yes, therapy helps!
Fluvoxamine: uses, precautions and side effects of this drug

Fluvoxamine: uses, precautions and side effects of this drug

November 27, 2021

Within the large number of antidepressant drugs that exist, the Selective Serotonin Reuptake Inhibitors (SSRIs) are those that are most famous due to their effectiveness and to some bearable side effects.

Within this group is Fluvoxamine, a very effective antidepressant for a large number of disorders related to both depression and anxiety, which we will discuss throughout this article.

  • Related article: "Types of antidepressants: characteristics and effects"

What is fluvoxamine?

Fluvoxamine is an antidepressant drug that it is included in the group of Selective Serotonin Reuptake Inhibitors (SSRI). Therefore, and like the rest of SSRI antidepressants, its function is to prevent the reuptake of serotonin to increase serotonin levels in the nervous system.


Serotonin is a neurotransmitter that occurs naturally in our brain, which, among many other functions, is to promote or improve our mood and prevent us from feeling sad or depressed.

Compared to tricyclic antidepressants, fluvoxamine exerts a much more powerful action when inhibiting this reuptake of serotonin . In addition, it has a much lower affinity for muscarinic receptors, 5-HT2C and alpha 1, so the side effects of this are also quite minor.

Also, a very distinctive characteristic of fluoxetine is its action on sigma 1 receptors. Although the function of these receptors is still being investigated, recent studies in animals propose that its potentiation has a close relationship with the improvement of symptoms cognitive effects of depression.


  • You may be interested: "SSRI: types, functioning and effects of this antidepressant"

In what disorder is it used?

Based on its effects on the inhibition of serotonin reuptake, fluoxetine is administered in those cases in which the person suffers from some type of disorder or mental illness that includes emotional symptoms.

Some of the cases in which the administration of fluvoxamine can be effective are disorders such as social phobia, obsessive-compulsive disorder, panic disorder or post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). In addition to, obviously, depressive disorders or affection with pictures or depressive symptomatology.

1. Social phobia

The use of antidepressants to treat anxiety disorders such as phobias is more than known in the clinical setting. Social phobia, also known as social anxiety disorder (SAD), is considered one of the most common anxiety disorders .


This is different from other phobias because the person has a persistent fear of one or several social situations, being in most cases this fear related to experiencing a shameful situation.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Social phobia: what is it and how to overcome it?"

2. Obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD)

Obsessive-compulsive disorder is characterized by the appearance of intrusive, repetitive and continuous thoughts that provoke the person a feeling of discomfort, fear and nervousness . These thoughts lead the person to perform a series of behaviors, known as compulsions, aimed at reducing these feelings of anxiety.

Second-generation antidepressant psychoactive drugs such as fluvoxamine are the ones that have shown greater efficacy in this type of disorder, so they have become the treatment of choice when it comes to improving symptoms.

3. Panic disorder

Another anxiety disorder in which fluoxetine has a special efficacy is panic disorder. This condition causes the person to experience sudden attacks of terror without there being any external stimulus that causes it.

4. Post-traumatic stress disorder

This mental alteration is included within the disorders related to traumas and stress factors, and produces in the person a series of symptoms typical of anxiety disorders caused by experiencing a stressful or traumatic event such as war, physical abuse or rape or catastrophe.

5. Depressive disorders

There are several disorders related to depression , and its symptomatology may vary in relation to parameters such as duration, severity or persistence. However, most are characterized by a low mood and irritability in most cases, fatigue and lack of energy or feelings of worthlessness and low self-esteem among many others.

Although there are many other antidepressant drugs of the SSRI category, such as fluoxetine, recent studies in which this drug is compared with fluvoxamine, have determined that this second drug has a greater superiority in terms of the onset of action and of the improvement of sleep quality in patients .

  • Related article: "Are there several types of depression?"

How is it administered?

Fluvoxamine occurs as much in usual tablet format as in extended-release capsules , both to be consumed orally.

The usual recommended dose of this drug is once a day before the patient goes to bed, or twice, once upon getting up and once before going to sleep. However, it is necessary to follow the instructions of the medical professional to the letter , which will adjust the doses individually to be as effective as possible.

In none of the cases can the patient increase or decrease the dose on their own, nor consume fluvoxamine more often than recommended.

What side effects can it cause?

Unwanted side effects of fluvoxamine They can be divided into non-serious side effects and serious side effects. In the first case, the person should tell their doctor if these symptoms last over time or get worse; while in serious effects the patient should contact this urgently.

Not serious side effects

Among the side effects of fluvoxamine that are not very serious, the most common are the following.

  • Drowsiness .
  • Headache
  • Dry mouth.
  • Altered attention and memory .
  • Gastric problems
  • Gases
  • Nausea and / or vomiting .
  • Decreased appetite.
  • Alterations in the sense of taste.
  • Weightloss.
  • Agitation .
  • Sensation of weakness
  • Changes in sexual desire and capacity.

Serious side effects

Among the serious side effects, the following stand out.

  • Vertigos
  • Hallucinations .
  • Alterations in coordination.
  • Fever, sweating and confusion.
  • Pain or tingling in the extremities .
  • Tremors without known cause.
  • Skin disorders like rash and urticaria.
  • Respiratory problems.
  • Convulsions
  • Loss of knowledge
  • Bleeds and bruises.
  • Nosebleed .
  • Vomiting with blood.
  • Stools with blood or a very dark tone.

Precautions to consider

As in many other medications with very powerful effects in the body, it is recommended that the patient inform his / her doctor of any special health situation in which he / she is as other affections or allergies.

In addition, you must also report all medications, vitamin supplements or natural complexes that you consume regularly, as well as your alcoholic habits.

Like the rest of SSRIs, fluvoxamine can cause problems in the fetus and in the newborn child, so it is necessary for the patient to report if she is pregnant or if she intends to stay.

Although the effects of drowsiness are greater in other antidepressant drugs, those who drive or operate heavy machinery usually must pay special attention and take appropriate precautions.


What Is The Use Of Fluvoxamine? (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Fluvoxamine: utilisations, précautions et effets secondaires de ce médicament

Fluvoxamine: utilisations, précautions et effets secondaires de ce médicament

Septembre 16, 2022

Parmi les nombreux antidépresseurs existants, les inhibiteurs sélectifs du recaptage de la sérotonine (ISRS) sont les plus connus en raison de leur efficacité et de leurs effets secondaires supportables.

Dans ce groupe est La fluvoxamine, un antidépresseur très efficace pour un grand nombre de troubles liés à la fois à la dépression et à l’anxiété, que nous aborderons tout au long de cet article.

  • Article connexe: "Types d'antidépresseurs: caractéristiques et effets"

Qu'est-ce que la fluvoxamine?

La fluvoxamine est un antidépresseur qui il est inclus dans le groupe des inhibiteurs sélectifs de la recapture de la sérotonine (ISRS). Par conséquent, et comme le reste des antidépresseurs ISRS, sa fonction est d’empêcher la recapture de la sérotonine pour augmenter les taux de sérotonine dans le système nerveux.


La sérotonine est un neurotransmetteur naturellement présent dans notre cerveau qui, entre autres fonctions, favorise ou améliore notre humeur et nous empêche de nous sentir tristes ou déprimés.

Par rapport aux antidépresseurs tricycliques, la fluvoxamine exerce une action beaucoup plus puissante pour inhiber cette recapture de la sérotonine . En outre, il a une affinité beaucoup plus faible pour les récepteurs muscariniques, 5-HT2C et alpha 1, de sorte que les effets secondaires sont également assez mineurs.

De plus, une caractéristique très distinctive de la fluoxétine est son action sur les récepteurs sigma 1. Bien que la fonction de ces récepteurs soit encore à l'étude, des études récentes chez l'animal suggèrent que sa potentialisation est étroitement liée à l'amélioration des symptômes. effets cognitifs de la dépression.


  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "ISRS: types, fonctionnement et effets de cet antidépresseur"

Dans quel trouble est-il utilisé?

En raison de ses effets sur l'inhibition de la recapture de la sérotonine, la fluoxétine est administrée dans les cas où la personne souffre d'un trouble ou d'une maladie mentale comprenant des symptômes émotionnels.

Certains des cas dans lesquels l'administration de la fluvoxamine peut être efficace sont les suivants: des troubles tels que la phobie sociale, le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif, le trouble panique ou état de stress post-traumatique (SSPT). En plus, évidemment, des troubles dépressifs ou une affection avec des images ou une symptomatologie dépressive.

1. phobie sociale

L'utilisation d'antidépresseurs pour traiter les troubles anxieux tels que les phobies est bien plus connue en clinique. La phobie sociale, également connue sous le nom de trouble d'anxiété sociale (SAD), est considérée l'un des troubles anxieux les plus courants .


Ceci diffère des autres phobies car la personne a une peur persistante d'une ou de plusieurs situations sociales, étant dans la plupart des cas cette peur liée à l'expérience d'une situation honteuse.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "La phobie sociale: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment la surmonter?"

2. Trouble obsessionnel compulsif (TOC)

Le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif se caractérise par l'apparition de pensées intrusives, répétitives et continues qui provoquent la personne un sentiment d'inconfort, de peur et de nervosité . Ces pensées amènent la personne à adopter une série de comportements, appelés compulsions, destinés à réduire ces sentiments d'anxiété.

Les antidépresseurs de deuxième génération, tels que la fluvoxamine, ont démontré une efficacité accrue dans ce type de trouble. Ils sont donc devenus le traitement de choix pour améliorer les symptômes.

3. trouble panique

Un autre trouble d'anxiété dans lequel la fluoxétine a une efficacité particulière est le trouble panique. Cette condition fait que la personne subit des attaques soudaines de terreur sans qu'aucun stimulus extérieur ne la provoque.

4. État de stress post-traumatique

Cette altération mentale est incluse dans les troubles liés aux traumatismes et aux facteurs de stress, et produit chez la personne une série de symptômes typiques des troubles anxieux causée par l'expérience d'un événement stressant ou traumatisant tel que guerre, abus physique, viol ou catastrophe.

5. Troubles dépressifs

Il existe plusieurs troubles liés à la dépression , et sa symptomatologie peut varier en fonction de paramètres tels que la durée, la gravité ou la persistance. Cependant, la plupart se caractérisent par une humeur basse et une irritabilité dans la plupart des cas, une fatigue et un manque d'énergie ou des sentiments d'inutilité et de faible estime de soi chez beaucoup d'autres.

Bien qu'il existe de nombreux autres antidépresseurs de la catégorie des ISRS, tels que la fluoxétine, des études récentes dans lesquelles ce médicament est comparé à la fluvoxamine ont montré que ce deuxième médicament avait une supériorité supérieure sur le début de l'action. et de l'amélioration de la qualité du sommeil chez les patients .

  • Article connexe: "Existe-t-il plusieurs types de dépression?"

Comment est-il administré?

Fluvoxamine se produit autant en format de comprimé habituel comme dans les gélules à libération prolongée , les deux à consommer par voie orale.

La dose habituelle recommandée de ce médicament est une fois par jour avant que le patient ne se couche, ou deux fois, une fois au lever et une fois avant de se coucher. Cependant, il est nécessaire de suivre les instructions du médecin à la lettre , qui ajustera les doses individuellement pour être aussi efficace que possible.

Dans aucun des cas, le patient ne peut augmenter ou diminuer lui-même la dose, ni consommer de fluvoxamine plus souvent que recommandé.

Quels effets secondaires peut-il provoquer?

Effets secondaires indésirables de la fluvoxamine Ils peuvent être divisés en effets secondaires non graves et effets secondaires graves. Dans le premier cas, la personne doit dire à son médecin si ces symptômes persistent dans le temps ou s’aggravent; en cas d'effets graves, le patient doit le contacter d'urgence.

Effets secondaires peu graves

Parmi les effets secondaires de la fluvoxamine qui ne sont pas très graves, les plus courants sont les suivants.

  • Somnolence .
  • Mal de tête
  • Bouche sèche.
  • Attention altérée et mémoire .
  • Problèmes gastriques
  • Gaz
  • Nausées et / ou vomissements .
  • Diminution de l'appétit
  • Altérations dans le sens du goût.
  • Perte de poids.
  • Agitation .
  • Sensation de faiblesse
  • Changements dans le désir sexuel et la capacité.

Effets secondaires graves

Parmi les effets secondaires graves, les suivants se démarquent.

  • Vertigos
  • Hallucinations .
  • Altérations en coordination.
  • Fièvre, transpiration et confusion.
  • Douleur ou picotement dans les extrémités .
  • Tremblements sans cause connue.
  • Troubles cutanés tels que des éruptions cutanées et l'urticaire.
  • Problèmes respiratoires.
  • Convulsions
  • Perte de connaissance
  • Saignements et ecchymoses.
  • Hémorragie nasale .
  • Vomissements avec du sang.
  • Selles avec du sang ou un ton très sombre.

Précautions à prendre en compte

Comme dans de nombreux autres médicaments ayant des effets très puissants sur le corps, il est recommandé au patient d'informer son médecin de toute situation de santé particulière dans laquelle il se trouve, au même titre que d'autres affections ou allergies.

En outre, vous devez également signaler tous les médicaments, suppléments de vitamines ou complexes naturels que vous consommez régulièrement, ainsi que vos habitudes en matière d'alcool.

Comme le reste des ISRS, la fluvoxamine peut causer des problèmes au foetus et chez le nouveau-né, il est donc nécessaire que la patiente indique si elle est enceinte ou si elle a l'intention de rester.

Bien que les effets de la somnolence soient plus importants avec les autres antidépresseurs, ceux qui conduisent ou utilisent des machines lourdes doivent généralement porter une attention particulière et prendre les précautions appropriées.


Zoloft (sertraline): A Review of Important Precautions and Side Effects (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes