yes, therapy helps!
Firewalking: psychological benefits of walking on the embers (the new fashion of Coaching)

Firewalking: psychological benefits of walking on the embers (the new fashion of Coaching)

June 24, 2021

Recently, practices such as "Firewalking "(Walk on the embers) or the"Glasswalking "(to walk on broken glass), since they seem to have a high impact to overcome the fears and help people to learn how to transcend the limits that our own mind imposes on us.

The benefits of Firewalking (walking on the embers)

We have all faced problems and obstacles that have arisen in our lives, and in front of which many times we are paralyzed. Sometimes these problems seem unsolvable or too complicated to find the right solution. Coaching is a discipline that helps overcome limiting beliefs that prevent us from facing those challenges or obstacles that are presented to us both on a personal and business level.


Coaching: Firewalking as an impact technique

Firewalking is a technique that has been imported from the United States, where it has been done for more than three decades. It is used as life metaphor that allows to unblock people and empower them to face the difficult situations of day to day. In this way, individuals become more resilient and gain self-confidence. In addition, it helps them to test their limiting beliefs, to overcome their fears and to increase their motivation.

Psychology has long been investigating the relationship between the mind, emotions and pain. In the article "The Phantom Member: Mirror Box Therapy" we already echoed the studies of Ronald Melzack, a researcher and professor of psychology at McGill University in Canada, which led to the Theory of the Neuromatrix .


This theory attributes the diffusion of pain and the transmission of this by the organism to a complex system. Different areas intervene in the system (of the central and peripheral nervous system, autonomic nervous system and endocrine system) directly influenced by various psychological, emotional, genetic and social factors. But in addition to the influence of the mind when it comes to enduring physical pain or firewalking, it seems that, according to this coaching technique, dealing with physical pain can bring benefits at the psychological level.

Overcoming fears with Firewalking

In the business field, firewalking has also had a great impact. According to experts who use the technique, walking on the embers is a challenge that enhances the entrepreneurial empowerment, the leadership ability, the courage or other virtues that so often influence success. In the personal field, this attitude of facing fears and commitment to oneself, makes the person aware, commits and increases their perspective and their options, enhancing their resources to achieve the goals that have been set.


No one can deny that there are states of mind and attitudes (confidence, inner strength, joy, etc.) that motivate us and push us to action, and there are paralyzing moods or attitudes (anxiety, fear, confusion, sadness, etc.) that they make us impotent It is possible that the firewalking, as coaching technique , help increase self-confidence.

The metaphors in coaching

Already from small and as we grow, stories and stories teach us values, principles and social norms . The stories we hear are modeling our lives, and in turn, the stories we begin to explain define who we are, our experiences, perceptions, and the perspective we have of the world.

Coaching uses metaphors as positive belief-enhancing techniques, since the symbolic language of the narrative defines us and our perspective of the world, providing learning. Acts on our subconscious in a much more empowering way than any suggestion or advice, and mobilizes our creative capacity in the inner search for new options.

Since coaching, it is stated that people have all the answers , you just have to accompany them to become aware. The generation of new options through metaphors leads the coachee (client of the coach) to relate and to understand reality from another perspective.

The effectiveness of metaphors

But for the metaphors to be effective for the coachee, the coach must elaborate a story that facilitates the identification by his client and helps him look for more adaptive options. Therefore, the coachee must feel that the metaphor covers their needs and offers meaning. The metaphor can also help to deepen the understanding and resolution of problems , and it is an important tool for change if they are used well.

For example, during the coaching process, an overly extroverted client showed little ability for self-observation and to question their own attitudes. The client, passionate about mountaineering, finally improved his introspection ability, as the coach made him reflect when he said: "Now you have to climb the inner mountain".

In the firewalking sessions the metaphors can be several. For example, "both in life and in firewalking, taking the first step is the hardest, the one that costs the most" or "you have to walk through life as if over the embers, otherwise you may end up burning yourself. You have to step firmly and keep going no matter what happens. "

Experiential learning: testing empowering beliefs

The metaphors will facilitate the path for the acquisition of more adaptive and beneficial beliefs, but in order to anchor these new beliefs they have to be put to the test. To eliminate a limiting belief it is highly advisable to replace it with an empowering belief. This is not a new concept of coaching, but has been applied for decades in psychology, for example, in Cognitive Behavioral Therapy.

The experiential learning it is based on the fact that knowledge is created through the transformation provoked by experience. The concrete experience is transferred to an abstract conceptualization which is actively tested through new experiences.

Firewalking and self-confidence

These experiences of failure or success will affect our mental programming (values ​​and beliefs), which will have consequences in our self-efficacy beliefs (also called self-confidence). The experiences constitute the most important source of information for the perception of self-confidence, since they will facilitate the verification of whether these beliefs are going to be effective or not. Repeating success in certain tasks increases positive evaluations of self-confidence beliefs, while repeated failures decrease them, especially when failures can not be attributed to external circumstances.

To read more about this topic in our article "The Self-efficacy of Albert Bandura: do you believe in yourself?".

In short, by testing the new empowering belief and observing its positive effect, it will facilitate its anchoring. This will provide a new vision of life. When you are aware that you yourself are the writer of your own novel You can change the course of things to improve your wellbeing and face the challenges of life in a different way.

Then we leave you a story in which they explain the operation of the Firewalking seminars. Check it out:


MythBusters - Water Stun Gun (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Marche sur le feu: avantages psychologiques de la marche sur la braise (la nouvelle mode du coaching)

Marche sur le feu: avantages psychologiques de la marche sur la braise (la nouvelle mode du coaching)

Avril 14, 2021

Récemment, des pratiques telles que "Marche sur le feu "(Marche sur les braises) ou le"Randonnée sur verre "(marcher sur des vitres brisées), car ils semblent avoir un grand impact sur les craintes et aider les gens à apprendre à dépasser les limites que notre esprit nous impose.

Les avantages de Firewalking (marcher sur les braises)

Nous avons tous été confrontés à des problèmes et à des obstacles qui se sont posés dans nos vies et devant lesquels nous sommes souvent paralysés. Parfois, ces problèmes semblent insolubles ou trop compliqués pour trouver la bonne solution. Le coaching est une discipline qui aide surmonter les croyances limitantes qui nous empêchent de faire face aux défis ou obstacles qui nous sont présentés tant sur le plan personnel que sur le plan commercial.


Coaching: Firewalking comme technique d'impact

Firewalking est une technique importée des États-Unis, où elle est pratiquée depuis plus de trois décennies. Il est utilisé comme métaphore de la vie cela permet de débloquer des personnes et de leur donner les moyens de faire face aux situations difficiles du quotidien. De cette manière, les individus deviennent plus résilients et acquièrent de la confiance en soi. En outre, cela les aide à tester leurs croyances limitantes, à surmonter leurs peurs et à accroître leur motivation.

La psychologie a longtemps étudié la relation entre l'esprit, les émotions et la douleur. Dans l'article "The Phantom Member: Mirror Box Therapy", nous avons déjà évoqué les études de Ronald Melzack, chercheur et professeur de psychologie à l'Université McGill au Canada, qui ont conduit au Théorie du Neuromatrix .


Cette théorie attribue la diffusion de la douleur et sa transmission par l'organisme à un système complexe. Différents domaines interviennent dans le système (du système nerveux central et périphérique, du système nerveux autonome et du système endocrinien) directement influencés par divers facteurs psychologiques, émotionnels, génétiques et sociaux. Mais en plus de l'influence de l'esprit quand il s'agit de supporter la douleur physique ou la marche à pied, il semble que, selon cette technique de coaching, le traitement de la douleur physique puisse avoir des avantages sur le plan psychologique.

Surmonter les peurs avec Firewalking

Dans le domaine des affaires, la lutte contre le feu a également eu un impact considérable. Selon les experts qui utilisent cette technique, marcher sur les braises est un défi qui améliore l’autonomisation de l’entreprise, la capacité de leadership, le courage ou d’autres vertus qui influencent si souvent le succès. Sur le plan personnel, cette attitude face aux peurs et à l’engagement envers soi-même rend la personne consciente, engage et augmente son point de vue et ses options, renforçant ses ressources pour atteindre les objectifs fixés.


Personne ne peut nier qu’il existe des états d’esprit et des attitudes (confiance, force intérieure, joie, etc.) qui nous motivent et nous poussent à agir et que des humeurs ou des attitudes paralysantes (anxiété, peur, confusion, tristesse, etc.) ils nous rendent impuissants Il est possible que le firewalking, comme technique de coaching , aide à augmenter la confiance en soi.

