yes, therapy helps!
Facebook, Instagram ... and the summer you're missing

Facebook, Instagram ... and the summer you're missing

August 8, 2022

Photos of Instagram taken on the beaches of Formentera , incredible images of the last vacation in London, some selfies taken in the fashion macrofestivals ...

Let's face it: the interest is not so much in the beauty of what is seen as in the fact of being able to say: "I've been there! " We use social networks as if they were an extension of our body and, as such, we project ourselves into them trying to offer the best possible image. The problem comes, many times, when you see that what others teach is more attractive than what you can teach. Could it be that Instagram and Facebook are enhancing the feeling of envy ?


Question of self-perception

This was discussed in the FOMO Syndrome article: new technologies and the digital age cause a generalized fear of not living life intensely as (it seems) that others do . However, on vacation, this can be exacerbated.

There is more to see the degree to which the photos of the most expensive destinations and the most exclusive locations are viralized. Add another ingredient to this cocktail: the most famous and richest people have the most followers in social networks. But if Twitter or Instagram suggests that we follow them when we have not yet released our new user account!


Even if it is strange, this may mean that you are subject to a continuous burst of ideal summer images make us feel the pressure to achieve experiences comparable to those we see ... just when those images usually convey fun, relaxation and freedom to do what you want.

In part, this is what makes us more and more technological supports that allow us to take photographs anywhere and in almost any condition: smartphones with good built-in cameras, submersible cameras, sticks selfies, etc. A moment not immortalized by means of a photograph is like a moment not lived, because it can not be massively shared by social networks.

But the problem with this is not just that we lack a camera at the right time: is that we need those moments to occur in the desired amount and in the quantities required . It is not enough to experience sensations and pleasant situations: in addition, those experiences that we live must be able to be photographed and they must be able to be recognized by others as something to envy. People will be more impressed with the Iguazu Falls than with photos taken in a massif of Antarctica, however much the second is your favorite destination for this vacation.



Facebook and envy

To what extent is it true that seeing how well others spend it through social networks makes us feel bad? Certainly, it is a somewhat diffuse issue and not too easy to approach scientifically, but there is some evidence to reinforce this idea.

For example, a study published in the Journal of Experimental Psychology: Generalshows in its results that passively use Facebook for a few minutes (scroll vertically to see the publications that are hanging others) enhances the feeling of envy and, with it, reduces emotional well-being

Other research published in PLOS ONE It reached similar results, and added another interesting fact: face-to-face interactions did not have the same effects on subjective well-being as interactions via Facebook. In fact, they made the participants in the experiment feel better, the opposite of what happened with the use of the social network.


Therefore, this would serve to reject the hypothesis that people feel bad about any form of social interaction. The envy and relative discomfort that seems to have the use of Facebook would be part of the consequences of exposing themselves to images and messages that others have filtered to offer a desirable image of themselves.

And it is that, in fact, there is a very negative part in the use of networks: "Depersonalization and (in) communication in social networks"

The doses of Instagram and Facebook, with awareness and in its just measure

Solutions not to go through this? The binomial Facebook - envy It could have deep roots considering the power we have when it comes to shaping the image of us that we want to give on the Internet. In addition, there do not seem to be too many investigations in this regard, which makes it difficult to know which is the best strategy to face this.


However, the most intuitive and probable solution is in take with philosophy the use of Instagram, Twitter and other digital platforms . On the one hand, we can remind ourselves that to believe that what we are seeing is representative of the lives of others would be to fall into a deception. On the other hand, we could, for example, also give us a "vacation" from social networks. In this way it is probable that many more stimulating experiences will come our way, even without looking for them.


Missing (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Facebook, Instagram ... et l'été qui vous manque

Facebook, Instagram ... et l'été qui vous manque

Août 17, 2019

Des photos de Instagram prise sur les plages de Formentera , des images incroyables des dernières vacances à Londres, des selfies pris dans les macrofestivals de la mode ...

Regardons les choses en face: l'intérêt n'est pas tant la beauté de ce qui est perçu que le fait de pouvoir dire: "J'y suis allé! " Nous utilisons les réseaux sociaux comme s’ils étaient une extension de notre corps et, en tant que tels, nous nous projetons dans ceux-ci en essayant d’offrir la meilleure image possible. Le problème vient souvent lorsque vous voyez que ce que les autres enseignent est plus attrayant que ce que vous pouvez enseigner. Se pourrait-il que Instagram et Facebook améliorent la sentiment d'envie ?


Question de perception de soi

Ceci a été discuté dans l'article sur le syndrome FOMO: les nouvelles technologies et l'ère numérique provoquer une peur généralisée de ne pas vivre intensément la vie comme (il semble) que d'autres le font . Cependant, en vacances, cela peut être exacerbé.

Il ne reste plus qu'à voir dans quelle mesure les photos des destinations les plus chères et les plus exclusives sont viralisées. Ajoutez un autre ingrédient à ce cocktail: les personnes les plus célèbres et les plus riches ont le plus d'abonnés sur les réseaux sociaux. Mais si Twitter ou Instagram suggère que nous les suivions alors que nous n’avons pas encore publié notre nouveau compte utilisateur!


Même si c'est étrange, cela peut signifier que vous êtes soumis à un rafale continue d'images d'été idéales faites-nous sentir la pression de réaliser des expériences comparables à celles que nous voyons ... juste au moment où ces images sont généralement synonymes d’amusement, de détente et de liberté, permettant de faire ce que vous voulez.

C'est en partie ce qui fait de nous de plus en plus de supports technologiques nous permettant de prendre des photos n'importe où et dans presque toutes les conditions: smartphones avec bonnes caméras intégrées, caméras submersibles, selfies sticks, etc. Un moment non immortalisé au moyen d'une photographie est comme un moment non vécu, car il ne peut pas être massivement partagé par les réseaux sociaux.

Mais le problème avec ceci n’est pas seulement qu’il nous manque une caméra au bon moment: est que nous avons besoin de ces moments pour se produire dans la quantité désirée et dans les quantités requises . Il ne suffit pas d’éprouver des sensations et des situations agréables: il faut en outre pouvoir photographier ces expériences que nous vivons et pouvoir les reconnaître comme une chose à envier aux autres. Les gens seront plus impressionnés par les chutes d'Iguazu que par les photos prises dans un massif de l'Antarctique, bien que la seconde soit votre destination préférée pour ces vacances.



Facebook et l'envie

Dans quelle mesure est-il vrai que le fait de voir à quel point d'autres le dépensent via les réseaux sociaux nous met mal à l'aise? Certes, il s’agit d’une question relativement diffuse et difficile à aborder de manière scientifique, mais il existe certaines preuves pour renforcer cette idée.

Par exemple, une étude publiée dans le Journal de psychologie expérimentale: généralmontre dans ses résultats que Facebook est utilisé de manière passive pendant quelques minutes (faites défiler verticalement pour voir les publications suspendues) améliore le sentiment d'envie et, avec lui, réduit le bien-être émotionnel

Autres recherches publiées dans PLOS ONE Des résultats similaires ont été obtenus et un autre fait intéressant a été ajouté: les interactions face à face n'avaient pas les mêmes effets sur le bien-être subjectif que les interactions via Facebook. En fait, ils ont fait en sorte que les participants à l'expérience se sentent mieux, contrairement à ce qui s'est passé avec l'utilisation du réseau social.


Par conséquent, cela servirait à rejeter l’hypothèse selon laquelle les gens se sentent mal à l’égard de toute forme d’interaction sociale. L'envie et l'inconfort relatif que semble avoir l'utilisation de Facebook feraient partie des conséquences de s'exposer à des images et à des messages que d'autres ont filtrés pour offrir une image d'eux-mêmes.

Et c’est qu’en réalité, l’utilisation des réseaux a un aspect très négatif: "Dépersonnalisation et (in) communication dans les réseaux sociaux"

Les doses d'Instagram et de Facebook, avec conscience et à sa juste mesure

Des solutions pour ne pas passer par là? Le binôme Facebook - envie Cela pourrait avoir des racines profondes compte tenu du pouvoir que nous avons lorsqu'il s'agit de façonner l'image de nous que nous voulons donner sur Internet. En outre, il ne semble pas y avoir trop d’enquêtes à cet égard, ce qui rend difficile de savoir quelle est la meilleure stratégie pour y faire face.


Cependant, la solution la plus intuitive et probable est dans prendre avec philosophie l'utilisation d'Instagram, Twitter et d'autres plateformes numériques . D'une part, nous pouvons nous rappeler que croire que ce que nous voyons est représentatif de la vie des autres reviendrait à nous tromper. D'autre part, nous pourrions, par exemple, également nous donner des "vacances" sur les réseaux sociaux. De cette manière, il est probable que de nombreuses expériences plus stimulantes nous parviendront, même sans les rechercher.


DJ Kayz feat. Wassila & Scridge - Jour J (Clip Officiel) (Août 2019).


Articles Connexes