yes, therapy helps!
FOBU or fear of breaking up with the couple: 8 keys to understanding it

FOBU or fear of breaking up with the couple: 8 keys to understanding it

September 4, 2022

Loving relationships can go through good times, but also bad. In many cases, the conflicts that appear can be solved with efficient communication or going to couples therapy, which brings many benefits as you can read in our article "How to know when to go to couples therapy? 5 compelling reasons. "

But there are courtships or marriages living in a toxic relationship, which can cause psychological problems to its members. In these cases like these, and in which we are aware that it is better that each member of the couple follow their own path separately, may appear FOBU (fear of breaking up) or fear of breaking up with the couple .


  • Related article: "23 signs that you have a 'toxic relationship' of a partner"

How the fear of breaking up with the couple manifests

And it is that leaving a relationship is not easy, because memories can flood our mind again and again and obsession can condition us for a certain time. As we explained in our article "The chemistry of love: a very powerful drug", leaving a relationship is a grieving process, in which we leave behind a loved one and that, moreover, is not a linear process, but there are ups and downs .

The fear of breaking the couple can manifest itself in different ways, including:

  • You think your life has no future but you are unable to say goodbye
  • You think your partner is the only person you can be with knowing that it does not make you happy.
  • There are constant conflicts and frequent fights.
  • You think the relationship must end but you are unable to do so.
  • You feel a great grudge against your partner despite continuing with him or her.
  • You are an emotionally dependent person.

Why are we afraid to break up with the couple

The process of falling out of love is slow, and often it is difficult to take the step of leaving the couple even knowing that the relationship is not on the right track. Low self-esteem can lead an individual to remain in that relationship despite suffering, not being able to take the necessary step to change.


But, Why are we afraid to break up with the couple? There are different types of fear that make us stay together when in reality it is better to separate.

1. Fear of uncertainty

One of the most common fears that human beings can experience is the fear of uncertainty, which usually appears when we have to make important decisions or change something in our lives. Not knowing what the future holds can create some anxiety and fear, so many people decide to stay in a relationship instead of doing what they really want, which is to leave the couple.

  • To overcome the fear of uncertainty, you can read our article: "Fear of uncertainty: 8 keys to overcome it"

2. Fear of leaving the comfort zone

A fear that is closely related is the fear of leaving the comfort zone , that is, to leave that mental place in which we feel stable and safe. This fits with the phrase "better known bad than good to know". Staying in the comfort zone does not allow us to grow as people, and this includes getting out of a toxic relationship when necessary.


3. Fear of what others will say about us

There is usually social imposition or the shared belief that to be happy we must have a partner and, as a result, get married. However, you can be happy being single. In our article "Is it possible to be single and be happy? The 8 benefits of not having a partner "we explain it to you.

There are people who feel very anxious about thinking about what others will think of them when they know they have no partner. Something that harms their well-being and can lead them to make wrong decisions.

  • Related article: "Tips to stop thinking about what others think of you"

4. Fear of failure

Another of the most common fears of human beings is the fear of failing. It is characterized by anticipating defeat or the consequences of defeat . Feeling that we have failed is a mental trap, because, in reality, failure can be a great opportunity for growth. The fear of failure can cause us to continue in a toxic relationship to avoid feeling like losers.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Fear of failure: when anticipating defeat immobilizes us"

5. Fear of suffering

Nobody likes to suffer, and lack of love is characterized by great suffering . However, that suffering allows us to learn and grow, and leaving someone, in addition to pain, can bring excellent opportunities to live a full life in the future. We all experience the fear of suffering, especially in this complicated situation.

6. Fear of being replaced

Rejection is one of the most difficult situations to live, because it can hurt us and cause our self-esteem to be affected . However, it is something that can happen in life and that we must accept. Just as we will find a new couple, our exprareja will also do it.

7. Fear of being wrong

The fear of making mistakes is that fear that arises from repentance, that is, from repenting of having made a decision . This fear is incapacitating, so we must accept it as part of life. One can not regret having done something, but of not having done it.

8. Fear of being single

In our article "Anuptophobia: the irrational fear of being single" we talk about this irrational fear that conditions the lives of many people, and that makes them go as a couple without allowing them to live a period of self-reflection . The fear of being single can cause us not to be able to cut a relationship that only brings pain. Overcoming the fear of being single is necessary to restore well-being.


Before You Break Up Watch This - Motivation with Jay Shetty (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
FOBU ou peur de rompre avec le couple: 8 clés pour le comprendre

FOBU ou peur de rompre avec le couple: 8 clés pour le comprendre

Mai 27, 2022

Les relations amoureuses peuvent traverser de bonnes périodes, mais aussi de mauvaises. Dans de nombreux cas, les conflits qui apparaissent peuvent être résolus grâce à une communication efficace ou à la thérapie de couple, ce qui présente de nombreux avantages, comme vous pouvez le lire dans notre article "Comment savoir quand aller en thérapie de couple? 5 raisons impérieuses. "

Mais il y a des cours ou des mariages qui vivent dans une relation toxique, ce qui peut causer des problèmes psychologiques à ses membres. Dans de tels cas, et dans lesquels nous sommes conscients qu'il est préférable que chaque membre du couple suive son propre chemin séparément, peut apparaître FOBU (peur de rupture) ou de rupture avec le couple .


  • Article connexe: "23 signes indiquant que vous avez une" relation toxique "avec un partenaire"

Comment se manifeste la peur de rompre avec le couple

Et c’est que quitter une relation n’est pas facile, car les souvenirs peuvent inonder notre esprit encore et encore et l’obsession peut nous conditionner pendant un certain temps. Comme nous l'expliquions dans notre article "La chimie de l'amour: une drogue très puissante", quitter une relation est un processus de deuil, dans lequel on laisse un être cher et qui, de plus, n'est pas un processus linéaire, mais des hauts et des bas. .

La peur de rompre le couple peut se manifester de différentes manières, notamment:

  • Vous pensez que votre vie n'a pas d'avenir mais vous êtes incapable de dire au revoir
  • Vous pensez que votre partenaire est la seule personne avec laquelle vous pouvez être avec sachant que cela ne vous rend pas heureux.
  • Il y a des conflits constants et des combats fréquents.
  • Vous pensez que la relation doit se terminer mais vous êtes incapable de le faire.
  • Vous ressentez une grande rancune envers votre partenaire même si vous continuez avec lui.
  • Vous êtes une personne dépendante émotionnellement.

Pourquoi avons-nous peur de rompre avec le couple

Le processus de rupture amoureuse est lent et il est souvent difficile de quitter le couple, même en sachant que la relation n’est pas sur la bonne voie. Une faible estime de soi peut amener une personne à rester dans cette relation malgré la souffrance, ne pas être en mesure de prendre les mesures nécessaires pour changer.


Mais Pourquoi avons-nous peur de rompre avec le couple? Il existe différents types de peur qui nous obligent à rester ensemble alors qu'en réalité, il est préférable de se séparer.

1. Peur de l'incertitude

L'une des peurs les plus courantes que les êtres humains puissent vivre est la peur de l'incertitude, qui apparaît généralement lorsque nous devons prendre des décisions importantes ou changer quelque chose dans nos vies. Ne sachant pas ce que l'avenir réserve peut créer une certaine anxiété et une certaine peur, de nombreuses personnes décident de rester en couple au lieu de faire ce qu'elles veulent vraiment, à savoir quitter le couple.

  • Pour surmonter la peur de l'incertitude, vous pouvez lire notre article: "La peur de l'incertitude: 8 clés pour la surmonter"

2. Peur de quitter la zone de confort

Une crainte étroitement liée est la crainte de quitter la zone de confort. c’est-à-dire de quitter ce lieu mental dans lequel nous nous sentons stables et en sécurité. Cela correspond à la phrase "mieux connu que mauvais à savoir". Rester dans la zone de confort ne nous permet pas de grandir en tant que personnes, et cela implique de sortir d'une relation toxique lorsque cela est nécessaire.


3. Peur de ce que les autres diront de nous

Il y a généralement une imposition sociale ou la conviction partagée que pour être heureux, nous devons avoir un partenaire et, par conséquent, nous marier. Cependant, vous pouvez être heureux d'être célibataire. Dans notre article "Est-il possible d'être célibataire et d'être heureux? Les 8 avantages de ne pas avoir de partenaire "nous vous l'expliquons.

Il y a des gens qui ont très envie de penser à ce que les autres vont penser d'eux quand ils savent qu'ils n'ont pas de partenaire. Quelque chose qui nuit à leur bien-être et peut les amener à prendre de mauvaises décisions.

  • Article connexe: "Conseils pour ne plus penser à ce que les autres pensent de vous"

4. Peur de l'échec

Une autre des peurs les plus courantes chez les êtres humains est la peur d’échouer. Elle se caractérise par l’anticipation de la défaite ou des conséquences d’une défaite. . Sentir que nous avons échoué est un piège mental, car, en réalité, un échec peut être une grande opportunité de croissance. La peur de l'échec peut nous amener à continuer dans une relation toxique pour éviter de nous sentir perdants.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "La peur de l'échec: anticiper la défaite nous immobilise"

5. Peur de souffrir

Personne n'aime souffrir et le manque d'amour se caractérise par une grande souffrance . Cependant, cette souffrance nous permet d’apprendre et de grandir, et laisser quelqu'un, en plus de la souffrance, peut offrir d’excellentes possibilités de vivre pleinement sa vie future. Nous éprouvons tous la peur de la souffrance, en particulier dans cette situation compliquée.

6. Peur d'être remplacé

Le rejet est l'une des situations les plus difficiles à vivre car il peut nous blesser et affecter notre estime de soi . Cependant, c'est quelque chose qui peut arriver dans la vie et que nous devons accepter. Tout comme nous trouverons un nouveau couple, notre exprareja le fera également.

7. Peur de se tromper

La peur de faire des erreurs est cette peur qui provient de la repentance, c'est-à-dire de se repentir d'avoir pris une décision . Cette peur est invalidante, nous devons donc l'accepter comme faisant partie de la vie. On ne peut pas regretter d'avoir fait quelque chose, mais de ne pas l'avoir fait.

8. Peur d'être célibataire

Dans notre article "Anuptophobie: la peur irrationnelle d'être célibataire", nous parlons de cette peur irrationnelle qui conditionne la vie de nombreuses personnes et que les fait partir en couple sans leur permettre de vivre une période de réflexion sur soi . La peur d'être célibataire peut nous empêcher de rompre une relation qui ne fait que causer de la peine. Surmonter la peur d'être célibataire est nécessaire pour rétablir le bien-être.


Demi Lovato: Simply Complicated - Official Documentary (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes