yes, therapy helps!
Fight insomnia: 10 solutions to sleep better

Fight insomnia: 10 solutions to sleep better

May 9, 2021

Fight insomnia It is no chimera. If you suffer from problems sleeping, it is very possible that this is a source of problems that is stealing time (the one that takes you to fall asleep) and health. Taking into account the value of these two elements, it is worth asking what can be done to remedy this situation.

How to fight against insomnia and start sleeping well?

Since we know that sleeping problems are quite widespread, today we have decided to address this problem. Here are some tips that may be useful.

1. Eat well

It is no use reaching the bed dragging a tiredness produced by a lack of calorie intake. One of the solutions for insomnia can be in the food: it is important to eat well, since a lack of calories below the minimum levels increase the levels of cortisol , the stress hormone.


In addition, it is worth eliminating or moderating a lot the consumption of coffee or other exciting drinks and doing the same with foods full of artificial sweeteners. Instead, it is advisable to consume foods rich in the amino acid tryptophan such as dairy, eggs or whole grains, as this helps produce serotonin, a powerful relaxant. For example, you can take a natural yogurt one hour before going to sleep. Foods with a moderately high carbohydrate index can also go well.

2. Get some moderate exercise

It is not easy to get rid of the rule of exercise: this point appears in virtually all listings to lead a healthy life. However, this type of recommendation has its reason for being: it has been proven how aerobic activity improves the quality and quantity of sleep.


That's why it's a good idea go for a run for one hour a week. Of course, try to do this at a time close to noon and never after eating, so that you do not join with digestion or with a time when you will take a little while to go to sleep.

3. To combat insomnia, stay away from the screens and the intense light

All of us follow some activation rhythms called Cardiac rhtyms . These rhythms are affected by the reception of light and, therefore, exposing yourself to light sources at times when you are supposed to be sleeping (or getting ready to sleep) creates sleep problems: the body believes it is daytime and we have many hours of activity ahead.

Since the use of electronic devices has become widespread, you have probably become accustomed to using computers, televisions or telephones minutes before going to bed. Bad idea: the light projected so directly on our body creates sleep problems by affecting the levels of melatonin , the hormone used to regulate our circadian rhythm. Interestingly, the frequency of blue light is what most affects us in this regard. The best you can do is try to use dim light during the last hours of the day and try to stay away from the screens.


4. Do yoga

There are some studies that suggest the usefulness of yoga when it comes to combating sleeping problems, even in cases of chronic insomnia, so it may be a good idea to follow a series ofrelaxation exercises to help combat stress levels.

You can consider this as an investment of a few minutes a day that will make you feel better and also help you save the time you take to fall asleep. Try to do these exercises in the last moments of the day to relax the muscles and adjust your hormone levels to the calm that will come right after.

5. In touch with the temperature

Make sure that the room you are going to sleep in is at adequate temperature . The tremors and the postures collected that causes the cold cause the muscles to remain tense, and this makes it difficult to sleep. Knowing how not to get cold feet: if necessary, use socks to fight insomnia at bay (although this does not sound too epic).

6. Do not worry too much trying to fall asleep

Once the time to sleep has come, forget about following instructions. The old trick of counting sheep jumping a fence does not seem to be very effective in dealing with insomnia, so do not complicate your life with it. At the same time, concentrating on not having stressful thoughts is very difficult, since it makes us have a busy mind and that, in a context in which we try to relax, can cause stress to be maintained. When you are in bed, you do not need to worry about the goal of getting to sleep, if you see that it does not help you.

7. ... or yes, worry a little

If you are one of those people who have to be thinking about something all the time, another possibility is to test your brain tired to convince you that the best thing you can do is going to sleep . At least, this is the conclusion reached by a study in which people with insomnia went to sleep earlier if they performed stressful mental operations trying to sleep.

8. Sleep without interruptions

Sleep eight hours, but eight hours in a row . The dream follows cycles that happen very slowly, and this process, which is what helps our body to recover and grow, is interrupted every time we wake up. It is not worth sleeping a little at night and napping very long.

9. Learn to differentiate between what works for you and what does not

Do not believe too much of the previous points. Every person is a world , and there are some tips to combat insomnia that may be more useful than others. Since you will be practicing every day, try to look at what helps you and what does not help you, experiment, and learn what is the logic by which your lack of sleep is guided.

10. Find out about the type of insomnia you have

These tips are generic, but the way to fight insomnia is different depending on whether it is chronic or not. In addition, there are many disorders associated with sleep that you might be confusing. If you have reached a point where these episodes are repeated a lot, it is worth looking for personalized attention in a professional.


Doctor, I Have Insomnia. What Can I Do? - Alon Avidan, MD | UCLA Health Sleep Center (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Combattez l'insomnie: 10 solutions pour mieux dormir

Combattez l'insomnie: 10 solutions pour mieux dormir

Juin 20, 2022

Combattre l'insomnie Ce n'est pas une chimère. Si vous avez des problèmes de sommeil, il est fort possible que ce soit une source de problèmes de vol (le temps qui vous met à vous endormir) et de santé. Compte tenu de la valeur de ces deux éléments, il convient de se demander ce qui peut être fait pour remédier à cette situation.

Comment lutter contre l'insomnie et bien dormir?

Sachant que les problèmes de sommeil sont assez répandus, nous avons décidé de nous attaquer à ce problème. Voici quelques conseils utiles.

1. bien manger

Il est inutile d’atteindre le lit en traînant une fatigue provoquée par un manque d’apport calorique. Une des solutions à l'insomnie peut être dans les aliments: il est important de bien manger, car un manque de calories en dessous des niveaux minimum augmente les niveaux de cortisol , l'hormone du stress.


En outre, il vaut la peine d'éliminer ou de modérer beaucoup la consommation de café ou d'autres boissons intéressantes et de faire de même avec des aliments contenant des édulcorants artificiels. Au lieu de cela, il est conseillé de consommer des aliments riches en tryptophane, tels que les produits laitiers, les œufs ou les grains entiers, car cela contribue à la production de sérotonine, un puissant relaxant. Par exemple, vous pouvez prendre un yaourt naturel une heure avant d'aller vous coucher. Les aliments avec un indice de glucides modérément élevé peuvent également bien se passer.

2. Faites de l'exercice modéré

Il n’est pas facile de se débarrasser de la règle de l’exercice: ce point apparaît dans pratiquement toutes les listes pour mener une vie saine. Cependant, ce type de recommandation a sa raison d’être: il a été prouvé comment activité aérobique améliore la qualité et la quantité de sommeil.


C'est pourquoi c'est une bonne idée sortir courir pendant une heure par semaine. Bien sûr, essayez de le faire à une heure proche de midi et jamais après avoir mangé, de manière à ne pas vous associer à la digestion ou à une heure où il vous faudra un peu de temps pour vous endormir.

3. Pour lutter contre l'insomnie, éloignez-vous des écrans et de la lumière intense

Nous suivons tous des rythmes d’activation appelés rythmes circadiens . Ces rythmes sont affectés par la réception de la lumière et, par conséquent, vous exposer à des sources de lumière à des moments où vous êtes censé dormir (ou sur le point de dormir) crée des problèmes de sommeil: le corps croit qu'il fait jour. et nous avons de nombreuses heures d'activité à venir.

Depuis que l'utilisation des appareils électroniques s'est généralisée, vous vous êtes probablement habitué à utiliser un ordinateur, un téléviseur ou un téléphone quelques minutes avant d'aller vous coucher. Mauvaise idée: la lumière projetée aussi directement sur notre corps crée des problèmes de sommeil en affectant les niveaux de mélatonine , l'hormone utilisée pour réguler notre rythme circadien. Fait intéressant, la fréquence de la lumière bleue est ce qui nous affecte le plus à cet égard. Le mieux que vous puissiez faire est d'essayer d'utiliser une lumière tamisée pendant les dernières heures de la journée et de rester à l'écart des écrans.


4. faire du yoga

Certaines études suggèrent l'utilité du yoga dans la lutte contre les problèmes de sommeil, même en cas d'insomnie chronique. Il peut donc être judicieux de suivre une série deexercices de relaxation pour aider à combattre les niveaux de stress.

Vous pouvez considérer cela comme un investissement de quelques minutes par jour qui vous permettra de vous sentir mieux et vous aidera également à économiser le temps nécessaire pour vous endormir. Essayez de faire ces exercices dans les derniers instants de la journée pour détendre les muscles et ajustez vos niveaux d'hormones au calme qui viendra juste après.

5. En contact avec la température

Assurez-vous que la pièce dans laquelle vous allez dormir est à température adéquate . Les tremblements et les postures accumulées qui provoquent le froid font que les muscles restent tendus, ce qui rend le sommeil difficile. Savoir ne pas avoir froid aux pieds: au besoin, utilisez des chaussettes pour lutter contre l'insomnie aux abois (bien que cela ne semble pas trop épique).

6. Ne vous inquiétez pas trop en essayant de vous endormir

Une fois l'heure du sommeil venue, oubliez les instructions suivantes. Le vieux astuce de compter les moutons sauter une clôture ne semble pas être très efficace pour traiter l'insomnie, alors ne vous compliquez pas la vie. Dans le même temps, il est très difficile de ne pas avoir de pensées stressantes, car cela nous rend l'esprit occupé et que, dans un contexte dans lequel nous essayons de nous détendre, nous pouvons maintenir le stress. Lorsque vous êtes au lit, vous n'avez pas besoin de vous inquiéter de votre objectif de dormir, si vous constatez que cela ne vous aide pas.

7. ... ou oui, t'inquiète un peu

Si vous êtes une de ces personnes qui doivent penser à quelque chose en permanence, une autre possibilité est de tester votre cerveau fatigué pour vous convaincre que la meilleure chose à faire est de: Aller se coucher . C'est du moins la conclusion d'une étude dans laquelle des personnes souffrant d'insomnie s'endormaient plus tôt si elles effectuaient des opérations mentales stressantes en essayant de dormir.

8. Dormez sans interruption

Dormir huit heures, mais huit heures d'affilée . Le rêve suit des cycles très lents et ce processus, qui aide notre corps à récupérer et à grandir, est interrompu à chaque réveil. Ce n'est pas la peine de dormir un peu la nuit et de faire la sieste très longtemps.

9. Apprenez à différencier ce qui fonctionne pour vous et ce qui ne fonctionne pas

Ne croyez pas trop aux points précédents. Chaque personne est un monde et il existe quelques astuces pour lutter contre l’insomnie qui peuvent être plus utiles que d’autres. Puisque vous pratiquez tous les jours, essayez de regarder ce qui vous aide et ce qui ne vous aide pas, expérimentez et apprenez quelle est la logique qui guide votre manque de sommeil.

10. Renseignez-vous sur le type d'insomnie que vous avez

Ces astuces sont génériques, mais la manière de lutter contre l'insomnie est différente selon qu'elle est chronique ou non. En outre, il existe de nombreux troubles associés au sommeil que vous pourriez être déroutant. Si vous avez atteint un point où ces épisodes se répètent souvent, il vaut la peine de rechercher une attention personnalisée chez un professionnel.


10 conseils pour mieux dormir | Adieu insomnie ! (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes