yes, therapy helps!
Fear of cockroaches (blatophobia): causes, symptoms and consequences

Fear of cockroaches (blatophobia): causes, symptoms and consequences

October 1, 2022

There are many insects or animals that produce disgust, and in some cases fear. Some of the most frequent can be spiders, snakes and cockroaches. The latter are usually related to dirt, and although in some countries they are considered a delicacy, many people fear them.

The truth is that there are few insects that produce more rejection for humans than cockroaches. These small animals, which have existed for millions of years (they lived with the dinosaurs), produce irrational reactions in many people.

In this article we'll talk about blatophobia, the irrational fear of cockroaches .

  • Related article: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

What is blatophobia?

Blatophobia is a phobic disorder and, therefore, belongs to the group of anxiety disorders. Phobias can be divided into two groups. The specific ones, such as aerophobia (fear of flying) or coulrophobia (fear of clowns) and blatophobia; or in complex phobias, which include social phobia and agoraphobia.


Cockroaches are one of the most feared insects since disgust and fear are two universal negative emotions . For many, they are disgusting animals, and in spite of being harmless, some individuals can not have cockroaches nearby.

Jeffrey Lockwood, professor of Ecology at the University of Wyoming and author of the book The infested mind: why humans fear, feel disgust and love insects, explains that "despite the fact that mosquitoes are more dangerous and can become deadly, they have nothing to do with the reaction that some people have to cockroaches".

Phobias are disorders that cause great anxiety and discomfort , and to avoid this unpleasant sensation, many individuals tend to avoid the feared stimulus. In case you can not do that, you go into a state of panic when you see the object of your fear. In the following audiovisual content you can see a totally irrational reaction of a girl towards a harmless cockroach


Causes of irrational fear of cockroaches

Phobias usually have their origin in a traumatic experience of the past, and they are learned through a process called classical conditioning , which is a type of associative learning. You can deepen this type of learning in this article: "Classical conditioning and its most important experiments"

Although one of the first researchers to discover this type of learning was Ivan Pavlov, it was John B. Watson who made the term popular in the United States and the first to experience it with humans.

In his experiments, he had a little boy named Albert learn an irrational fear of a white rat which he adored at first. Despite its interesting findings and being one of the most important experiments in the history of psychology, today it could not be carried out since it would not be considered ethical.


You can see a video of this controversial study below:

Other causes of phobias

Other experts also claim that phobias such as blatophobia may be due to other reasons. One of them is vicarious learning , that is, by observation. For example, watching a scary movie in which cockroaches appeared. Phobias can also be due to our biological predisposition, because we are prepared to feel fear of certain stimuli.

Fear is an adaptive emotion that throughout history has allowed the survival of the human species, and that is the reason why phobias are constituted by primitive and non-cognitive associations, which are not easily modified by logical arguments.

  • Related article: "Vicariate learning: observing others to educate us"

Symptoms of cockroach phobia

Regardless of whether they are specific or complex phobias, the symptomatology is similar in all phobic disorders s. They are known as anxiety disorders because they are characterized by a strong anxiety and discomfort caused by fear or irrational fear when facing the phobic stimulus, anticipate the encounter with it and even imagine it. Mainly, the symptoms of blatophobia can be classified into three groups:

  • Cognitive symptoms : great fear and irrational fear, anguish, catastrophic thoughts ...
  • Behavioral symptoms : avoidance of the stimulus that causes fear
  • Physical symptoms : choking sensation, dry mouth, dizziness, stomach pain and nausea, headache, hyperventilation, acceleration of the heartbeat, tremors, chills ...

Treatment

Phobias cause great discomfort, but are curable (at least to the point of causing your symptoms to be greatly reduced).In fact, psychological treatment is very effective in this type of disorders .

Generally, psychotherapy sessions focus on cognitive behavioral therapy, which is a type of therapy that aims to modify those internal events (emotions, thoughts and beliefs) and behaviors that cause discomfort. This form of therapy employs different techniques of behavior therapy and cognitive therapy, but for the treatment of phobias Relaxation techniques and exposure techniques are really useful . Within the latter, systematic desensitization stands out, in which the patient is exposed to the dreaded stimulus in a gradual manner and at the same time he learns different coping strategies that improve his well-being.

In addition to cognitive behavioral therapy, which belongs to the so-called second-generation therapies, other therapeutic models belonging to the third generation are also used today: cognitive therapy based on Mindfulness and acceptance and commitment therapy. This type of therapies do not focus on the modification of internal events and behaviors , but in the acceptance of the experience and therefore the reduction of the symptomatology.

On the other hand, in extreme cases pharmacological treatment can be used , but always in combination with psychological therapy.

New technologies and the treatment of phobias

In recent years, with the advancement of new technologies, psychologists have begun to employ new tools that help expose the patient to phobic stimuli without the need for them to be present. Virtual reality and augmented reality are some examples.

In addition, with the use of smartphones, patients can also have different apps that help overcome phobias. You will find more details in the article "8 apps to treat phobias and fears from your smartphone".


Roach Phobia 1 - My Extreme Animal Phobia (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Peur des blattes (blatophobie): causes, symptômes et conséquences

Peur des blattes (blatophobie): causes, symptômes et conséquences

Décembre 4, 2022

Il y a beaucoup d'insectes ou d'animaux qui produisent du dégoût et, dans certains cas, de la peur. Les plus fréquents peuvent être les araignées, les serpents et les cafards. Ces derniers sont généralement liés à la saleté et, bien que dans certains pays, ils soient considérés comme un mets délicat, de nombreuses personnes en ont peur.

La vérité est qu'il y a peu d'insectes qui produisent plus de rejet pour l'homme que les blattes. Ces petits animaux, qui existent depuis des millions d'années (ils vivaient avec les dinosaures), provoquent des réactions irrationnelles chez de nombreuses personnes.

Dans cet article nous parlerons de la blatophobie, la peur irrationnelle des cafards .

  • Article connexe: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Qu'est-ce que la blatophobie?

La blatophobie est un trouble phobique et, par conséquent, appartient au groupe des troubles anxieux. Les phobies peuvent être divisées en deux groupes. Les plus spécifiques, tels que l’aérophobie (peur de voler) ou la coulrophobie (peur des clowns) et la blatophobie; ou dans les phobies complexes, qui incluent la phobie sociale et l'agoraphobie.


Les blattes sont l’un des insectes les plus redoutés depuis le dégoût et la peur sont deux émotions négatives universelles . Pour beaucoup, ce sont des animaux dégoûtants et, malgré leur innocuité, certaines personnes ne peuvent pas avoir de cafards à proximité.

Jeffrey Lockwood, professeur d'écologie à l'Université du Wyoming et auteur du livre L'esprit infesté: pourquoi les humains ont peur, sont dégoûtés et aiment les insectes, explique que "bien que les moustiques soient plus dangereux et puissent devenir mortels, ils n’ont rien à voir avec la réaction que certaines personnes ont devant les cafards".

Les phobies sont des troubles qui causent une grande anxiété et un inconfort et pour éviter cette sensation désagréable, de nombreuses personnes ont tendance à éviter le stimulus redouté. Au cas où vous ne pourriez pas faire cela, vous entrerez dans un état de panique lorsque vous verrez l'objet de votre peur. Dans le contenu audiovisuel suivant, vous pouvez voir une réaction totalement irrationnelle d'une fille envers un cafard inoffensif


Causes de la peur irrationnelle des cafards

Les phobies ont généralement pour origine une expérience traumatisante du passé et ils sont appris à travers un processus appelé conditionnement classique , qui est un type d’apprentissage associatif. Vous pouvez approfondir ce type d’apprentissage dans cet article: "Le conditionnement classique et ses expériences les plus importantes"

Bien que Ivan Pavlov ait été l’un des premiers chercheurs à découvrir ce type d’apprentissage, c’est John B. Watson qui a popularisé ce terme aux États-Unis et le premier à en faire l’expérience avec des humains.

Dans ses expériences, il a eu un petit garçon nommé Albert apprendre une peur irrationnelle d'un rat blanc qu'il adorait au début. En dépit de ses découvertes intéressantes et de l’une des expériences les plus importantes de l’histoire de la psychologie, elle n’a pas pu être réalisée aujourd’hui car elle ne serait pas considérée comme éthique.


Vous pouvez voir une vidéo de cette étude controversée ci-dessous:

Autres causes de phobies

D'autres experts affirment également que des phobies telles que la blatophobie pourraient être dues à d'autres raisons. L'un d'eux est l'apprentissage par procuration , c’est-à-dire par observation. Par exemple, regarder un film d'horreur dans lequel des cafards sont apparus. Les phobies peuvent aussi être dues à notre prédisposition biologique, car nous sommes prêts à craindre certains stimuli.

La peur est une émotion adaptative qui, au cours de l'histoire, a permis la survie de l'espèce humaine. C'est la raison pour laquelle les phobies sont constituées d'associations primitives et non cognitives, qui ne sont pas facilement modifiables par des arguments logiques.

  • Article connexe: "Apprentissage du vicariat: observer les autres pour nous éduquer"

Symptômes de la phobie de la blatte

Qu'il s'agisse de phobies spécifiques ou complexes, la symptomatologie est similaire dans tous les troubles phobiques s. On les appelle troubles anxieux car ils se caractérisent par une forte anxiété et un inconfort causés par une peur irrationnelle face à un stimulus phobique, anticipent sa rencontre et même l’imaginent. Principalement, les symptômes de la blatophobie peuvent être classés en trois groupes:

  • Symptômes cognitifs : grande peur et peur irrationnelle, angoisse, pensées catastrophiques ...
  • Symptômes comportementaux : éviter le stimulus qui fait peur
  • Symptômes physiques : sensation d'étouffement, bouche sèche, vertiges, douleurs d'estomac et nausées, maux de tête, hyperventilation, accélération du rythme cardiaque, tremblements, frissons ...

Traitement

Les phobies sont très inconfortables, mais sont curables (au moins au point de réduire considérablement vos symptômes).En fait le traitement psychologique est très efficace dans ce type de troubles .

Généralement, les séances de psychothérapie sont axées sur la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale, qui est un type de thérapie visant à modifier les événements internes (émotions, pensées et croyances) et les comportements générant une gêne. Cette forme de thérapie utilise différentes techniques de thérapie comportementale et de thérapie cognitive, mais pour le traitement des phobies Les techniques de relaxation et d'exposition sont vraiment utiles . Dans ce dernier cas, une désensibilisation systématique se dessine, dans laquelle le patient est exposé au stimulus redouté de manière progressive et en même temps, il découvre différentes stratégies d'adaptation qui améliorent son bien-être.

Outre la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale, qui fait partie des thérapies dites de deuxième génération, d'autres modèles thérapeutiques appartenant à la troisième génération sont également utilisés aujourd'hui: la thérapie cognitive basée sur la thérapie de pleine conscience et d'acceptation et d'engagement. Ce type de thérapies ne vous concentrez pas sur la modification d'événements et de comportements internes mais dans l’acceptation de l’expérience et donc dans la réduction de la symptomatologie.

D'autre part, dans les cas extrêmes un traitement pharmacologique peut être utilisé , mais toujours en combinaison avec une thérapie psychologique.

Nouvelles technologies et traitement des phobies

Au cours des dernières années, avec le progrès des nouvelles technologies, les psychologues ont commencé à utiliser de nouveaux outils qui aider à exposer le patient à des stimuli phobiques sans qu'ils aient besoin d'être présents. La réalité virtuelle et la réalité augmentée en sont quelques exemples.

En outre, grâce à l'utilisation de smartphones, les patients peuvent également disposer de différentes applications permettant de surmonter les phobies. Vous trouverez plus de détails dans l'article "8 applications pour traiter les phobies et les peurs de votre smartphone".


"Ça joue sur le moral, sur mon couple." Chez lui, les cafards sont partout ! (Décembre 2022).


Articles Connexes