yes, therapy helps!
Frustration intolerance: 5 tricks and strategies to combat it

Frustration intolerance: 5 tricks and strategies to combat it

June 20, 2024

At some point in our lives, we have all set ourselves a challenge. We have worked very hard, we have decided to postpone other plans to have more time and to give that subject all our dedication for the end, we do not reach our goals .

It could not be, we have lost, we have failed. This feeling of failure or even of anxiety it can be for some people a simple blip and for others, according to their point of view, one more defeat to add to the list .

If you identify with the second option I suggest some exercises and tricks that you can practice to improve your frustration intolerance .


Daily frustration: beginning to accept the situation

We can not deny that, c When we feel frustration, the emotions and thoughts that are generated are very intense . The malaise exists and we feel it as something real, even if they tell us that it is only an illusion or that we maintain an exaggerated attitude, or that we look for perfectionism and we seem obsessive ...

The feeling of frustration is not pleasant, but neither unbearable. With the determination that comes from this idea we must change our attitude and our internal dialogue to verify for ourselves that these small "failures" can help us to strengthen and empower ourselves. A) Yes, the result will always be a better feeling of wellbeing .


Therefore, before starting to manage the feelings related to frustration we must recognize and accept that although it seems obvious, the world does not revolve around what we want, and therefore, it is necessary to assume that we are not going to get everything we want . The best we can do is to think that long-term rewards tend to be more rewarding than those that are short-term, and that is why we should moderate the desire for immediacy and discover that we are often satisfied with less just because of that impatience.

Some ideas to manage frustration

The most important thing in a situation that generates frustration is:

  • Do not get carried away by the intense emotions of that moment (frustration, sadness, anger, anger, anger ...).
  • Give us a few moments of pause it will allow us to reflect and analyze the situation, so that we can look for alternatives to achieve our objective. In addition, we will recover a more calm and stable emotional state.

Having understood all the above ideas, we can implement different techniques that help increase tolerance to frustration and the ability to cope with situations in which our expectations are not met. I propose five very useful and with good results. Ahead!


Tricks to improve tolerance to frustration

The objectives we seek when using these techniques are to be aware of what we feel, identify the main emotion, what kind of thoughts overwhelm us and, finally, enter a dynamic in which we can analyze our reactions.

1. Key phrase

It's about using a meaningful self-disclosure what It will help us to abandon thoughts that lead to unhelpful actions and negative moods s , to replace them with others that lead us to face the situation. Using this kind of "reminders", we focus our attention on the solution of the problem and not on the discomfort.

Search in your experiences those phrases that have helped you to positivize negative situations, copy them on paper and remember them in times of crisis.

2. Give yourself time

Consists in avoid analysis or reflection until emotional cooling has occurred .

How can we do it? We can start doing pleasant or pleasant activities and practice them when we feel bad and ophoos. It is not a flight, it is a stop on time, a break for later, to respond to the demands of the moment in a more adaptive way without frustration limiting us.

3. Technique of the 5 alternatives

Many times, we continue to choose to achieve our initial objective, although an apparent failure seems to block our path . Find five alternatives to achieve a goal, value all its advantages and disadvantages. There is no ideal solution, so we will look for the one that has more advantages or the one that supposes more bearable disadvantages.

4. Telephone technique

Analyze the situation, identify the inappropriate behavior, specify what things have been done well and think of alternative behavior that includes the positive aspects of past mismatched behavior . Little by little and successively, you will arrive at an alternative of "optimal" action, since with each change the mistakes made are refined.

5. Zig-zag technique

It can help us to improve our patience and to learn to be constant.People intolerant to frustration present dichotomous thoughts (all or nothing, good or bad white or black, perfect or useless). This technique pretends that the person understands that there are ups and downs in all situations .

The goal is to facilitate the ends, dividing the goals into sub-goals, and taking into account that sometimes you have to make setbacks (zag) to keep moving forward (zig) towards the final goal. In this way, achievements are achieved in zigzag the setbacks being seen as opportunities to analyze the situation and reassess the objective. The important thing is that when experiencing a setback we should not feel hopeless, but keep calm, patience and perseverance to continue approaching your goal without letting frustration be a hindrance.

Some final tips

  • Distinguish between wants and needs , since some need to be satisfied immediately and others can wait. It is not necessary that we become whimsical people.
  • Control impulses and assess the consequences of our actions. For this, nothing better than knowing some emotional control techniques.
  • Be aware that, many times, the pain or the feeling of failure has a lot of imagination . We must learn to relativize failures and successes, and notice that our reality is built much more slowly than we would like them.
  • Control the environment, avoid things, people or situations that can frustrate us , to the extent possible

One last reflection

When we are children we learn to tolerate many situations that we do not like, we hear the "no" from our parents and teachers daily and little by little we develop our own tools to fight frustration and know how to manage anger and impotence. We are getting older and, sometimes, Being ourselves who put ourselves the goals and pressure, we lose perspective and as a consequence the good management of the situation .

But this can be remedied, just as in our adult life we ​​endure without knowing many things that would totally frustrate us with seven or eight years. Let's do it!


Anger Management Techniques (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Intolérance à la frustration: 5 astuces et stratégies pour la combattre

Intolérance à la frustration: 5 astuces et stratégies pour la combattre

Septembre 18, 2019

À un moment donné de notre vie, nous nous sommes tous lancé un défi. Nous avons travaillé très dur, nous avons décidé de reporter d'autres projets pour avoir plus de temps et de consacrer tout notre temps à ce sujet. pour finir, nous n'atteignons pas nos objectifs .

Cela ne pouvait pas être, nous avons perdu, nous avons échoué. Ce sentiment d'échec ou même de anxiété cela peut être pour certaines personnes un simple soubresaut et pour d'autres, selon leur point de vue, une défaite supplémentaire à ajouter à la liste .

Si vous vous identifiez à la deuxième option, je vous suggère quelques exercices et astuces que vous pouvez pratiquer pour améliorer votre intolérance à la frustration .


Frustration quotidienne: commencer à accepter la situation

Nous ne pouvons pas nier cela, c Lorsque nous ressentons de la frustration, les émotions et les pensées générées sont très intenses. . Le malaise existe et nous le sentons comme une réalité, même s’ils nous disent que ce n’est qu’une illusion ou que nous maintenons une attitude exagérée, ou que nous recherchons le perfectionnisme et que nous semblons obsédés ...

Le sentiment de frustration n’est pas agréable, mais n’est pas insupportable. Avec la détermination qui découle de cette idée, nous devons changer notre attitude et notre dialogue interne pour vérifier par nous-mêmes que ces petits "échecs" peuvent nous aider à nous renforcer et à nous responsabiliser. Ainsi, le résultat sera toujours une meilleure sensation de bien-être .


Par conséquent, avant de commencer à gérer les sentiments liés à la frustration, nous devons reconnaître et accepter que même si cela semble évident, le monde ne tourne pas autour de ce que nous voulons, et par conséquent, il faut supposer que nous n'allons pas obtenir tout ce que nous voulons . Le mieux que nous puissions faire est de penser que les récompenses à long terme tendent à être plus gratifiantes que celles à court terme, et c’est pourquoi nous devrions modérer le désir d’immédiateté et découvrir que nous sommes souvent satisfaits de moins que de cette impatience.

Quelques idées pour gérer la frustration

La chose la plus importante dans une situation génératrice de frustration est:

  • Ne vous laissez pas emporter par les émotions intenses de ce moment (frustration, tristesse, colère, colère, colère ...).
  • Donnez-nous quelques instants de pause cela nous permettra de réfléchir et d’analyser la situation, de manière à pouvoir rechercher des alternatives pour atteindre notre objectif. De plus, nous retrouverons un état émotionnel plus calme et stable.

Après avoir compris toutes les idées ci-dessus, nous pouvons mettre en œuvre différentes techniques qui contribuent à accroître la tolérance à la frustration et la capacité de faire face à des situations dans lesquelles nos attentes ne sont pas satisfaites. Je propose cinq très utiles et avec de bons résultats. Avant!


Trucs pour améliorer la tolérance à la frustration

Les objectifs que nous recherchons lorsque nous utilisons ces techniques sont de prendre conscience de ce que nous ressentons, d'identifier l'émotion principale, le type de pensées qui nous submergent et, enfin, d'entrer dans une dynamique dans laquelle nous pouvons analyser nos réactions.

1. Phrase clé

Il s'agit d'utiliser un révélation de soi significative Quoi Cela nous aidera à abandonner les pensées qui mènent à des actions inutiles et à des humeurs négatives s , pour les remplacer par d'autres qui nous amènent à faire face à la situation. En utilisant ce type de "rappels", nous concentrons notre attention sur la solution du problème et non sur l’inconfort.

Cherchez dans vos expériences les phrases qui vous ont aidé à positiver des situations négatives, copiez-les sur papier et gardez-les en mémoire en temps de crise.

2. Donnez-vous du temps

Consiste en éviter l'analyse ou la réflexion jusqu'à ce que le refroidissement émotionnel se soit produit .

Comment pouvons-nous le faire? Nous pouvons commencer à faire des activités agréables ou agréables et les pratiquer lorsque nous nous sentons mal et ophoos. Ce n'est pas un vol, c'est un arrêt à l'heure, une pause pour plus tard, pour répondre aux demandes du moment d'une manière plus adaptative sans frustration qui nous limite.

3. Technique des 5 alternatives

Beaucoup de fois, nous continuons à choisir d'atteindre notre objectif initial, même si un échec apparent semble bloquer notre voie . Trouvez cinq alternatives pour atteindre un objectif, valorisez tous ses avantages et inconvénients. Il n’existe pas de solution idéale. Nous rechercherons donc celle qui présente le plus d’avantages ou celle qui suppose des inconvénients plus supportables.

4. Technique téléphonique

Analyser la situation, identifier le comportement inapproprié, spécifier ce qui a été bien fait et penser à un comportement alternatif qui inclut les aspects positifs d'un comportement antérieur inadéquat . Peu à peu et successivement, vous arriverez à une alternative d'action "optimale", car à chaque changement, les erreurs commises seront affinées.

5. Technique en zigzag

Cela peut nous aider à améliorer notre patience et à apprendre à être constants.Personnes intolérantes à la frustration présente pensées dichotomiques (tout ou rien, bon ou mauvais blanc ou noir, parfait ou inutile). Cette technique prétend que la personne comprend qu'il y a des hauts et des bas dans toutes les situations .

L'objectif est de faciliter les fins, en divisant les objectifs en sous-objectifs et en tenant compte du fait que parfois, vous devez faire des revers (zag) pour continuer à avancer (zig) vers l'objectif final. De cette manière, les réalisations sont réalisées en zigzag les échecs étant perçus comme des occasions d'analyser la situation et de réévaluer l'objectif. L'important est que, lors d'un revers, nous ne devrions pas nous sentir désespérés, mais restons calmes, patients et persévérants pour continuer à nous rapprocher de votre objectif sans laisser la frustration être un obstacle.

Quelques derniers conseils

  • Distinguer entre les désirs et les besoins , car certains doivent être satisfaits immédiatement et d’autres peuvent attendre. Il n'est pas nécessaire que nous devenions des gens fantasques.
  • Contrôler les impulsions et évaluer les conséquences de nos actions. Pour cela, rien de mieux que de connaître certaines techniques de contrôle émotionnel.
  • Sachez que, souvent, la douleur ou le sentiment d'échec a beaucoup d'imagination . Nous devons apprendre à relativiser les échecs et les succès et constater que notre réalité se construit beaucoup plus lentement que nous le voudrions.
  • Contrôler l'environnement, éviter les choses, les personnes ou les situations pouvant nous frustrer , dans la mesure du possible

Une dernière réflexion

Quand nous sommes enfants, nous apprenons à tolérer de nombreuses situations que nous n'aimons pas, nous entendons quotidiennement le "non" de nos parents et de nos enseignants et nous développons peu à peu nos propres outils pour combattre la frustration et savoir comment gérer la colère et l'impuissance. Nous vieillissons et, parfois, Étant nous-mêmes qui avons mis les objectifs et la pression, nous perdons la perspective et par conséquent la bonne gestion de la situation .

Mais on peut y remédier, tout comme dans notre vie d'adulte, nous subissons sans savoir beaucoup de choses qui nous frustreraient totalement avec sept ou huit ans. Allons-y!


Comment aider votre enfant à tolérer la frustration (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes