yes, therapy helps!
FOMO syndrome: feeling that the life of others is more interesting

FOMO syndrome: feeling that the life of others is more interesting

March 25, 2023

The feeling of missing something or FOMO syndrome (fear of missing out) has been recognized by psychologists as a disorder caused by the advancement of technology and the number of options that are presented to people today. The cause of this phenomenon is to be continuously connected to the network.

What is FOMO syndrome?

In previous articles of Psychology and Mind , we echoed the growing phenomenon of selfies and made reference to the importance of education to prevent the possible harmful use we face because we are always connected.

The number of individuals that they feel that their life is much less interesting than that of their acquaintances is growing . Wanting to be accepted by others has always existed, and it is logical because it refers to social identity. Nobody likes to feel left out. We usually function in society wanting to be recognized by the different groups of which we are a part: our family, our childhood friends, friends of the university, work colleagues, among others.


Social networks and the FOMO

Social networks expose the variety of activities that one could be doing at any given time and provide a multitude of opportunities for social interaction. The problem is that many times more options are presented than we can cover and this can lead to the perception that others are having better experiences than us . In these cases, contact with reality is lost and it is the imagination that plays a determining role when it comes to interpreting what we see in these media.

Being connected 24 hours a day through our smartphones, this feeling can be experienced not only at various times of the day, but also with the different groups to which we belong. This can lead us to be always aware of this showcase to be able to stand out among our contacts and show the great social life we ​​have.


Research on FOMO Syndrome

Recently, Mylife.com He published an interesting study by Dr. Andy Przybylski in which he researched more than 2,000 adults in the United States about their ability to disconnect from their smartphones.

The study concluded that the FOMO syndrome has a greater intensity among young people and among young men in particular , and the high levels of this syndrome correlate positively with social circumstances such as the low level of social satisfaction, which causes feelings of inferiority. The research suggests that FOMO can lead to problems in people's mental health, as it can lead to depression or anxiety. Other previous studies conclude that individuals who give more value to social networks as part of their social development, tend to experience more FOMO.


In social networks We try to show how we want to be and not how we really are , being able to perceive that the life of others is free of problems and is much more interesting and exciting than ours. Social identity, especially in young people who live immersed in new technologies, is created in large part, through Facebook, Twitter, Instragram, etc. It is clear that this new way of life is "shaping" in an alarming way, for better or for worse, the lives of adolescents.

In context: FOMO syndrome and the technological society

Experts warn us that this syndrome is the result of a type of cognitive distortion which leads to irrational thoughts. For people with a propensity for these kinds of thoughts, social networks can become harmful. Even so, they recommend, that completely unplugging from social networks does not solve the problem since it is just a way of avoidance . Cognitive behavioral therapies or other forms of psychotherapy can help correct negative thoughts.

As we have already commented in other articles, education is basic to prevent this type of pathologies associated with the use of new technologies and it must be done from an early age to equip minors with useful tools that allow them to maintain a strong self-esteem, despite external influences.

More on this point: "Depersonalization and (in) communication in social networks"

Social networks are attractive because they represent a space where adolescents are protagonists and are an ideal place to interact with other groups of people who use their own language and share their tastes and interests. But as socializing agents that are, they also transmit values . It is the task of adults to ensure that these young people understand the positive and negative consequences of their use.


Fear Of Missing Out (FOMO) (March 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome FOMO: sentir que la vie des autres est plus intéressante

Syndrome FOMO: sentir que la vie des autres est plus intéressante

Juillet 26, 2022

Le sentiment de manquer quelque chose ou Syndrome FOMO (peur de rater) Les psychologues ont reconnu que les progrès de la technologie et le nombre d’options présentées aux gens aujourd’hui constituaient un trouble. La cause de ce phénomène est la connexion permanente au réseau.

Qu'est-ce que le syndrome FOMO?

Dans les articles précédents de Psychologie et esprit , nous avons fait écho au phénomène croissant des selfies et avons souligné l’importance de l’éducation pour prévenir les utilisations nocives possibles, car nous sommes toujours connectés.

Le nombre d'individus qui ils sentent que leur vie est beaucoup moins intéressante que celle de leurs connaissances s'agrandit . Vouloir être accepté par les autres a toujours existé, et c'est logique car cela fait référence à l'identité sociale. Personne n'aime se sentir exclu. Nous fonctionnons généralement dans une société désirant être reconnus par les différents groupes auxquels nous appartenons: notre famille, nos amis d’enfance, nos amis de l’université, nos collègues de travail, entre autres.


Les réseaux sociaux et le FOMO

Les réseaux sociaux exposent la diversité des activités qu’on peut faire à un moment donné et offrent une multitude de possibilités d’interaction sociale. Le problème est que plusieurs fois plus d'options sont présentées que nous ne pouvons en couvrir, ce qui peut donner à penser que d'autres vivent de meilleures expériences que nous . Dans ces cas, le contact avec la réalité est perdu et c'est l'imagination qui joue un rôle déterminant dans l'interprétation de ce que l'on voit dans ces médias.

Être connecté 24 heures par jour grâce à notre smartphonesCe sentiment peut être ressenti non seulement à divers moments de la journée, mais aussi avec les différents groupes auxquels nous appartenons. Cela peut nous amener à être toujours conscients de cette vitrine pour pouvoir nous distinguer parmi nos contacts et montrer la grande vie sociale que nous avons.


Recherche sur le syndrome FOMO

Récemment, Mylife.com Le Dr Andy Przybylski a publié une étude intéressante dans laquelle il a enquêté sur plus de 2 000 adultes aux États-Unis sur leur capacité à se déconnecter de leurs smartphones.

L'étude a conclu que le syndrome FOMO a une plus grande intensité chez les jeunes et chez les jeunes hommes en particulier et les niveaux élevés de ce syndrome sont en corrélation positive avec des circonstances sociales telles que le faible niveau de satisfaction sociale, ce qui provoque un sentiment d’infériorité. Les recherches suggèrent que FOMO peut entraîner des problèmes de santé mentale, car il peut conduire à la dépression ou à l’anxiété. D'autres études précédentes concluent que les personnes qui valorisent davantage les réseaux sociaux dans le cadre de leur développement social ont tendance à faire l'expérience de plus de FOMO.


Dans les réseaux sociaux Nous essayons de montrer comment nous voulons être et pas comment nous sommes vraiment , étant capable de percevoir que la vie des autres est exempte de problèmes et est beaucoup plus intéressante et excitante que la nôtre. L'identité sociale, en particulier chez les jeunes qui vivent immergé dans les nouvelles technologies, est créée en grande partie via Facebook, Twitter, Instragram, etc. Il est clair que ce nouveau mode de vie "façonne" de manière alarmante la vie des adolescents, pour le meilleur ou pour le pire.

En contexte: syndrome FOMO et la société technologique

Les experts nous avertissent que ce syndrome est le résultat d'un type de distorsion cognitive ce qui conduit à des pensées irrationnelles. Pour les personnes ayant une propension à ce genre de pensées, les réseaux sociaux peuvent devenir nuisibles. Malgré tout, recommandent-ils, le fait de se déconnecter complètement des réseaux sociaux ne résout pas le problème, car il ne s'agit que évitement . Les thérapies cognitivo-comportementales ou d'autres formes de psychothérapie peuvent aider à corriger les pensées négatives.

Comme nous l'avons déjà commenté dans d'autres articles, l'éducation est fondamentale pour prévenir ce type de pathologies associées à l'utilisation de nouvelles technologies et dès le plus jeune âge, il convient de doter les mineurs d'outils utiles leur permettant de conserver une forte estime de soi, malgré les influences extérieures.

Plus sur ce point: "Dépersonnalisation et (in) communication dans les réseaux sociaux"

Les réseaux sociaux sont attrayants, car ils représentent un espace où les adolescents sont les protagonistes et constituent un lieu idéal pour interagir avec d’autres groupes de personnes qui utilisent leur propre langue et partagent leurs goûts et leurs intérêts. Mais en tant qu'agents de socialisation qui sont, ils transmettent aussi des valeurs . Les adultes ont pour tâche de veiller à ce que ces jeunes comprennent les conséquences positives et négatives de leur utilisation.


FOMO - the fear of missing out: Bobby Mook at TEDxUNC (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes