yes, therapy helps!
First use of LSD: effects on mental health

First use of LSD: effects on mental health

November 27, 2021

We currently find few studies that evaluate changes in psychological variables after a first consumption of psychedelics . This is due, among other things, to the fact that it is extremely difficult to find people who are going to start using drugs.

Usually the samples used already have a lot of experience or, if not, they are carefully selected, ensuring the total and absolute absence of any psychopathological trait or , thus reducing the external validity of the results. That is, the possibility of extrapolating the findings to the entire population.

In order to obtain information about these first consumptions, the psychologist Genís Oña, researcher of the Medical Anthropology Research Center from the Rovira i Virgili University and the recently deceased psychologist Juan Spuch, started a research project in mid-2014. The preliminary results of this project were presented at the Breaking Convention, which was held at the University of Greenwich in London .


  • Related article: "Types of drugs: know their characteristics and effects"

In context: the therapeutic potential of psychedelics

Recently, psychedelic drugs such as LSD or psilocybin are leading many journalistic or popular articles, in which potential therapeutic applications are discussed.

And is that, after several decades of prohibition in which any attempt at scientific research was nullified ipso facto, laboratories, hospitals and universities around the world are conducting new studies on these substances with the aim of developing new pharmacological therapies .

Despite this prolonged "scientific vacuum", many users came, and continue to go, to these substances for medical reasons. Not a few consumers noticed beneficial effects, often unexpected, about your anxiety, your mood or about diseases as cluster headaches after the consumption of psychedelic drugs. Due to the needs of these patients and of many others susceptible to achieve some improvement in their situation, institutions as important as Scientific American or the British Journal of PsychiatryIn recent years, they have launched express requests to reactivate this "psychedelic investigation".


So far they already knew some therapeutic potentialities of some of these substances , nevertheless, new studies have appeared that have raised new unknowns. One of them is, for example, what happens when someone who has never taken this type of drug makes his first use? We could easily find this situation in the future if these treatments were approved, as many potential patients would never have tried these drugs, and we need to know exactly what the effects of this first contact are.

How was research conducted on the effects of LSD

In their study, Genís Oña and Juan Spuch managed to reunite 9 university students who fulfilled the desired profile: they had no previous experience in the consumption of psychedelic drugs and in the near future they had planned to consume LSD.


"The objective was to respect at all times the natural course of the situation", explains Genís. "We did not want to change the consumption context thinking about administering the substance in a hospital, as in the rest of clinical trials. We wanted to see what really happens, in real situations. Something that is halfway between pragmatic essays or ethnographic methodology. "

The variables included in the study were levels of anxiety, depression, a measure of general psychopathology, a personality profile and the level of satisfaction with life. These were analyzed with standardized tests.

These dimensions were evaluated approximately one week before the consumption took place and 30 days after said consumption. A three-month follow-up was also carried out to check the stability over time of the possible changes produced. In addition, a control group that did not consume LSD was used in which the same tests were administered.

The effects of this drug in the first consumption

The first results indicated clear differences in the basal levels of some variables between the two groups. Apparently, the group that had thought to consume LSD was more depressed, with more presence of psychopathological features like obsessions , compulsions or psychoticism, and with a lower satisfaction with life compared to the control group.

This changed after consumption.The data obtained in the retest showed a significant decrease, not only in these variables in which they differed with respect to the control group, but also in others, such as the level of anxiety, neuroticism, hostility or somatization . In this way, no significant differences could be found between the two groups in any variable and in the experimental group a general significant improvement was observed after the experience.

The information obtained from the follow-up performed at three months suggests some stability in these changes, since these could still be seen significantly with respect to the basal levels. Likewise, no significant differences were found between the two groups.

The beneficial potential of LSD

Does this mean that a first LSD intake can be beneficial? It is probable. However, we must bear in mind the limitations of the study and be cautious in interpreting its results.

First, the sample was relatively small and, in addition, there was poor control of extraneous variables that can not be controlled outside of a clinical trial. Secondly, the effect of the psychedelic experience can be interpreted as a profoundly positive experience, since for all the subjects who consumed LSD it represented a unique and unrepeatable experience. In fact, more than half of them rated it as one of the best experiences of their life . "Perhaps this effect," Genís Oña explains, "is comparable to other deeply positive experiences that we experience only very occasionally, such as traveling to a distant country or spending a day at an amusement park."

Anyway, these results seem legitimize the scientific investigation of the therapeutic potential of these substances , because if we can observe these beneficial effects without having any psychotherapeutic context, the potential of these substances using an adequate context seems very promising.

Many details of the study had to be ignored due to its complexity, but the full article published in the Journal of Transpersonal Research.


Psychedelic Fear: History of Mental Illness (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Première utilisation du LSD: effets sur la santé mentale

Première utilisation du LSD: effets sur la santé mentale

Février 5, 2023

Nous trouvons actuellement peu d’études évaluant changements dans les variables psychologiques après une première consommation de psychédéliques . Cela est dû, entre autres, au fait qu'il est extrêmement difficile de trouver des personnes qui vont commencer à se droguer.

En général, les échantillons utilisés ont déjà beaucoup d’expérience ou, dans le cas contraire, ils sont sélectionnés avec soin, l'absence totale et absolue de tout trait psychopathologique o , réduisant ainsi la validité externe des résultats. C'est-à-dire la possibilité d'extrapoler les résultats à l'ensemble de la population.

Pour obtenir des informations sur ces premières consommations, le psychologue Genís Oña, chercheur au Centre de recherche en anthropologie médicale de l'Université Rovira i Virgili et le psychologue récemment décédé, Juan Spuch, ont lancé un projet de recherche au milieu de l'année 2014. Les résultats préliminaires de ce projet ont été présentés à la Breaking Convention, qui s'est tenue à l'Université de Greenwich à Londres. .


  • Article connexe: "Types de drogues: connaître leurs caractéristiques et leurs effets"

En contexte: le potentiel thérapeutique des psychédéliques

Récemment, les médicaments psychédéliques tels que le LSD ou la psilocybine sont en tête de nombreux articles journalistiques ou populaires dans lesquels des applications thérapeutiques potentielles sont discutées.

Et c’est que, après plusieurs décennies de prohibition au cours desquelles toute tentative de recherche scientifique a été annulée ipso facto, les laboratoires, les hôpitaux et les universités du monde entier mènent de nouvelles études sur ces substances dans le but de développer de nouvelles thérapies pharmacologiques .

En dépit de ce "vide scientifique" prolongé, de nombreux utilisateurs se sont tournés vers ces substances et continuent de s'y rendre pour des raisons médicales. Peu de consommateurs ont remarqué des effets bénéfiques, souvent inattendus, sur votre anxiété, votre humeur ou vos maladies comme des céphalées en grappes après la consommation de drogues psychédéliques. En raison des besoins de ces patients et de nombreux autres susceptibles d’améliorer quelque peu leur situation, des institutions aussi importantes que Scientifique américain ou le British Journal of PsychiatryCes dernières années, ils ont lancé des demandes expresses pour réactiver cette "enquête psychédélique".


Jusqu'à présent, ils connaissaient déjà certains potentialités thérapeutiques de certaines de ces substances Néanmoins, de nouvelles études sont apparues qui ont soulevé de nouvelles inconnues. L’un d’eux est, par exemple, que se passe-t-il quand une personne qui n’a jamais pris ce type de drogue fait sa première utilisation? Nous pourrions facilement trouver cette situation à l'avenir si ces traitements étaient approuvés, car de nombreux patients potentiels n'auraient jamais essayé ces médicaments et nous devons savoir exactement quels sont les effets de ce premier contact.

Comment les recherches ont-elles été menées sur les effets du LSD?

Dans leur étude, Genís Oña et Juan Spuch ont réussi à réunir 9 étudiants d'université répondant au profil souhaité: ils n'avaient aucune expérience en matière de consommation de drogues psychédéliques et envisageaient prochainement de consommer du LSD.


"L'objectif était de respecter à tout moment le cours naturel de la situation", explique Genís. "Nous ne voulions pas changer le contexte de consommation penser à administrer la substance dans un hôpital, comme dans le reste des essais cliniques. Nous voulions voir ce qui se passe réellement dans des situations réelles. Quelque chose qui est à mi-chemin entre des essais pragmatiques ou une méthodologie ethnographique. "

Les variables incluses dans l'étude étaient les niveaux d'anxiété, de dépression, une mesure de la psychopathologie générale, un profil de personnalité et le degré de satisfaction à l'égard de la vie. Ceux-ci ont été analysés avec des tests standardisés.

Ces dimensions ont été évaluées environ une semaine avant la consommation. et 30 jours après ladite consommation. Un suivi de trois mois a également été effectué pour vérifier la stabilité dans le temps des éventuels changements produits. En outre, un groupe de contrôle qui n'a pas consommé de LSD a été utilisé dans lequel les mêmes tests ont été administrés.

Les effets de ce médicament dans la première consommation

Les premiers résultats indiquaient des différences nettes dans les niveaux de base de certaines variables entre les deux groupes. Apparemment, le groupe qui avait pensé consommer du LSD était plus déprimé, avec plus de présence de caractéristiques psychopathologiques comme les obsessions , compulsions ou psychoticisme, et avec une satisfaction de la vie inférieure à celle du groupe témoin.

Cela a changé après la consommation.Les données obtenues lors du nouvel essai ont montré une diminution significative, non seulement de ces variables dans lesquelles elles différaient par rapport au groupe de contrôle, mais également d’autres, tels que le niveau d'anxiété, de névrotisme, d'hostilité ou de somatisation . De cette manière, aucune différence significative n'a pu être trouvée entre les deux groupes quelle que soit la variable et dans le groupe expérimental, une amélioration significative générale a été observée après l'expérience.

Les informations obtenues à partir du suivi effectué à trois mois suggèrent une certaine stabilité dans ces changements, puisque ceux-ci pouvaient encore être observés de manière significative par rapport aux niveaux de base. De même, aucune différence significative n'a été trouvée entre les deux groupes.

Le potentiel bénéfique du LSD

Cela signifie-t-il qu'une première prise de LSD peut être bénéfique? C'est probable. Toutefois, nous devons garder à l’esprit les limites de l’étude et interpréter ses résultats avec prudence.

Premièrement, l'échantillon était relativement petit et, en outre, le contrôle des variables superflues était impossible à contrôler en dehors d'un essai clinique. Deuxièmement, l'effet de l'expérience psychédélique peut être interprété comme une expérience profondément positive car, pour tous les sujets ayant consommé du LSD, il s'agissait d'une expérience unique et irremplaçable. En fait plus de la moitié d'entre eux l'ont classée comme l'une des meilleures expériences de leur vie . "Peut-être que cet effet," explique Genís Oña, est comparable à d'autres expériences profondément positives que nous n'éprouvons que très occasionnellement, telles que voyager dans un pays lointain ou passer une journée dans un parc d'attractions. "

Quoi qu’il en soit, ces résultats semblent légitimer l'investigation scientifique du potentiel thérapeutique de ces substances , car si nous pouvons observer ces effets bénéfiques sans avoir de contexte psychothérapeutique, le potentiel de ces substances en utilisant un contexte adéquat semble très prometteur.

De nombreux détails de l’étude ont dû être ignorés en raison de sa complexité, mais l’article complet publié dans le Journal de recherche transpersonnelle.


GUÉRIR DES MALADIES GRÂCE AU CANNABIS ? Vrai ou Faux #77 (Février 2023).


Articles Connexes