yes, therapy helps!
Filias y parafilias: definition, types and characteristics

Filias y parafilias: definition, types and characteristics

November 27, 2021

Although the term "filia" has a very broad meaning and can refer to any type of hobby, in Psychology we use it especially in the field of sexuality. When the philias are very marked and atypical we speak of paraphilia .

In this article we will describe the characteristics of the most common or striking types of philia and paraphilias . To contextualize these categories it is important to previously define the concepts of philia and paraphilia.

  • Related article: "The main sexual and psychosexual disorders"

Definition of philia and paraphilia

The word "filia" comes from the Greek "philos", which we could translate as "love" or "friendship". It is usually used as a suffix to designate Intense liking or taste for a certain element , which may or may not be of a sexual nature; thus, a cinephile person is one who enjoys cinema a lot, and philately is the hobby of collecting stamps.


However, in psychology, sexuality is the field where this concept appears most commonly. In this area, the philias overlap with the paraphilias, defined as patterns of sexual behavior in which the desire, the excitement or the pleasure depend to a great extent on atypical elements, although this does not necessarily entail a pathology.

Paraphilias are harmless if they do not involve the discomfort of the person or of others, so that in many cases they simply consist of a sexual preference. This usually happens in fetishism (excited by an object or part of the body), among other philia. However, sometimes these preferences involve people who do not consent or simply hamper relationships.


The term "philia" is contrasted with that of "phobia" , which is used to refer to irrational fears or aversions. Like the philias, phobias can sometimes be of a sexual nature; For example, erotophobia or genophobia is the aversion to sexual intercourse, while the word "medomalacufobia" refers to the fear of losing an erection.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

Types of philia and their characteristics

Next we will make a brief description of the main characteristics of different types of philias and paraphilias. Assigning one or another label depends on the intensity of the preference, the discomfort that leads to the person or others and the point of view of each expert.

1. Fetish

Fetishism is the sexual preference for inanimate objects or for specific parts of the body. Two of the best-known fetish filias are the podophilia, which involves the feet, and the retifism or taste for shoes . The preference for objects designed for sexual stimulation, such as vibrators, is not considered fetishism.


2. Exhibitionism

This filia consists in obtaining sexual arousal and pleasure at expose body parts, usually the genitals , to other people. It is usual that the intensity of exhibitionist behavior increases with practice, and may adopt a compulsive nature.

  • Related article: "Exhibitionism: causes and symptoms of this sexual paraphilia"

3. Voyeurism or scopophilia

Voyeurism is defined as the taste marked by observe naked people or who are having sex . Voyeurs often prefer that the person observed does not know that they are watching, and usually do not seek sexual intercourse with it.

4. Frotteurismo

The frotteuristas people, or frotteurs, look for the Physical contact with other people to masturbate after ; in their pathological form, they do so without permission and / or against their will. It is usually carried out in places where there are many people, such as public transport or nightclubs. The frotteurismo is much more usual in young people.

5. Sexual masochism

Masochism includes the sexual pleasure that is obtained when receive physical harm or humiliation , as well as any other type of suffering. It is the most common paraphilia in women, and is often associated with sadism.

6. Sexual sadism

Sadistic people enjoy sexually with the idea or practice of harming others. Although there is often talk of pathological sexual sadism, there are many sadistic people who only fulfill their fantasies with people who consent to it; this happens for example in the BDSM , which encompasses the practices of bondage, discipline, domination, submission, sadism and masochism.

7. Transvestite fetish

This philia involves obtaining sexual pleasure by dressing as a person of another gender. It has only been described in heterosexual men, who in some cases do not identify with the masculine gender. When a man gets excited seeing himself or imagining himself as a woman, we talk about autogynephilia.

8. Pedophilia

The DSM manual defines pedophilia as the sexual preference for people who have not reached puberty (children under 13 years old). The difference with pedophilia is that this term designates the practice of abusive behaviors to children, while pedophilia can also refer to impulses or habitual fantasies that have not been fulfilled.

9. Gerontofilia

The gerontofilia is the sexual preference by people of advanced age. If the attraction is given to elderly males this philia is known as alphamegamia, while if the object of desire are women it is matronolagnia.

10. Necrophilia

Necrophilous people are attracted to corpses , be they from humans or from other animals. Although logically necrophilia is usually carried out without the consent of the deceased, cases of necrophilia have occurred with previous permission of the deceased, such as the famous episode of Armin Meiwes, the "Cannibal of Rotemburgo".

11. Asphyxophilia

Asphyxophilia consists in obtaining pleasure with the sensation of drowning. Sexual asphyxia can be carried out with a partner or as a method of masturbation; in this case we would speak of autoerotic asphyxia.

12. Zoophilia or bestialism

In zoophilia the person feel desire or perform sexual activities with animals . It is especially common in rural settings and in psychiatric patients, and only very rarely cases of exclusive zoophilia are detected.

13. Urophilia and coprophilia

In urophilia, fantasies include the presence of urine, while in coprophilia the same happens with feces. A related paraphilia is diaper fetishism. When the person gets excited with the idea of ​​urinating or defecating on top of a sexual partner, we talk about elimination.

14. Xenophilia

Understood from a sexual point of view, xenophilia is the preference for people who are perceived as members of an ethnic group exotic or different from their own . However, in a broader sense xenophilia is the taste for people or objects of unknown origin, and technically has a meaning opposed to the word "xenophobia."

15. Ginandromorfofilia or ginemimetofilia

This filia refers to the preferential attraction, whether exclusive or not, towards transgender or transgender people. The conception of ginandromorphilia as a type of paraphilia is frequently criticized as it may favor the stigmatization of transgender people and those who are attracted to them.


PARAPHILIAS (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Filias y parafilias: définition, types et caractéristiques

Filias y parafilias: définition, types et caractéristiques

Juin 25, 2022

Bien que le terme "filia" ait un sens très large et puisse désigner n'importe quel type de passe-temps, en psychologie, nous l'utilisons surtout dans le domaine de la sexualité. Quand les philias sont très marqués et atypiques on parle de paraphilie .

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire les caractéristiques des types de philia et de paraphilias les plus courants ou les plus frappants . Pour contextualiser ces catégories, il est important de définir au préalable les concepts de philia et de paraphilie.

  • Article connexe: "Les principaux troubles sexuels et psychosexuels"

Définition de philia et paraphilie

Le mot "filia" vient du grec "philos" que l'on pourrait traduire par "amour" ou "amitié". Il est généralement utilisé comme suffixe pour désigner Un goût ou un goût intense pour un certain élément , qui peut être ou ne pas être de nature sexuelle; ainsi, un cinéphile aime beaucoup le cinéma et la philatélie est le loisir de collectionner des timbres.


Cependant, en psychologie, la sexualité est le domaine où ce concept apparaît le plus souvent. Dans ce domaine, les philias se chevauchent avec les paraphilies, définies comme des modèles de comportement sexuel dans lequel le désir, l'excitation ou le plaisir dépendent en grande partie d'éléments atypiques, bien que cela n'entraîne pas nécessairement une pathologie.

Les paraphilies sont inoffensives si elles n'entraînent pas l'inconfort de la personne ou des autres, de sorte que dans de nombreux cas, elles consistent simplement en une préférence sexuelle. Cela se produit généralement dans le fétichisme (excité par un objet ou une partie du corps), entre autres philia. Cependant, ces préférences impliquent parfois des personnes qui ne consentent pas ou qui nuisent tout simplement aux relations.


Le terme "philia" contraste avec celui de "phobie" , qui est utilisé pour désigner des peurs irrationnelles ou des aversions. Comme les philias, les phobies peuvent parfois être de nature sexuelle; Par exemple, l'érotophobie ou la génophobie est l'aversion pour les rapports sexuels, alors que le mot "medomalacufobia" désigne la peur de perdre une érection.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Types de philia et leurs caractéristiques

Nous ferons ensuite une brève description des principales caractéristiques des différents types de philias et de paraphilias. L'attribution de l'une ou l'autre étiquette dépend de l'intensité de la préférence, de la gêne occasionnée chez la personne ou aux autres et du point de vue de chaque expert.

1. fétiche

Le fétichisme est la préférence sexuelle pour des objets inanimés ou pour des parties spécifiques du corps. Deux des filias fétichistes les plus connus sont la podophilie, qui concerne les pieds, et le rétifisme ou le goût des chaussures . La préférence pour les objets conçus pour la stimulation sexuelle, tels que les vibrateurs, n'est pas considérée comme du fétichisme.


2. Exhibitionnisme

Cette filia consiste à obtenir l'excitation et le plaisir sexuels à exposer des parties du corps, généralement les organes génitaux , à d'autres personnes. Il est habituel que l'intensité du comportement exhibitionniste augmente avec la pratique et puisse adopter un caractère compulsif.

  • Article connexe: "Exhibitionnisme: causes et symptômes de cette paraphilie sexuelle"

3. Voyeurisme ou scopophilie

Le voyeurisme est défini comme le goût marqué par observer des personnes nues ou qui ont des relations sexuelles . Les voyageurs préfèrent souvent que la personne observée ne sache pas qu'ils la surveillent et ne recherchent généralement pas de rapports sexuels avec.

4. Frotteurismo

Les frotteuristas, ou frotteurs, recherchent le Contact physique avec d'autres personnes pour se masturber après ; sous leur forme pathologique, ils le font sans permission et / ou contre leur volonté. Il est généralement effectué dans des endroits très fréquentés, tels que les transports en commun ou les discothèques. Le frotteurismo est beaucoup plus habituel chez les jeunes.

5. Masochisme sexuel

Le masochisme inclut le plaisir sexuel obtenu lorsque subir des dommages physiques ou de l'humiliation , ainsi que tout autre type de souffrance. C'est la paraphilie la plus répandue chez les femmes et elle est souvent associée au sadisme.

6. sadisme sexuel

Les sadiques apprécient sexuellement l'idée ou la pratique de nuire aux autres. Bien que l'on parle souvent de sadisme sexuel pathologique, il y a beaucoup de sadiques qui ne réalisent leurs fantasmes qu'avec des personnes qui y consentent; cela se passe par exemple dans le BDSM , qui englobe les pratiques de servitude, de discipline, de domination, de soumission, de sadisme et de masochisme.

7. Fétiche Travesti

Cette philia implique l'obtention d'un plaisir sexuel en s'habillant comme une personne d'un autre sexe. Il n'a été décrit que chez les hommes hétérosexuels, qui dans certains cas ne s'identifient pas avec le genre masculin. Quand un homme est excité de se voir ou de s’imaginer en tant que femme, on parle d’autogynéphilie.

8. Pédophilie

Le manuel DSM définit la pédophilie comme le préférence sexuelle pour les personnes n'ayant pas atteint la puberté (enfants de moins de 13 ans). La différence avec la pédophilie est que ce terme désigne la pratique de comportements abusifs envers les enfants, tandis que la pédophilie peut aussi désigner des pulsions ou des fantasmes habituels qui n'ont pas été remplis.

9. Gérontofilia

La gérontofilia est la préférence sexuelle des personnes d'un âge avancé. Si l’attraction attire les hommes âgés, cette philia est connue sous le nom d’alphamegamia, tandis que si l’objet du désir est une femme, il s’agit de la matronolagnia.

10. Nécrophilie

Les nécrophiles sont attirés par les cadavres , qu'ils proviennent d'humains ou d'autres animaux. Bien que logiquement la nécrophilie soit généralement pratiquée sans le consentement du défunt, des cas de nécrophilie ont déjà eu lieu avec l'autorisation préalable du défunt, comme le fameux épisode d'Armin Meiwes, le "Cannibal de Rotemburgo".

11. Asphyxophilie

L'asphyxophilie consiste à obtenir du plaisir avec la sensation de noyade. L'asphyxie sexuelle peut être pratiquée avec un partenaire ou comme méthode de masturbation. dans ce cas, on parlerait d'asphyxie auto-érotique.

12. Zoophilia ou bestialisme

En zoophilia la personne ressentir du désir ou pratiquer des activités sexuelles avec des animaux . Il est particulièrement fréquent dans les zones rurales et chez les patients psychiatriques, et seuls de très rares cas de zoophilie exclusive sont détectés.

13. Urophilie et coprophilie

Dans l'urophilie, les fantasmes incluent la présence d'urine, tandis que dans la coprophilie, il en va de même pour les matières fécales. Une paraphilie apparentée est le fétichisme des couches. Lorsque la personne est excitée à l'idée d'uriner ou de déféquer sur un partenaire sexuel, on parle d'élimination.

14. Xénophilie

Compris d’un point de vue sexuel, la xénophilie est la préférence des personnes perçues comme les membres d'un groupe ethnique exotique ou différent du leur . Cependant, dans un sens plus large, la xénophilie est le goût de personnes ou d’objets d’origine inconnue et a un sens technique opposé au mot "xénophobie".

15. Ginandromorfofilia ou ginemimetofilia

Cette filia renvoie à l'attraction préférentielle, exclusive ou non, envers les personnes transgenres ou transgenres. La conception de la ginandromorphilia en tant que type de paraphilie est fréquemment critiquée car elle peut favoriser la stigmatisation des personnes transgenres et de ceux qui y sont attirés.


The Craziest Things People are Attracted To (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes