yes, therapy helps!
Eysenck's Theory of Personality: the PEN model

Eysenck's Theory of Personality: the PEN model

January 25, 2022

One of the most important theorists of the study of personality is Hans Eysenck. A psychologist born in Germany, but who at age 18 settled in the United Kingdom where he grew professionally. He carried out many investigations, although he became famous for his personality theory .

His approach is framed within the trait theory, which assumes that behavior is determined by relatively stable attributes that are the fundamental units of one's personality, because they predispose a person to act in a certain way. This means that traits must be consistent across situations and over time, but may vary between individuals.


Eysenck and the individual differences

For Eysenck, individuals differ in their traits due to genetic differences, although he did not rule out environmental and situational influences on personality, such as family interactions in childhood. So that is based on a biopsychosocial approach in which these genetic and environmental factors determine behavior .

What the author proposes is that each person is born with a specific structure at the cerebral level, which causes discrepancies in psychophysiological activity and, therefore, causes the individual to develop differences in the psychological mechanism, determining a specific type of personality.


The personality according to Hans Eysenck

Hans Eysenck developed a theory based on the results of the factor analysis of the responses of some personality questionnaires. Factor analysis is a technique that reduces behavior to a series of factors that can be grouped together under a heading called dimension, since they share common attributes.

In conclusion, he identified three independent dimensions of personality that I will explain later: Neuroticism (N), Extraversion (E) and Psychoticism (P), what gets the name of PEN model .

This model aims to be explanatory and causal, since it determines the biological bases of these dimensions and confirms them experimentally.

The Eysenck studios

During the decade of the 40, Eysenck worked in the Psychiatric Hospital of Maudsley (London, United Kingdom). His job was to perform the initial evaluation of each patient before his disorder was diagnosed by a psychiatrist. In this job he compiled a battery of questions about the behavior, which he later applied to 700 soldiers who were being treated in the same hospital for their neurotic disorders.


After passing the questionnaires, he realized that there seemed to be a bond of union between the soldiers' responses , suggesting that there were personality traits that were being revealed.

The personality structure according to Eysenck

After the results of his research, Eysenck proposes a hierarchical model of personality in which behavior can be ordered four different levels. This is the order from the lowest level to the highest:

  • First level : At this level are the responses that can be observed once, and which may or may not be characteristic of the person (for example, experiences of daily life).
  • Second level : These are the usual answers, which often happen under similar contexts (for example, if a test is answered a second time, similar answers will be given).
  • Third level : They are the habitual acts that are ordered by traits (sociability, impulsiveness, vivacity, etc.).
  • Fourth level : This level is the most extensive in the sense of generality, and there are the superfactors that I mentioned before: Neuroticism, Extraversion and Psychoticism.

People can score high or low on these superfactors. A low score in Neuroticism refers to high emotional stability. Low scores in Extraversion refer to Introversion.

The three types or superfactors are sufficient to describe the personality adequately, since predictions can be made from them both physiologically (for example, level of cortical activation), psychological (for example, level of performance) and social ( for example, criminal behavior).

The dimensions of the Eysenck Model

Neuroticism (stability-emotional instability)

People with emotional instability They show anxiety, hysteria and obsession. They often tend to react emotionally exaggeratedly and have difficulty returning to a normal state after emotional activation. At the other extreme, the person is calm, calm and with a high degree of emotional control.

Extraversion (extraversion-introversion)

The extraverts are characterized by sociability, impulsiveness, disinhibition, vitality, optimism and sharpness of wit; while introverts are calm, passive, unsociable, attentive, reserved, reflective, pessimistic and calm. Eysenck thinks that The main difference between extraverts and introverts lies in the level of cortical arousal .

Psychoticism

People with high scores in psychoticism They are characterized by being insensitive, inhuman, antisocial, violent, aggressive and extravagant. These high scores are related to different mental disorders, such as the propensity to psychosis. In contrast to the other two dimensions, psychoticism does not have a reverse extreme, but is a component present at different levels in the person.

Biological bases of the PEN model: causal aspects

Taking into account this descriptive model of personality, the PEN model also provides a causal explanation. For this, it focuses on the biological, hormonal and psychophysiological mechanisms responsible for the three dimensions, in order to test this theory experimentally.

Theory of Cortical Activation and its relationship with extraversion

The theory of cortical activation appears later to another proposal of Eysenck himself, the Excitation-Inhibition model, since the latter did not allow making empirically testable predictions.

Excitation-inhibition model

The model of excitation-inhibition proposes that extraverted people have weak arousal potentials and strong reactive inhibition . In contrast, introverts have strong excitatory potentials and weak reactive inhibition.

Theory of Cortical Activation

The cortical activation of Eysenck proposes a biological explanation of extraversion taking into account the system of ascending reticular activation (SARA). The activity of SARA stimulates the cerebral cortex, which, in turn, increases the level of cortical activation.

The level of cortical arousal can be measured through the conductance of the skin, brain waves or sweat. Taking into account the different levels of SARA activity, Introverts have higher levels of activity than extraverts . Some research has shown that extraverts seek external stimulation sources that cause them a higher level of stimulation.

Neuroticism and activation of the limbic system

Eysenck also explains neuroticism in terms of activation thresholds of the sympathetic nervous system or the visceral brain. The visceral brain is also known as the limbic system, which consists of the hippocampus, amygdala, septum, and hypothalamus, and regulates emotional states such as sex, fear, and aggression. It is responsible for the fight or flight response in the face of danger.

The heart rate, blood pressure, skin conductance, sweating, respiratory rate and muscle tension (especially in the forehead) can be used to measure visceral brain activation levels. The neurotic people have low thresholds of visceral brain activation and are unable to inhibit or control their emotional reactions. Therefore, they experience negative effects in stressful situations, they are upset even in situations with less stress and they get upset very easily.

Psychoticism and gonadal hormones

Eysenck also provides biological explanation of psychoticism, specifically gonadal hormones such as testosterone and enzymes such as monoamine oxidase (MAO). Although there is not much research on psychoticism compared to extraversion and neuroticism, some current studies show that people with psychotic episodes have high testosterone levels and low levels of MAO.

In addition, in these studies, impulsivity and aggressiveness, two characteristic features of individuals who score high in psychoticism, correlated negatively with MAO, as this enzyme plays a key role in the degradation of monoamines noradrenaline, dopamine and serotonin. In those studies, It was also shown that low levels of MAO is a characteristic of psychotic patients .

Eysenck personality questionnaires

Following Eysenck's theory of personality, several questionnaires have emerged that are the result of more than forty years of development and a large number of psychometric and experimental studies carried out in many countries.

  • Maudsley Medical Questionnaire (MMQ): Contains 40 items and evaluates Neuroticism.
  • Maudsley Personality Inventory (MPI): Contains 48 items and evaluates Extraversion and Neuroticism.
  • Eysenck Personality Inventory (EPI): Contains 57 items and evaluates Neuroticism and Extraversion
  • Eysenck Personality Questionnaire (EPQ): Contains 90 items and evaluates the three superfactors: Extraversion, Neuroticism and Psychoticism.
  • Revised Eysenck Personality Questionnaire (EPQ-R): Contains 100 items and evaluates the three superfactors.

Bibliographic references:

  • Eysenck, H.J. and Eysenck, S.B.G. (1994). Manual of the Eysenck Personality Questionnaire. California: EdITS / Educational and Industrial Testing Service.
  • Gray, J. A. (1994). Three fundamental emotion systems. In P. Ekman & R. Davidson (Eds.). The nature of emotion (pp. 243-247). New York: Oxford University Press. Gutiérrez Maldonado, J. (1997). Psychology of the personality and experimental synthesis of behavior. Revista Latinoamericana de Psicología, 29, 435-457.
  • Pueyo, A. A. (1997). Manual of Differential Psychology. Madrid: Mc Graw Hill.
  • Schmidt, V., Firpo, L., Vion, D., Costa Oliván, M.E., Casella, L., Cuenya, L, Blum, G.D., and Pedrón, V. (2010). Psychobiological Personality Model of Eysenck: a history projected towards the future. International Journal of Psychology, 11, 1-21.

Eysenck's personality theory (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Théorie de la personnalité d'Eysenck: le modèle PEN

Théorie de la personnalité d'Eysenck: le modèle PEN

Juillet 15, 2019

Hans Eysenck est l'un des théoriciens les plus importants de l'étude de la personnalité. Psychologue né en Allemagne, mais qui s’est installé à 18 ans au Royaume-Uni où il a grandi professionnellement. Il a mené de nombreuses enquêtes, bien qu'il soit devenu célèbre pour ses théorie de la personnalité .

Son approche est encadrée dans le théorie des traits, qui suppose que le comportement est déterminé par des attributs relativement stables qui sont les unités fondamentales de la personnalité, car ils prédisposent une personne à agir d’une certaine manière. Cela signifie que les traits doivent être cohérents d'une situation à l'autre et dans le temps, mais peuvent varier d'un individu à l'autre.


Eysenck et les différences individuelles

Pour Eysenck, les caractéristiques des individus diffèrent en raison des différences génétiques, bien qu'il n'ait pas exclu les influences environnementales et situationnelles sur la personnalité, telles que les interactions familiales au cours de l'enfance. Pour ce que repose sur une approche biopsychosociale dans laquelle ces facteurs génétiques et environnementaux déterminent le comportement .

