yes, therapy helps!
G. Stanley Hall: biography and theory of the founder of the APA

G. Stanley Hall: biography and theory of the founder of the APA

May 6, 2024

The psychologist and educator Granville Stanley Hall (1846-1924) was one of the pioneers of psychology in the United States, which would become the nucleus of this science in later decades. He not only trained several renowned psychologists, but also he founded laboratories, journals and the American Psychological Association .

While the theories and views of Stanley Hall have not resisted the progress of the discipline, this author was instrumental in the establishment of scientific psychology as we know it today, especially in the field of youth development. Let's see what their main contributions were.

  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

Biography of Granville Stanley Hall

Granville Stanley Hall was born in Ashfield, Massachusetts in 1846. He studied at Harvard University with William James in the first course of Psychology in the United States, and was the first American to obtain a PhD in this discipline.


He lived in Germany for a while, where he studied at the University of Berlin and collaborated with Wilhelm Wundt in his laboratory in Leipzig. Later he returned to his native country, where he taught Philosophy and English Language until he was hired as a professor of Psychology and Pedagogy at Johns Hopkins University.

In 1883 he founded the first laboratory of Psychology in the United States, in 1887 he created the American Journal of Psychology and also had a key influence in the creation of the American Psychological Association, of which he was president for 31 years. He was also the first president of Clark University, founded in 1889.

During his long and prolific career Hall focused on development throughout the life cycle , especially in the early stages, and in the education of young people. He was also interested in the theory of evolution and the psychological explanation of supernatural beliefs, including religion and spiritualism.


The theory of recapitulation

At the conceptual level, Stanley Hall's best-known contribution is his theory of recapitulation, which states that the ontogenetic development recalls the phylogenetic . This means that the changes that people experience throughout the life cycle are equivalent to those that occurred with the evolution of our species.

According to this author, during the first years of life humans differ little from other animals, but upon reaching adulthood (and with the help of education) we reach all the cognitive potential of the species, mainly related to the ability to reason properly .

Stanley Hall described different characteristics of the development in the early stages of life , who were the ones who focused their interest, although towards the end of his life he also theorized about old age.


  • Related article: "The 9 stages of the life of human beings"

1. Early childhood

In the first stage of life, approximately until 6 or 7 years, children perceive the world above all through the senses; the reasoning is still very immature, and the influence of socialization is very limited.

Stanley Hall considered that in this period people we are very similar to animals , specifically to the apes, which he saw as ancestors of human beings. In early childhood children have a lot of energy and their body develops very quickly.

This phase, then, would be characterized by the little that is processed by the information that arrives on the world, taking those data "as they come". That is, there would be an absence of abstract thinking.

2. Second childhood

By age 8, children's brains are practically the same size as adults' brains; is at this age when must begin formal education , according to Stanley Hall. However, he felt that primary and secondary education should be a preparation for life in society instead of focusing on traditional subjects such as mathematics.

This author affirmed that the incomplete development of reasoning makes preadolescents amoral and have a tendency to cruelty. The role of adults in this period should focus on taking care of the physical health of the child, rather than trying to develop a moral conscience or acquire skills and knowledge.

3. Adolescence

Like Freud, Stanley Hall was one of the first psychologists to defend that in adolescence Sexuality becomes a central aspect of life . Because of this, he promoted the education separated by sexes to favor the learning of morality and of the tools for life in society, possible now by the maturation of reasoning.

This was one of those situations in which psychology was mixed with the political, and of course, many criticisms arose due to the poor foundation of the ideas arising from psychoanalysis and the educational consequences of establishing a separation of these characteristics.

The legacy of Stanley Hall

G. Stanley Hall was decisive for the foundation of psychology as a science and as a profession , as well as for the emergence of developmental psychology. His views and, above all, his promotion of the study in this field influenced authors such as Jean Piaget, who elaborated one of the most relevant theories about developmental stages.

During his long period as a teacher, Stanley Hall taught and mentored many psychologists and philosophers who would have a major importance in the progress of psychology, very remarkable during the following decades. Among them are James McKeen Cattell, Lewis M. Terman, John Dewey, Henry Goddard and Arnold Gesell.

On the other hand Stanley Hall was also key in the arrival of psychoanalysis, orientation with which he shared different points of view, to the United States. In 1909 invited Sigmund Freud and Carl Jung to Clark University , where they gave a series of lectures that had a great influence on American psychology, despite the refusal of many experts to the unscientific methods of psychoanalysts.

In addition to the American Journal of Psychology, Stanley Hall founded three other journals, of which he was also editor: Pedagogical Seminary, American Journal of Religious Psychology and Education and Journal of Race Development. Regarding the latter, it should be noted that Stanley Hall defended the eugenic perspectives and the superiority of the white race.

Granville Stanley Hall is remembered above all for his role in the founding of the American Psychological Association and his long term as president, a role he fulfilled since the founding of the APA in 1892 until his death in 1924. Currently this organization constitutes the largest community of psychologists and influential of the world.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Sigmund Freud: life and work of the famous psychoanalyst"

John Dewey: Biography, Education, Quotes, Theory, Beliefs, College, Facts, Ideas (2003) (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
G. Stanley Hall: biographie et théorie du fondateur de l'APA

G. Stanley Hall: biographie et théorie du fondateur de l'APA

Octobre 13, 2019

Le psychologue et éducateur Granville Stanley Hall (1846-1924) est l’un des pionniers de la psychologie aux États-Unis, qui deviendra le noyau de cette science au cours des décennies à venir. Il a non seulement formé plusieurs psychologues renommés, mais aussi il a fondé des laboratoires, des revues et l'American Psychological Association .

Bien que les théories et les opinions de Stanley Hall n’aient pas résisté aux progrès de la discipline, cet auteur a joué un rôle déterminant dans l’instauration de la psychologie scientifique telle que nous la connaissons aujourd’hui, en particulier dans le domaine du développement de la jeunesse. Voyons quelles ont été leurs principales contributions.

  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Biographie de Granville Stanley Hall

Granville Stanley Hall est né à Ashfield, dans le Massachusetts en 1846. Il a étudié à Harvard University avec William James premier cours de psychologie aux États-Unis et a été le premier Américain à obtenir un doctorat dans cette discipline.


Il a vécu quelque temps en Allemagne, où il a étudié à l'Université de Berlin et a collaboré avec Wilhelm Wundt dans son laboratoire à Leipzig. Plus tard, il est retourné dans son pays d'origine, où il a enseigné la philosophie et la langue anglaise jusqu'à son embauche en tant que professeur de psychologie et de pédagogie à l'Université Johns Hopkins.

En 1883, il fonda le premier laboratoire de psychologie aux États-Unis, en 1887, il créa l'American Journal of Psychology Il a également eu une influence déterminante sur la création de l’American Psychological Association, dont il est président pendant 31 ans. Il fut également le premier président de la Clark University, fondée en 1889.

Au cours de sa longue et prolifique carrière Hall axé sur le développement tout au long du cycle de vie , en particulier dans les premiers stades et dans l'éducation des jeunes. Il s'intéressait également à la théorie de l'évolution et à l'explication psychologique des croyances surnaturelles, y compris la religion et le spiritualisme.


La théorie de la récapitulation

Au niveau conceptuel, la contribution la plus connue de Stanley Hall est sa théorie de la récapitulation, qui stipule que le développement ontogénétique rappelle le phylogénétique . Cela signifie que les changements que les gens subissent au cours de leur cycle de vie sont équivalents à ceux de l’évolution de notre espèce.

Selon cet auteur, au cours des premières années de vie, les humains diffèrent peu des autres animaux, mais une fois parvenus à l'âge adulte (et avec l'aide de l'éducation), nous atteignons tout le potentiel cognitif de l'espèce, principalement lié à la capacité de raisonner correctement. .

