yes, therapy helps!
Fetal alcohol syndrome (FAS): symptoms, causes and treatment

Fetal alcohol syndrome (FAS): symptoms, causes and treatment

March 1, 2021

A healthy lifestyle of the mother throughout pregnancy is essential to ensure the correct development of the fetus and a good quality of the baby's health. Therefore, certain toxic habits such as alcohol and tobacco can cause serious complications in the growth of the child.

In the case of alcoholic habits or behavior, consumption of these types of beverages can have serious consequences such as fetal alcohol syndrome (FAS) . Throughout this article, we will discuss the characteristics and symptoms of this, as well as its diagnosis and possible treatment.

  • Related article: "Alcoholism: these are the effects of dependence on drinking"

What is fetal alcohol syndrome?

Fetal alcohol syndrome is a condition that is categorized within the fetal alcohol spectrum disorders (TEAF) . This spectrum refers to a group of diseases or conditions that can appear in those cases in which the mother consumed certain amounts of alcohol during pregnancy, causing a series of physical and mental consequences in the baby.


These disorders are characterized by presenting a series of physical, mental, behavioral and cognitive abnormalities in those babies who suffer , since the alcohol consumed by the mother is transferred to the child's bloodstream.

In the specific case of the fetal alcohol syndrome, it is considered the most serious or harmful affection within the spectrum of alterations or anomalies caused by alcohol exposure during the fetal development stage, without taking into account the fetal death itself. for alcoholism.

Babies diagnosed with fetal alcohol syndrome usually present a series of pathological physical features such as deformation of facial features , alterations in growth or problems in the development of the central nervous system.


These irregularities in the process of fetal growth have as main psychological consequence the appearance of difficulties in learning and alterations in the processes of memory, communication ability, attention, as well as visual or auditory sensory difficulties. Alterations also pose a risk of social exclusion for these children, since school and integration problems are usually common.

Regarding the incidence of this syndrome, the exposure of the fetus to certain levels of alcohol is the main cause of intellectual functional diversity in developed countries , well above genetic alterations.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 15 most frequent neurological disorders"

What symptoms does it present?

As described above, fetal alcohol syndrome is characterized by a series of physical or visible symptoms, such as organic or related to the baby's neurological development .


The clinical picture of SAF is classified into three groups of different symptoms. Those related to craniofacial anomalies, alterations in the central nervous system and a delay in the general development.

1. Craniofacial anomalies

There are a number of characteristic physical features that distinguish children with a diagnosis of fetal alcohol syndrome. These are:

  • Flat nasal filter or crushing of the space between the nose and the upper lip.
  • Narrowing of the upper lip.
  • Decrease in the size of the palpebral fissures u abnormally small eyes .

2. Alterations of the central nervous system

The problems or anomalies in the development of the central nervous system can manifest themselves in different degrees, depending on the amount of alcohol to which the fetus has been exposed. These damages can be divided into three different planes:

  • Alterations in the formation of the anatomical structure , usually expressed in the form of microcephaly or irregularities in the formation of different brain areas.
  • Pathologies associated with neurological functioning such as seizures and spasms, coordination problems or sensory difficulties such as visual and auditory difficulties.
  • Alterations of intellectual functioning manifested in the form of behavioral disorders, problems of self-control, attention problems and hyperactivity, intellectual functional diversity, lack of social skills, memory problems, etc.

3. Delay in the generalized development

It manifests in the form of pathologies related to the weight and height of the baby. Which have to be below the average of children born healthy.

What causes does it have?

The main and only cause of fetal alcohol syndrome is found in the consumption of alcohol by the mother throughout pregnancy. The alcohol present in the drinks can pass into the bloodstream of the fetus through the placenta, causing all kinds of interferences and alterations in the development of this.

Although it has not yet been possible to establish in a reliable way from what level of consumption the first symptoms appear, it has been determined that the more alcohol consumed by the mother, the greater the number of symptoms, and the more serious it will cause in the baby .

In the same way, the stage of pregnancy in which it occurs in consumption is also decisive , since consuming alcoholic beverages during the first trimester is even more dangerous than doing it at any other stage.

  • Maybe you're interested: "How to take care during the first month of pregnancy: 9 tips"

How can it be diagnosed?

In those cases in which the medical professional suspects that there may be the possibility of a fetal alcohol syndrome, there are a series of tests that can be carried out to confirm the diagnosis :

  • Evaluation of the state of the heart that reveals a cardiac anomaly.
  • Tests of the blood alcohol levels of the mother, as long as it shows signs of intoxication.
  • Neuroimaging tests such as tomography or magnetic resonance imaging after the birth of the baby.
  • Ultrasound tests during pregnancy .

Is there a treatment?

Because the lesions caused in the baby are permanent and irreversible, it has not been possible to develop a treatment with the ability to reverse these symptoms. However, the prognosis or intensity of treatment will depend on the severity of the symptoms.

As a consequence, the intervention protocol is usually confined to the treatment of those cognitive symptoms such as lack of attention or special educational needs, in order to facilitate the school and social adjustment of the child and, as a consequence, to improve as much as possible its quality of life. lifetime.


FASD: Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (March 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome d'alcoolisme foetal (SAF): symptômes, causes et traitement

Syndrome d'alcoolisme foetal (SAF): symptômes, causes et traitement

Juin 13, 2021

Un mode de vie sain de la mère tout au long de la grossesse est essentiel pour assurer le développement correct du fœtus et une bonne qualité de la santé du bébé. Par conséquent, certaines habitudes toxiques telles que l'alcool et le tabac peuvent entraîner de graves complications pour la croissance de l'enfant.

Dans le cas d'habitudes ou de comportements alcooliques, la consommation de ces types de boissons peut avoir des conséquences graves comme le syndrome d'alcoolisme foetal (SAF) . Tout au long de cet article, nous aborderons les caractéristiques et les symptômes de cette maladie, ainsi que son diagnostic et son traitement éventuel.

  • Article connexe: "Alcoolisme: ce sont les effets de la dépendance à l'alcool"

Qu'est-ce que le syndrome d'alcoolisme foetal?

Le syndrome d'alcoolisme foetal est une condition qui est classé dans l'ensemble des troubles du spectre de l'alcoolisation fœtale (TEAF) . Ce spectre fait référence à un groupe de maladies ou d'affections pouvant apparaître dans les cas où la mère a consommé certaines quantités d'alcool pendant la grossesse, entraînant une série de conséquences physiques et mentales chez le bébé.


Ces troubles se caractérisent par la présentation une série d'anomalies physiques, mentales, comportementales et cognitives chez les bébés qui souffrent , puisque l'alcool consommé par la mère est transféré dans le sang de l'enfant.

Dans le cas particulier du syndrome d'alcoolisme foetal, il s'agit de l'affection la plus grave ou la plus dommageable dans le spectre des altérations ou des anomalies causées par l'exposition à l'alcool au cours du stade de développement fœtal, sans tenir compte de la mort fœtale. pour l'alcoolisme.

Les bébés atteints du syndrome d'alcoolisme foetal présentent habituellement une série de caractéristiques physiques pathologiques telles que la déformation des caractéristiques du visage , altérations de la croissance ou problèmes dans le développement du système nerveux central.


Ces irrégularités dans le processus de croissance du fœtus ont pour principale conséquence psychologique l’apparition de difficultés d’apprentissage et d’altérations des processus de la mémoire, de la capacité de communication, de l’attention ainsi que de difficultés sensorielles auditives ou auditives. Les modifications constituent également un risque d'exclusion sociale pour ces enfants, car les problèmes scolaires et d'intégration sont généralement fréquents.

En ce qui concerne l'incidence de ce syndrome, l'exposition du fœtus à certaines concentrations d'alcool est la principale cause de la diversité fonctionnelle intellectuelle dans les pays développés , bien au-dessus des altérations génétiques.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 15 troubles neurologiques les plus fréquents"

Quels symptômes présente-t-il?

Comme décrit ci-dessus, le syndrome d'alcoolisme foetal est caractérisé par une série de symptômes physiques ou visibles, tels que liée au développement neurologique du bébé .


Le tableau clinique de la SAF est classé en trois groupes de symptômes différents. Celles liées à des anomalies craniofaciales, des altérations du système nerveux central et un retard dans le développement général.

1. Anomalies craniofaciales

Un certain nombre de caractéristiques physiques caractéristiques distinguent les enfants présentant un diagnostic de syndrome d'alcoolisme foetal. Ceux-ci sont:

  • Filtre nasal plat ou écrasement de l'espace entre le nez et la lèvre supérieure.
  • Rétrécissement de la lèvre supérieure.
  • Diminution de la taille des fissures palpébrales yeux anormalement petits .

2. Altérations du système nerveux central

Les problèmes ou anomalies dans le développement du système nerveux central peuvent se manifester à des degrés divers, en fonction de la quantité d'alcool à laquelle le fœtus a été exposé. Ces dommages peuvent être divisés en trois plans différents:

  • Altérations dans la formation de la structure anatomique , habituellement exprimée sous forme de microcéphalie ou d’irrégularités dans la formation de différentes zones du cerveau.
  • Pathologies associées au fonctionnement neurologique telles que crises épileptiques et spasmes, problèmes de coordination ou difficultés sensorielles telles que difficultés visuelles et auditives.
  • Altérations du fonctionnement intellectuel se manifeste sous la forme de troubles du comportement, de problèmes de maîtrise de soi, de problèmes d’attention et d’hyperactivité, de diversité fonctionnelle intellectuelle, de manque de compétences sociales, de problèmes de mémoire, etc.

3. Retard dans le développement généralisé

Il se manifeste sous la forme de pathologies liées au poids et à la taille du bébé. Ce qui doit être inférieur à la moyenne des enfants nés en bonne santé.

Quelles sont les causes?

La principale et unique cause du syndrome d'alcoolisme fœtal se trouve dans la consommation d'alcool par la mère tout au long de la grossesse. L'alcool présent dans les boissons peut passer dans le sang du fœtus par le placenta, provoquant toutes sortes d'interférences et d'altérations dans son développement.

Bien qu’il n’ait pas encore été possible d’établir de manière fiable à partir de quel niveau de consommation apparaissent les premiers symptômes, il a été déterminé que plus la consommation d’alcool par la mère était importante, plus le nombre de symptômes était élevé et plus il entraînerait chez le bébé .

De la même manière, le stade de la grossesse dans lequel il se produit dans la consommation est également décisif , car consommer des boissons alcoolisées au cours du premier trimestre est encore plus dangereux que de le faire à un autre stade.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Comment faire attention pendant le premier mois de grossesse: 9 conseils"

Comment peut-il être diagnostiqué?

Dans les cas où le professionnel de la santé soupçonne la possibilité d'un syndrome d'alcoolisme foetal, il existe une série de tests pouvant être effectués pour confirmer le diagnostic :

  • Évaluation de l'état du cœur révélant une anomalie cardiaque.
  • Tests du taux d'alcoolémie de la mère, dans la mesure où il présente des signes d'intoxication.
  • Tests de neuroimagerie tels que tomographie ou imagerie par résonance magnétique après la naissance du bébé.
  • Échographie pendant la grossesse .

Y a-t-il un traitement?

Les lésions chez le bébé étant permanentes et irréversibles, il n’a pas été possible de mettre au point un traitement capable d’inverser ces symptômes. Cependant, le pronostic ou l'intensité du traitement dépendront de la gravité des symptômes.

En conséquence, le protocole d'intervention se limite généralement au traitement de ces symptômes cognitifs, tels que le manque d'attention ou des besoins éducatifs spéciaux, afin de faciliter l'adaptation scolaire et sociale de l'enfant et, partant, d'améliorer autant que possible sa qualité de vie. la vie


SAF (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes