yes, therapy helps!
Falocentrism: what it is and what it tells us about our society

Falocentrism: what it is and what it tells us about our society

September 15, 2022

The term "phallocentrism" refers to the exercise to place the phallus at the center of explanations about the psychic and sexual constitution. This exercise has been present in much of the scientific and philosophical theories of the West, it is even visible in social organization. As a concept, phallocentrism arises in the first half of the 20th century to criticize different practices and knowledge, among which are psychoanalysis, philosophy and science.

Next we will see in more detail what phallogocentrism is, where this concept comes from and what have been some of the consequences that its application has had.

  • Related article: "Types of sexism: the different forms of discrimination"

Falocentrism: the phallus as the original symbol

As the term itself indicates, phallocentrism is the tendency to place the "phallus" at the center of the explanations about the subjective constitution; concept that can be used as a synonym for "penis", but that it is also used to designate a symbolic referent .


The latter comes mainly from Freudian and Lacanian psychoanalysis, but is later taken up and criticized by some currents of philosophy, as well as by feminist theories and movements, which claim a different understanding of the psyche and sexuation.

  • Maybe you are interested: "The 4 main branches of Anthropology: how they are and what they investigate"

Background and development of the concept

At the end of the 18th century and the beginning of the 19th, Sigmund Freud developed a theory of psychosexual development in which he proposed that the psychic constitution of the subjects passes through the awareness of sexual difference.

This awareness brings with it two possibilities: having, or lacking, the valued object. This object is the penis, and carries with it a symbolic value that subsequently (in Lacanian psychoanalysis) it is transferred to other elements beyond the anatomical structure.


From infancy, who carries the penis enters a phase of psychic structuring based on the threat of castration (ie, to lose the phallus). On the contrary, those who do not have it go through a structuring process based mainly on this lack, which generates a constitutive envy that was called "penis envy".

Thus, the phallus was at the center of this theory of psychosexual development, arguing that the female psychic constitution occurred as a negation of the masculine, or else as a supplement to it.

The phallus, later understood as a symbolic reference; and its carrier, the male subject, they are positioned in the center of explanations about psychic and sexual development .

  • Related article: "The 5 stages of psychosexual development of Sigmund Freud"

First reviews

The reactions and oppositions to the psychoanalytic theory of psychosexual development occurred both outside and within the same circle of disciples of Freud. One of them, Karen Horney, criticized in an important way the theory of penis envy , and argued that the psychic constitution of women was not necessarily traversed by such resentment.


Like Melanie Klein, Horney argued that there is a primary femininity, which is not a derivation or denial of the male psychosexual constitution.

Already in the 1920s, the psychoanalyst and later biographer of Sigmund Freud, Ernest Jones, takes up the criticisms that Klein and Horney had made penis envy theory, to argue that the psychoanalytic postulates made by men were heavily laden with "phallocentric" vision.

The latter was what formally gave origin to the concept of "phallocentrism", and since in the beginning Freudian psychoanalysis did not distinguish between the phallus and the penis, the term was exclusively used to talk about the empowerment of men .

It is up to the Lacanian psychoanalytic theory when the "phallus" ceased to correspond necessarily with the anatomical structure, and goes on to designate that which is in the center of the object of desire of each subject.

Decades later, this last one was retaken and criticized by philosophers and feminists, since it maintained the primacy of the phallus like the origin and the center of the power, the psyche and the sexuación to different scales.

Falocentrism and phallogocentrism

We have seen that the term "phallocentrism" refers to a system of power relations that promote and perpetuate the phallus as the transcendental symbol of empowerment (Makaryk, 1995).

Part of the latter was popularized in the second half of the twentieth century, when the philosopher Jacques Derrida used it in one of the most representative critics of the contemporary era.

According to Galvic (2010) Derrida argues that, just as writing historically has been established as a supplement or accessory of speech (logos), women have been constituted as supplements or accessories for men.

From there, it establishes a parallelism between logocentrism and phallocentrism, and generates the term "phallogocentrism", which refers to the solidarity of both processes; or rather, maintains that it is inseparable phenomena .

Thus, phallogocentrism ensures both the binary and hierarchical male / female opposition, as well as the "male order", or at least, warns that such opposition can give way to exclusion (Glavic, 2010).

The perspective of feminism

From the second half of the 20th century, feminist movements have criticized how psychoanalysis, and later some scientific theories, have been organized around the idea of ​​man as "a whole". Part of these criticisms they took up an important part of the theoretical development of Derrida .

For example, Makaryk (1995) tells us that phallocentrism has sustained a system of power relations that includes what Derrida called "the master narratives of Western discourse": the classic works of philosophy, of science, of history and religion.

In these narratives, the phallus is a reference of unity, authority, tradition, order, and associated values. For this reason, a large part of feminist criticism, especially Anglo-American, tends to relate phallocentrism with patriarchy , noting that, often, the most empowered people are precisely the male sexed subjects.

However, and from different perspectives, for example in decolonial approaches, these last debates have been transferred to make critiques within feminism itself.

Bibliographic references:

  • Makaryk, I. (1995). Encyclopedia of contemporary literary theory. University of Toronto Press: Canada.
  • Ernest Jones (S / A). Institute of Psychoanalysis, British Psychoanalytical Society. Retrieved August 27, 2018. Available at //www.psychoanalysis.org.uk/our-authors-and-theorists/ernest-jones.
  • Phallocentrism (2018). Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Retrieved August 27, 2018. Available at //en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phallocentrism
  • Galvic, K. (2010). The maternal operation in Jacques Derrida: problems and possibilities for a deconstruction of the feminine. Thesis to obtain the degree of Master in Philosophy with a Mention in Axiology and Political Philosophy. University of Chile.
  • Bennington, G. and Derrida, J. (1994). Jacques Derrida, Madrid: Chair.
  • South of Everything (2013). For a certain feminism of deconstruction. Notes to the notion of phallogocentrism. Multidisciplinary journal of gender studies. Retrieved August 27, 2018. Available at //www.alsurdetodo.com/?p=485.
  • Promitzer, C., Hermanik, K-J. and Staudinger, E. (2009). (Hidden) Minorities: language and ethnic identity between central europe and the balkans. LIT Verlag: Germany.
  • Surmani, F. (2013). Criticism of the alleged phallocentrism of psychoanalysis. The debate with gender theories and queer theories. V International Congress of Research and Professional Practice in Psychology XX Research Conference Ninth Meeting of Researchers in Psychology of MERCOSUR. Faculty of Psychology-University of Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires.
  • Peretti, C. (1989). Interview with Jacques Derrida. Politics and Society, 3: 101-106.

50 Cosas sobre Sylvan (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le falocentrisme: qu'est-ce que c'est et ce qu'il nous dit de notre société

Le falocentrisme: qu'est-ce que c'est et ce qu'il nous dit de notre société

Février 27, 2021

Le terme "phallocentrisme" désigne l'exercice consistant à placer le phallus au centre des explications relatives à la constitution psychique et sexuelle. Cet exercice a été présent dans la plupart des théories scientifiques et philosophiques occidentales, il est même visible dans l'organisation sociale. En tant que concept, le phallocentrisme apparaît dans la première moitié du 20e siècle critiquer différentes pratiques et connaissances, parmi lesquelles la psychanalyse, la philosophie et la science.

Nous verrons ensuite plus en détail ce qu'est le phallogocentrisme, d'où provient ce concept et quelles ont été les conséquences de son application.

  • Article connexe: "Types de sexisme: les différentes formes de discrimination"

Falocentrisme: le phallus en tant que symbole originel

Comme le terme l'indique lui-même, le phallocentrisme est la tendance à placer le "phallus" au centre des explications relatives à la constitution subjective; concept qui peut être utilisé comme synonyme de "pénis", mais que il est également utilisé pour désigner un référent symbolique .


Ces derniers proviennent principalement de la psychanalyse freudienne et lacanienne, mais sont ensuite repris et critiqués par certains courants philosophiques, ainsi que par les théories et les mouvements féministes, qui revendiquent une compréhension différente de la psyché et de la sexuation.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Les 4 branches principales de l'anthropologie: comment elles sont et ce qu'elles étudient"

Contexte et développement du concept

À la fin du 18ème siècle et au début du 19ème, Sigmund Freud a développé une théorie du développement psychosexuel dans lequel il a proposé que la constitution psychique des sujets passe par la prise de conscience de la différence sexuelle.

Cette prise de conscience comporte deux possibilités: avoir ou manquer l'objet valorisé. Cet objet est le pénis, et porte avec elle une valeur symbolique ensuite (dans la psychanalyse lacanienne), il est transféré à d’autres éléments en dehors de la structure anatomique.


Dès l'enfance, le porteur du pénis entre dans une phase de structuration psychique basée sur la menace de castration (c'est-à-dire la perte du phallus). Au contraire, ceux qui ne l'ont pas subissent un processus de structuration basé principalement sur ce manque, qui génère une envie constitutive appelée "envie du pénis".

Ainsi, le phallus était au centre de cette théorie du développement psychosexuel, affirmant que la constitution psychique féminine se présentait comme une négation du masculin ou bien comme un complément de celle-ci.

Le phallus, compris plus tard comme une référence symbolique; et son porteur, le sujet masculin, ils se situent au centre des explications sur le développement psychique et sexuel .

  • Article connexe: "Les 5 étapes du développement psychosexuel de Sigmund Freud"

Premières revues

Les réactions et les oppositions à la théorie psychanalytique du développement psychosexuel se sont produites à la fois à l'extérieur et dans le même cercle de disciples de Freud. L'une d'entre elles, Karen Horney, a critiqué de manière importante la théorie de l'envie du pénis et a soutenu que la constitution psychique des femmes n’était pas nécessairement traversée par un tel ressentiment.


Comme Melanie Klein, Horney a soutenu qu'il existe une féminité primaire, qui n'est pas une dérivation ou un déni de la constitution psychosexuelle de l'homme.

Déjà dans les années 1920, Ernest Jones, psychanalyste et futur biographe de Sigmund Freud, reprenait les critiques selon lesquelles Klein et Horney avaient fait de la théorie de l'envie du pénis, affirmant que les postulats psychanalytiques posés par les hommes étaient lourdement chargés. vision "phallocentrique".

C’est ce dernier qui a formellement donné naissance au concept de "phallocentrisme", puisqu’au début la psychanalyse freudienne ne faisait pas de distinction entre le phallus et le pénis, le terme était exclusivement utilisé parler de l'autonomisation des hommes .

C'est à la théorie psychanalytique lacanienne que le "phallus" cesse de correspondre obligatoirement à la structure anatomique et désigne ce qui se trouve au centre de l'objet de désir de chaque sujet.

Des décennies plus tard, cette dernière a été reprise et critiquée par les philosophes et les féministes, car elle a maintenu la primauté du phallus comme origine et centre du pouvoir, de la psyché et de la sexuación à différentes échelles.

Falocentrisme et phallogocentrisme

Nous avons vu que le terme "phallocentrisme" se réfère à un système de relations de pouvoir qui promeuvent et perpétuent le phallus en tant que symbole transcendantal de la responsabilisation (Makaryk, 1995).

Une partie de ce dernier a été popularisée dans la seconde moitié du XXe siècle, lorsque le philosophe Jacques Derrida l'a utilisée dans l'un des critiques les plus représentatifs de l'époque contemporaine.

Selon Galvic (2010), Derrida affirme que, tout comme l'écriture a toujours été établie comme complément ou accessoire du discours (logos), les femmes ont été constituées comme compléments ou accessoires pour hommes.

À partir de là, il établit un parallélisme entre logocentrisme et phallocentrisme et génère le terme de "phallogocentrisme", qui fait référence à la solidarité des deux processus; ou plutôt, soutient que c'est des phénomènes inséparables .

Ainsi, le phallogocentrisme garantit à la fois l’opposition binaire et hiérarchique entre hommes et femmes, ainsi que «l’ordre masculin», ou du moins, avertit que cette opposition peut céder le pas à l’exclusion (Glavic, 2010).

La perspective du féminisme

À partir de la seconde moitié du XXe siècle, des mouvements féministes ont critiqué la manière dont la psychanalyse, et plus tard certaines théories scientifiques, ont été organisées autour de l'idée de l'homme comme "un tout". Une partie de ces critiques ils ont pris une partie importante du développement théorique de Derrida .

Par exemple, Makaryk (1995) nous dit que le phallocentrisme a maintenu un système de relations de pouvoir qui inclut ce que Derrida a appelé "les récits maîtres du discours occidental": les ouvrages classiques de la philosophie, de la science, de l'histoire et la religion.

Dans ces récits, le phallus est une référence d'unité, d'autorité, de tradition, d'ordre et de valeurs associées. Pour cette raison, une grande partie de la critique féministe, en particulier anglo-américaine, tend à relier le phallocentrisme au patriarcat , notant que, souvent, les personnes les plus habilitées sont précisément les sujets masculins.

Cependant, et sous des perspectives différentes, par exemple dans les approches décoloniales, ces derniers débats ont été transférés pour faire des critiques au sein même du féminisme.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Makaryk, I. (1995). Encyclopédie de la théorie littéraire contemporaine. Presses de l'Université de Toronto: Canada.
  • Ernest Jones (S / A). Institut de psychanalyse, Société psychanalytique britannique. Récupéré le 27 août 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.psychoanalysis.org.uk/our-authors-and-theorists/ernest-jones.
  • Phallocentrisme (2018). Wikipedia, l'encyclopédie libre. Récupéré le 27 août 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phallocentrism.
  • Galvic, K. (2010). L’opération maternelle de Jacques Derrida: problèmes et possibilités d’une déconstruction du féminin. Thèse pour l'obtention du diplôme de Master en philosophie avec mention en axiologie et en philosophie politique. Université du Chili.
  • Bennington, G. et Derrida, J. (1994). Jacques Derrida, Madrid: Président.
  • Au sud de tout (2013). Pour un certain féminisme de déconstruction. Notes sur la notion de phallogocentrisme. Revue multidisciplinaire d'études sur le genre. Récupéré le 27 août 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //www.alsurdetodo.com/?p=485.
  • Promitzer, C., Hermanik, K-J. et Staudinger, E. (2009). Minorités (cachées): identité linguistique et ethnique entre l'europe centrale et les balkans. LIT Verlag: Allemagne.
  • Surmani, F. (2013). Critique du prétendu phallocentrisme de la psychanalyse. Le débat avec les théories de genre et les théories queer. Vème Congrès international de la recherche et de la pratique professionnelle en psychologie XXème conférence sur la recherche Neuvième réunion des chercheurs en psychologie du MERCOSUR. Faculté de psychologie de l'Université de Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires.
  • Peretti, C. (1989). Entretien avec Jacques Derrida. Politique et société, 3: 101-106.

Comunicat II de les CCCM (Février 2021).


Articles Connexes