Les métaphores du coaching

Déjà de petite taille et à mesure que nous grandissons, des histoires et des histoires nous apprennent valeurs, principes et normes sociales . Les histoires que nous entendons modélisent nos vies et, à leur tour, les histoires que nous commençons à expliquer définissent qui nous sommes, nos expériences, nos perceptions et la perspective que nous avons du monde.

Le coaching utilise des métaphores comme techniques positives d'amélioration des croyances, puisque le langage symbolique du récit nous définit, ainsi que notre perspective du monde, en fournissant un apprentissage. Agit sur notre subconscient d'une manière beaucoup plus responsabilisante que toute suggestion ou conseil, et mobilise notre capacité créative dans la recherche intérieure de nouvelles options.

Depuis le coaching, il est indiqué que les gens ont toutes les réponses , il suffit de les accompagner pour en prendre conscience. La génération de nouvelles options par le biais de métaphores amène le coaché ​​(client du coach) à établir un rapport et à comprendre la réalité sous un autre angle.

L'efficacité des métaphores

Mais pour que les métaphores soient efficaces pour le coaché, le coach doit élaborer une histoire qui facilite l'identification par son client et l'aide à rechercher des options plus adaptatives. Par conséquent, le coaché ​​doit avoir le sentiment que la métaphore couvre ses besoins et offre un sens. La métaphore peut aussi aider à approfondir la compréhension et résolution de problèmes , et c’est un outil de changement important s’ils sont bien utilisés.

Par exemple, au cours du processus de coaching, un client excessivement extraverti a montré une faible capacité d'autoobservation et de remise en question de ses propres attitudes. Le client, passionné d’alpinisme, a finalement amélioré sa capacité d’introspection, comme l’entraîneur l’a fait réfléchir quand il a déclaré: "Maintenant, vous devez gravir la montagne intérieure".

Dans les séances de marche sur le feu, les métaphores peuvent être plusieurs. Par exemple, "dans la vie comme dans la marche sur le feu, le premier pas est le plus difficile, celui qui coûte le plus cher" ou "vous devez traverser la vie comme si vous étiez au-dessus des braises, sinon vous pourriez vous brûler. Vous devez faire preuve de fermeté et continuer, peu importe ce qui se passe. "

Apprentissage par l'expérience: mettre à l'épreuve des croyances autonomisantes

Les métaphores faciliteront l’acquisition de croyances plus adaptatives et bénéfiques, mais pour les ancrer, elles doivent être mises à l’épreuve. Pour éliminer une croyance limitante, il est vivement recommandé de la remplacer par une croyance autonomisante. Ce n'est pas un nouveau concept de coaching, mais il est appliqué depuis des décennies en psychologie, par exemple en thérapie cognitivo-comportementale.

Le apprentissage par l'expérience il repose sur le fait que la connaissance est créée par la transformation provoquée par l'expérience. L'expérience concrète est transférée à une conceptualisation abstraite qui est activement testée à travers de nouvelles expériences.

Marche sur le feu et confiance en soi

Ces expériences d'échec ou de succès affecteront notre programmation mentale (valeurs et croyances), ce qui aura des conséquences sur nos convictions d'efficacité personnelle (également appelée confiance en soi). Les expériences constituent la source d’information la plus importante pour la perception de la confiance en soi, car elles faciliteront la vérification de l’efficacité ou non de ces convictions. Répéter le succès dans certaines tâches augmente les évaluations positives des croyances en la confiance en soi, tandis que les échecs répétés les réduisent, en particulier lorsque les échecs ne peuvent pas être attribués à des circonstances extérieures.

Pour en savoir plus sur ce sujet, consultez notre article "L’auto-efficacité d’Albert Bandura: croyez-vous en vous-même?".

En bref, en testant la nouvelle croyance autonomisante et en observant son effet positif, elle facilitera son ancrage. Cela fournira une nouvelle vision de la vie. Quand vous savez que vous êtes vous-même l'auteur de votre propre roman Vous pouvez changer le cours des choses pour améliorer votre bien-être et faire face aux défis de la vie d'une manière différente.

Ensuite, nous vous laissons une histoire dans laquelle ils expliquent le fonctionnement des séminaires Firewalking. Jetez un coup d'oeil:


Dev'Obs #11 / Spécial Halloween : La tech qui fait peur (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes