yes, therapy helps!
Fahr's disease: what it is, main causes and symptoms

Fahr's disease: what it is, main causes and symptoms

May 27, 2024

Fahr's disease consists of pathological accumulation of calcium in the basal ganglia and other subcortical structures. This phenomenon causes symptoms such as parkinsonian tremors, loss of motor skills, progressive cognitive deterioration and typical alterations of psychosis, such as hallucinations.

In this article we will analyze the main causes and symptoms of Fahr syndrome . However, it is a very rare disease, so the knowledge that exists about it at present is limited; This could also be one of the reasons that there is no treatment for the syndrome.

  • Related article: "The 18 types of mental illnesses"

What is Fahr syndrome?

Fahr syndrome is a neurodegenerative disease of genetic origin that is characterized by Progressive bilateral calcification of the basal ganglia , a set of subcortical brain nuclei that are associated with learning and the automation of movements, among other functions. It can also affect other regions of the brain.


Consequently, this alteration causes motor symptoms, such as parkinsonian tremors and dysarthria, but also psychological ones, including a decrease in mood and phenomena similar to those of psychosis (for example, hallucinations), and other types; The appearance of seizures and ischemic strokes .

This disease was first described by the German pathologist Karl Theodor Fahr in the year 1930. It is also known by other names: "idiopathic calcification of the basal ganglia", "familial primary cerebral calcification", "cerebrovascular ferrocalcinosis", "calcinosis of the nuclei of the brain "," Chavany-Brunhes syndrome "and" Fritsche syndrome ".


  • Related article: "Parkinson: causes, symptoms, treatment and prevention"

Epidemiology and prognosis

It is a very rare disorder that affects more people in the 40s and 50s; The calcification of the basal ganglia in itself is a natural phenomenon associated with age, although it does not usually occur in the characteristic degree of the syndrome. Nowadays there is no known cure for Fahr's disease .

It is very difficult to make predictions about the development of cases of Fahr's disease, since research suggests that neither the severity of the calcification nor the age of the patient can be used as predictors of neurological and cognitive deficits. However, the most common is that the disease ends up causing death.

Symptoms of this disease

The severity of the symptoms of Fahr's disease varies depending on the case. While many affected people show no signs, in other cases they appear very severe alterations that alter perception, cognition, movement and other areas of operation. Extrapyramidal symptoms are usually the first to appear.


A set of signs that has especially caught the attention of medicine in the case of Fahr's disease are Parkinsonian symptoms, which include rest tremors , muscle rigidity, gait alterations, involuntary movements of the fingers or the lack of characteristic facial expression, known as "mask face".

Synthetically, the most common symptoms of this syndrome are the following:

  • Progressive appearance of deficits in cognition and memory until you get to dementia
  • Motor disorders such as parkinsonian tremors, athetosis and choreic movements
  • Convulsive crisis
  • Headache
  • Psychotic symptoms: loss of contact with reality, hallucinations, delusions, etc.
  • Alterations in sensory perception
  • Loss of learned motor skills
  • Dysfunction of eye movements and eyesight
  • Difficulties in walking
  • Muscle rigidity and spasticity
  • Deficit in the articulation of phonemes (dysarthria) and speech slowing
  • Emotional instability and depressive symptoms
  • Difficulty swallowing food and liquids
  • Increased risk of ischemic stroke

Causes and physiopathology

The signs and symptoms of Fahr's disease are due to the accumulation of calcium and other compounds in the circulatory system , particularly in the cell walls of capillaries and large arteries and veins. Among the additional substances that have been detected in these deposits are mucopolysaccharides and elements such as magnesium and iron.

Cerebral structures whose involvement is key in the manifestation of Fahr syndrome are the basal ganglia (especially the pale globe, the putamen and the caudate nucleus), the thalamus, the cerebellum and the subcortical white matter, that is, the sets of myelinated neuronal axons that lie below the cerebral cortex.

