yes, therapy helps!
Finland will eliminate school subjects and give children freedom

Finland will eliminate school subjects and give children freedom

July 12, 2024

The Scandinavian countries stand out as being among the richest in Europe and, in addition, for offering a good educational model. However, with them, Finland shows a curious trend: despite not enjoying the economic level of its Western neighbors, for years it has been above them in the results of the PISA report , which assesses the educational level of 15-year-olds.

In fact, the first time these measurements were made, this country surprised to lead the educational ranking with much advantage over the rest.

Since then, Finland has become a benchmark in education. But it seems that he is not content with a school model that others try to imitate. Now, the country is in the process of changing from top to bottom the way of teaching classes: the subjects disappear and the "projects" appear , in which several competitions are worked at the same time.


  • Maybe you're interested: "9 books of children's psychology highly recommended"

The characteristics of education in Finland

The current Finnish educational model is characterized by a liberalization of education, which moves away from models based on very rigid master classes in which students copy and memorize what they are told. This means that we try to favor the autonomy of the students by making them actively participate in the classes, cooperating with each other to develop projects and, in general, having a greater degree of freedom when deciding how to learn.

On the other hand, it seems that Finnish education gets more with less . Their annual teaching hours, for example, are less than those of Spain: 608 and 875, respectively. The amount of homework is also less, and this fits very well with a way of thinking that places parents in a very relevant place when it comes to the education of their children. It is understood that education is something that occurs throughout the day, and not just between the walls of the school.


Further, teacher training is very demanding both for primary and secondary school, and it is considered a university and post-university trajectory that is difficult to access, in addition to being very centralized: the ways of training teachers are very similar in all the universities of the country. It is for all this, among other things, that in Finland teachers are highly valued and admired.

  • Related article: "The KiVa method, an idea that is ending bullying"

What is the disappearance of the subjects?

The new educational paradigm of Finland, which is being tested in schools in Helsinki and will be fully implemented in 2020, is based on a premise: moving from educating about content to educating about skills similar to those that will be required in adult life.

This implies to stop treating subjects as if each of them were a watertight compartment, and to make that in an hour the students learn and train in very diverse competitions, in the same way in which in the day to day the challenges do not appear sequentially, but integrated into each other.


Thus, the subjects give way to "projects", in which the subjects that previously belonged to different subjects appear integrated in complex challenges and with several competence layers . For example, one of the exercises to be carried out may be to explain in English the different characteristic ecosystems of several European countries previously studied, or to explain whether a text on economics offers correct data and expresses them in grammatically correct ways.

In this way, students' brains will always be working at the same time on various types of mental processes oriented towards the resolution of a complex problem, what is sometimes known as multiple intelligences.

These projects will be directed by groups of several teachers who will combine their skills to provide an environment in which students can work in groups and raise their doubts about different topics without being held back by the rhythm of the class.

Forming future workers

The idea of ​​educating in a less rigid way is very seductive, among other things, because it seems to be based on the ideals of romanticism. A class in which activities develop more naturally should be exposed to the risks that the impositions of "civilization" put limits on the creativity and spontaneous curiosity of the youngest.

However, there is an alternative way to see this change in the educational model. For example, interpret it as a way of subordinate education to the interests of the labor market . It is one thing to work several types of competences at the same time, and another is to choose the type of projects in which these are going to be exercised according to what the productive machinery of the country needs.

With the disappearance of the subjects and the emergence of a more pragmatic approach, the risk is arising that the theoretical-practical projects that produce added value eclipse even more those whose existence does not have to depend on the market but with critical thinking and a global vision of the world, such as philosophy. Time will tell.


8 of the World's Fanciest Prisons (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La Finlande éliminera les matières scolaires et donnera la liberté aux enfants

La Finlande éliminera les matières scolaires et donnera la liberté aux enfants

Novembre 28, 2022

Les pays scandinaves se distinguent parmi les plus riches d’Europe et offrent en outre un bon modèle éducatif. Cependant, avec eux, la Finlande montre une tendance curieuse: ne bénéficiant pas du niveau économique de ses voisins occidentaux, depuis des années, il est au-dessus d’eux dans les résultats du rapport PISA , qui évalue le niveau d’éducation des jeunes de 15 ans.

En fait, la première fois que ces mesures ont été effectuées, ce pays a été surpris de prendre la tête du classement des établissements d’enseignement avec un avantage considérable sur les autres.

Depuis lors, la Finlande est devenue une référence en matière d’éducation. Mais il semble qu'il ne se contente pas d'un modèle scolaire que d'autres essaient d'imiter. Maintenant, le pays est en train de changer de fond en comble la manière d’enseigner les cours: les sujets disparaissent et les "projets" apparaissent , dans lequel plusieurs compétitions sont travaillées en même temps.


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "9 livres de psychologie pour enfants hautement recommandés"

Les caractéristiques de l'éducation en Finlande

Le modèle éducatif finlandais actuel se caractérise par une libéralisation de l'éducation, qui s'éloigne des modèles basés sur des classes de maîtres très rigides dans lesquelles les étudiants copient et mémorisent ce qui leur est dit. Cela signifie que nous essayons de favoriser l’autonomie des étudiants en les faisant participer activement aux cours, en coopérant les uns avec les autres pour développer des projets et, en général, avec un plus grand degré de liberté pour décider de la manière d’apprendre.

D'autre part, il semble que L'éducation finlandaise obtient plus avec moins . Leurs heures d’enseignement annuelles, par exemple, sont inférieures à celles de l’Espagne: 608 et 875, respectivement. La quantité de devoirs est également moindre, et cela correspond très bien à une façon de penser qui place les parents dans un lieu très pertinent en ce qui concerne l'éducation de leurs enfants. Il est entendu que l’éducation est quelque chose qui se passe tout au long de la journée, et pas seulement entre les murs de l’école.


En outre, la formation des enseignants est très exigeante Elle est considérée comme une trajectoire universitaire et post-universitaire difficile d'accès, en plus d'être très centralisée: les modes de formation des enseignants sont très similaires dans toutes les universités du pays. C'est pour tout cela, entre autres, qu'en Finlande les enseignants sont très appréciés et admirés.

  • Article connexe: "La méthode KiVa, une idée qui met fin à l'intimidation"

Quelle est la disparition des sujets?

Le nouveau paradigme éducatif de la Finlande, qui est testé dans les écoles d'Helsinki et sera pleinement mis en œuvre en 2020, repose sur le principe suivant: passer d'un enseignement axé sur le contenu à un enseignement axé sur des compétences similaires à celles requises à l'âge adulte.

Cela implique de cesser de traiter les sujets comme si chacun d’eux était un compartiment étanche, et de faire en sorte que les étudiants apprennent et s’entraînent en une heure à des compétitions très diverses, de la même manière que les défis ne se présentent pas au quotidien. séquentiellement, mais intégrés les uns aux autres.


Ainsi, les sujets cèdent la place à des "projets", dans lesquels les sujets qui appartenaient auparavant à différents sujets apparaissent intégrés dans défis complexes et avec plusieurs niveaux de compétence . Par exemple, l’un des exercices à effectuer consiste peut-être à expliquer en anglais les différents écosystèmes caractéristiques de plusieurs pays européens précédemment étudiés, ou à expliquer si un texte sur l’économie offre des données correctes et les exprime de manière grammaticale.

De cette manière, le cerveau des étudiants travaillera toujours simultanément sur différents types de processus mentaux orientés vers la résolution d'un problème complexe, parfois appelé intelligences multiples.

Ces projets seront dirigés par des groupes de plusieurs enseignants qui associeront leurs compétences pour créer un environnement dans lequel les étudiants pourront travailler en groupe et émettre des doutes sur différents sujets sans être retardés par le rythme de la classe.

Former les futurs travailleurs

L'idée d'éduquer d'une manière moins rigide est très séduisante, entre autres choses, car elle semble être basée sur les idéaux du romantisme. Une classe dans laquelle les activités se développent plus naturellement devrait être exposée aux risques que l'imposition de "civilisation" limite à la créativité et à la curiosité spontanée des plus jeunes.

Cependant, il existe une autre façon de voir ce changement dans le modèle éducatif. Par exemple, interpréter cela comme un moyen de subordonner l'éducation aux intérêts du marché du travail . Travailler en même temps avec plusieurs types de compétences est une chose. Il faut aussi choisir le type de projets dans lequel ils seront exercés en fonction des besoins de l'appareil productif du pays.

Avec la disparition des sujets et l'émergence d'une approche plus pragmatique, le risque existe que les projets théoriques-pratiques qui produisent une valeur ajoutée éclipsent encore plus ceux dont l'existence ne dépend pas du marché mais de la pensée critique et une vision globale du monde, telle que la philosophie. Le temps dira.


Pourquoi j’ai créé une école où les enfants font ce qu’ils veulent. | Ramïn Farhangi | TEDxSaclay (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes