yes, therapy helps!
Fidelity: an old-fashioned word?

Fidelity: an old-fashioned word?

December 3, 2022

In spite of the new modalities of couple and the openness that society has shown towards the subject, infidelity continues to cause controversy . There are relationships ranging from the conservative, maintaining a single partner throughout his life, to those who agree to share their partner with more than five people.

Given this, you can see a rejection or acceptance depending on the culture in which the link was formed; However, nowadays there is a certain curiosity to try a new way of establishing rules within a couple relationship. Is the concept of fidelity outdated?

Monogamy and fidelity

Monogamy is a term that means "a union" , referring to both sexual and sentimental exclusivity, either with a person of the same sex or with one of the opposite sex.


Within monogamy too Variations arise from one couple to another , even more with the technological advance of the last years, where to maintain constant communication with another person through a social network, send or receive provocative photos, make "match" with someone within a geosocial application, etc. It can be considered infidelity.

Open relationships and Polyamory

There is a marked difference between open relationships and polyamory. The first concept tells us of a mutual agreement where casual sex with other people is allowed, as long as feelings are not involved, unlike polyamory, in which there is no sexual or sentimental exclusivity , having as a condition that both members of the relationship agree with it. In this way, an individual can maintain a sexual and affective relationship with more than one person.


Polyamory is common in some Islamic nations, where not only sexual and affective relationships with other people are allowed, but the fact that a man is married to several women simultaneously is also acceptable.

Why was he unfaithful?

As mentioned earlier, when thinking about the concept of "infidelity" we find a great variety of definitions , depending on the beliefs and the meaning that each person attributes to the word; therefore, one can not generalize believing that all people are unfaithful for the same reason or that they do it in the same way.

Although some research shows that the main cause of infidelity is looking for another person characteristics that the current couple does not satisfy, understand an act of infidelity, from the causes to know whether to forgive or not, depends on the meaning that was given to that word from the beginning of the relationship.


  • Related article: "Is it possible to forgive an infidelity?"

Putting fidelity aside is not an easy task

The fact that an infidelity causes pain in the deceived person comes from the sense of possession that one has over the other, in which fidelity is synonymous with love and if the couple ceases to be "the property" of the other by becoming sexually or emotionally involved with someone else, then it breaks with the idea that one has about love; because monogamy is the phenomenon that, mainly in Western cultures, has been transmitted generation after generation as the correct and most socially accepted.

On the other hand, having betrayed a mutual agreement between the couple and continually lying to cover up the infidelity can be more painful than accepting a betrayal on time or knowing that either of the two members of the couple may be attracted to another person at any time .

Therefore, it is not a question of assuming that there is no faithful human being on earth and considering polygamy as something natural. It's about understanding that infidelity is a possibility and a risk that runs when being in a relationship . However, suffering and misunderstandings can be avoided if an assertive communication is maintained from the beginning, where each person expresses the expectations that they have of the relationship in question.


Lofi hip hop mix - Beats to Relax/Study to [2018] (December 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Fidélité: un mot démodé?

Fidélité: un mot démodé?

Février 27, 2021

Malgré les nouvelles modalités de couple et l’ouverture de la société à l’égard du sujet, l'infidélité continue de susciter la controverse . Il existe des relations allant du conservateur, qui entretient un partenaire unique tout au long de sa vie, à ceux qui acceptent de partager leur partenaire avec plus de cinq personnes.

Compte tenu de cela, vous pouvez voir un rejet ou une acceptation en fonction de la culture dans laquelle le lien a été créé. Cependant, de nos jours, il existe une certaine curiosité pour essayer une nouvelle façon d’établir des règles dans une relation de couple. Le concept de fidélité est-il dépassé?

Monogamie et fidélité

La monogamie est un terme qui signifie "un syndicat" , faisant référence à l’exclusivité tant sexuelle que sentimentale, soit avec une personne du même sexe, soit avec l’un des deux sexes.


Dans la monogamie aussi Les variations se produisent d'un couple à l'autre , encore plus avec les avancées technologiques des dernières années, où maintenir une communication constante avec une autre personne via un réseau social, envoyer ou recevoir des photos provocantes, faire "correspondre" quelqu'un avec une application géosociale, etc. Cela peut être considéré comme une infidélité.

Relations ouvertes et polyamour

Il existe une différence marquée entre relations ouvertes et polyamour. Le premier concept nous parle d'un accord mutuel où les rapports sexuels occasionnels avec d'autres personnes sont autorisés, tant que les sentiments ne sont pas en cause, contrairement à polyamory, dans lequel il n'y a pas d'exclusivité sexuelle ou sentimentale , ayant comme condition que les deux membres de la relation soient d'accord avec elle. De cette manière, une personne peut entretenir une relation sexuelle et affective avec plus d'une personne.


Le polyamour est courant dans certaines nations islamiques, où non seulement les relations sexuelles et affectives avec d'autres personnes sont autorisées, mais le fait qu'un homme soit marié à plusieurs femmes simultanément est également acceptable.

Pourquoi était-il infidèle?

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, quand on pense au concept "d'infidélité", on trouve une grande variété de définitions , selon les croyances et le sens que chaque personne attribue au mot; par conséquent, on ne peut pas généraliser de croire que tout le monde est infidèle pour la même raison ou le fait de la même manière.

Bien que certaines recherches montrent que la principale cause de l'infidélité est la recherche de caractéristiques d'une autre personne que le couple actuel ne satisfait pas, comprendre un acte d'infidélité, parmi les causes permettant de savoir s'il faut pardonner ou non, dépend du sens à ce mot depuis le début de la relation.


  • Article connexe: "Est-il possible de pardonner une infidélité?"

Mettre la fidélité de côté n'est pas une tâche facile

Le fait qu'une infidélité cause de la douleur à la personne trompée vient du sens de possession celle qui a l'autre, dans laquelle fidélité est synonyme d'amour et si le couple cesse d'être "la propriété" de l'autre en devenant sexuellement ou émotionnellement impliqué avec quelqu'un d'autre, alors il rompt avec l'idée qu'on a de l'amour; parce que la monogamie est le phénomène qui, principalement dans les cultures occidentales, a été transmis de génération en génération comme le plus approprié et le plus accepté socialement.

D'autre part, avoir trahi un accord mutuel entre le couple et mentir continuellement pour dissimuler l'infidélité peut être plus pénible que d'accepter une trahison à temps ou de savoir que l'un ou l'autre des deux membres du couple peut être attiré par une autre personne à tout moment .

Il ne s’agit donc pas de supposer qu’il n’ya pas d’être humain fidèle sur la Terre et de considérer la polygamie comme quelque chose de naturel. Il s'agit de comprendre que l'infidélité est une possibilité et un risque qui court quand on est dans une relation . Toutefois, la souffrance et les malentendus peuvent être évités si une communication affirmée est maintenue dès le début, chaque personne exprimant les attentes qu’elle a de la relation en question.


Etre ou ne pas être rock'n roll, telle est la question ? - Le Billet de Frédéric Beigbeder (Février 2021).


Articles Connexes