yes, therapy helps!
Friedrich Engels: biography of this revolutionary philosopher

Friedrich Engels: biography of this revolutionary philosopher

September 13, 2022

Friedrich Engels (1820-1895) was the German philosopher and politician who founded modern communism along with Karl Marx. Some authors consider that the key to understanding the thought of Friedrich Engels is precisely his biography, because it was his youthful development that marked a large part of his work.

Next we will do a brief review of the biography of Friedrich Engels , and we point out some of his works and main contributions to the philosophical, political and economic thought of the 20th century.

  • Related article: "The 5 differences between socialism and communism"

Friedrich Engels, biography of a revolutionary

Friedrich Engels was born on November 28, 1820. He was the oldest of eight siblings and belonged to a family that owns mills in Barmen, a northern part of Prussia that is now part of Germany, and had important industrial development at that time.


Son of textile manufacturer, Engels he soon became concerned about the general conditions of the manufacturing industries and about the situation of the working class . During his adulthood he worked in this sector, which inspired him to start writing some of his major works.

Although he had been educated in a Protestant family, Engels came closer to atheistic beliefs. The latter caused some conflicts with his parents and especially with his mother.

The same thing happened when he had to leave school and his father sent him to work as a clerk in a commercial house. Both his mother and his father expected him to develop a business career, just as they had. However Engels was already developing some activities that were considered revolutionary and inciting the collective organization , what disappointed his parents again.


In 1844 he met Karl Marx, in Paris, just before settling in England after some failures of the revolutions of the same decade. In fact, during his stay in England, Engels he worked for the textile industry where his father was a shareholder . The latter considered that perhaps if Engels worked in this industry, this would serve to appease the radical teachings he had received at school.

Engels he continued to work together with Marx many years later , even helped him finance the first volume of his main work: The Capital (Das Kapital), in 1867 and provided a livelihood, given that Marx had serious difficulties to live autonomously because of the beto imposed by large families with power over the economy and politics.

  • Related article: "Karl Marx: biography of this philosopher and sociologist"

Work and most important intellectual contributions

There are many debates about the relationship of Engels with the Hegelian philosophy of before 1850, as well as on his relationship with his capitalist working-class family. He even signed some of his works under the pseudonym of Friedrich Oswald, to avoid connecting his Protestant and business family with the provocativeness of his writings.


Among other things, Friedrich Engels contributed very important discussions on some notions about nationality, military and scientific affairs, industrial operations. And maybe two of its great Contributions to the Western philosophical tradition are historical materialism and dialectical materialism .

Engels also positioned himself against the institution of marriage because he considered it as something unnatural and unjust. This conviction maintained her despite her long relationship with Mary Burns, who also helped her to enter the working class of England.

Several of the observations and notes he made on the British working class provided key insights into the terrible working conditions they were going through. From there he also became involved with politicians and journalists with whom he shared radical thoughts for the time.

It was not until 1845, when he began to formulate, together with Marx, a materialist interpretation of history, in which he proposed the eventual consolidation of a communist society . The same spread it through different groups, mainly working class, within Germany, France and England.

Finally, the Communist Congress of London adopted several of his ideas, and authorized him to begin to outline the principles of communism. It was as well as the first part of the Communist Manifesto (The Manifest der kommunistischen Partei) was published on February 21, 1848. This text is mainly written by Marx, but includes many of Engels's definitions of communism.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 9 rules of democracy that Aristotle proposed"

Other key texts and important books of Engels

The first work published by Engels was not an academic text, but was a poem entitled The bedouin, which was included in the 1838 edition of Bremisches Conversationblastt.

His most popular work began in the 1840s, with The Holy Family (1844), which was a critique of "young Hegelians" , which was a very popular academic circle evidently influenced by the philosopher Georg Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel Hegel. He subsequently published The situation of the working class in England (1845), which contains several of the beginnings of socialism and its development, which is why it is considered one of the classic texts.

Later he published the work From utopian socialism to scientific socialism (1880), where he criticizes socialist utopias and offers an explanation about capitalism from the development and social and economic progression understood by historical materialism.

Finally, publish The origin of the family, private property and the state (1884), where capitalism contexts with the institution of the family. This work was developed in the stage that is considered a cusp in the intellectual development of Engels, and contains a powerful historical vision about the family in relation to the subject of class, gender and private property .

Bibliographic references:

  • Craver, T. (1990). Friedrich Engels: his life and thought. Macmillan: USA.
  • New World Encyclopedia. (2017). Friedrich Engels. Retrieved May 17, 2018. Available at //www.newworldencyclopedia.org/entry/Friedrich_Engels.

Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Friedrich Engels: biographie de ce philosophe révolutionnaire

Friedrich Engels: biographie de ce philosophe révolutionnaire

Septembre 12, 2022

Friedrich Engels (1820-1895) était le philosophe et homme politique allemand qui fonda le communisme moderne avec Karl Marx. Certains auteurs considèrent que la clé de la compréhension de la pensée de Friedrich Engels est précisément sa biographie, car c’est sa jeunesse qui a marqué une grande partie de son travail.

Ensuite nous ferons une brève revue de la biographie de Friedrich Engels Nous soulignons quelques-unes de ses œuvres et contributions principales à la pensée philosophique, politique et économique du XXe siècle.

  • Article connexe: "Les 5 différences entre le socialisme et le communisme"

Friedrich Engels, biographie d'un révolutionnaire

Friedrich Engels est né le 28 novembre 1820. Il était l'aîné de huit frères et sœurs et appartenait à une famille qui possédait des moulins à Barmen, une partie nord de la Prusse qui fait maintenant partie de l'Allemagne et qui avait un développement industriel important à cette époque.


Fils de fabricant de textile, Engels il s'inquiétait bientôt de la situation générale des industries manufacturières et de la situation de la classe ouvrière . À l'âge adulte, il a travaillé dans ce secteur, ce qui l'a incité à commencer à écrire certaines de ses œuvres majeures.

Bien qu'il ait été éduqué dans une famille protestante, Engels s'est rapproché de ses croyances athées. Ce dernier a provoqué des conflits avec ses parents et surtout avec sa mère.

La même chose s’est produite lorsqu’il a dû quitter l’école et que son père l’a envoyé travailler dans un commerce comme employé de bureau. Tant sa mère que son père s'attendaient à ce qu'il développe une carrière dans les affaires, exactement comme ils l'avaient fait. Cependant, Engels développait déjà quelques activités considérées comme révolutionnaires et incitant à l'organisation collective , ce qui a de nouveau déçu ses parents.


En 1844, il rencontra Karl Marx, à Paris, juste avant de s’installer en Angleterre après quelques échecs des révolutions de la même décennie. En fait, lors de son séjour en Angleterre, Engels il travaillait pour l'industrie textile où son père était actionnaire . Ce dernier a estimé que peut-être que si Engels travaillait dans cette industrie, cela servirait à apaiser les enseignements radicaux qu’il avait reçus à l’école.

Engels il a continué à travailler avec Marx de nombreuses années plus tard , l’a même aidé à financer le premier volume de son œuvre principale: The Capital (Das Kapital), en 1867 et lui a permis de gagner sa vie, sachant que Marx avait de sérieuses difficultés à vivre de manière autonome à cause du beto imposé par les grandes familles avec le pouvoir sur l'économie et la politique.

  • Article connexe: "Karl Marx: biographie de ce philosophe et sociologue"

Travail et contributions intellectuelles les plus importantes

Il y a beaucoup de débats sur la relation d'Engels avec la philosophie hégélienne d’avant 1850, ainsi que sur ses relations avec sa famille capitaliste de la classe ouvrière. Il a même signé certaines de ses œuvres sous le pseudonyme de Friedrich Oswald, afin d'éviter de lier sa famille protestante et sa grande famille d'affaires au caractère provocateur de ses écrits.


Friedrich Engels a entre autres contribué à des discussions très importantes sur des notions de nationalité, d'affaires militaires et scientifiques, d'opérations industrielles. Et peut-être deux de ses grands Les contributions à la tradition philosophique occidentale sont le matérialisme historique et le matérialisme dialectique .

Engels s'est également positionné contre l'institution du mariage parce qu'il la considérait comme quelque chose de non naturel et d'injuste. Cette conviction l'a maintenue malgré sa longue relation avec Mary Burns, qui l'a également aidée à entrer dans la classe ouvrière anglaise.

Plusieurs des observations et des notes qu'il a faites sur la classe ouvrière britannique ont fourni des informations essentielles sur les terribles conditions de travail qu'elles traversaient. À partir de là, il s'est également impliqué avec des hommes politiques et des journalistes avec lesquels il partageait des idées radicales à l'époque.

Ce n’est qu’en 1845, quand il commence à formuler, avec Marx, une interprétation matérialiste de l’histoire dans laquelle il propose la consolidation éventuelle d'une société communiste . La même chose s'est répandue à travers différents groupes, principalement de la classe ouvrière, en Allemagne, en France et en Angleterre.

Enfin, le Congrès communiste de Londres a adopté plusieurs de ses idées et l’a autorisé à commencer à définir les principes du communisme. C'était aussi bien que la première partie de la Manifeste Communiste (Le Manifeste der Kommunistischen Partei) a été publié le 21 février 1848. Ce texte est principalement écrit par Marx, mais comprend de nombreuses définitions d'Engels du communisme.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 9 règles de la démocratie proposées par Aristote"

Autres textes clés et livres importants d'Engels

Le premier ouvrage publié par Engels n’était pas un texte académique, mais un poème intitulé Le bédouin, qui a été inclus dans l'édition de 1838 de Bremisches Conversationblastt.

Son travail le plus populaire a commencé dans les années 1840, avec La Sainte Famille (1844), qui était une critique des "jeunes hégéliens" , qui était un cercle académique très populaire manifestement influencé par le philosophe Georg Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel Hegel. Il a ensuite publié La situation de la classe ouvrière en Angleterre (1845), qui contient plusieurs des débuts du socialisme et de son développement, raison pour laquelle il est considéré comme l'un des textes classiques.

Plus tard, il a publié le travail Du socialisme utopique au socialisme scientifique (1880), où il critique les utopies socialistes et offre une explication sur le capitalisme du développement et de la progression sociale et économique comprise par le matérialisme historique.

Enfin, publier L'origine de la famille, de la propriété privée et de l'état (1884), où le capitalisme se situe dans l'institution de la famille. Ce travail a été développé au stade considéré comme un point culminant du développement intellectuel d’Engels, et contient une vision historique puissante de la famille en relation avec le sujet de la classe, du genre et de la propriété privée .

Références bibliographiques:

  • Craver, T. (1990). Friedrich Engels: sa vie et sa pensée. Macmillan: États-Unis.
  • Encyclopédie du Nouveau Monde. (2017). Friedrich Engels. Extrait le 17 mai 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.newworldencyclopedia.org/entry/Friedrich_Engels.

Friedrich Engels Biography (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes