yes, therapy helps!
Food additives: what they are, what types there are, and effects on health

Food additives: what they are, what types there are, and effects on health

May 10, 2021

Surely a large part of the population will have heard about the presence of food additives in food that we buy, especially in the precooked or packaged, being frequent that they try to avoid its consumption when relating to something negative.

On the other hand, it is known that although there are large economic interests behind and are not entirely healthy if they are accumulated, they also have their role in maintaining food preservation. There is a lot of controversy with these products.

What are food additives, what are they used for and what are their effects on us? It is on this subject that we are going to talk about throughout this article.


  • Related article: "What is the difference between food and nutrition?"

Food additives: what are they and what are they for?

They receive the name of food additives to the set of substances which are not part of the food naturally and are added to them in order to add, enhance or modify any of its characteristics , without adding or removing any of the nutritional properties of the food in question.

Generally, the main objective of adding this type of product is to favor its conservation as long as possible, or to enhance the flavor. But it also has a sanitary sense, since food in poor condition can suffer alterations and breeding bacteria, fungi and other substances dangerous to health.


Although when we speak of food additives we generally think of synthesized products, the truth is that throughout history mankind has used salt, sugar or sulfur dioxide for this purpose. Or, even, it has generated procedures such as smoking that allows the preservation of food. But little by little new ones have been generated for the purpose of increase the time that food is preserved , enhance the aroma, appearance or taste or reduce the cost of manufacturing processes.

Its main types

When we talk about food additives, we are not talking about something homogeneous, but a series of elements that are added to food but in reality can be grouped into different types of food additives with different properties or objectives. Thus, we can find some of the following types of food additive.


1. Preservatives

Probably the best-known group of food additives and whose function makes the most sense, preservatives are those products that are used for the purpose of avoid deterioration of food due to the activity of microorganisms . Among them we can find sorbic or benzoic acid, but also controversial compounds such as nitrates in marinated and sausages.

2. Flavorings

Food additives are added as flavorings that are added in order to improve the aroma and flavor of food .

Generally, products of plant origin or products that imitate their aroma, including nuts, form part of this group. They are usually found in sweets, pastries, wines or cereals. Elements such as sugar could also be considered flavorings, although they do not receive such consideration at the legal level.

  • Maybe you are interested: "The 5 types of flavors, and where are their receptors in the language"

3. Dyes

The dyes are a group of food additives, which can be natural or synthetic, whose main function is to improve the visual appearance of food. Thus, its use is aimed at giving more color to the product. We have an example in saffron or chlorophyll or in the case of synthetic erythrosine or tartrazine. However, it must be taken into account that Many of these products can contribute to generate some health problems .

4. Antioxidants

While many foods contain natural antioxidants, It is common to find that in many foods they are added synthetically in order to prevent food from rusting and getting bad, as well as getting bad look and taste.

The main objective is to prevent food fats from oxidizing and getting lost. They can be either elements that directly eliminate oxidizing substances from the food or substances that favor and potentiate the natural antioxidants already present in the food itself. An example is found in L-ascorbic acid , usually in fruit and in packed, lactic acid and citric acid.

5. Stabilizers, thickeners, gelling agents and emulsifiers

Although each of these names refers to a type of additive, they all share the fact that its use is based on altering the texture and composition of the food, allowing the generation of very varied products that are very different in the mouth despite have the same origin They allow us to give more consistency to a liquid food, as well as generate gels and emulsions . Now, most are not digestible per se. Examples of this are found in pectins or sorbitol.

6. Acidulants

Another type of food additive classified by the World Health Organization is acidulants. These products have as their main objective the regulate the level of acidity of the food, or change the taste of the product . It is typical of soft drinks, in which sulfates such as sodium or calcium are used.

7. Flavor Enhancers

We call flavor enhancers to that set of substances that allow to increase the perception of the flavor of the food in which they are added, in principle without the enhancer having its own flavor . The best known is L-glutamic acid, which in high concentrations is responsible for the umami flavor.

8. Sweeteners

Along with preservatives and dyes, sweeteners are the best known food additives, and perhaps those that are most used by the end consumer on a day-to-day basis, regardless of whether or not the chosen food carries it.

Sweeteners are a set of substances that are added to food in order to provide a sweeter flavor . Generally, these are products that have been created to replace the use of sugars, which is essential for people with certain diseases. Saccharin and aspartame are the best known, along with stevia (this part of a natural product) and glycyrrhine.

9. Modified starches

This type of additive is characterized by being based on the properties of the starch to elaborate additives with binding properties, that is to say that they are used to achieve unite and hold together two or more types of food that by themselves would not get mixed .

10. Enzyme preparations

This type of food additive is a preparation based on natural proteins that aims to generate biochemical reactions in food, trying to replace those procedures that would require the use of chemical substances to be performed. Typical of the preparation of cakes, fermented products or fruits . Also, it is possible that the preparation is not included in the final product that comes to the table.

Effects on health

As we have seen, food additives are considered useful products and are used in order to preserve or try to improve the final product, or reduce the cost of their production. But although we usually consume additives constantly, the truth is that many of them have been under investigation because in high proportions and with a habitual consumption it is possible that they favor the appearance of different health problems or even that they become directly toxic.

Among the different problems that can cause, we can find that some additives can generate allergic reactions in some people, as well as the possibility that they make more difficult the digestion of the food, problems of absorption, alterations of the excretion or can become difficult or destroy some beneficial components of the food to which they are added.

Also, in some cases they have been associated with difficulties in the transport of oxygen in blood , for teratogenic effects that may harm fetuses of pregnant women or even in some cases to an increase in the probability of suffering from cancer, as is the case, for example, with nitrates. It should also be borne in mind that some of them are known for short-term effects, but the data on possible long-term effects are unknown or not clear at all.

Despite this, it has to be said that there are several organizations that evaluate the level of toxicity of food additives and regulate their presence in foods in order to reduce and try to eliminate risks. Among other actions can regulate the levels of additives used, or in the case that one in particular is particularly dangerous to even prohibit their use. Even so, it may be useful to assess the type of elements that are part of the food we eat.

Bibliographic references:

  • Ibáñez, F.C .; Torre, P. and Irigoyen A. (2003). Food Additives. Public University of Navarra.
  • World Health Organization. (2018). Food Additives. WHO [Online]. Available at: //www.who.int/en/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/food-additives.

Health effects of food additives (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Additifs alimentaires: leur nature, leurs types et leurs effets sur la santé

Additifs alimentaires: leur nature, leurs types et leurs effets sur la santé

Juin 25, 2019

Une grande partie de la population aura sûrement entendu parler de la présence d'additifs alimentaires dans les aliments que nous achetons, en particulier dans les précuits ou emballés, étant fréquents qu'ils essayent d'éviter sa consommation quand ils se rapportent à quelque chose de négatif.

D'autre part, on sait que, même s'il existe de grands intérêts économiques et qu'ils ne sont pas parfaitement sains s'ils sont accumulés, ils jouent également un rôle dans le maintien de la conservation des aliments. Il y a beaucoup de controverse avec ces produits.

Que sont les additifs alimentaires, à quoi servent-ils et quels sont leurs effets sur nous? C'est à ce sujet que nous allons parler tout au long de cet article.


  • Article connexe: "Quelle est la différence entre nourriture et nutrition?"

Additifs alimentaires: que sont-ils et à quoi servent-ils?

Ils reçoivent le nom d'additifs alimentaires à l'ensemble des substances qui ne font pas naturellement partie de l'aliment et leur sont ajoutés afin de ajouter, améliorer ou modifier l'une de ses caractéristiques , sans ajouter ni supprimer aucune des propriétés nutritionnelles de l’aliment en question.

Généralement, l’objectif principal de l’ajout de ce type de produit est de favoriser sa conservation ou de rehausser son arôme. Mais il a aussi un sens sanitaire, car la nourriture en mauvais état peut subir des altérations et des bactéries reproductrices, des champignons et autres substances dangereuses pour la santé.


Bien que lorsque nous parlons d'additifs alimentaires, nous pensons généralement aux produits de synthèse, la vérité est que, tout au long de l'histoire, l'humanité a utilisé le sel, le sucre ou le dioxyde de soufre à cette fin. Ou même, il a généré des procédures telles que le tabagisme qui permet la conservation des aliments. Mais petit à petit, de nouveaux ont été créés pour augmenter le temps de conservation des aliments , rehausser l’arôme, l’apparence ou le goût ou réduire le coût des processus de fabrication.

Ses principaux types

Lorsque nous parlons d’additifs alimentaires, nous ne parlons pas de quelque chose d’homogène, mais d’une série d’éléments qui s’ajoutent à la nourriture mais qui, en réalité, peuvent être regroupés dans différents types d'additifs alimentaires avec des propriétés ou des objectifs différents. Ainsi, nous pouvons trouver certains des types d’additifs alimentaires suivants.


1. Conservateurs

Probablement le groupe d'additifs alimentaires le plus connu et dont la fonction est la plus logique, les agents de conservation sont les produits utilisés aux fins de éviter la détérioration des aliments due à l'activité de microorganismes . Parmi ceux-ci, on peut trouver l'acide sorbique ou l'acide benzoïque, mais aussi des composés controversés tels que les nitrates dans les sauces marinées.

2. des arômes

Les additifs alimentaires sont ajoutés en tant qu'arômes qui sont ajoutés pour améliorer l'arôme et la saveur des aliments .

En règle générale, les produits d'origine végétale ou les produits imitant leur arôme, y compris les noix, font partie de ce groupe. On les trouve généralement dans les sucreries, les pâtisseries, le vin ou les céréales. Des éléments tels que le sucre pourraient également être considérés comme des arômes, bien qu'ils ne fassent pas l'objet d'une telle considération au niveau juridique.

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Les 5 types de saveurs, et où sont leurs récepteurs dans la langue"

3. les colorants

Les colorants constituent un groupe d’additifs alimentaires, naturels ou synthétiques, dont la fonction principale est d’améliorer l’aspect visuel des aliments. Ainsi, son utilisation vise à donner plus de couleur au produit. Nous avons un exemple dans le safran ou la chlorophylle ou dans le cas de l'érythrosine synthétique ou de la tartrazine. Cependant, il faut prendre en compte que Beaucoup de ces produits peuvent contribuer à générer des problèmes de santé .

4. Antioxydants

Alors que de nombreux aliments contiennent des antioxydants naturels, Il est courant de constater que, dans de nombreux aliments, ils sont ajoutés par synthèse afin d'éviter que les aliments ne rouillent et ne se détériorent pas, ainsi que de mauvaise apparence et de mauvais goût.

L'objectif principal est d'empêcher les graisses alimentaires de s'oxyder et de se perdre. Ils peuvent être soit des éléments qui éliminent directement les substances oxydantes de la nourriture, soit des substances qui favorisent et potentialisent les antioxydants naturels déjà présents dans la nourriture elle-même. Un exemple est trouvé dans l'acide L-ascorbique , généralement dans les fruits et dans les emballages, acide lactique et acide citrique.

5. Stabilisants, épaississants, gélifiants et émulsifiants

Bien que chacun de ces noms fasse référence à un type d'additif, ils partagent tous le fait que son utilisation est basée sur la modification de la texture et de la composition de l'aliment, permettant la génération de produits très variés et très différents en bouche malgré avoir la même origine Ils nous permettent de donner plus de consistance à un aliment liquide, ainsi que générer des gels et des émulsions . Maintenant, la plupart ne sont pas digestibles en soi. On en trouve des exemples dans les pectines ou le sorbitol.

6. Acidulants

Les acidulants sont un autre type d’additif alimentaire classé par l’Organisation mondiale de la santé. Ces produits ont pour objectif principal la régler le niveau d'acidité de l'aliment ou modifier le goût du produit . C'est typique des boissons sans alcool, dans lesquelles on utilise des sulfates tels que le sodium ou le calcium.

7. exhausteurs de goût

Nous appelons exhausteurs de goût cet ensemble de substances qui permettent de renforcer la perception de la saveur de la denrée alimentaire dans laquelle ils sont ajoutés. sans activateur ayant sa propre saveur . Le plus connu est l'acide L-glutamique, qui, à des concentrations élevées, est responsable de la saveur d'umami.

8. édulcorants

Avec les conservateurs et les colorants, les édulcorants sont les additifs alimentaires les plus connus, et sont peut-être ceux qui sont le plus utilisés par le consommateur final au quotidien, que l'aliment choisi le porte ou non.

Les édulcorants sont un ensemble de substances qui sont ajoutées aux aliments afin de fournir une saveur plus sucrée . Généralement, il s'agit de produits créés pour remplacer l'utilisation de sucres, ce qui est essentiel pour les personnes atteintes de certaines maladies. La saccharine et l'aspartame sont les mieux connus, avec la stevia (cette partie d'un produit naturel) et la glycyrrhine.

9. Amidons modifiés

Ce type d’additif se caractérise par le fait qu’il est basé sur les propriétés de l’amidon pour élaborer des additifs ayant des propriétés liantes, c’est-à-dire qu’ils sont utilisés pour unir et maintenir ensemble deux ou plusieurs types d'aliments qui ne seraient pas mélangés par eux-mêmes .

10. Préparations enzymatiques

Ce type d’additif alimentaire est une préparation à base de protéines naturelles qui vise à générer des réactions biochimiques dans les aliments, en essayant de remplacer les procédures qui nécessiteraient l’utilisation de substances chimiques. Typique de la préparation de gâteaux, produits fermentés ou fruits . En outre, il est possible que la préparation ne soit pas incluse dans le produit final fourni.

Effets sur la santé

Comme nous l’avons vu, les additifs alimentaires sont considérés comme des produits utiles et sont utilisés pour préserver ou essayer d’améliorer le produit final ou pour réduire les coûts de production. Mais bien que nous consommions habituellement des additifs en permanence, la vérité est que beaucoup d’entre eux ont fait l’objet d’une enquête en raison de leur forte proportion et de leur consommation habituelle. il est possible qu'ils favorisent l'apparition de différents problèmes de santé ou même qu'ils deviennent directement toxiques.

Parmi les différents problèmes pouvant en résulter, on peut constater que certains additifs peuvent générer des réactions allergiques chez certaines personnes, ainsi que la possibilité qu’ils rendent plus difficile la digestion des aliments, des problèmes d’absorption, des altérations de l’excrétion ou puissent devenir difficiles ou détruire certains composants bénéfiques de la nourriture à laquelle ils sont ajoutés.

En outre, dans certains cas, ils ont été associés à difficultés dans le transport de l'oxygène dans le sang , pour des effets tératogènes pouvant nuire aux fœtus des femmes enceintes ou même, dans certains cas, à une augmentation des risques de cancer, comme dans le cas, par exemple, des dérivés nitrés. Il faut également garder à l'esprit que certains d'entre eux sont connus pour leurs effets à court terme, mais les données sur les éventuels effets à long terme sont inconnues ou ne sont pas claires du tout.

Malgré cela, force est de constater que plusieurs organisations évaluent le niveau de toxicité des additifs alimentaires et régulent leur présence dans les aliments afin de réduire et d’éliminer les risques. Parmi les autres actions peuvent réglementer les niveaux d'additifs utilisés, ou dans le cas où un en particulier est particulièrement dangereux d'interdire même leur utilisation. Même dans ce cas, il peut être utile d’évaluer le type d’éléments faisant partie de la nourriture que nous mangeons.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Ibáñez, F.C .; Torre, P. et Irigoyen A. (2003). Additifs alimentaires Université publique de Navarre.
  • Organisation mondiale de la SANTE. (2018). Additifs alimentaires OMS [en ligne]. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.who.int/en/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/food-additives.

La nutrition - C'est pas sorcier (Juin 2019).


Articles Connexes