yes, therapy helps!
Friedreich's ataxia: symptoms, causes and treatment

Friedreich's ataxia: symptoms, causes and treatment

June 21, 2022

Diseases that affect the nervous system, causing the degeneration of the cells of this, are many and very varied in terms of the amount and severity of symptoms. Most are characterized by being highly disabling.

One of these pathologies with severe symptoms is Friedreich's ataxia, a rare neurological disease of rapid advance that can end the life of the person before reaching adulthood completely. Below we detail what this condition consists of, as well as its symptoms, causes and possible treatments.

  • Related article: "The 15 most frequent neurological disorders"

What is Friedreich's Ataxia?

Friedreich's Ataxia is a strange condition that was first described in the year 1860 by the German neurologist Nicholas Friedreich. This type of ataxia was documented as a hereditary neurodegenerative disease . Specifically, Friedreich's ataxia is transmitted by an autosomal recessive pattern, which causes gradual degeneration of the cerebellum and dorsal spinal ganglia in patients.


Also, the nervous tissue of the spinal cord is worn down, which gradually thinns and the myelin isolation of the nerve cells decreases, which interferes with the transmission of electrical impulses through the nerves.

This deterioration causes great damage to the muscles and heart of those who suffer it and, as a consequence, patients experience a large number of symptoms that usually end with a total loss of total autonomy. Therefore, in a relatively short period, the patient ends up needing the help of a wheelchair , as well as the care and attention of another person.

These symptoms tend to appear between 5 and 15 years of age. However, they can begin much earlier, when the person is still in early childhood, or much later already entering adulthood. Among them are a lack of sensitivity, alterations in the ability to coordinate movements, spinal problems , difficulties to swallow and to articulate sounds or immunodeficiency.


In addition, people with this type of ataxia are very likely to develop some type of cancer, as well as diabetes and cardiac changes which, in most cases, end with the life of the patient.

According to the latest estimates, the incidence of Friedreich's ataxia is approximately 1 in 50,000 people in the general population, and no higher prevalence has been detected in either sex .

  • Maybe you are interested: "Ataxia: causes, symptoms and treatments"

What symptoms does it present?

The first symptoms that can make one suspect that a person suffers from Friedreich's ataxia have to appear in the movement of the feet and eyes. Among the most common signs are the involuntary flexion of the toes or the rapid and involuntary movements of the eyeballs.


These alterations in the lower extremities cause great difficulties in coordinating the movements necessary to walk . These symptoms gradually worsen extending to the upper extremities and the trunk. Finally, the muscles weaken and atrophy, which leads to the development of a large number of malformations.

Because of abnormalities or heart problems that often accompany Friedreich's ataxia, such as myocarditis or myocardial fibrosis, patients tend to experience symptoms such as severe chest pains, suffocation and tachycardia, acceleration of palpitations or, even, heart failure.

Among the many symptoms typical of this type of ataxia are:

  • Alterations in the spine such as scoliosis or kyphoscoliosis.
  • Loss of reflexes in the lower extremities.
  • Walking clumsy and uncoordinated.
  • Loss of balance .
  • Muscular weakness.
  • Insensitivity to the vibration in the legs.
  • Vision problems .
  • Spasmodic movements of the eyeballs.
  • Hearing loss or decreased hearing ability.
  • Alterations in the ability to speak.

It is necessary to specify that the symptoms may vary from one person to another, both in quantity and intensity. However, in the usual progression of the disease, the person is forced to need a wheelchair between 15 and 20 years after the onset of the initial symptoms; being completely incapacitated as the later stages of ataxia develop.

What are the causes?

As mentioned at the beginning of the article, Friedreich's ataxia It is distinguished by being a hereditary disease which follows an autosomal recessive pattern . This means that for a person to inherit it, both parents must transmit a copy of the defective gene. Hence, its incidence is so low.

However, there are certain cases in which no family history of the disease could be detected; which indicates that genetic mutations can also occur spontaneously.

The specific gene in which the alteration occurs is the so-called "X25" gene or fraxatin . This genetic alteration causes the body of the affected person to generate abnormally high levels of iron in the heart tissue. This accumulation of iron causes the nervous system, the heart and the pancreas to be "oxidized" by the effect that free radicals cause in them.

On the other hand, motor neurons also suffer a high risk of being damaged by these highly reactive molecules, thus causing the degeneration characteristic of Friedreich's ataxia.

How can it be diagnosed?

Due to the complexity of the disease, as well as the severity of the symptoms, the diagnosis of Friedreich's ataxia it requires a thorough clinical evaluation . The diagnosis is based on the analysis of the medical history and a thorough physical examination for which the following tests can be performed:

  • Measurement of muscle cell activity with an electromyogram (EMG).
  • Electrocardiogram (ECG).
  • Study of nerve conduction .
  • Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and computerized axial tomography (CT) analysis of the brain and spinal cord.
  • Analysis of the cerebrospinal fluid.
  • Blood and urine tests
  • Genetic tests .

What is the treatment and prognosis?

As with many other neurodegenerative disorders, an effective treatment that ends Friedreich's ataxia has not yet been established. For the moment, the protocol of action is based on a symptomatic treatment that helps improve the quality of life of these patients.

As for the physical symptoms, the patient can be treated to reduce motor problems through physical therapy , as well as surgical interventions or orthopedic devices that decrease the progress of malformations in the spine and lower extremities.

In cases in which other conditions caused by ataxia appear, such as diabetes or heart problems, these will be treated through appropriate interventions or medications. Usually, these treatments they are also accompanied by psychotherapy and logopedic therapy .

As for the health prognosis for patients with Friedreich's ataxia, this is quite reserved, depending on the severity of the symptoms and the speed with which they advance, the life expectancy can be seriously affected.

In most cases, people die during the first stage of adulthood, especially if there are severe heart problems. However, in less severe cases patients can live longer.


Living with Ataxia (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Ataxie de Friedreich: symptômes, causes et traitement

Ataxie de Friedreich: symptômes, causes et traitement

Septembre 21, 2021

Les maladies qui affectent le système nerveux, provoquant la dégénérescence des cellules de celle-ci, sont nombreuses et très variées en termes de quantité et de gravité des symptômes. La plupart se caractérisent par une grande incapacité.

Une de ces pathologies avec des symptômes graves est L'ataxie de Friedreich, une maladie neurologique rare d'avance rapide qui peut mettre fin à la vie de la personne avant d'atteindre l'âge adulte complètement. Nous détaillons ci-dessous en quoi consiste cette affection, ainsi que ses symptômes, ses causes et ses traitements éventuels.

  • Article connexe: "Les 15 troubles neurologiques les plus fréquents"

Qu'est-ce que l'ataxie de Friedreich?

L'ataxie de Friedreich est une maladie étrange qui a été décrite pour la première fois en 1860 par le neurologue allemand Nicholas Friedreich. Ce type d’ataxie a été documenté comme étant une maladie neurodégénérative héréditaire . Plus précisément, l'ataxie de Friedreich est transmise par un schéma autosomique récessif, qui provoque une dégénérescence progressive du cervelet et des ganglions rachidiens dorsaux chez les patients.


En outre, le tissu nerveux de la moelle épinière est usé, ce qui amincit progressivement et l'isolement de la myéline des cellules nerveuses diminue, ce qui interfère avec la transmission des impulsions électriques à travers les nerfs.

Cette détérioration cause de gros dommages aux muscles et au cœur de ceux qui en souffrent et, par conséquent, les patients présentent un grand nombre de symptômes qui aboutissent généralement à une perte totale d'autonomie totale. Par conséquent, dans une période relativement courte, le patient finit par avoir besoin de l'aide d'un fauteuil roulant , ainsi que les soins et l'attention d'une autre personne.

Ces symptômes ont tendance à apparaître entre 5 et 15 ans. Cependant, ils peuvent commencer beaucoup plus tôt, quand la personne est encore dans la petite enfance, ou beaucoup plus tard, déjà dans l'âge adulte. Parmi eux se trouvent manque de sensibilité, altération de la capacité de coordination des mouvements, problèmes de colonne vertébrale , difficultés à avaler et à articuler des sons ou immunodéficience.


En outre, les personnes atteintes de ce type d'ataxie sont très susceptibles de développer un type de cancer, ainsi que le diabète et des troubles cardiaques, qui, dans la plupart des cas, se terminent avec la vie du patient.

Selon les dernières estimations, l'incidence de l'ataxie de Friedreich est d'environ 1 personne sur 50 000 dans la population en général, et aucune prévalence supérieure n'a été détectée chez les deux sexes .

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Ataxia: causes, symptômes et traitements"

Quels symptômes présente-t-il?

Les premiers symptômes pouvant laisser penser à une personne atteinte de l'ataxie de Friedreich doivent apparaître dans le mouvement des pieds et des yeux. Parmi les signes les plus courants figurent la flexion involontaire des orteils ou les mouvements rapides et involontaires des globes oculaires.


Ces altérations des membres inférieurs causer de grandes difficultés à coordonner les mouvements nécessaires pour marcher . Ces symptômes s'aggravent progressivement jusqu'aux extrémités supérieures et au tronc. Enfin, les muscles s'affaiblissent et s'atrophient, ce qui entraîne le développement d'un grand nombre de malformations.

En raison d'anomalies ou de problèmes cardiaques qui accompagnent souvent l'ataxie de Friedreich, telle qu'une myocardite ou une fibrose myocardique, les patients ont tendance à présenter des symptômes tels que douleurs thoraciques sévères, suffocation et tachycardie, accélération des palpitations ou même, insuffisance cardiaque.

Parmi les nombreux symptômes typiques de ce type d'ataxie figurent:

  • Altérations de la colonne vertébrale telles que la scoliose ou la cyphoscoliose.
  • Perte de réflexes dans les membres inférieurs.
  • Marcher maladroit et non coordonné.
  • Perte d'équilibre .
  • Faiblesse musculaire
  • Insensibilité à la vibration dans les jambes.
  • Problèmes de vision .
  • Mouvements spasmodiques des globes oculaires.
  • Perte d'audition ou diminution de la capacité auditive.
  • Altérations dans la capacité de parler.

Il est nécessaire de préciser que les symptômes peuvent varier d'une personne à l'autre, à la fois en quantité et en intensité. Cependant, au cours de la progression habituelle de la maladie, la personne est obligée d’avoir besoin d’un fauteuil roulant entre 15 et 20 ans après l’apparition des premiers symptômes; être complètement invalide à mesure que les derniers stades de l’ataxie se développent.

Quelles sont les causes?

Comme mentionné au début de l'article, l'ataxie de Friedreich Elle se distingue en étant une maladie héréditaire qui suit un schéma autosomique récessif . Cela signifie que pour qu'une personne puisse en hériter, les deux parents doivent transmettre une copie du gène défectueux. Par conséquent, son incidence est si faible.

Cependant, il existe certains cas dans lesquels aucun antécédent familial de la maladie n'a pu être détecté; ce qui indique que des mutations génétiques peuvent également se produire spontanément.

Le gène spécifique dans lequel l'altération se produit est le gène dit "X25" ou fraxatine . Cette altération génétique amène le corps de la personne affectée à générer des niveaux anormalement élevés de fer dans les tissus cardiaques. Cette accumulation de fer provoque "l'oxydation" du système nerveux, du cœur et du pancréas par l'effet que les radicaux libres provoquent en eux.

D'autre part, les motoneurones présentent également un risque élevé d'être endommagés par ces molécules hautement réactives, provoquant ainsi la dégénérescence caractéristique de l'ataxie de Friedreich.

Comment peut-il être diagnostiqué?

En raison de la complexité de la maladie et de la gravité des symptômes, le diagnostic de l'ataxie de Friedreich il nécessite une évaluation clinique approfondie . Le diagnostic repose sur l'analyse des antécédents médicaux et sur un examen physique approfondi pour lequel les tests suivants peuvent être effectués:

  • Mesure de l'activité des cellules musculaires avec un électromyogramme (EMG).
  • Électrocardiogramme (ECG).
  • Etude de la conduction nerveuse .
  • Imagerie par résonance magnétique (IRM) et tomographie axiale informatisée (CT) du cerveau et de la moelle épinière.
  • Analyse du liquide céphalo-rachidien.
  • Analyses de sang et d'urine
  • Tests génétiques .

Quel est le traitement et le pronostic?

Comme pour beaucoup d'autres troubles neurodégénératifs, un traitement efficace mettant fin à l'ataxie de Friedreich n'a pas encore été établi. Pour le moment, le protocole d'action repose sur un traitement symptomatique permettant d'améliorer la qualité de vie de ces patients.

En ce qui concerne les symptômes physiques, le patient peut être traité pour réduire les problèmes moteurs grâce à une thérapie physique , ainsi que des interventions chirurgicales ou des appareils orthopédiques qui diminuent la progression des malformations de la colonne vertébrale et des membres inférieurs.

Dans les cas où d'autres affections dues à l'ataxie apparaissent, telles que le diabète ou des problèmes cardiaques, elles seront traitées au moyen d'interventions ou de médicaments appropriés. Habituellement, ces traitements ils sont également accompagnés d'une psychothérapie et d'une thérapie logopédique .

Quant au pronostic médical des patients atteints d’ataxie de Friedreich, il est assez réservé, car l’espérance de vie peut être sérieusement affectée en fonction de la gravité des symptômes et de la vitesse à laquelle ils évoluent.

Dans la plupart des cas, les personnes meurent au cours de la première étape de l'âge adulte, en particulier en cas de problèmes cardiaques graves. Cependant, dans les cas moins graves, les patients peuvent vivre plus longtemps.


Cerebral palsy (CP) - causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment & pathology (Septembre 2021).


Articles Connexes