yes, therapy helps!
Fear of needles (belonephobia): causes, symptoms and treatment

Fear of needles (belonephobia): causes, symptoms and treatment

May 24, 2022

One of the main reasons for attending psychological therapy are phobic disorders, and, among these, one of the most common fear of needles . In fact, some studies claim that up to 10% of the population suffers from this phobia.

While it is true that needles can cause pain if they are violently used, Needle phobia or belonephobia is characterized because the person suffers an irrational terror and a great anxiety that can become incapacitating.

Belonephobia causes, for example, that an individual is unable to go to a health center because of the unreal fear he feels towards these objects. One of the characteristic symptoms of phobias is that the phobic individual tries avoid the stimulus that causes this reaction of discomfort .


In this article we will delve into the characteristics of the fear of needles and we will repair what their causes are, their symptoms and their consequences.

  • Related article: "Types of Anxiety Disorders and their characteristics"

What is the fear of needles

For many people, the fear of needles only manifests itself at specific moments, for example, when one must be vaccinated. However, for other individuals, it may appear more frequently, imagine when someone is diabetic and must inject insulin.

The fear of needles is a phobia, and therefore belongs to the group of anxiety disorders . It is an intense, irrational and persistent fear towards some situations in which the phobic stimulus, that is to say the needles, can be present, but also towards the syringes and the possibility of receiving injections, as well as the trypanophobia or fear of injections.


Belonephobia is often associated and often confused with fear of blood (hematophobia) or fear of sharp objects (aicmofobia). Mind you, these people do not necessarily experience fear of blood and other sharp objects, which serves to distinguish between belonephobia, aicmofobia and hematofobia .

This type of phobia belongs to specific phobic disorders that are usually fears to certain objects or situations. For example: cats, spiders, snakes or the fear of flying.

  • Related article: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

Causes

Phobias are often learned fears. These fears are developed by a type of associative learning called classical conditioning, after a traumatic event. For example, after having a bad experience with needles.


In fact, the scientific community is in favor of the idea that phobias are learned, and one of the figures that has contributed the most in this sense is John Watson , an American psychologist who in the 1920s caused a child named Albert to develop an irrational fear of a white rat he had previously adored.

The objective of the experiment was to observe the emotional reactions of the child, who at the beginning played with the animal with total normality. However, throughout the sessions, the rat was presented along with a loud noise that scared the little one. After several presentations of both stimuli together, the little Albert was developing fear of the rat even without the presence of loud noise.

If you want to know more about this type of learning, you can read this article: "Classical conditioning and its most important experiments".

Other causes of this phobia

But the phobias they can also be learned by observation , in what is known as vicar conditioning. That is, the person can see how an individual screams when they are going to give him an injection and can develop a strong fear towards the needles.

Other authors affirm that human beings are biologically predisposed to suffer phobias, since fear is an adaptive emotion that has been key to our survival because provokes a fight or flight response . That is why fear has to do with the primitive areas of the brain and develop by primitive and non-cognitive associations. In other words, they are not modifiable by logical arguments.

Symptoms and signs

This type of phobia can appear in different situations. For example:

  • Seeing needles
  • Having contact with nurses or nurses and doctors and doctors
  • By hurting yourself and anticipating injections
  • When visiting the dentist
  • Being near a medical center or hospital
  • When using clothes pins
  • See needles on television
  • The smell of antiseptic that reminds a hospital

When the person suffering from this phobia is in any of these situations, he experiences a series of cognitive, behavioral and physical symptoms. They are the following:

  • Cognitive symptoms : irrational thoughts, anguish, anxiety, extreme fear, thoughts of imminent death, confusion, lack of concentration, etc.
  • Behavioral symptoms : attempt to avoid the feared stimulus.
  • Physicists : headache, shortness of breath, stomach pain, nausea, dizziness, etc.

Treatment of belonephobia

Although this type of phobia is very common, it also has a high percentage of success in terms of treatment, according to scientific studies. There are different psychological therapies that work, but the most used is cognitive behavioral therapy.

This form of therapy uses different techniques, and to treat phobias, The most effective are relaxation techniques and exposure techniques . A technique that combines both is systematic desensitization, which involves exposing the patient gradually to the phobic stimulus, but beforehand must have learned different coping strategies, such as the aforementioned relaxation techniques.

Other types of therapy very effective they are cognitive therapy based on Mindfulness or acceptance and commitment therapy, which belong to third generation therapy. If you want to know more about these therapeutic methods, you can read the article "What are third generation therapies?".

New technologies and phobias

New technologies are also used to improve the quality of life of people with phobias. Online therapy is increasingly used , and virtual reality has proven to be very effective as an exposure method. In fact, there are even different mobile apps that are designed to help people suffering from a phobic disorder.

You can know more in the article "8 apps to treat phobias and fears from your smartphone".


Fear of Needles: Nursing Tips for Patients with Needle Phobia (IV Tips and Tricks) (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Peur des aiguilles (belonephobie): causes, symptômes et traitement

Peur des aiguilles (belonephobie): causes, symptômes et traitement

Novembre 28, 2022

Les troubles phobiques sont l’une des principales raisons d’assister à une thérapie psychologique. une des peurs les plus courantes des aiguilles . En fait, certaines études affirment que jusqu'à 10% de la population souffre de cette phobie.

S'il est vrai que les aiguilles peuvent causer de la douleur si elles sont utilisées violemment, La phobie des aiguilles ou belonephobie se caractérise par le fait que la personne subit une terreur irrationnelle et une grande anxiété qui peut devenir invalidante.

La belonéphobie, par exemple, empêche un individu de se rendre dans un centre de santé en raison de la peur irréelle qu'il éprouve envers ces objets. L'un des symptômes caractéristiques des phobies est que l'individu phobique tente éviter le stimulus qui provoque cette réaction d'inconfort .


Dans cet article, nous aborderons les caractéristiques de la peur des aiguilles et nous en réparerons les causes, les symptômes et les conséquences.

  • Article connexe: "Types de troubles anxieux et leurs caractéristiques"

Quelle est la peur des aiguilles

Pour beaucoup de gens, la peur des aiguilles ne se manifeste qu’à des moments précis, par exemple lorsque l’on doit être vacciné. Cependant, chez d'autres personnes, il peut sembler plus fréquent, imaginons quand une personne est diabétique et doit s'injecter de l'insuline.

La peur des aiguilles est une phobie, et donc appartient au groupe des troubles anxieux . C'est une peur intense, irrationnelle et persistante envers certaines situations dans lesquelles le stimulus phobique, c'est-à-dire les aiguilles, peut être présent, mais aussi envers les seringues et la possibilité de recevoir des injections, ainsi que la trypanophobie ou la peur des injections.


La belonéphobie est souvent associée et souvent confondue avec la peur du sang (hématophobie) ou des objets tranchants (aicmofobia). Remarquez, ces personnes ne ressentent pas nécessairement la peur du sang et d’autres objets pointus, ce qui sert faire la distinction entre belonephobia, aicmofobia et hematofobia .

Ce type de phobie appartient à des troubles phobiques spécifiques qui sont généralement des peurs de certains objets ou situations. Par exemple: les chats, les araignées, les serpents ou la peur de voler.

  • Article connexe: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Les causes

Les phobies sont souvent apprises des peurs. Ces peurs sont développées par un type d'apprentissage associatif appelé conditionnement classique, à la suite d'un événement traumatique. Par exemple, après avoir eu une mauvaise expérience avec les aiguilles.


En fait, la communauté scientifique est favorable à l’idée que les phobies sont apprises et une des figures qui a le plus contribué dans ce sens est John Watson , un psychologue américain qui, dans les années 1920, a amené un enfant nommé Albert à développer une peur irrationnelle d’un rat blanc qu’il adorait auparavant.

L'objectif de l'expérience était d'observer les réactions émotionnelles de l'enfant qui, au début, jouait avec l'animal avec une normalité totale. Cependant, tout au long des séances, le rat a été présenté avec un bruit fort qui a effrayé le petit. Après plusieurs présentations des deux stimuli ensemble, le petit Albert commençait à avoir peur du rat, même en l'absence de bruit fort.

Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur ce type d'apprentissage, vous pouvez lire cet article: "Le conditionnement classique et ses expériences les plus importantes".

Autres causes de cette phobie

Mais les phobies ils peuvent aussi être appris par l'observation , dans ce qu'on appelle le conditionnement du vicaire. En d’autres termes, la personne peut voir comment une personne hurle quand elle va lui faire une injection et peut développer une forte peur des aiguilles.

D'autres auteurs affirment que les êtres humains sont biologiquement prédisposés à souffrir de phobies, car la peur est une émotion adaptative qui a été la clé de notre survie, car provoque une réaction de combat ou de fuite . C'est pourquoi la peur concerne les zones primitives du cerveau et se développe par associations primitives et non cognitives. En d'autres termes, ils ne sont pas modifiables par des arguments logiques.

Symptômes et signes

Ce type de phobie peut apparaître dans différentes situations. Par exemple:

  • Voyant des aiguilles
  • Avoir des contacts avec des infirmières ou des infirmières et des médecins et des médecins
  • En se blessant et en anticipant les injections
  • Lors de la visite chez le dentiste
  • Être près d'un centre médical ou d'un hôpital
  • Lorsque vous utilisez des épingles à linge
  • Voir les aiguilles à la télévision
  • L'odeur d'antiseptique qui rappelle un hôpital

Lorsque la personne souffrant de cette phobie se trouve dans l'une de ces situations, elle éprouve une série de symptômes cognitifs, comportementaux et physiques. Ils sont les suivants:

  • Symptômes cognitifs : pensées irrationnelles, angoisse, anxiété, peur extrême, pensées de mort imminente, confusion, manque de concentration, etc.
  • Symptômes comportementaux : essayer d'éviter le stimulus redouté.
  • Physiciens : maux de tête, essoufflement, douleurs à l’estomac, nausée, vertiges, etc.

Traitement de la belonéphobie

Bien que ce type de phobie soit très courant, il a également un fort pourcentage de succès en termes de traitement, selon des études scientifiques. Différentes thérapies psychologiques fonctionnent, mais la plus utilisée est la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale.

Cette forme de thérapie utilise différentes techniques, et pour traiter les phobies, Les plus efficaces sont les techniques de relaxation et les techniques d'exposition . Une technique qui combine les deux est la désensibilisation systématique, qui consiste à exposer le patient progressivement au stimulus phobique, mais elle doit au préalable avoir appris différentes stratégies d'adaptation, telles que les techniques de relaxation susmentionnées.

Autres types de thérapie très efficaces ce sont des thérapies cognitives basées sur la thérapie de pleine conscience ou acceptation et engagement, qui appartiennent à la thérapie de troisième génération. Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur ces méthodes thérapeutiques, vous pouvez lire l'article "Qu'est-ce qu'une thérapie de troisième génération?".

Nouvelles technologies et phobies

Les nouvelles technologies sont également utilisées pour améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes atteintes de phobies. La thérapie en ligne est de plus en plus utilisée et la réalité virtuelle s’est révélée très efficace comme méthode d’exposition. En fait, il existe même différentes applications mobiles conçues pour aider les personnes souffrant d'un trouble phobique.

Vous pouvez en savoir plus dans l'article "8 applications pour traiter les phobies et les peurs de votre smartphone".


"Les aiguilles me terrifient." (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes