yes, therapy helps!

"Feminazi": a feminist current ... too radical?

June 17, 2024

The word feminazi It has been spreading in the last decades as a way of referring in a somewhat ambiguous way to women who believe in the superiority of their sex over that of men and who want to impose themselves on them using totalitarian practices. So far, and regardless of whether there is any person worthy of the name "feminazi", this seems one more word of the many that have been invented recently, but its existence is not accidental.

The idea referred to by the word feminazi is formed by a set of topics about feminists. It is a journalistic invention that responds to a campaign of discrediting directed against feminism from conservative political positions. An attempt has been made to create a discourse in which feminists are left associated with Nazism .


For this they count on the invaluable help of the stereotypes and heuristic thinking, two elements that are taken into account in political propaganda and Social psychology .

Beyond the concrete cases

The meaning of the term feminazi may change from time to time, and what it refers to may exist to a greater extent depending on the context. Are there women who think themselves superior to men? Taking into account the number of people who inhabit the planet earth, it would be risky to say no.

However, before judging positively or negatively the existence of this word, we must bear in mind that if it is used today, it is very possible that, rather than referring to a specific person, we refer to a whole political movement. .. relating it to Nazism. In fact, this feminine word was devised in the 1990s to delegitimize not specific people, but feminism, and the heritage of its meaning is still alive today. Why? Because the word feminazi has its roots in a smear campaign towards feminists that is more than 100 years old.


Conservative propaganda

The use of generalizations and topics is constant in our day to day. In addition, it is extremely difficult to detect when we are falling into this type of intellectual slippage because they are part of the realm of thought by heuristics, an automatic mode of thought that practically does not require effort.

Often these stereotypes are due to ignorance or intellectual laziness, but in other cases there are political motivations behind these topics. The case of feminists is a clear example of this.

In Western countries, the feminist movement was consolidated as a political agent at the end of the 19th century to ask for voting rights for women . This is a claim that nowadays seems so legitimate that putting it in doubt produces immediate rejection, but a century ago it was something totally revolutionary that made all the alarms jump in a stablishment controlled by men. It was at that time that public opinion began to be fed with propaganda against the suffragettes They asked for an equal vote.


Thus, the United States saw posters and cartoons published in which the feminists of the time are described as cruel women with masculine traits, with totalitarian desires whose main aspiration was to subdue man, something that coincides totally with the concept (somewhat diffuse) of feminazi. All this, remember, for campaigning for the right to vote.

Closely observing the pieces of propaganda that dress the pro or anti-feminist debate of the time reveals that the stereotypes associated with the idea of ​​what some people today call "the feminazi" have not changed at all since the suffragettes claimed the right to vote in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.

Stereotypes related to the feminazi concept

The curious thing is not that feminists were accused of behaving as they behaved men of the time, but these stereotypes are still valid today, associated with a type of person who is sometimes called feminazi to denote a mysterious connection with totalitarianism and extermination. Here you can see how the posters of the era of the suffragettes show characteristics that are still present in the memes and current comic strips.

Ugly and cruel women

Associate ugliness with evil it is something so common in propaganda that it is one of the most constant laws in the caricature and discredit of the political rival. Anyone who wants to communicate moral turpitude has enough to draw irregular teeth, large and bulging noses and frowning brows.

They want to dominate man

Of course, an attribute that is implicit in the word feminazi is the will to impose on others. However, this topic exists long before the invention of the word.One hundred years ago, the suffragettes were described as wanting to take away gender roles and privileges to men, neglecting household chores and, in general, housework. Nowadays, it is not so frequent to see criticisms of feminism so paradoxical (before they were accused of doing exactly the same as men, although putting emphasis on the unnatural nature of women dominating the relationship), but the assumption that feminists are intolerant and authoritarian is still present.

Male aesthetics

The accusation of wanting to resemble men is common in campaigns against feminism. It is understood that feminists transgress gender roles related to the idea of ​​"the feminine", and that is also taken to aesthetics as if it were something negative.

Misuse of sexuality

Traditionally, women have been seen making use of their sexuality similar to that of men as manipulators prone to use your body to achieve their own ends. From this perspective, almost any characteristic of women that can be associated with sex and that has nothing to do with the creation of a family is portrayed as belonging to women with a low moral profile, both 100 years ago and today. It is a logic that is often used to attack feminists, who have a vision of female sexuality that goes far beyond the family.

They are feminists for their hatred of men

Very often, caricatures about feminist women make reference to the central role played by man in the "conversion" of some women to feminism. In this way the motivations of the activists are attributed to an inability to relate adequately with men. The feminazi concept ties in well with this stereotype, since German National Socialism was fed by a totally irrational contempt for some collectives labeled as races.

These simple examples are part of a social situation much more complex than can be glimpsed in a few simple cartoons, but can serve to make us an idea about the context in which the term feminazi appears. Its meaning can be totally different in a few decades, but that does not mean that it has been put into circulation with a clear political objective in which psychology and a situation of change in favor of women's rights come into play.


Julie Bindel interviews Jonathon Narducci (Film Director and Producer) (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!

"Feminazi": un courant féministe ... trop radical?

Avril 16, 2021

Mot feminazi Cela s'est répandu au cours des dernières décennies comme une façon de désigner de manière quelque peu ambiguë les femmes qui croient en la supériorité de leur sexe sur celles des hommes et qui veulent s'imposer à elles en utilisant des pratiques totalitaires. Jusqu'ici, et qu'il y ait ou non une personne digne du nom de "feminazi", cela semble être un mot de plus parmi ceux qui ont été inventés récemment, mais son existence n'est pas accidentelle.

L'idée à laquelle se réfère le mot feminazi est formée d'un ensemble de sujets sur les féministes. C'est une invention journalistique qui répond à une campagne de discrédit dirigée contre le féminisme par des positions politiques conservatrices. Une tentative a été faite pour créer un discours dans lequel les féministes sont laissés associé au nazisme .


Pour cela, ils comptent sur l’aide précieuse du les stéréotypes et la pensée heuristique, deux éléments pris en compte dans la propagande politique et psychologie sociale .

Au-delà des cas concrets

Le sens du terme feminazi peut changer de temps en temps et son contenu peut exister davantage selon le contexte. Y a-t-il des femmes qui se croient supérieures aux hommes? Compte tenu du nombre de personnes habitant la planète Terre, il serait risqué de dire non.

Cependant, avant de juger positivement ou négativement de l’existence de ce mot, nous devons garder à l’esprit que, s’il est utilisé aujourd’hui, il est fort possible que, plutôt que de faire référence à une personne spécifique, nous nous référions à tout un mouvement politique. .. en le rapportant au nazisme. En fait, ce mot féminin a été conçu dans les années 1990 pour délégitimer non pas des personnes spécifiques, mais le féminisme, et l'héritage de sa signification est toujours vivant. Parce que? Parce que le mot feminazi a ses racines dans une campagne de frottis envers les féministes qui a plus de 100 ans.


Propagande conservatrice

L'utilisation de généralisations et de sujets est constante dans notre quotidien. De plus, il est extrêmement difficile de détecter quand nous tombons dans ce type de dérapage intellectuel, car ils font partie du domaine de la pensée par l'heuristique, un mode de pensée automatique qui ne nécessite pratiquement aucun effort.

Ces stéréotypes sont souvent dus à l'ignorance ou à la paresse intellectuelle, mais dans d'autres cas, des motivations politiques sont à l'origine de ces sujets. Le cas des féministes en est un exemple clair.

Dans les pays occidentaux, le mouvement féministe s’est consolidé en tant qu’agent politique à la fin du XIXe siècle pour demander droit de vote pour les femmes . C’est une affirmation qui semble aujourd’hui si légitime que le mettre en doute produit un rejet immédiat, mais il ya un siècle, c’était quelque chose de tout à fait révolutionnaire qui a fait sonner toutes les alarmes. établissement contrôlé par les hommes. C’est à cette époque que l’opinion publique a commencé à se nourrir de propagande contre le suffragettes Ils ont demandé un vote égal.


Ainsi, les États-Unis ont vu paraître des affiches et des dessins dans lesquels les féministes de l'époque étaient décrites comme des femmes cruelles avec des traits masculins, avec des désirs totalitaires dont l'aspiration principale était de soumettre l'homme, ce qui coïncide totalement avec le concept (quelque peu diffus). de feminazi. Rappelez-vous tout cela pour avoir fait campagne pour le droit de vote.

En observant de près les éléments de propagande qui habillent le débat pro ou anti-féministe de l'époque, on s'aperçoit que les stéréotypes associés à l'idée de ce que certains appellent aujourd'hui "les feminazi" n'ont pas du tout changé depuis que les suffragettes ont revendiqué le droit à vote à la fin du XIXe et au début du XXe siècle.

Stéréotypes liés au concept feminazi

La chose curieuse n’est pas que les féministes aient été accusés de se comporter comme ils se sont comportés des hommes de l’époque, mais ces stéréotypes sont toujours valables aujourd’hui, associés à un type de personne que l’on appelle parfois feminazi pour désigner un mystérieux. lien avec le totalitarisme et l'extermination. Vous pouvez voir ici comment les affiches de l’époque des suffragettes montrent des caractéristiques qui sont toujours présentes dans memes et bandes dessinées actuelles.

Femmes laides et cruelles

Associer la laideur au mal c'est quelque chose de tellement commun dans la propagande qu'il est l'une des lois les plus constantes dans la caricature et le discrédit du rival politique. Quiconque veut communiquer avec la turpitude morale en a assez pour dessiner des dents irrégulières, des nez gros et bombés et des sourcils froncés

Ils veulent dominer l'homme

Bien entendu, un attribut implicite dans le mot feminazi est la volonté d'imposer aux autres. Cependant, ce sujet existe bien avant l'invention du mot.Il y a cent ans, les suffragettes étaient décrites comme voulant supprimer les rôles de genre et privilèges aux hommes, en négligeant les tâches ménagères et, en général, les travaux ménagers. De nos jours, il n'est pas si fréquent de voir des critiques du féminisme aussi paradoxales (avant d'être accusées de faire exactement la même chose que les hommes, bien que l'accent soit mis sur la nature non naturelle des femmes dominant les relations), mais l'hypothèse selon laquelle les féministes sont intolérantes et autoritaire est toujours présent.

Esthétique masculine

L'accusation de vouloir ressembler aux hommes est courante dans les campagnes contre le féminisme. Il est entendu que les féministes transgresser les rôles de genre liée à l'idée de "féminin", et cela est également pris à l'esthétique comme si c'était quelque chose de négatif.

Mauvais usage de la sexualité

Traditionnellement, on a vu des femmes utiliser leur sexualité comme celle des hommes en tant que manipulatrices sujettes à utilise ton corps pour atteindre leurs propres fins. Dans cette perspective, presque toutes les caractéristiques de la femme pouvant être associées au sexe et cela n'a rien à voir avec la création d'une famille qui est décrite comme appartenant à des femmes peu morales, il y a 100 ans et aujourd'hui. C'est une logique qui est souvent utilisée pour attaquer les féministes, qui ont une vision de la sexualité féminine qui dépasse de loin la famille.

Elles sont féministes pour leur haine des hommes

Très souvent, les caricatures sur les femmes féministes font référence à la rôle central joué par l'homme dans la "conversion" de certaines femmes au féminisme. De cette manière, les motivations des militants sont attribuées à une incapacité à entretenir des relations adéquates avec les hommes. Le concept feminazi cadre bien avec ce stéréotype puisque le national socialisme allemand était nourri par un mépris totalement irrationnel de certains collectifs étiquetés comme des races.

Ces exemples simples font partie d'une situation sociale bien plus complexe que celle que l'on peut entrevoir dans quelques dessins humoristiques simples, mais peuvent nous aider à nous faire une idée du contexte dans lequel le terme feminazi apparaît. Sa signification peut être totalement différente dans quelques décennies, mais cela ne signifie pas qu’elle a été mise en circulation avec un objectif politique clair où la psychologie et une situation de changement en faveur des droits des femmes entrent en jeu.


Let's Own a Feminist's Arguments #ProblematicTitles (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes