yes, therapy helps!
Flumazenil: uses, characteristics and side effects

Flumazenil: uses, characteristics and side effects

September 15, 2022

Numerous media have reported the growing use and abuse of psychoactive drugs in our society . Benzodiazepines are the most commonly used medications to deal with anxiety disorders, serving a support function in many psychological treatments.

However, all that glitters is not gold: it has been documented that benzodiazepines can lead to physical and psychological dependence in the person (overdosing), excessive drowsiness and even depressive symptoms, interfering in the daily life of the consumer .

The flumazenil, protagonist of this article , is the medicine responsible for combating the drowsiness produced by benzodiazepines in very specific situations.


  • Related article: "Types of psychotropic drugs: uses and side effects"

What is Flumazenil?

Flumazenil (trade names: Anexate, Lanexat, Mazicon, Romazicon) is a medicine that works as a GABA antagonist . It is responsible for blocking, by competitive inhibition, the effects produced by benzodiazepines in our Central Nervous System. At the moment it is the only benzodiazepine receptor antagonist available in the pharmaceutical market.

To this drug, as we will see, two basic properties are attributed to it. On the one hand, reverses sedation produced by benzodiazepines . On the other, it helps reduce psychomotor slowness.


Uses of Flumazenil

Flumazenil is used in adults to correct the sedative effects of benzodiazepines. It can be used in two main situations: anesthesia and palliative care .

In anesthesia, it is used to end the hypnosedating effects of general anesthesia maintained or induced in hospitalized patients. It is also used for the reduction and correction of sedation due to the use of benzodiazepines in diagnostic or therapeutic procedures in an outpatient or inpatient setting.

In intensive care, it is sought restore the spontaneous breathing of the patient , correcting the central effects of benzodiazepines. In addition, it is also used for the diagnosis and treatment of overdoses or poisonings resulting from the abuse of benzodiazepines.

Apart from these uses, there is evidence that flumazenil may be effective in treating prolonged withdrawal from benzodiazepines , with quite promising results, as well as to reduce tolerance to benzodiazepines, although more studies are needed.


In addition, it has been used to treat hepatic encephalopathy, although in this case the results have been contradictory and not as promising.

Its use is not suitable for the pediatric population, only for children over 1 year of age.

Method of administration and dose

This medicine can only be given intravenously, so it can only be applied by a professional person in the health field . Flumazenil can be administered as an injection or infusion, and it is possible to use it in parallel with other resuscitation techniques.

Regarding the dose, we will only focus on the adult population. In cases where the person has been anesthetized, the recommended dose is 0.2 milligrams, administered intravenously, for approximately 15 seconds. In cases where the required degree of consciousness has not been obtained, an additional dose of 0.1mg may be injected. In general terms, The usual dose that is required in these cases fluctuates between 0.3-0.6mg .

The dose is different in intensive care. You start with a dose of 0.3mg intravenously; if the required degree of consciousness is not obtained in 60 seconds , a dose of 0.1mg can be applied, up to a maximum dose of 2.0mg.

It could be that the person did not recover the desired degree of consciousness and that his breathing was not stable after the administration of the doses. In these cases it should be taken into consideration that the poisoning is possibly not caused by the consumption of benzodiazepines.

Side effects

As it happens in the vast majority of medicines marketed, a series of adverse reactions can be manifested, which we will detail below. However, many of the adverse reactions usually disappear quickly or progressively without the need to intervene in a special way on them.

Very frequent

  • Insomnia.
  • Drowsiness.
  • Vertigo and headaches.
  • Dry mouth and tremors .
  • Hyperventilation.
  • Convulsions

Frequent

Hypotension Nausea and vomiting . Sweating Fatigue. Pain in the area of ​​the injection.

Uncommon

  • Anxiety and fear .
  • Panic attacks in patients with a history of panic attacks.
  • Abnormal hearing
  • Palpitations .
  • Tachycardia or bradycardia.
  • Cough and nasal congestion .

Warnings and precautions

Before using flumazenil, a series of precautions should be taken into account.

Flumazenil has a shorter effect than benzodiazepines, so it is recommended that the patient be monitored in the intensive care unit until it is assumed that the effect of flumazenil has disappeared.

The use of flumazenil is not always the best option. For example, in patients with heart problems It is not always a good alternative for the patient to wake up quickly from anesthesia. In these cases it may be preferable to maintain a certain degree of sedation.

After major surgery, it is important to keep in mind that the patient will be sore during the postoperative period. Therefore, it may be preferable to keep the patient lightly sedated.

Special consideration should be given to the posology of flumazenil in people with preoperative anxiety or those with a history of anxiety disorders.

The use of flumazenil is not recommended in patients with epilepsy who have been previously treated with benzodiazepines for a prolonged period.

In the case of people treated for prolonged periods with high doses of benzodiazepines, the advantages of using flumazenil should be carefully evaluated against the risk of triggering withdrawal symptoms.

Flumazenil should be used with caution in patients suffering from alcoholism , due to the increase in tolerance and dependence of benzodiazepines in this population.

Contraindications

When should flumazenil not be administered? Its use is not recommended in patients with known hypersensitivity to flumazenil or to benzodiazepines. According to experts, it should not be used in patients who have been given a benzodiazepine to control a life-threatening condition (eg, endocranial pressure).


How to Give Your Child Nasal Midazolam (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Flumazénil: utilisations, caractéristiques et effets secondaires

Flumazénil: utilisations, caractéristiques et effets secondaires

Avril 15, 2021

De nombreux médias ont rapporté la croissance consommation et abus de drogues psychoactives dans notre société . Les benzodiazépines sont les médicaments les plus couramment utilisés pour traiter les troubles anxieux. Elles jouent un rôle de soutien dans de nombreux traitements psychologiques.

Cependant, tout ce qui brille n'est pas or: il a été démontré que les benzodiazépines peuvent entraîner une dépendance physique et psychologique chez la personne (overdose), une somnolence excessive et même des symptômes dépressifs, perturbant la vie quotidienne du consommateur. .

Le flumazénil, protagoniste de cet article , est le médicament responsable de la lutte contre la somnolence produite par les benzodiazépines dans des situations très spécifiques.


  • Article connexe: "Types de médicaments psychotropes: usages et effets secondaires"

Qu'est-ce que le flumazénil?

Flumazenil (noms commerciaux: Anexate, Lanexat, Mazicon, Romazicon) est un médicament qui agit comme un antagoniste du GABA . Il est responsable du blocage, par inhibition compétitive, des effets produits par les benzodiazépines dans notre système nerveux central. Il s'agit actuellement du seul antagoniste des récepteurs de benzodiazépines disponible sur le marché pharmaceutique.

Comme nous le verrons, ce médicament a deux propriétés fondamentales. D'un côté, inverse la sédation produite par les benzodiazépines . D'autre part, cela aide à réduire la lenteur psychomotrice.


Utilisations du flumazénil

Le flumazénil est utilisé chez l'adulte pour corriger les effets sédatifs des benzodiazépines. Il peut être utilisé dans deux situations principales: anesthésie et soins palliatifs .

En anesthésie, il est utilisé pour mettre fin aux effets hypnosants de l'anesthésie générale maintenus ou induits chez les patients hospitalisés. Il est également utilisé pour la réduction et la correction de la sédation due à l'utilisation de benzodiazépines dans des procédures diagnostiques ou thérapeutiques en milieu ambulatoire ou hospitalier.

En soins intensifs, on cherche rétablir la respiration spontanée du patient , corrigeant les effets centraux des benzodiazépines. En outre, il est également utilisé pour le diagnostic et le traitement des surdoses ou des intoxications résultant de l'abus de benzodiazépines.

Outre ces utilisations, il existe des preuves que le flumazénil peut être efficace dans le traitement du sevrage prolongé des benzodiazépines , avec des résultats assez prometteurs, ainsi que pour réduire la tolérance aux benzodiazépines, bien que davantage d’études soient nécessaires.


En outre, il a été utilisé pour traiter l'encéphalopathie hépatique, bien que dans ce cas, les résultats aient été contradictoires et moins prometteurs.

Son utilisation ne convient pas à la population pédiatrique, mais uniquement aux enfants de plus d'un an.

Mode d'administration et dose

Ce médicament ne peut être administré que par voie intraveineuse. il ne peut être appliqué que par un professionnel du secteur de la santé . Le flumazénil peut être administré par injection ou par perfusion. Il est possible de l'utiliser en parallèle avec d'autres techniques de réanimation.

En ce qui concerne la dose, nous ne nous concentrerons que sur la population adulte. Dans les cas où la personne a été anesthésiée, la dose recommandée est de 0,2 mg par voie intraveineuse pendant environ 15 secondes. Dans les cas où le degré de conscience requis n’a pas été obtenu, une dose supplémentaire de 0,1 mg peut être injectée. En termes générales, La dose habituelle requise dans ces cas varie entre 0,3 et 0,6 mg. .

La dose est différente en réanimation. Vous commencez avec une dose de 0,3 mg par voie intraveineuse; si le degré de conscience requis n'est pas atteint en 60 secondes , une dose de 0,1 mg peut être appliquée, jusqu'à une dose maximale de 2,0 mg.

Il se peut que la personne n'ait pas retrouvé le degré de conscience souhaité et que sa respiration ne soit pas stable après l'administration des doses. Dans ces cas, il faut tenir compte du fait que l'intoxication n'est peut-être pas provoquée par la consommation de benzodiazépines.

Effets secondaires

Comme cela se produit dans la grande majorité des médicaments commercialisés, une série d’effets indésirables peuvent se manifester, que nous détaillerons ci-dessous. Cependant, bon nombre des effets indésirables disparaissent généralement rapidement ou progressivement sans qu'il soit nécessaire d'intervenir de manière particulière.

Très fréquent

  • L'insomnie
  • Somnolence
  • Vertiges et maux de tête.
  • Bouche sèche et tremblements .
  • L'hyperventilation.
  • Convulsions

Fréquent

Hypotension Nausées et vomissements . Transpiration Fatigue Douleur dans la zone d'injection.

Peu commun

  • Anxiété et peur .
  • Attaques de panique chez les patients ayant des antécédents d'attaques de panique.
  • Audition anormale
  • Palpitations .
  • Tachycardie ou bradycardie.
  • Toux et congestion nasale .

Avertissements et précautions

Avant d'utiliser le flumazénil, une série de précautions doit être prise en compte.

Le flumazénil a un effet plus court que les benzodiazépines, il est donc recommandé de surveiller le patient dans l'unité de soins intensifs jusqu'à ce qu'il soit supposé que l'effet du flumazénil a disparu.

L'utilisation de flumazénil n'est pas toujours la meilleure option. Par exemple, chez les patients souffrant de problèmes cardiaques Ce n'est pas toujours une bonne alternative pour le patient de se réveiller rapidement de l'anesthésie. Dans ces cas, il peut être préférable de maintenir un certain degré de sédation.

Après une chirurgie majeure, il est important de garder à l’esprit que le patient sera douloureux pendant la période postopératoire. Par conséquent, il peut être préférable de maintenir le patient sous sédation légère.

Une attention particulière doit être accordée à la posologie du flumazénil chez les personnes souffrant d'anxiété préopératoire ou ceux qui ont des antécédents de troubles anxieux.

L'utilisation du flumazénil n'est pas recommandée chez les patients épileptiques ayant déjà été traités par benzodiazépines pendant une période prolongée.

Chez les personnes traitées pendant des périodes prolongées avec des doses élevées de benzodiazépines, les avantages de l’utilisation du flumazénil doivent être soigneusement évalués par rapport au risque de déclenchement des symptômes de sevrage.

Le flumazénil doit être utilisé avec prudence patients souffrant d'alcoolisme , en raison de l’augmentation de la tolérance et de la dépendance aux benzodiazépines dans cette population.

Contre-indications

Quand ne faut-il pas administrer le flumazénil? Son utilisation n'est pas recommandée chez les patients présentant une hypersensibilité connue au flumazénil ou aux benzodiazépines. Selon les experts, il ne devrait pas être utilisé chez les patients auxquels une benzodiazépine a été administrée pour contrôler une maladie représentant un danger de mort (par exemple, la pression endocrânienne).


Army medic shows how to start an IV line (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes