yes, therapy helps!
Frontotemporal dementia: causes, symptoms and treatment

Frontotemporal dementia: causes, symptoms and treatment

August 7, 2022

Over the years people's brains are susceptible to suffer some type of condition or disorder that affects a large number of abilities such as lucidity and ability to speak or moods.

One of these conditions is frontotemporal dementia . It is a disease of genetic basis on which we will talk throughout this article, explaining its symptoms, causes, how it is diagnosed and what is its treatment.

  • Related article: "Are there several types of depression?"

What is frontotemporal dementia?

Frontotemporal dementia (FTD) is a clinical condition caused by a deterioration of the frontal lobe of the brain . This deterioration can expand, also affecting the temporal lobe. Frontotemporal dementia is also the most common type of dementia after Alzheimer's.


Within the category of frontotemporal dementia we find a number of progressive dementias, which are manifested through alterations of personality, behavior and oral language of the person .

The diseases related to this type of dementia are:

  • Pick's disease
  • The deterioration of the frontotemporal lobe.
  • Progressive aphasia .
  • Semantic dementia
  • Corticobasal deterioration.

The main difference between frontotemporal dementia and other types of dementia is that in this first the memory is not affected until the disease is at a very advanced stage .


In addition, this dementia is also distinguished in appearing in people of not so advanced age as the rest of diseases. It usually appears in people between 40 and 60 years old; although this is likely to appear at any age.

What symptomatology does it present?

Within the symptomatology of frontotemporal dementia there are two major groups: alterations in personality and impairment of the ability to communicate orally . As mentioned earlier in this dementia, memory is not affected early.

Alterations of the personality

The deterioration of the frontal and right brain area causes that the judgment, the personality and the capacity to carry out complex tasks are seriously compromised in these patients.

People with prefrontal dementia can carry out negative behaviors such as inappropriate behavior in public places, disinhibition, aggressiveness or showing apathy . Likewise, social skills can also be affected, causing the person to lose empathy, discretion or diplomacy when engaging in a conversation.


On many occasions, these patients are affected their ability to solve problems and decision making; affecting your daily tasks in a very serious way.

When this symptomatology is very obvious or of considerable magnitude can be confused with depression or with a psychotic disorder such as schizophrenia or bipolar disorder.

Alterations in speech

As discussed above, pre-frontal dementia can interfere with the person's ability to use and understand oral language. When these symptoms manifest we can speak of semantic dementia or primary progressive aphasia, depending on the combination of symptoms they present.

In the semantic dementia are both temporal lobes that are affected, harming the ability to recognize and understand words, faces and meanings . Meanwhile, in primary progressive aphasia it is the left part of the brain that experiences deterioration, thus interfering in the ability to articulate words, as well as to find and use the correct word at the moment of speaking.

What are the causes of the DFT?

Although the causes of this dementia are still not known, about 50% of the population suffering from frontotemporal dementia has a history of dementia or some other type of dementia in their family clinical history; so it is hypothesized that this has an important genetic component.

There are a series of mutations that have been related to frontotemporal dementia. This mutation occurs in the TAU gene and in the proteins that this gene helps generate . The accumulation of these defective proteins forms the so-called Pick bodies, which interfere with the work of brain cells in a similar way to the plaques that appear in Alzheimer's disease.

However, in frontotemporal dementia the main affected areas are the frontal and temporal lobes, responsible for reason, speech and behavior.

How is your diagnosis made?

It is common that frontotemporal dementia does not show significant symptoms during the early stages of the disease, so this it tends to go unnoticed, in many cases for more than three years before its diagnosis , until some significant alteration in the behavior induces the family to think that something strange is happening to the patient. That's when most diagnoses of the disease are made.

Following established by the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-IV), the guidelines for the evaluation of frontotemporal dementia are essentially clinical. These should include a record of behavioral changes and an examination of language alterations . In addition, a series of neuroimaging and neuropsychological tests will be carried out.

With the structural analysis performed by magnetic resonance tests, we intend to find signs of atrophy in the frontal lobes characteristic of the first stages of the disease.

To rule out the possibility that it is Alzheimer's disease it is necessary to perform a positron emission tomography , which should show an increase in frontal and / or temporal metabolism to be considered frontotemporal dementia.

Which is the treatment?

As in other dementias, a remedy for this type of condition has not yet been found. However, there are a number of Medications to alleviate the effect of frontotemporal dementia symptoms , as well as to try to stop its advance.

Usually, the medical staff relies on the patient's needs when choosing the most effective medication. The pharmacological treatments of choice in these cases include:

  • Cholinesterase inhibitors .
  • NMDA receptor antagonists.
  • Antipsychotic medication .
  • Medication for symptoms related to anxiety and depression.
  • Dietary supplements.

Pharmacological treatment, together with psychosocial support and assistance in carrying out daily tasks they are essential so that the patient can enjoy an optimal quality of life. Usually, the average life expectancy given to these patients is about 8 years from the time of diagnosis.


Frontotemporal Dementia (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Démence frontotemporale: causes, symptômes et traitement

Démence frontotemporale: causes, symptômes et traitement

Juin 18, 2022

Au fil des années, le cerveau des personnes est susceptible de souffrir d'un certain type d'affection ou de trouble qui affecte un grand nombre de capacités telles que la lucidité et la capacité de parler ou les humeurs.

Une de ces conditions est la démence frontotemporale . C’est une maladie à base génétique sur laquelle nous allons parler tout au long de cet article, en expliquant ses symptômes, ses causes, son diagnostic et son traitement.

  • Article connexe: "Existe-t-il plusieurs types de dépression?"

Qu'est-ce que la démence frontotemporale?

La démence frontotemporale (FTD) est une affection clinique causée par une détérioration du lobe frontal du cerveau. . Cette détérioration peut s'étendre, affectant également le lobe temporal. La démence frontotemporale est également le type de démence le plus courant après la maladie d'Alzheimer.


Dans la catégorie des démences frontotemporales, on trouve un certain nombre de démences progressives, qui se manifestent par altérations de la personnalité, du comportement et du langage oral de la personne .

Les maladies liées à ce type de démence sont:

  • Maladie de Pick
  • La détérioration du lobe fronto-temporal.
  • Aphasie progressive .
  • Démence sémantique
  • Détérioration corticobasale.

La principale différence entre la démence frontotemporale et d’autres types de démence est que, dans cette première la mémoire n'est pas affectée jusqu'à ce que la maladie soit à un stade très avancé .


En outre, cette démence se distingue également par son apparition chez les personnes d’un âge moins avancé que le reste des maladies. Il apparaît généralement chez les personnes âgées de 40 à 60 ans; bien que cela puisse apparaître à tout âge.

Quelle symptomatologie présente-t-il?

Dans la symptomatologie de la démence frontotemporale, il existe deux groupes principaux: altérations de la personnalité et altération de la capacité de communiquer oralement . Comme mentionné précédemment dans cette démence, la mémoire n'est pas affectée tôt.

Altérations de la personnalité

La détérioration de la zone frontale et droite du cerveau fait que le jugement, la personnalité et la capacité d'effectuer des tâches complexes sont gravement compromis chez ces patients.

Les personnes atteintes de démence préfrontale peuvent adopter des comportements négatifs tels que comportement inapproprié dans les lieux publics, désinhibition, agressivité ou apathie . De même, les compétences sociales peuvent également être affectées, entraînant une perte d'empathie, de discrétion ou de diplomatie lors d'une conversation.


À plusieurs reprises, ces patients sont affectés par leur capacité à résoudre des problèmes et à prendre des décisions; affectant vos tâches quotidiennes d'une manière très sérieuse.

Lorsque cette symptomatologie est très évidente ou d'une ampleur considérable peut être confondu avec la dépression ou avec un trouble psychotique comme la schizophrénie ou le trouble bipolaire.

Altérations de la parole

Comme indiqué ci-dessus, la démence pré-frontale peut nuire à la capacité de la personne d'utiliser et de comprendre le langage oral. Lorsque ces symptômes se manifestent, on peut parler de démence sémantique ou d’aphasie progressive primaire, en fonction de la combinaison des symptômes qu’ils présentent.

Dans la démence sémantique sont les deux lobes temporaux qui sont touchés, nuire à la capacité de reconnaître et de comprendre les mots, les visages et les significations . Pendant ce temps, dans l'aphasie progressive primaire, c'est la partie gauche du cerveau qui subit une détérioration, ce qui interfère dans la capacité à articuler des mots, ainsi qu'à trouver et utiliser le mot correct au moment de parler.

Quelles sont les causes de la TFD?

Bien que les causes de cette démence ne soient toujours pas connues, environ 50% de la population souffrant de démence frontotemporale a des antécédents de démence ou un autre type de démence dans leurs antécédents cliniques familiaux; il est donc supposé que cela a une composante génétique importante.

Il existe une série de mutations liées à la démence frontotemporale. Cette mutation se produit dans le gène TAU et dans les protéines que ce gène contribue à générer. . L'accumulation de ces protéines défectueuses forme ce que l'on appelle les corps de sélection, qui interfèrent avec le travail des cellules cérébrales de la même manière que les plaques qui apparaissent dans la maladie d'Alzheimer.

Cependant, dans la démence frontotemporale, les principales zones touchées sont les lobes frontal et temporal, responsables de la raison, de la parole et du comportement.

Comment votre diagnostic est-il posé?

Il est courant que la démence frontotemporale ne présente pas de symptômes significatifs au cours des premiers stades de la maladie. il a tendance à passer inaperçu, souvent plus de trois ans avant le diagnostic , jusqu’à ce qu’une modification importante du comportement incite la famille à penser qu’il se passe quelque chose d’étrange au patient. C'est à ce moment que la plupart des diagnostics de la maladie sont établis.

Après avoir été établies par le Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux (DSM-IV), les directives pour l’évaluation de la démence fronto-temporale sont essentiellement cliniques. Ceux-ci devraient inclure un enregistrement des changements de comportement et un examen des modifications de la langue . En outre, une série de tests de neuroimagerie et neuropsychologiques sera réalisée.

Avec l'analyse structurale réalisée par des tests de résonance magnétique, nous avons l'intention de rechercher des signes d'atrophie des lobes frontaux caractéristiques des premiers stades de la maladie.

Pour exclure la possibilité que ce soit la maladie d'Alzheimer il est nécessaire d'effectuer une tomographie par émission de positrons , qui devrait montrer une augmentation du métabolisme frontal et / ou temporal pour être considéré comme une démence fronto-temporale.

Quel est le traitement?

Comme dans d'autres démences, aucun remède à ce type de maladie n'a encore été trouvé. Cependant, il existe un certain nombre de Médicaments pour atténuer les effets des symptômes de la démence frontotemporale , ainsi que d'essayer d'arrêter son avance.

Habituellement, le personnel médical se fie aux besoins du patient pour choisir le médicament le plus efficace. Les traitements pharmacologiques de choix dans ces cas incluent:

  • Inhibiteurs de la cholinestérase .
  • Antagonistes du récepteur NMDA.
  • Médicament antipsychotique .
  • Médicaments contre les symptômes liés à l'anxiété et à la dépression.
  • Compléments alimentaires

Traitement pharmacologique, accompagné d'un soutien psychosocial et d'une assistance dans l'exécution des tâches quotidiennes ils sont essentiels pour que le patient puisse jouir d’une qualité de vie optimale. En général, l'espérance de vie moyenne donnée à ces patients est d'environ 8 ans à partir du moment du diagnostic.


Démence : Les symptômes - Conseils Retraite Plus (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes