yes, therapy helps!
Franz Mesmer: biography of this pioneer of hypnosis

Franz Mesmer: biography of this pioneer of hypnosis

March 28, 2024

Although it remains a practice questioned by many experts, hypnosis has become a useful method to enhance the effects of psychotherapy in cases of insomnia, smoking and even post-traumatic stress. However, in the beginning, hypnosis was an unscientific procedure whose mechanism was not known or by those who used it.

For a long time hypnosis it was known as "mesmerism" in honor of Franz Mesmer , the doctor who popularized this technique. In this article we will explain what mesmerism consisted of and what were the peculiar hypotheses on which its creator was based. In addition we will make a brief review of the development of hypnosis after Mesmer.


  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

Who was Franz Mesmer?

Franz Friedrich Anton Mesmer He was born in Iznang, a town in southwestern Germany, in 1734. Although he previously studied theology and law, he received his doctorate in medicine from the University of Vienna with a thesis entitled "On the influence of the planets on the human body"; it is believed that he partially plagiarized the work of the physician Richard Mead.

In his thesis, Mesmer proposed that the gravitational forces of the stars had a role in health and disease , intuitively expanding Isaac Newton's theory of gravity. Later he would develop these ideas up to the most famous concept of his work: animal magnetism, to which we will dedicate the following section.


At 33 he established himself as a doctor in Vienna, but was not satisfied with the procedures of the time, which he considered aggressive and ineffective. The case of Francisca Österlin, a patient with hysteria , marked a turn in his career: according to Mesmer, he transferred "animal magnetism" from his body to that of Mrs. Österlin using magnets, suppressing the symptoms for a few hours.

From this case, Mesmer acquired certain fame in Vienna, but moved to Paris in 1777 as his skills were questioned by a truculent case of psychogenic blindness. In France he trained several disciples and tried to get his methods to be considered legitimate; He received both recognition and criticism, and ended up exiling himself to Switzerland.

Mesmerism continued after the death of its creator , in 1815, through his followers, some of whom were respected doctors. From the animal magnetism and the attempts of the critics of Mesmer to refute their hypotheses, the field of hypnosis would develop, forever stained by the reputation of its "father".


  • Maybe you're interested: "10 myths about hypnosis, disassembled and explained"

Hypothesis of animal magnetism

Mesmer affirmed that living beings have an invisible fluid, animal magnetism , which allows nervous functioning and whose imbalance can cause many diseases; therefore, the method to cure them should consist of the manipulation of magnetism.

So, Mesmer he started using magnets with the purpose of modifying the concentration of animal magnetism in the affected parts of the body. Specifically, he believed that he could transfer this energy from his body, where it abounded, to that of his patients. He later stopped using magnets and developed more extravagant therapeutic procedures.

According to Mesmerism thesis, animal fluid flows spontaneously through the organism of living beings, but blockages occur in its circulation. Mesmer postulated that diseases could be cured from the induction of "crisis" by people with high levels of animal magnetism, like him and his disciples.

Mesmer's hypothesis must be framed in the context in which he lived. In the eighteenth century it was not strange to hear about magnetism or a "universal fluid", since there were still alchemists who held such a belief. Also popular were Newton's theses on the existence of the ether , a substance with similar characteristics.

  • Related article: "Hypnosis, that great unknown"

The Mesmer techniques

Mesmer sat in front of his patients, causing their knees to touch each other, and he stared into their eyes. Then he rubbed the patient's arms with his hands and pressed his fingers against his belly for a long time; sometimes this caused therapeutic "crises", for example seizures . Finally he played a glass harmonica.

Later, after achieving fame, Mesmer began to apply his treatments to large groups of people - often aristocrats who sought entertainment rather than medicine.In these cases I used a container with iron rods that had to touch the affected body part of each person.

Despite his bizarre methods, Mesmer managed to cure many alterations of psychological origin, mainly in cases of hysteria: although his hypotheses were erroneous, his procedures were effective through auto-suggestion , a mechanism that has been confirmed by scientific research.

From mesmerism to hypnosis

After the death of Mesmer the effects of mesmerism would be attributed to the control of the behavior of patients. However, Doctors like John Elliotson and James Eisdale resorted to Mesme's methods r to treat psychogenic disorders or anesthetize their patients; this last use became irrelevant with the appearance of chemical anesthetics.

The passage from magnetism to hypnosis is attributed to James Braid , a Scottish surgeon who coined the term "hypnotism". Braid claimed that the state of hypnosis depended on the patient's physical and mental conditions, and not on an abstract magnetic fluid; nevertheless, the effectiveness of mesmerism in some alterations seemed undeniable.

On the other hand, there were also those who followed the tradition of magnetism, mainly to cure physical illnesses. Between the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries there was the profession of the "magnetizer" , people who used magnets or gestures similar to those of Mesmer based on their pseudoscientific proposals.

Because of the weakness of Mesmer's hypotheses the hypnotists who succeeded him were discredited by the scientific community. To a large extent this position is maintained to this day, despite the fact that hypnosis has been validated by science as a therapeutic support tool .

Bibliographic references:

  • Leahey, T. H. (2004). History of Psychology, 6th Edition. Madrid: Pearson Prentice Hall.
  • Pattie, F. (1994). Mesmer and Animal Magnetism. Hamilton: Edmonston Pub.

Hypnosis in History - Revealing Documentary, Facts, Photos, Mesmer, Braid and More (March 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Franz Mesmer: biographie de ce pionnier de l'hypnose

Franz Mesmer: biographie de ce pionnier de l'hypnose

Juillet 30, 2021

Bien que cela reste une pratique remise en question par de nombreux experts, l'hypnose est devenue une méthode utile pour renforcer les effets de la psychothérapie en cas d'insomnie, de tabagisme et même de stress post-traumatique. Cependant, à l'origine, l'hypnose était une procédure non scientifique dont le mécanisme n'était pas connu ou par ceux qui l'utilisaient.

Depuis longtemps hypnose il était connu sous le nom de "mesmerism" en l'honneur de Franz Mesmer , le médecin qui a popularisé cette technique. Dans cet article, nous expliquerons en quoi consistent le mesmérisme et quelles étaient les hypothèses particulières sur lesquelles son créateur était fondé. De plus, nous ferons une brève revue du développement de l'hypnose après Mesmer.


  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Qui était Franz Mesmer?

Franz Friedrich Anton Mesmer Il est né à Iznang, une ville du sud-ouest de l'Allemagne, en 1734. Bien qu'ayant étudié la théologie et le droit auparavant, il a obtenu son doctorat en médecine de l'Université de Vienne avec une thèse intitulée "Sur l'influence des planètes sur le corps humain"; on croit qu'il a partiellement plagié le travail du médecin Richard Mead.

Dans sa thèse, Mesmer a proposé que les forces de gravitation des étoiles ont joué un rôle dans la santé et la maladie , développant intuitivement la théorie de la gravité d'Isaac Newton. Plus tard, il développera ces idées jusqu’au concept le plus célèbre de son travail: le magnétisme animal, auquel nous consacrerons la section suivante.


À 33 ans, il s'établit à Vienne comme médecin mais ne se contenta pas des procédures de l'époque, qu'il jugea agressives et inefficaces. Le cas de Francisca Österlin, une patiente souffrant d'hystérie , a marqué un tournant dans sa carrière: selon Mesmer, il a transféré le "magnétisme animal" de son corps à celui de Mme Österlin à l'aide d'aimants, supprimant ainsi les symptômes pendant quelques heures.

À partir de ce cas, Mesmer acquit une certaine renommée à Vienne, mais s'installa à Paris en 1777, ses compétences étant remises en question par un cas de cécité psychogène et truculent. En France, il a formé plusieurs disciples et a tenté de légitimer ses méthodes. Reconnu et critiqué, il s’est exilé en Suisse.

Le mesmérisme a continué après la mort de son créateur , en 1815, par l’intermédiaire de ses disciples, dont certains étaient des médecins respectés. A partir du magnétisme animal et des tentatives des critiques de Mesmer de réfuter leurs hypothèses, le champ de l'hypnose se développerait, à jamais taché par la réputation de son "père".


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "10 mythes sur l'hypnose, démontés et expliqués"

Hypothèse du magnétisme animal

Mesmer a affirmé que les êtres vivants ont un fluide invisible, magnétisme animal , qui permet le fonctionnement nerveux et dont le déséquilibre peut causer de nombreuses maladies; par conséquent, la méthode pour les guérir devrait consister en la manipulation du magnétisme.

Alors, mesmer il a commencé à utiliser des aimants dans le but de modifier la concentration de magnétisme animal dans les parties du corps touchées. Plus précisément, il pensait pouvoir transférer cette énergie de son corps, où elle abondait, à celle de ses patients. Plus tard, il a cessé d'utiliser des aimants et a développé des procédures thérapeutiques plus extravagantes.

Selon la thèse du mesmérisme, le fluide animal s'écoule spontanément à travers l'organisme des êtres vivants, mais sa circulation est bloquée. Mesmer a postulé que des personnes présentant des niveaux élevés de magnétisme animal, comme lui et ses disciples, pouvaient remédier aux maladies en provoquant une "crise".

L'hypothèse de Mesmer doit être encadrée dans le contexte dans lequel il a vécu. Au dix-huitième siècle, il n'était pas étonnant d'entendre parler de magnétisme ou d'un "fluide universel", car il existait encore des alchimistes qui avaient une telle conviction. Les thèses de Newton sur l'existence de l'éther étaient également populaires. , une substance avec des caractéristiques similaires.

  • Article connexe: "L'hypnose, cette grande inconnue"

Les techniques de mesmer

Mesmer était assis devant ses patients, leurs genoux se touchant, et il les regardait dans les yeux. Puis il se frotta les bras du patient avec ses mains et appuya ses doigts sur son ventre pendant un long moment. parfois cela provoqué des "crises" thérapeutiques, par exemple des convulsions . Enfin, il a joué un harmonica de verre.

Plus tard, après être devenu célèbre, Mesmer a commencé à appliquer ses traitements à de grands groupes de personnes - souvent des aristocrates qui recherchaient du divertissement plutôt que des médicaments.Dans ces cas, j'ai utilisé un conteneur avec des tiges de fer qui devaient toucher la partie du corps touchée de chaque personne.

Malgré ses méthodes bizarres, Mesmer réussit à guérir de nombreuses altérations d'origine psychologique, principalement en cas d'hystérie: bien que ses hypothèses soient erronées, ses procédures ont été efficaces grâce à l'auto-suggestion , mécanisme confirmé par la recherche scientifique.

Du mesmérisme à l'hypnose

Après la mort de Mesmer, les effets du mesmérisme seraient attribués au contrôle du comportement des patients. Cependant, Des médecins comme John Elliotson et James Eisdale ont eu recours aux méthodes de Mesme r traiter des troubles psychogènes ou anesthésier leurs patients; cette dernière utilisation est devenue sans objet avec l'apparition d'anesthésiques chimiques.

Le passage du magnétisme à l'hypnose est attribué à James Braid , un chirurgien écossais qui a inventé le terme "hypnotisme". Braid a affirmé que l'état d'hypnose dépendait de l'état physique et mental du patient et non d'un fluide magnétique abstrait; néanmoins, l'efficacité du mesmérisme dans certaines modifications semblait indéniable.

D'autre part, il y avait aussi ceux qui ont suivi la tradition du magnétisme, principalement pour soigner les maladies physiques. Entre le dix-huitième et le dix-neuvième siècle il y avait la profession du "magnétiseur" , les personnes qui ont utilisé des aimants ou des gestes similaires à ceux de Mesmer sur la base de leurs propositions pseudoscientifiques.

En raison de la faiblesse des hypothèses de Mesmer, les hypnotiseurs qui lui ont succédé ont été discrédités par la communauté scientifique. Dans une large mesure, cette position est maintenue à ce jour, malgré le fait que l'hypnose a été validé par la science comme outil de soutien thérapeutique .

Références bibliographiques:

  • Leahey, T.H. (2004). Histoire de la psychologie, 6ème édition. Madrid: Pearson Prentice Hall.
  • Pattie, F. (1994). Envoûteur et magnétisme animal. Hamilton: Edmonston Pub.

The Practice Of Induce Hypnosis - franz mesmer (Juillet 2021).


Articles Connexes