yes, therapy helps!
Fear of women (gynophobia): causes, symptoms and treatment

Fear of women (gynophobia): causes, symptoms and treatment

January 25, 2022

Gynephobia or fear of women is a strange phobia that usually occurs among men (although it can also affect women) and, therefore, it is an irrational fear to any female person. This pathology, which causes great discomfort, anxiety and fear, should not be confused with misogyny, which is hatred towards women.

In this article we will discuss gynephobia and detail the most important aspects of this phobic disorder, as well as its causes, symptoms and treatment.

Ginephobia: what is it?

Phobias are anxiety disorders that are characterized because the people who suffer from them feel a great fear towards a stimulus that they try to avoid in order to reduce the discomfort. There are different types of phobias, which are usually grouped into three groups: social phobia, agoraphobia and specific phobia. The fear of women belongs to this last group, and can prevent the phobic from having any kind of relationship with women , even intimate relationships and, therefore, be unable to and develop an intimate relationship or the project of forming a family.


Gynephobia can cause serious relational problems that can affect different areas of people's lives, as the phobic will avoid any place where they can find themselves in the phobic stimulus, generally recruiting in their own home, avoiding not going to work or taking the public transport. It is a serious disorder that must be treated.

Causes of this disorder

The causes of this phenomenon can be varied. Sometimes, the low self-esteem of the subject leads to fear of women, other times may be the result of bad experiences in intimate relationships with them or as a result of irrational beliefs, such as women want to hurt and are bad by nature.


However, in most cases the traumatic experiences of the past are behind this disorder, so they tend to develop by a type of associative learning called classical conditioning. This type of learning is primitive, and although the first person to investigate was Ivan Pavlov, the term became popular thanks to John B. Watson, one of the creators of one of the most important trends in psychology: behaviorism.

Watson was the first to investigate classic conditioning and phobias in humans. One of the characteristics of this type of learning is that it involves automatic or reflex responses, not voluntary behaviors, so Watson thought that it was possible to learn negative emotions, such as fear, through this process. For this, he made one of the most controversial experiments in the history of Psychology, because it caused a child, named Albert, to learn to be afraid of a white rat with which he previously enjoyed playing. Watson did it; however, this experiment could not be carried out at present because it is considered unethical.


You can delve into the classical conditioning and the Watson experiment in our article: "Classical conditioning and its most important experiments"

Are we biologically programmed to suffer phobias?

Researchers believe that classical conditioning is not the only cause of phobias, since many people learn this kind of fear by observation, it is what is known as vicar conditioning that is not the same as learning by imitation (as we explained in our article "Vicar conditioning: how does this type of learning work?").

In addition, other authors believe that we are biologically predisposed to suffer phobias , because fear is a negative emotion that has been very useful in the past because it has allowed the survival of human beings. This type of learning activates the brain regions that belong to what is known as the primitive brain, so it is characterized by primitive and non-cognitive associations. That is to say, that these fears are difficult to modify by logical arguments. This idea comes from Martin Seligman's theory of preparation.

Symptoms of fear of women

Like other specific phobic disorders, fear of women presents a similar symptomatology. The only difference is that the phobic stimulus that elicits it is different. Therefore, anxiety, discomfort and fear are manifested in the presence of this stimulus, which leads the person to want to avoid it to reduce symptoms.

These symptoms occur in three levels: cognitive, behavioral and physical. The cognitive symptoms are fear, anguish, confusion and difficulties in maintaining attention, as well as irrational thinking that the person has. Avoidance is the most characteristic behavioral symptom.Physical symptoms include: blushing. difficulty breathing, nausea, hypersudation, tremors, etc.

Treatment

Phobias cause a lot of suffering; however, they have a high percentage of success when the treatment includes psychological therapy. In some severe cases, patients receive pharmacological treatment, especially anxiolytics, but the basis of treatment must include psychotherapy so that the improvement is maintained over time .

Psychologists who are experts in the treatment of phobias usually include cognitive behavioral therapy techniques that have proven to be more effective, scientific studies conclude. Among these, stand out: relaxation techniques and exposure techniques.

Both techniques are combined in a therapeutic method known as systematic desensitization, which consists of exposing the patient progressively to the phobic stimulus, but first he must have learned the relaxation techniques, because they will allow him to better face the situations in which he must deal with your pathological fear. If you want to know more about this technique, you may want to read our article "What is systematic desensitization and how does it work?"

Despite the effectiveness of cognitive behavioral therapy in treating these types of disorders, other methods have also proved useful. They are known as contextual therapies or third generation, among which the therapy of acceptance and commitment or cognitive therapy based on Mindfulness, which take into account how the context (and the patient's relationship with it) influences when developing the pathology, and emphasize the acceptance of the experience as a way to reduce the anxious symptoms and, therefore, reduce the discomfort.

Differences between gynophobia, misogyny and calliginephobia

It is important not to confuse gynophobia with caliginephobia , that is characterized because the man, generally by his low self-esteem, feels intimidated in front of the beauty of the woman. It is also important not to confuse gynophobia with misogyny, which is a type of prejudice in which the person feels hatred towards people of the female sex.

  • Related article: "Stereotypes, prejudice and discrimination: why should we avoid prejudging?"

TOP 10 PHOBIAS - What Are You Afraid Of? (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Peur des femmes (gynophobie): causes, symptômes et traitement

Peur des femmes (gynophobie): causes, symptômes et traitement

Novembre 22, 2022

La gynéphobie ou la peur des femmes est une phobie étrange qui survient généralement chez les hommes (bien que cela puisse également toucher les femmes) et, par conséquent, il s’agit d’une peur irrationnelle pour toute femme. Cette pathologie, qui provoque un grand malaise, une anxiété et une grande peur, ne doit pas être confondue avec la misogynie, qui est la haine envers les femmes.

Dans cet article, nous aborderons la gynéphobie et détaillerons les aspects les plus importants de ce trouble phobique, ainsi que ses causes, ses symptômes et son traitement.

Ginephobia: c'est quoi?

Les phobies sont des troubles anxieux qui se caractérisent par le fait que les personnes qui en souffrent ressentent une grande peur vis-à-vis d’un stimulus qu’elles tentent d’éviter afin de réduire l’inconfort. Il existe différents types de phobies, généralement regroupées en trois groupes: phobie sociale, agoraphobie et phobie spécifique. La peur des femmes appartient à ce dernier groupe et peut empêcher les phobiques d’avoir des relations quelconques avec les femmes. , même les relations intimes et, par conséquent, être incapable de développer une relation intime ou le projet de former une famille.


La gynéphobie peut causer de graves problèmes relationnels pouvant affecter la vie de personnes différentes, car les phobiques évitent tout endroit où ils peuvent se retrouver dans un stimulus phobique, généralement en recrutant chez eux, en évitant de se rendre au travail ou de prendre les transport public. C'est un trouble grave qui doit être traité.

Causes de ce trouble

Les causes de ce phénomène peuvent être variées. Parfois, la faible estime de soi du sujet suscite la peur des femmes, parfois elle peut être le résultat de mauvaises expériences dans des relations intimes avec elles ou de croyances irrationnelles, telles que les femmes veulent blesser et sont blessées. mauvais par nature.


Cependant, dans la plupart des cas, les expériences traumatiques du passé sont à l'origine de ce trouble et ont donc tendance à se développer par un type d'apprentissage associatif appelé conditionnement classique. Ce type d’apprentissage est primitif et bien que le premier enquêteur ait été Ivan Pavlov, le terme est devenu populaire grâce à John B. Watson, l’un des créateurs de l’une des tendances les plus importantes de la psychologie: le behaviorisme.

Watson a été le premier à étudier le conditionnement classique et les phobies chez l'homme. L'une des caractéristiques de ce type d'apprentissage est qu'il implique des réponses automatiques ou réflexes, et non des comportements volontaires. Watson a donc pensé qu'il était possible d'apprendre des émotions négatives, telles que la peur, grâce à ce processus. Pour cela, il a fait l’une des expériences les plus controversées de l’histoire de la psychologie, car elle a permis à un enfant, nommé Albert, d’apprendre à avoir peur d’un rat blanc avec lequel il aimait jouer auparavant. Watson l'a fait; toutefois, cette expérience ne peut être réalisée à présent car elle est considérée comme contraire à l'éthique.


Vous pouvez plonger dans le conditionnement classique et l'expérience Watson dans notre article: "Le conditionnement classique et ses expériences les plus importantes"

Sommes-nous biologiquement programmés pour souffrir de phobies?

Les chercheurs pensent que le conditionnement classique n'est pas la seule cause des phobies. En effet, de nombreuses personnes apprennent ce type de peur par l'observation. C'est ce qu'on appelle le conditionnement du vicaire qui n'est pas la même chose que l'apprentissage par imitation dans notre article "Conditionnement du vicaire: comment fonctionne ce type d'apprentissage?").

En outre, d’autres auteurs pensent que nous sommes biologiquement prédisposés à souffrir de phobies , parce que la peur est une émotion négative qui a été très utile dans le passé car elle a permis la survie d’êtres humains. Ce type d'apprentissage active les régions du cerveau appartenant à ce que l'on appelle le cerveau primitif. Il est donc caractérisé par des associations primitives et non cognitives. C'est-à-dire que ces craintes sont difficiles à modifier par des arguments logiques. Cette idée vient de la théorie de la préparation de Martin Seligman.

Symptômes de peur des femmes

A l'instar d'autres troubles phobiques spécifiques, la peur de la femme présente une symptomatologie similaire. La seule différence est que le stimulus phobique qui le provoque est différent. Par conséquent, l'anxiété, l'inconfort et la peur se manifestent en présence de ce stimulus, ce qui incite la personne à vouloir l'éviter pour réduire les symptômes.

Ces symptômes se manifestent à trois niveaux: cognitif, comportemental et physique. Les symptômes cognitifs sont la peur, l'angoisse, la confusion et les difficultés à maintenir l'attention, ainsi que la pensée irrationnelle de la personne. L'évitement est le symptôme comportemental le plus caractéristique.Les symptômes physiques incluent: rougir. difficulté à respirer, nausée, hypersudation, tremblements, etc.

Traitement

Les phobies causent beaucoup de souffrance; Cependant, leur pourcentage de succès est élevé lorsque le traitement comprend une thérapie psychologique. Dans certains cas graves, les patients reçoivent un traitement pharmacologique, en particulier des anxiolytiques, mais la base du traitement doit inclure une psychothérapie afin que l'amélioration se maintienne dans le temps .

Les études scientifiques concluent que les psychologues experts dans le traitement des phobies incluent généralement des techniques de thérapie cognitivo-comportementale qui se sont révélées plus efficaces. Parmi ceux-ci, se distinguent: les techniques de relaxation et les techniques d'exposition.

Les deux techniques sont combinées dans une méthode thérapeutique appelée désensibilisation systématique, qui consiste à exposer progressivement le patient au stimulus phobique, mais il doit d’abord avoir appris les techniques de relaxation, car elles lui permettront de mieux faire face aux situations dans lesquelles il doit vivre. faire face à votre peur pathologique. Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur cette technique, vous pouvez lire notre article "Qu'est-ce que la désensibilisation systématique et comment ça marche?"

Malgré l'efficacité de la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale dans le traitement de ces types de troubles, d'autres méthodes se sont également révélées utiles. Ce sont des thérapies contextuelles ou de troisième génération, parmi lesquelles la thérapie de l'acceptation et de l'engagement ou la thérapie cognitive basée sur la pleine conscience, qui prennent en compte l'influence du contexte (et de la relation du patient avec lui) lors du développement. la pathologie et insister sur l'acceptation de l'expérience comme moyen de réduire les symptômes anxieux et, par conséquent, de réduire l'inconfort.

Différences entre la gynophobie, la misogynie et la calliginéphobie

Il est important de ne pas confondre la gynophobie avec la caliginéphobie , qui se caractérise par le fait que l’homme, généralement par sa faible estime de soi, se sent intimidé devant la beauté de la femme. Il est également important de ne pas confondre la gynophobie avec la misogynie, qui est un type de préjugé dans lequel la personne ressent de la haine envers les personnes du sexe féminin.

  • Article connexe: "Stéréotypes, préjugés et discrimination: pourquoi devrions-nous éviter de préjuger?"

Dépassez votre peur du rejet avec une femme (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes