yes, therapy helps!
Forensic Psychology: definition and functions of the forensic psychologist

Forensic Psychology: definition and functions of the forensic psychologist

May 9, 2021

As we have already explained in other posts, Psychology is the science that studies human behavior and mental processes in a broad sense . These mental processes are the genesis of behavior: our thinking ends up being concretized in certain tangible and observable motivations, attitudes and behaviors.

Forensic Psychology: one of the areas in psychology

But what is Forensic Psychology? The forensic term comes from Latin forum. That is, the plaza, the public space where, in Roman times, public trials took place.

So that, forensic psychology is the branch of psychology that studies and intervenes in judicial processes in order to provide data and knowledge to help solve cases. The professionals of forensic psychology are forensic psychologists, and their function is to collect, study and interpret correctly the different psychological data that can provide important elements in the face of a trial.


Functions and skills of forensic psychologists

The professionals of forensic psychology, in addition to being graduates in psychology, must have knowledge and tools of judicial, procedural and criminal law. This allows them to have the necessary background to be able to understand the judicial processes with precision and to correctly apply the psychological techniques in this field.

Forensic psychologists work together with lawyers, experts, prosecutors and judges. In fact, forensic psychologists act as experts when offering their professional testimony in certain trials , providing data and knowledge of interest to collaborate with the Justice and ensure that the circumstances of the case can be clarified, at least in regard to certain psychological and / or psychopathological aspects of some or all parties involved.


A professional in psychology, but also an expert in law

A forensic psychologist is not simply a psychologist who exercises certain tasks in a state justice administration. Actually, he is a great dominator of all the concepts, norms and dynamics of the legal system in which he finds himself .

The forensic psychologist has a broad understanding of all the legal and procedural mechanisms. In fact, if it were not so, it could easily be excluded from certain processes in which it participated, having lost the credibility of the different actors involved in the trial. The judicial system is a formal system in which methods and procedures are of paramount importance. Hence, the forensic psychologist, besides being an expert in their field, should know and adapt perfectly to these regulations.

  • It may interest you: "Differences between criminal psychology and forensic psychology"

What functions does a forensic psychologist have before a court?

There are many elements and factors in which forensic psychology plays a key role in the context of a judicial process. In order to help the judge make sound decisions, the forensic psychologist puts a series of knowledge and tools at the disposal of the case.


One of the most common functions refers to the study carried out by forensic psychologists on the mental faculties and psychological conditions of any of the parties involved in a trial (defendants, complainants and even witnesses). This analysis helps to elucidate, in the case of the accused, if they were in full use of their mental faculties at the time when, allegedly, they committed a crime. For example, if there is a person accused of homicide, a forensic psychologist would have the capacity to make a report indicating whether, at the time of the crime, the accused was aware of his actions.

The training of a forensic psychologist

We have talked about what is forensic psychology and also about the tasks performed by professionals in judicial psychology. However: What training should a forensic psychologist have to be able to practice?

This point is more complicated to explain, since each country has different legislation regarding the background academic that require this type of professionals. In general, we can say that, to devote to forensic psychology, the professional must have a degree or university degree in Psychology, and then specialize in one of these branches: psychology of organizations, social psychology or clinical psychology, being this last area especially relevant.

After, must take a postgraduate or Master in forensic psychology . However, it is of special interest that the forensic psychologist has extensive knowledge in psychological evaluation, psychopathology and diagnostic and intervention techniques.As the forensic psychologist has to help to clarify whether the accused person has mental disorders or not, part of their work is similar to that of a clinical psychologist, although in this case their interests and those of the person evaluated do not usually coincide.

Function in criminal and corrective measures

In addition to the foregoing, forensic psychology also has some influence when it comes to reporting and suggesting the type of treatment that should be followed by a person sentenced to imprisonment. A) Yes, the judge may have more elements to decide how to execute the penalty and what will be the corrective measures imposed .

Forensic Psychology collaborates and describes, but does not judge

It should be pointed out: forensic psychology can help a judge to determine certain psychological factors of the parties involved in a judicial process; It can explain the behavior of a person to make it more understandable that he or she has been a victim or aggressor in certain circumstances. This information is offered to the court so that it may be able to make a weighing decision about the facts.

But nevertheless, the forensic psychologist is not empowered to defend or exercise as a prosecutor of any of the parties involved in a lawsuit. Its function is descriptive and informative, and therefore it must be completely neutral.

Courts of justice usually ask very specific questions to the forensic psychologist, always related to the case being judged and around the different psychological variables that may have influenced the facts. The terminology with which the different judicial actors are expressed is that of the legal sphere, and so on it is also expected that the forensic psychologist sticks to a language that is univocal and coherent with the context .

In other words, the different actors involved in the judicial process (judge, lawyers, prosecutors and jury) need to know the direct effects of the psychological state of some of those involved to determine to what extent they are responsible for their actions. In this sense, it should be clarified that it would not make any sense for the forensic psychologist to make ramblings about the psychic state of any of the parties judged beyond the task entrusted to him, which is shed light on the psychological circumstances of the parties involved during the events that are being judged, and by extension of the treatment that should be given to any of the parties, if necessary.

Guilt, responsibility, exemptions ...

Forensic psychologists are often subject to controversy with some frequency. This is because, as professionals in the judicial field, they have the power to influence the decisions of the courts of justice . For example, forensic psychologists can point out the convenience of exempting an accused person from guilt, arguing that, at the time of the events, he was not aware of his actions. Therefore, they have the ability to release an individual, even if he or she could have been the material author of a crime.

Likewise, judicial psychologists can also advise that aggravating or mitigating factors be applied in certain crimes, indications that may have repercussions in the sentence imposed on the accused.

These functions always involve great controversies . For example, in the case of an accused who murdered a child, if it is declared unimpeachable for clinical (psychiatric) reasons, the family of the murdered minor may erupt in anger against such a decision, even though it has strict clinical grounds.

However, and although it can generate all kinds of social debates, the truth is that forensic psychology contributes decisively to justice can be delivered in a balanced and fair, if I allow the redundancy.


What is a Forensic Psychologist? (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Psychologie légale: définition et fonctions du psychologue judiciaire

Psychologie légale: définition et fonctions du psychologue judiciaire

Mai 20, 2019

Comme nous l'avons déjà expliqué dans d'autres articles, La psychologie est la science qui étudie le comportement humain et les processus mentaux au sens large. . Ces processus mentaux sont la genèse du comportement: notre pensée finit par se concrétiser par certaines motivations, attitudes et comportements tangibles et observables.

Psychologie légale: un des domaines de la psychologie

Mais qu'est-ce que la psychologie judiciaire? Le terme médico-légal vient du latin forum. C'est-à-dire la place, l'espace public où se déroulaient des procès publics à l'époque romaine.

Donc, la psychologie légale est la branche de la psychologie qui étudie et intervient dans les processus judiciaires afin de fournir des données et des connaissances pour aider à résoudre les cas. Les professionnels de la psychologie médico-légale sont des psychologues légistes. Ils ont pour fonction de collecter, d'étudier et d'interpréter correctement les différentes données psychologiques susceptibles de fournir des éléments importants dans le cadre d'un procès.


Fonctions et compétences des psychologues légistes

Les professionnels de la psychologie judiciaire, en plus d'être diplômés en psychologie, doivent posséder des connaissances et des outils du droit judiciaire, procédural et pénal. Cela leur permet de disposer des connaissances nécessaires pour pouvoir comprendre les processus judiciaires avec précision et appliquer correctement les techniques psychologiques dans ce domaine.

Les psychologues judiciaires collaborent avec des avocats, des experts, des procureurs et des juges. En fait Les psychologues judiciaires agissent en tant qu'experts lorsqu'ils présentent leur témoignage professionnel dans le cadre de certains procès. , fournissant des données et des connaissances d’intérêt pour collaborer avec le juge et veiller à ce que les circonstances de l’affaire puissent être clarifiées, au moins en ce qui concerne certains aspects psychologiques et / ou psychopathologiques de tout ou partie des parties impliquées.


Un professionnel en psychologie, mais aussi un expert en droit

Un psychologue judiciaire n'est pas simplement un psychologue qui exerce certaines tâches dans une administration de la justice d'un État. En réalité, il est un grand dominateur de tous les concepts, normes et dynamiques du système juridique dans lequel il se trouve .

Le psychologue judiciaire possède une vaste compréhension de tous les mécanismes juridiques et procéduraux. En fait, s'il en était autrement, il pourrait facilement être exclu de certains processus auxquels il a participé, ayant perdu la crédibilité des différents acteurs impliqués dans le procès. Le système judiciaire est un système formel dans lequel les méthodes et les procédures revêtent une importance primordiale. Par conséquent, le psychologue légiste, en plus d’être un expert dans son domaine, devrait connaître et s’adapter parfaitement à ces réglementations.

  • Cela peut vous intéresser: "Différences entre psychologie criminelle et psychologie légale"

Quelles sont les fonctions d'un psychologue légiste devant un tribunal?

La psychologie médico-légale joue un rôle essentiel dans le cadre d’une procédure judiciaire pour de nombreux éléments. Afin d'aider le juge à prendre des décisions éclairées, le psychologue judiciaire met à la disposition du dossier une série de connaissances et d'outils.


L’une des fonctions les plus courantes concerne l’étude réalisée par les psychologues judiciaires sur les facultés mentales et les conditions psychologiques. partie à un procès (défendeurs, plaignants et même témoins). Cette analyse aide à élucider, dans le cas des accusés, s'ils utilisaient pleinement leurs facultés mentales au moment où ils auraient commis un crime. Par exemple, s’il ya une personne accusée d’homicide, un psychologue légiste aurait la capacité de faire un rapport indiquant si, au moment du crime, l’accusé était au courant de ses actes.

La formation d'un psychologue légiste

Nous avons parlé de ce qu'est la psychologie légale et des tâches accomplies par des professionnels de la psychologie judiciaire. Maintenant bien: Quelle formation un psychologue légiste doit-il avoir pour pouvoir pratiquer?

Ce point est plus compliqué à expliquer, chaque pays ayant une législation différente en matière de fond universitaires qui ont besoin de ce type de professionnels. En général, on peut dire que, pour se consacrer à la psychologie légale, le professionnel doit avoir un diplôme universitaire ou un diplôme universitaire en psychologie, puis se spécialiser dans l’un de ces domaines: psychologie des organisations, psychologie sociale ou psychologie clinique, étant ce dernier domaine particulièrement pertinent.

Après, doit prendre un troisième cycle ou une maîtrise en psychologie légale . Cependant, il est d’intérêt particulier que le psychologue légiste ait une connaissance approfondie de l’évaluation psychologique, de la psychopathologie et des techniques de diagnostic et d’intervention.Le psychologue légiste devant contribuer à préciser si l'accusé souffre ou non de troubles mentaux, une partie de son travail est similaire à celle d'un psychologue clinicien, bien que, dans ce cas, leurs intérêts et ceux de la personne évaluée ne coïncident généralement pas.

Fonction en matière pénale et corrective

En plus de ce qui précède, la psychologie judiciaire a également une certaine influence en ce qui concerne le signalement et la suggestion du type de traitement que devrait suivre une personne condamnée à une peine d'emprisonnement. Ainsi, le juge peut avoir plus d'éléments pour décider de la manière dont la peine sera exécutée et quelles seront les mesures correctives imposées .

Psychologie légale collabore et décrit, mais ne juge pas

Il convient de souligner que: la psychologie judiciaire peut aider un juge à déterminer certains facteurs psychologiques des parties impliquées dans une procédure judiciaire; Cela peut expliquer le comportement d’une personne de manière à rendre plus compréhensible le fait qu’elle ait été victime ou agresseur dans certaines circonstances. Cette information est proposée au tribunal afin qu’il puisse prendre une décision pondérée en fonction des faits.

Cependant, le psychologue légiste n'est pas habilité à défendre ou à exercer en tant que procureur de l'une des parties en cause dans un procès. Sa fonction est descriptive et informative et doit donc être totalement neutre.

Les cours de justice posent généralement des questions très spécifiques au psychologue légiste, toujours liées au cas jugé et aux différentes variables psychologiques pouvant avoir influencé les faits. La terminologie avec laquelle les différents acteurs judiciaires s'expriment est celle de la sphère juridique, etc. on s'attend également à ce que le psychologue légiste s'en tienne à un langage univoque et cohérent avec le contexte .

En d'autres termes, les différents acteurs impliqués dans le processus judiciaire (juge, avocats, procureurs et jury) doivent connaître les effets directs de l'état psychologique de certains des acteurs pour déterminer dans quelle mesure ils sont responsables de leurs actes. En ce sens, il convient de préciser que le psychologue légiste n'aurait aucun sens à faire des discours sur l'état psychique de l'une des parties jugées au-delà de la tâche qui lui a été confiée, à savoir: faire la lumière sur les circonstances psychologiques des parties impliquées pendant les événements qui sont jugés, et par extension du traitement qui devrait être donné à l’une des parties, si nécessaire.

Culpabilité, responsabilité, exemptions ...

Les psychologues judiciaires sont souvent sujets à des controverses assez fréquentes. En effet, en tant que professionnels du domaine judiciaire, ils ont le pouvoir d'influencer les décisions des cours de justice . Par exemple, les psychologues légistes peuvent indiquer qu'il est commode de dispenser un accusé de sa culpabilité, en faisant valoir que, au moment des faits, il n'était pas au courant de ses actes. Par conséquent, ils ont la possibilité de libérer un individu, même s'il aurait pu être l'auteur matériel d'un crime.

De même, les psychologues judiciaires peuvent également indiquer que des facteurs aggravants ou atténuants doivent être appliqués à certains crimes, indications pouvant avoir des conséquences sur la peine infligée à l'accusé.

Ces fonctions impliquent toujours de grandes controverses . Par exemple, dans le cas d’un accusé qui a assassiné un enfant, si celui-ci est déclaré irréprochable pour des raisons cliniques (psychiatriques), la famille du mineur assassiné peut éclater de colère contre une telle décision, même si elle repose sur des motifs cliniques stricts.

Cependant, et bien que cela puisse générer toutes sortes de débats sociaux, la vérité est que la psychologie légale contribue de manière décisive à la justice peut être rendue de manière équilibrée et juste, si je permets la redondance.


Ni psychotiques, ni névrotiques, ni pervers, ni normaux... (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes