yes, therapy helps!
Forer effect: why do some divination tricks work?

Forer effect: why do some divination tricks work?

June 20, 2024

Many people are surprised that, although they lack scientific basis, the different systems of divination that claim to describe our lives may come close to reality.

How do you explain that some divination tricks seem to work?

How can it be that, from a seemingly arbitrary criterion such as a roll of cards, own characteristics can be portrayed? Where is the trick? Although the different esoteric disciplines can not offer any explanation about this that is subject to falsification of results, psychology has provided a construct based on experimentation that clarifies this phenomenon. That construct is what we know today as Forer effect .


An experiment that showed the farce of divination

In 1948, the American psychologist Bertram R. Forer provided a personality test to his students. Then, the teacher gave each of the students a card with the results of the personality analysis. After this, he asked the students to rate from 0 to 5 the accuracy with which, in his opinion, the personality analysis portrayed them, being 0 "very poor" and 5 "excellent". The average of the scores was 4,26 .

The surprise of the students must have been capitalized when Forer revealed to them that, in fact, they had all been given the same result. The individualized personality analysis was not such and, in fact, the text that was delivered to the students was no more than a single compilation of sentences extracted from horoscopes :


"You need other people to appreciate and admire you, and yet you are critical of yourself. Although your personality has some weaknesses, you are generally able to compensate for them. You have a considerable unused capacity that you have not taken advantage of. Although disciplined and self-controlled to the outside, you tend to be apprehensive and insecure on the inside. Sometimes you have serious doubts about whether you have done well or made the right decisions. You prefer a certain amount of change and variety and you feel disappointed when you are surrounded by restrictions and limitations. You are also proud to be an independent thinker; and of not accepting the affirmations of the others without sufficient evidence. But you find it unwise to be very frank in revealing yourself to others. Sometimes you are extroverted, affable, and sociable, while other times you are introverted, cautious and reserved. Some of your aspirations tend to be quite unrealistic. "


Mind shortcuts

In short, the Forer Effect is nothing more than the manifestation of a form of cognitive prejudice . It shows the propensity to accept as original and proper descriptions that in reality are ambiguous and general enough to preach from virtually anyone. Thanks to this tendency, Forer managed to pass as an original a "personality reading" that is characterized precisely by its lack of precision when talking about the attributes that a person can have, but that in any case surprised the students for his faithful reflection of reality.

In addition, this experiment has been repeated many more times, obtaining very similar results (the people evaluated do not usually score with less than a 4 out of 5 the precision of the analysis). Thanks to these experiments we know that there are three factors that, when they occur, make the Forer effect more pronounced:

  • When, apparently, the analysis is customized .
  • When the analysis shows especially positive aspects that the evaluated person values ​​as positive.
  • When the person evaluated gives authority to the evaluator .

Interpretation of the Forer effect

The Explanation why this happens is usually related to desirability and expectations. On the one hand, there is a tendency to give greater credibility to satisfactory explanations of reality, compared to others that do not satisfy us as much. In addition, the expectations of obtaining a personality analysis create a propensity to accept the results.

On the other hand, we make an explanation that gives meaning to our experiences, and from that position we accept the information that fits well with that explanation while we deny or ignore the information that contradicts it: this is known as the confirmation bias.

Knowing how the Forer effect works, it is easy to imagine why in some circles there is acceptance of some disciplines of fortune telling as the astrology . Its esoteric character makes it seem that only a few people know how divination works, giving the fortune teller a role of authority.

The ambiguity It is a letter that is always played, because the person evaluated will tend to give meaning to explanations that are not precise but wide and comprehensive: this is especially clear in the case of horoscopes. In the case of real-time divination sessions, ambiguous assertions at the beginning allow collecting information from the evaluated subject, and therefore it is possible to dare to specify more by advancing the session.


Magic with mirrors revealed / How to disappear tutorial by Fernando (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Effet Forer: pourquoi certaines astuces de divination fonctionnent-elles?

Effet Forer: pourquoi certaines astuces de divination fonctionnent-elles?

Janvier 17, 2022

Beaucoup de gens s’étonnent que, même s’ils manquent de fondement scientifique, les différents systèmes de divination qui prétendent décrire nos vies puissent se rapprocher de la réalité.

Comment expliquez-vous que certaines astuces de divination semblent fonctionner?

Comment se peut-il que, à partir d'un critère apparemment arbitraire tel qu'un rouleau de cartes, ses propres caractéristiques puissent être décrites? Où est le truc? Bien que les différentes disciplines ésotériques ne puissent fournir aucune explication à ce sujet sujette à une falsification des résultats, la psychologie a fourni un construit basé sur une expérimentation qui clarifie ce phénomène. Cette construction est ce que nous savons aujourd'hui comme Effet de forer .


Une expérience qui a montré la farce de la divination

En 1948, le psychologue américain Bertram R. Forer a soumis un test de personnalité à ses étudiants. Ensuite, l'enseignant a remis à chacun des élèves une carte avec les résultats de l'analyse de la personnalité. Il a ensuite demandé aux étudiants d’évaluer de 0 à 5 la précision avec laquelle, selon lui, l’analyse de la personnalité les décrivait, étant 0 "très faible" et 5 "excellent". La moyenne des scores était 4,26 .

La surprise des étudiants a dû être capitalisée lorsque Forer leur a révélé qu'en réalité, ils avaient tous reçu le même résultat. L’analyse individualisée de la personnalité n’était pas telle et, en fait, le texte livré aux étudiants n’était qu’une compilation de phrases extraites de horoscopes :


"Vous avez besoin que d'autres personnes vous apprécient et vous admirent, et pourtant vous vous critiquez. Bien que votre personnalité ait des faiblesses, vous êtes généralement en mesure de les compenser. Vous avez une capacité inutilisée considérable dont vous n’avez pas profité. Bien que discipliné et sûr de vous à l'extérieur, vous avez tendance à être inquiet et à l'insécurité à l'intérieur. Parfois, vous avez des doutes sérieux quant à savoir si vous avez bien fait ou pris les bonnes décisions. Vous préférez une certaine quantité de changement et de variété et vous vous sentez déçu lorsque vous êtes entouré de restrictions et de limitations. Vous êtes également fier d'être un penseur indépendant. et de ne pas accepter les affirmations des autres sans preuves suffisantes. Mais vous trouvez qu'il n'est pas sage d'être très franc en vous révélant aux autres. Parfois, vous êtes extraverti, affable et sociable, tandis que d'autres fois, vous êtes introverti, prudent et réservé. Certaines de vos aspirations sont plutôt irréalistes. "


Raccourcis de l'esprit

En bref, l'effet Forer n'est rien d'autre que la manifestation d'une forme de préjugé cognitif . Cela montre la propension à accepter des descriptions originales et appropriées qui, en réalité, sont assez ambiguës et assez générales pour prêcher de quiconque. Grâce à cette tendance, Forer a réussi à faire de l’original une "lecture de la personnalité" qui se caractérise précisément par son manque de précision lorsqu’on parle des attributs qu’une personne peut avoir, mais qui en tout cas a surpris les étudiants. pour son reflet fidèle de la réalité.

De plus, cette expérience a été répétée beaucoup plus de fois, obtenant des résultats très similaires (les personnes évaluées ne marquent généralement pas avec moins de 4 sur 5 la précision de l'analyse). Grâce à ces expériences, nous savons qu’il existe trois facteurs qui, lorsqu’ils se produisent, rendent l’effet Forer plus prononcé:

  • Quand, apparemment, l'analyse est personnalisée .
  • Quand l'analyse montre surtout aspects positifs que la personne évaluée accorde une valeur positive.
  • Quand la personne a évalué donne autorité à l'évaluateur .

Interprétation de l'effet Forer

Le explication la raison pour laquelle cela se produit est généralement liée à la désirabilité et aux attentes. D'une part, on a tendance à donner plus de crédibilité aux explications satisfaisantes de la réalité, par rapport à d'autres qui ne nous satisfont pas autant. En outre, les attentes en matière d’analyse de personnalité créent une propension à accepter les résultats.

D'autre part, nous fournissons une explication qui donne un sens à nos expériences, et de cette position, nous acceptons les informations qui correspondent bien à cette explication tout en niant ou en ignorant les informations qui les contredisent: c'est ce qu'on appelle le biais de confirmation.

Sachant comment l’effet Forer fonctionne, il est facile d’imaginer pourquoi, dans certains milieux, certaines disciplines du divination comme la astrologie . Son caractère ésotérique laisse penser que seules quelques personnes savent comment fonctionne la divination, ce qui confère à la diseuse de bonne aventure un rôle d'autorité.

Le ambiguïté C'est une lettre qui est toujours jouée, car la personne évaluée aura tendance à donner un sens à des explications non précises mais larges et complètes: c'est particulièrement clair dans le cas des horoscopes. Dans le cas de sessions de divination en temps réel, des assertions ambiguës au début permettent de collecter des informations sur le sujet évalué. Il est donc possible d'oser spécifier davantage en faisant avancer la session.


Que penser de l'Astrologie ? (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes