yes, therapy helps!
Fear of being a mother: why it appears and how to overcome it

Fear of being a mother: why it appears and how to overcome it

June 12, 2024

The fear of being a mother is one of the psychological phenomena that goes unnoticed, although it is experienced by many women. It is not something to be taken lightly, because it corresponds to motherhood, a fact that transforms the day to day of who is going to have a baby and who, therefore, thinks about this whole process through a strong emotional involvement.

In this article we will see why fear of motherhood may appear and what can be done to overcome it .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Perinatal psychology: what is it and what functions do you perform?"

Fear of motherhood: possible causes

The fear of being a mother is relatively frequent in women who value the possibility of becoming pregnant for the first time or who are already pregnant. In the latter case, the emotional impact of receiving the news of pregnancy can lead to serious suffering even if they were already planning to be pregnant. Ambiguity and ambivalence in feelings is very characteristic when the fear of motherhood is present.


Here are some of the most important key ideas to assess what may be the causes of this fear, in each case.

1. Is it a desired pregnancy?

Some women confuse the fear of being mothers with the simple fact of not wanting to be mothers. Due to the traces left by the machismo that has prevailed for centuries in practically all cultures, it tends to ignore the will of women in regard to their own capacity to conceive, assuming that motherhood is a phase of life through which they must pass , when this is not the case at all.

Not wanting to have children is, of course, something totally legitimate, and the social pressure that can lead to see as a problem the refusal to have a baby It should not be seen as an individual problem, but as a collective, community .


2. Fear of medical complications

Many women are afraid to think about the danger of childbirth. Although fortunately, in most developed countries, it is possible to give birth under conditions of medical care that provide a lot of security, sometimes you can not count on this guarantee (either because of the place where you live or by others material constraints). On the other hand, it can also happen that this danger is overestimated.

In addition, in many cases a double fear is perceived: to die the same, and to die the baby .

3. The fear of not being prepared

It is also very common, within the cases of fear of being a mother, to see motherhood as a task that requires many skills and competences at the same time, without leaving time to "train" in them without exposing the newborn to risks or dangers. The new role of mother is seen as a total transformation that it requires adopting totally different habits , something that is not easy to do or plan.


4. The fear of transmitting problems

Beyond the possible imagined incapacity of being a mother, there are also those who fear creating a new life, since it assumes that it will possibly have an unhappy existence due to the fact of having been born from the one who was born, inheriting a whole series of problems.

  • You may be interested: "The exercise of paternity: repentant mothers and fathers?"

How to overcome the fear of being a mother?

As we have seen, the fear of being a mother is not based on the unwillingness to be a mother, but on the fear of creating great problems from pregnancy, even though there is something about motherhood that is seductive or even despite wanting to have a baby. That is, there is a duality: you want to have a son or daughter, but there are a number of obstacles that can harm the woman who suffers or the baby that is to come, or both, and that are almost inherent in the process of becoming a mother.

Each case is unique, and the intensity of this fear can vary a lot . For those women who feel especially bad with this anguish, it is advisable to go to a mental health professional, but for the rest, it may be enough trying to apply some very basic and simple principles that we will see below.

1. Learn about health coverage

It is a very basic first step that can avoid many worries. Seeing how medical teams can meet the needs and potential problems that arise during motherhood is a relief. Many times, you prefer not to do this so you do not have to think about pregnancy (since it produces anxiety), but if this first obstacle is avoided, a good part of the fear will go away.

2. Value the material conditions in which one lives

If there are reasons to think that motherhood is materially unfeasible due to lack of resources, it is advisable to postpone pregnancy, but for this it is important to ask for third opinions, because the fear of motherhood can bias our point of view .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Cognitive biases: discovering an interesting psychological effect"

3. Start learning to be a mother

It is true that taking care of a baby is a responsibility, but it is not a task reserved only for an intellectual or physical elite: with due process of learning, you can play this maternal or paternal role well .

The simple fact of getting involved and learning during the previous months makes us feel more prepared and that the fear of being a mother goes away, while increasing self-esteem.


How to Overcome Fear & Being a Parent (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Peur d'être mère: pourquoi il apparaît et comment le surmonter

Peur d'être mère: pourquoi il apparaît et comment le surmonter

Mai 20, 2019

La peur d’être mère est l’un des phénomènes psychologiques qui passe inaperçu, même si elle est vécue par de nombreuses femmes. Ce n'est pas quelque chose à prendre à la légère, car cela correspond à la maternité, un fait qui transforme le jour le jour qui va avoir un bébé et qui, par conséquent, pense à tout ce processus à travers une implication émotionnelle forte.

Dans cet article, nous verrons pourquoi la peur de la maternité peut apparaître et ce qui peut être fait pour la surmonter .

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "La psychologie périnatale: qu'est-ce que c'est et quelles fonctions remplissez-vous?"

Peur de la maternité: causes possibles

La peur d'être mère est relativement fréquente chez les femmes qui valorisent la possibilité de devenir enceintes pour la première fois ou qui sont déjà enceintes. Dans ce dernier cas, l’impact émotionnel de l’annonce de l’annonce de la grossesse peut entraîner de graves souffrances, même si elles envisageaient déjà d’être enceinte. L'ambiguïté et l'ambivalence dans les sentiments est très caractéristique quand la peur de la maternité est présente.


Voici certaines des idées clés les plus importantes pour évaluer les causes possibles de cette peur, dans chaque cas.

1. Est-ce une grossesse désirée?

Certaines femmes confondent la peur d'être mères avec le simple fait de ne pas vouloir être mères. En raison des traces laissées par le machisme qui a prévalu pendant des siècles dans pratiquement toutes les cultures, il a tendance à ignorer la volonté des femmes quant à leur propre capacité à concevoir, en supposant que la maternité est une phase de la vie à travers laquelle ils doivent passer , quand ce n’est pas du tout le cas.

Bien sûr, le fait de ne pas avoir d'enfants est une chose tout à fait légitime, et la pression sociale qui en découle peut conduire à considérer comme un problème le refus d'avoir un bébé. Il ne devrait pas être considéré comme un problème individuel, mais comme un problème collectif, communautaire. .


2. Peur des complications médicales

Beaucoup de femmes ont peur de penser au danger de l'accouchement. Bien que, heureusement, dans la plupart des pays développés, il soit possible d'accoucher dans des conditions de soins médicaux offrant une grande sécurité, parfois vous ne pouvez pas compter sur cette garantie (que ce soit à cause de l'endroit où vous vivez ou contraintes matérielles). D'autre part, il peut également arriver que ce danger soit surestimé.

De plus, dans de nombreux cas, une double crainte est perçue: mourir le même et mourir le bébé .

3. La peur de ne pas être préparé

Il est également très courant, dans les cas de peur d’être mère, de considérer la maternité comme une tâche nécessitant plusieurs aptitudes et compétences à la fois, sans laisser le temps de les "entraîner" sans exposer le nouveau-né à des risques ou à des risques. dangers. Le nouveau rôle de la mère est perçu comme une transformation totale qui il faut adopter des habitudes totalement différentes , quelque chose qui n’est pas facile à faire ou à planifier.


4. La peur de transmettre des problèmes

Au-delà de l’incapacité imaginaire possible d’être mère, il y a aussi ceux qui craignent de créer une nouvelle vie, car cela suppose qu’elle aura probablement une existence malheureuse à cause du fait d’être née de celle qui est née, en héritant de toute une série de problèmes.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "L'exercice de la paternité: mères et pères repentants?"

Comment surmonter la peur d'être mère?

Comme nous l’avons vu, la crainte d’être mère n’est pas fondée sur le refus d’être mère, mais sur la crainte de créer de gros problèmes dès la grossesse, même si la maternité a quelque chose de séduisant, voire de séduisant. malgré le désir d'avoir un bébé. C'est-à-dire qu'il y a une dualité: vous voulez avoir un fils ou une fille, mais il y a un certain nombre d'obstacles cela peut nuire à la femme qui souffre ou au bébé à venir, ou aux deux, et cela est presque inhérent au processus de devenir mère.

Chaque cas est unique et l'intensité de cette peur peut varier beaucoup . Pour les femmes qui se sentent particulièrement mal avec cette angoisse, il est conseillé de faire appel à un professionnel de la santé mentale, mais pour les autres, il serait peut-être suffisant d'essayer d'appliquer certains principes de base très simples que nous verrons ci-dessous.

1. En savoir plus sur la couverture santé

C'est une première étape très simple qui peut éviter beaucoup de soucis. Voir comment les équipes médicales peuvent répondre aux besoins et aux problèmes potentiels liés à la maternité est un soulagement. À plusieurs reprises, vous préférez ne pas le faire pour ne pas avoir à penser à la grossesse (puisque cela produit de l’anxiété), mais si ce premier obstacle est évité, une bonne partie de la peur disparaîtra.

2. Valoriser les conditions matérielles dans lesquelles on vit

S'il existe des raisons de penser que la maternité est matériellement irréalisable en raison d'un manque de ressources, il est conseillé de différer la grossesse, mais il est important de demander un troisième avis, car la peur de la maternité peut biaiser notre point de vue .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Biais cognitifs: découvrir un effet psychologique intéressant"

3. Commencez à apprendre à être une mère

Il est vrai que s’occuper d’un bébé est une responsabilité, mais ce n’est pas une tâche réservée à une élite intellectuelle ou physique: avec l’apprentissage en bonne et due forme, vous pouvez bien jouer ce rôle maternel ou paternel .

Le simple fait de s'impliquer et d'apprendre au cours des mois précédents nous permet de nous sentir mieux préparés et que la peur d'être mère disparaît tout en renforçant l'estime de soi.


Vaincre la PEUR pour Vivre tes Rêves - Jim Carrey ► Storytelling #4 (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes