt: laws and fundamental principles"

3. Behaviorism

This current was born in the first quarter of the 20th century. This focused so much on the study of behavior that in his investigations focused on it rather than the perceptual experience, which was very simple with the aim of enhancing the explanatory capacity in his experiments.

Thus, from the work of Pavlov, behavioral researchers such as Whatson or B. F. Skinner took experimental psychology to an exceptional degree of development.

  • Related article: "Behaviorism: history, concepts and main authors"

4. Cognitive psychology

Entering into the second half of the twentieth century comes cognitive psychology that, unlike behaviorism, focuses on the study of the processes that transform the entry of information in the response of the subject. These processes are called cognitive and refer to the processing of perceptual information from the same perceptual experience, also influenced by the previous experience of the subject and its subjective characteristics.

Cognitive psychologists use the "computer metaphor" , where they use the term "input" to refer to the input of the information and "output" to refer to the behavior. To explain the functioning of cognitive processes, they considered it as a series of elements that present a certain structure and a series of interactions. The way to represent this structure and the interaction of components is called "flow diagrams".

The investigation of cognitive psychology showed that the processing of perceptual information tended to decompose of the same, as well as that the processes related to its processing can be carried out in a serial, parallel, automatic (non-conscious) or controlled manner.

5. Computationalism

Computationalism, whose representative was David Marr , arose from a radicalization of the computer metaphor.For them, the computer is another processing system that, like the human mind, processes information, which generated cognitive science, which is a multidisciplinary orientation that studies cognitive processes, beginning with the perceptual ones.

There are three different levels of analysis: the "computational" level, aims to answer the question of what, that is, the objective of the system to be studied, indicating the objective and purpose of the system. The "algorithmic" level tries to explain how operations are carried out that allow the system to achieve its objectives, and the "implementation" level, which is interested in the physical implementation of the system.


Sociology & the Scientific Method: Crash Course Sociology #3 (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Psychologie expérimentale: ses 5 orientations et objectifs

Psychologie expérimentale: ses 5 orientations et objectifs

Août 9, 2020

De la psychologie, nous proposons l'étude scientifique de la façon dont nous percevons, apprenons, ressentons, etc. La psychologie expérimentale étudie ces processus à partir de la méthode expérimentale, qui comprend l'observation, l'enregistrement et la manipulation de variables.

Il existe trois types de variables: les variables indépendantes, manipulées par l'expérimentateur; les variables dépendantes, celles qui sont enregistrées et les variables étranges ou intermédiaires, qui peuvent apparaître dans le processus à l'étude. Dans cet article, nous discuterons des différentes perspectives Qu'y a-t-il à l'intérieur de la psychologie expérimentale .

  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Les courants au sein de la psychologie expérimentale

Historiquement, les perspectives les plus importantes dans le domaine de la psychologie sont les suivantes.


1. Structuralisme

Le structuralisme, dont le représentant était Wilhelm Wundt, a été le premier courant de la psychologie scientifique en relation avec les processus perceptifs. Pour eux, la perception est déterminée par les structures cérébrales que possède le sujet. Ces structures ne sont pas innées , mais ils sont générés par un processus d’apprentissage de type perceptuel.

Le structuralisme a une composante empiriste, de sorte que la perception est étudiée en accordant un grand intérêt à la sensation en tant qu’unité d’analyse. Cette analyse a conduit à la mise au point et à l’étude de seuils donnant lieu à la psychophysique. Ainsi, la perception dépend de la stimulation et la sensation résulte d'un processus d'apprentissage complexe.


2. Gestalt

Au début du 20ème siècle un courant psychologique apparaît, la théorie de la Gestalt . Selon lui, le tout est beaucoup plus que la simple union des parties.

Dans la Gestalt, on utilise l'expérience consciente de l'observateur, également appelée "description phénoménologique", dans laquelle, contrairement au structuralisme, le sujet n'est pas tenu de discriminer les perceptions, mais plutôt de décrire les données aussi objectivement que possible. de la scène perceptive.

Les psychologues de la Gestalt ils ont donné une importance particulière à la perception des propriétés émergentes , qui deviennent le produit né de la relation entre les différentes composantes de la scène perceptive. Pour eux, l'organisation et les relations entre les composants ont été effectuées de manière ordonnée, générant une série de lois. De plus, les principes qui constituent notre perception ne sont pas le résultat de ce que le sujet a appris de façon perceptive, mais le résultat de l'interaction des structures cérébrales innées avec l'environnement.


  • Article connexe: "Théorie de la Gestalt: lois et principes fondamentaux"

3. Behaviorisme

Ce courant est né dans le premier quart du 20ème siècle. Cela était tellement axé sur l’étude du comportement que dans ses enquêtes, il s’est concentré sur elle plutôt que sur l’expérience perceptuelle, ce qui était très simple dans le but de renforcer la capacité explicative de ses expériences.

Ainsi, à partir des travaux de Pavlov, des chercheurs en comportement tels que Whatson ou B. F. Skinner ont porté la psychologie expérimentale à un degré de développement exceptionnel.

  • Article connexe: "Behaviorism: histoire, concepts et principaux auteurs"

4. Psychologie cognitive

La psychologie cognitive entre dans la seconde moitié du XXe siècle et, contrairement au comportementalisme, se concentre sur l'étude des processus qui transforment l'entrée de l'information dans la réponse du sujet. Ces processus sont appelés cognitifs et font référence au traitement d'informations perceptuelles provenant de la même expérience perceptuelle, également influencées par l'expérience antérieure du sujet et de ses caractéristiques subjectives.

Les psychologues cognitifs utilisent la "métaphore informatique" , où ils utilisent le terme "entrée" pour désigner l'entrée des informations et "sortie" pour désigner le comportement. Pour expliquer le fonctionnement des processus cognitifs, ils l'ont considéré comme une série d'éléments présentant une certaine structure et une série d'interactions. La manière de représenter cette structure et l’interaction des composants est appelée "organigramme".

L'investigation de la psychologie cognitive a montré que le traitement des informations perceptuelles avait tendance à se décomposer Les processus liés à son traitement peuvent être exécutés en série, en parallèle, de manière automatique (non consciente) ou contrôlée.

5. Computationalisme

Computationalism, dont le représentant était David Marr , est née d’une radicalisation de la métaphore informatique.Pour eux, l'ordinateur est un autre système de traitement qui, comme l'esprit humain, traite l'information, ce qui a généré la science cognitive. Il s'agit d'une orientation multidisciplinaire qui étudie les processus cognitifs, à commencer par les processus perceptuels.

Il existe trois niveaux d'analyse différents: le niveau "informatique" vise à répondre à la question de savoir quel est l'objectif du système à étudier, en indiquant l'objectif et le but du système. Le niveau "algorithmique" tente d'expliquer comment les opérations sont effectuées qui permettent au système d’atteindre ses objectifs et le niveau de "mise en oeuvre", qui s’intéresse à la mise en œuvre physique du système.


2017 Personality 10: Humanism & Phenomenology: Carl Rogers (Août 2020).


Articles Connexes