The pathological calcification of these regions has been associated mainly with genetic mutations transmitted by autosomal recessive inheritance . It is known that some of the affected genes are related to the metabolism of phosphate and the maintenance of the blood-brain barrier, fundamental in the biochemical protection of the brain.

However, autosomal dominant inheritance only accounts for about 60% of cases of Fahr's disease. In the rest, the causes include recessive inheritance, infections such as HIV (the AIDS virus), dysfunctions of the parathyroid gland, vasculitis of the central nervous system, radiotherapy and chemotherapy.

Bibliographic references:

  • Mufaddel, A. A. & Al-Hassani, G. A. (2014). Familial idiopathic basal ganglia calcification (Fahr's disease). Neurosciences (Riyadh). 19: 171-77.
  • Rastogi, R., Singh, A.K., Rastogi, U. C., Mohan, C. & Rastogi, V. (2011). Fahr's syndrome: a rare clinical-radiologic entity. Medical Journal Armed Forces India, 67: 159-61.
  • Saleem, S., Aslam, H.M., Anwar, M., Anwar, S., Saleem, M., Saleem, A. & Rehmani, M.A.K. (2013). Fahr's syndrome: literature review of current evidence. Orphanet Journal of Rare Diseases, 8: 156.

Dr Patrick Wood: Fahr's disease, brain calcification in SLE (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Maladie de Fahr: qu'est-ce que c'est, causes principales et symptômes

Maladie de Fahr: qu'est-ce que c'est, causes principales et symptômes

Juillet 30, 2021

La maladie de Fahr consiste en une accumulation pathologique de calcium dans les noyaux gris centraux et d'autres structures sous-corticales. Ce phénomène provoque des symptômes tels que des tremblements parkinsoniens, une perte de motricité, une détérioration cognitive progressive et des altérations typiques de la psychose, telles que des hallucinations.

Dans cet article, nous analyserons les principales causes et symptômes du syndrome de Fahr . Cependant, il s’agit d’une maladie très rare, de sorte que les connaissances existantes à ce sujet sont limitées; Cela pourrait également être l'une des raisons pour lesquelles il n'y a pas de traitement pour le syndrome.

  • Article connexe: "Les 18 types de maladies mentales"

Qu'est-ce que le syndrome de Fahr?

Le syndrome de Fahr est une maladie neurodégénérative d’origine génétique caractérisée par Calcification bilatérale progressive des ganglions de la base , un ensemble de noyaux cérébraux sous-corticaux associés à l’apprentissage et à l’automatisation des mouvements, entre autres fonctions. Il peut également affecter d'autres régions du cerveau.


Par conséquent, cette altération provoque des symptômes moteurs, tels que des tremblements parkinsoniens et la dysarthrie, mais également des symptômes psychologiques, notamment une diminution de l'humeur et des phénomènes similaires à ceux de la psychose (par exemple, des hallucinations) et d'autres types; L'apparition de convulsions et accidents ischémiques .

Cette pathologie a été décrite pour la première fois par le pathologiste allemand Karl Theodor Fahr en 1930. Elle porte également le nom de "calcification idiopathique des ganglions de la base", "calcification cérébrale primitive familiale", "ferrocalcinose cérébrovasculaire", "calcinose cérébrovasculaire". les noyaux du cerveau "," le syndrome de Chavany-Brunhes "et le" syndrome de Fritsche ".


  • Article connexe: "Parkinson: causes, symptômes, traitement et prévention"

Epidémiologie et pronostic

C'est un trouble très rare qui touche plus de gens dans les années 40 et 50; La calcification des noyaux gris centraux est en elle-même un phénomène naturel associé à l’âge, bien qu’elle ne se produise généralement pas dans le degré caractéristique du syndrome. Actuellement il n'y a pas de remède connu contre la maladie de Fahr .

Il est très difficile de prédire l'évolution des cas de maladie de Fahr, car les recherches suggèrent que ni la sévérité de la calcification ni l'âge du patient ne peuvent être utilisés comme prédicteurs de déficits neurologiques et cognitifs. Cependant, le plus commun est que la maladie finit par causer la mort.

Symptômes de cette maladie

La gravité des symptômes de la maladie de Fahr varie selon les cas. Alors que beaucoup de personnes touchées ne montrent aucun signe, dans d'autres cas, elles apparaissent très graves altérations qui altèrent la perception, la cognition, le mouvement et d'autres zones d'opération. Les symptômes extrapyramidaux sont généralement les premiers à apparaître.


Un ensemble de signes qui a particulièrement attiré l’attention des médicaments dans le cas de la maladie de Fahr est Symptômes parkinsoniens, qui incluent des tremblements au repos , rigidité musculaire, altération de la marche, mouvements involontaires des doigts ou absence d’expression faciale caractéristique, appelée "masque facial".

En résumé, les symptômes les plus courants de ce syndrome sont les suivants:

  • Apparition progressive de déficits de la cognition et de la mémoire jusqu'à la démence
  • Troubles moteurs tels que tremblements parkinsoniens, athétose et mouvements choréiques
  • Les saisies
  • Mal de tête
  • Symptômes psychotiques: perte de contact avec la réalité, hallucinations, délires, etc.
  • Altérations de la perception sensorielle
  • Perte de la motricité acquise
  • Dysfonctionnement des mouvements oculaires et de la vue
  • Des difficultés à marcher
  • Rigidité musculaire et spasticité
  • Déficit dans l'articulation des phonèmes (dysarthrie) et ralentissement de la parole
  • Instabilité émotionnelle et symptômes dépressifs
  • Difficulté à avaler des aliments et des liquides
  • Risque accru d'accident ischémique cérébral

Causes et physiopathologie

Les signes et les symptômes de la maladie de Fahr sont dus à la accumulation de calcium et d'autres composés dans le système circulatoire , en particulier dans les parois cellulaires des capillaires et des grandes artères et veines. Parmi les substances supplémentaires détectées dans ces dépôts figurent des mucopolysaccharides et des éléments tels que le magnésium et le fer.

Les structures cérébrales dont l'implication est la clé de la manifestation du syndrome de Fahr sont les noyaux gris centraux (en particulier le globe pâle, le putamen et le noyau caudé), le thalamus, le cervelet et la substance blanche sous-corticale, c'est-à-dire les ensembles de axones neuronaux myélinisés situés sous le cortex cérébral.

La calcification pathologique de ces régions a été associée principalement à mutations génétiques transmises par héritage autosomique récessif . On sait que certains des gènes affectés sont liés au métabolisme du phosphate et au maintien de la barrière hémato-encéphalique, élément fondamental de la protection biochimique du cerveau.

Cependant, l'héritage autosomique dominant ne représente qu'environ 60% des cas de maladie de Fahr. Dans le reste, les causes incluent une transmission récessive, des infections telles que le VIH (virus du SIDA), des dysfonctionnements de la glande parathyroïde, une vascularite du système nerveux central, une radiothérapie et une chimiothérapie.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Mufaddel, A. A. et Al-Hassani, G. A. (2014). Calcification familiale des ganglions de la base idiopathiques (maladie de Fahr). Neurosciences (Riyad). 19: 171 à 77.
  • Rastogi, R., Singh, A.K., Rastogi, U. C., Mohan, C. et Rastogi, V. (2011). Le syndrome de Fahr: une entité clinique et radiologique rare. Medical Journal Armed Forces India, 67: 159-161.
  • Saleem, S., Aslam, H.M., Anwar, M., Anwar, S., Saleem, M., Saleem, A. et Rehmani, M.A.K. (2013). Syndrome de Fahr: revue de la littérature sur les preuves actuelles. Orphanet Journal of Rare Diseases, 8: 156.

Les pneumatiques : Les conseils de nos garagistes / Top Entretien #7 (avec Denis Brogniart) (Juillet 2021).


Articles Connexes