Ce que l'auteur propose, c'est que chaque personne naisse avec une structure spécifique au niveau cérébral, ce qui provoque des divergences d'activité psychophysiologique et amène donc l'individu à développer des différences dans le mécanisme psychologique, déterminant un type de personnalité spécifique.


La personnalité selon Hans Eysenck

Hans Eysenck a développé une théorie basée sur les résultats de l'analyse factorielle des réponses à certains questionnaires sur la personnalité. L'analyse factorielle est une technique qui réduit le comportement à une série de facteurs pouvant être regroupés sous un en-tête appelé dimension, car ils partagent des attributs communs.

En conclusion, il a identifié trois dimensions indépendantes de la personnalité que je vais expliquer plus tard: Névrotisme (N), Extraversion (E) et Psychoticisme (P), comment s'appelle Modèle PEN .

Ce modèle se veut explicatif et causal, puisqu'il détermine les bases biologiques de ces dimensions et les confirme expérimentalement.

Les studios Eysenck

Au cours des années 40, Eysenck a travaillé à l'hôpital psychiatrique de Maudsley (Londres, Royaume-Uni). Son travail consistait à effectuer l'évaluation initiale de chaque patient avant que son trouble ne soit diagnostiqué par un psychiatre. Dans ce travail, il a rédigé une batterie de questions sur le comportement, qu'il a ensuite appliquées à 700 soldats traités dans le même hôpital pour leurs troubles névrotiques.


Après avoir passé les questionnaires, il réalisa qu'il semblait y avoir un lien d'union entre les réponses des soldats , suggérant qu'il y avait des traits de personnalité qui étaient révélés.

La structure de la personnalité selon Eysenck

Après les résultats de ses recherches, Eysenck propose un modèle hiérarchique de la personnalité dans lequel le comportement peut être ordonné à quatre niveaux différents. C'est l'ordre du plus bas au plus haut niveau:

  • Premier niveau : À ce niveau, sont les réponses qui peuvent être observées une fois et qui peuvent ou non être caractéristiques de la personne (par exemple des expériences de la vie quotidienne).
  • Second niveau : Ce sont les réponses habituelles, qui se produisent souvent dans des contextes similaires (par exemple, si une réponse au test est donnée une seconde fois, des réponses similaires seront données).
  • Troisième niveau : Ce sont les actes habituels classés par traits (sociabilité, impulsivité, vivacité, etc.).
  • Quatrième niveau : Ce niveau est le plus étendu au sens de la généralité, et il y a les superfactors que j'ai déjà mentionnés: Neuroticism, Extraversion et Psychoticism.

Les gens peuvent obtenir un score élevé ou faible sur ces super-facteurs. Un faible score en névrotisme fait référence à une stabilité émotionnelle élevée. Les faibles scores dans Extraversion font référence à Introversion.

Les trois types ou superfacteurs sont suffisants pour décrire correctement la personnalité, car on peut en faire des prédictions tant physiologiques (par exemple, niveau d'activation corticale), psychologiques (par exemple, niveau de performance) que sociales ( par exemple, comportement criminel).

Les dimensions du modèle Eysenck

Neuroticism (instabilité stabilité-émotionnel)

Personnes avec instabilité émotionnelle Ils montrent de l'anxiété, de l'hystérie et de l'obsession. Ils ont souvent tendance à réagir émotionnellement exagérément et à avoir des difficultés à revenir à un état normal après une activation émotionnelle. À l'autre extrême, la personne est calme, calme et avec un degré élevé de contrôle émotionnel.

Extraversion (extraversion-introversion)

Les extravertis sont caractérisés par la sociabilité, l’impulsivité, la désinhibition, la vitalité, l’optimisme et la perspicacité de l’esprit; tandis que les introvertis sont calmes, passifs, insociables, attentifs, réservés, réfléchissants, pessimistes et calmes. Eysenck pense que La principale différence entre les extravertis et les introvertis réside dans le niveau d'excitation corticale .

Psychoticisme

Personnes ayant des scores élevés en psychoticisme Ils se caractérisent par leur insensibilité, leur inhumain, leur antisocial, leur violence, leur agressivité et leur extravagance. Ces scores élevés sont liés à différents troubles mentaux, tels que la propension à la psychose. Contrairement aux deux autres dimensions, le psychoticisme n'a pas d'extrême inverse, mais est une composante présente à différents niveaux de la personne.

Bases biologiques du modèle PEN: aspects causaux

Tenant compte de ce modèle descriptif de la personnalité, le modèle PEN fournit également une explication causale. Pour cela, il se concentre sur les mécanismes biologiques, hormonaux et psychophysiologiques responsables des trois dimensions, afin de tester cette théorie de manière expérimentale.

Théorie de l'activation corticale et sa relation avec l'extraversion

La théorie de l'activation corticale apparaît plus tard à une autre proposition d'Eysenck lui-même, la Modèle d'inhibition de l'excitation, puisque ce dernier n’a pas permis de faire des prédictions empiriquement vérifiables.

Modèle d'inhibition de l'excitation

Le modèle d'inhibition de l'excitation propose que les personnes extraverties aient un faible potentiel d'éveil et une forte inhibition réactive . En revanche, les introvertis ont un fort potentiel excitateur et une faible inhibition réactionnelle.

Théorie de l'activation corticale

L'activation corticale d'Eysenck propose une explication biologique de l'extraversion prenant en compte le système d'activation réticulaire ascendante (SARA). L'activité de SARA stimule le cortex cérébral, ce qui augmente le niveau d'activation corticale.

Le niveau d'excitation corticale peut être mesuré par la conductance de la peau, les ondes cérébrales ou la sueur. Tenant compte des différents niveaux d’activité de la LEP, Les introvertis ont des niveaux d'activité plus élevés que ceux des extravertis . Certaines recherches ont montré que les extravertis recherchent des sources de stimulation externes qui leur causent un niveau de stimulation plus élevé.

Neuroticism et activation du système limbique

Eysenck explique également le neuroticisme en termes de seuils d’activation du système nerveux sympathique ou de la cerveau viscéral. Le cerveau viscéral est également appelé système limbique, composé de l'hippocampe, de l'amygdale, du septum et de l'hypothalamus. Il régule les états émotionnels tels que le sexe, la peur et l'agression. Il est responsable de la réaction du combat ou du vol face au danger.

La fréquence cardiaque, la tension artérielle, la conductance cutanée, la transpiration, la fréquence respiratoire et la tension musculaire (en particulier au niveau du front) peuvent être utilisées pour mesurer les niveaux d’activation cérébrale viscérale. Le les personnes névrosées ont de faibles seuils d'activation du cerveau viscéral et sont incapables d'inhiber ou de contrôler leurs réactions émotionnelles. Par conséquent, ils subissent des effets négatifs dans des situations stressantes, ils sont bouleversés même dans des situations moins stressantes et très facilement.

Psychoticism et hormones gonadiques

Eysenck fournit également une explication biologique du psychoticisme, en particulier des hormones gonadiques telles que la testostérone et des enzymes telles que la monoamine oxydase (MAO). Bien qu'il n'y ait pas beaucoup de recherche sur le psychoticisme comparé à l'extraversion et au névrotisme, certaines études récentes montrent que les personnes souffrant d'épisodes psychotiques ont des taux de testostérone élevés et de faibles niveaux de MAO.

De plus, dans ces études, l'impulsivité et l'agressivité, deux caractéristiques des individus à fort psychotisme, étaient en corrélation négative avec la MAO, cette enzyme jouant un rôle clé dans la dégradation des monoamines noradrénaline, dopamine et sérotonine. Dans ces études, Il a également été montré que les faibles niveaux de MAO est une caractéristique des patients psychotiques .

Questionnaires de personnalité Eysenck

Suivant la théorie de la personnalité d’Eysenck, plusieurs questionnaires sont issus de plus de quarante années de développement et d’un grand nombre d’études psychométriques et expérimentales menées dans de nombreux pays.

  • Questionnaire médical Maudsley (MMQ): contient 40 éléments et évalue le névrotisme.
  • Inventaire de personnalité de Maudsley (MPI): contient 48 éléments et évalue l'extraversion et le névrotisme.
  • Eysenck Personality Inventory (EPI): contient 57 objets et évalue le névrotisme et l'extraversion
  • Questionnaire Eysenck sur la personnalité (EPQ): contient 90 items et évalue les trois superfacteurs: extraversion, névrotisme et psychoticisme.
  • Questionnaire de personnalité Eysenck révisé (EPQ-R): contient 100 éléments et évalue les trois super-facteurs.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Eysenck, H.J. et Eysenck, S.B.G. (1994). Manuel du questionnaire de personnalité Eysenck. Californie: EdITS / Service d’essais pédagogiques et industriels.
  • Gray, J.A. (1994). Trois systèmes d'émotion fondamentaux. Dans P. Ekman & R. Davidson (Eds.). La nature de l'émotion (pp. 243-247). New York: Presse d'Université d'Oxford. Gutiérrez Maldonado, J. (1997). Psychologie de la personnalité et synthèse expérimentale du comportement. Revista Latinoamericana de Psicología, 29, 435-457.
  • Pueyo, A. A. (1997). Manuel de psychologie différentielle. Madrid: Mc Graw Hill.
  • Schmidt, V., Firpo, L., D. Vion, M. Costa Oliván, M. E., L. Casella, L. Cuenya, L. Blum et D. Pedrón (2010). Modèle de personnalité psychobiologique d'Eysenck: une histoire projetée vers le futur. Journal international de psychologie, 11, 1-21.

Les Big Five (Juillet 2019).


Articles Connexes