Stanley Hall a décrit différentes caractéristiques du développement dans les premiers stades de la vie , qui sont ceux qui ont concentré leur intérêt, bien que vers la fin de sa vie, il ait aussi théorisé sur la vieillesse.


  • Article connexe: "Les 9 étapes de la vie des êtres humains"

1. Petite enfance

Dans la première phase de la vie, environ 6 ou 7 ans, les enfants perçoivent le monde surtout par le biais des sens; le raisonnement est encore très immature et l'influence de la socialisation est très limitée.

Stanley Hall a estimé qu'à cette époque les gens nous ressemblons beaucoup aux animaux , en particulier aux singes, qu’il considérait comme des ancêtres de l’être humain. Dans la petite enfance, les enfants ont beaucoup d'énergie et leur corps se développe très rapidement.

Cette phase se caractériserait donc par le peu de ressources traitées par les informations qui arrivent sur le monde, en prenant ces données "au fur et à mesure". C'est-à-dire qu'il y aurait une absence de pensée abstraite.

2. Deuxième enfance

À l'âge de 8 ans, le cerveau des enfants a pratiquement la même taille que celui des adultes. est à cet âge quand doit commencer l'éducation formelle , selon Stanley Hall. Cependant, il a estimé que l'enseignement primaire et secondaire devrait être une préparation à la vie en société au lieu de se concentrer sur des matières traditionnelles telles que les mathématiques.

Cet auteur a affirmé que le développement incomplet du raisonnement rend les préadolescents amoraux et ont tendance à la cruauté. Le rôle des adultes au cours de cette période devrait être de s'occuper de la santé physique de l'enfant plutôt que d'essayer de développer une conscience morale ou d'acquérir des compétences et des connaissances.

3. Adolescence

À l'instar de Freud, Stanley Hall fut l'un des premiers psychologues à défendre cela à l'adolescence. La sexualité devient un aspect central de la vie . Pour cette raison, il a promu l'éducation séparée par sexe afin de favoriser l'apprentissage de la moralité et des outils de la vie en société, possible maintenant par la maturation du raisonnement.

C’était là l’une de ces situations où la psychologie se mêlait à la politique et, bien entendu, de nombreuses critiques ont été formulées en raison de la piètre base des idées issues de la psychanalyse et des conséquences pédagogiques de la séparation de ces caractéristiques.

L'héritage de Stanley Hall

G. Stanley Hall a été décisif pour la fondation de la psychologie en tant que science et profession , ainsi que pour l’émergence de la psychologie du développement. Son point de vue et, surtout, sa promotion de l'étude dans ce domaine ont influencé des auteurs tels que Jean Piaget, qui a élaboré l'une des théories les plus pertinentes sur les stades de développement.

Au cours de sa longue carrière en tant qu'enseignant, Stanley Hall a enseigné et encadré de nombreux psychologues et philosophes qui auraient une importance majeure dans les progrès de la psychologie, ce qui est très remarquable au cours des décennies suivantes. Parmi eux figurent James McKeen Cattell, Lewis M. Terman, John Dewey, Henry Goddard et Arnold Gesell.

De son côté, Stanley Hall a également joué un rôle clé dans l’arrivée de la psychanalyse aux États-Unis, avec laquelle il partageait différents points de vue. En 1909 Sigmund Freud et Carl Jung ont été invités à la Clark University , où ils ont donné une série de conférences qui ont eu une grande influence sur la psychologie américaine, malgré le refus de nombreux experts aux méthodes non scientifiques des psychanalystes.

En plus de l'American Journal of Psychology, Stanley Hall a fondé trois autres revues, dont il était également éditeur: Pedagogical Seminary, American Journal of Psychology and Education et Journal of Race Development. Concernant ce dernier point, il convient de noter que Stanley Hall a défendu les perspectives eugéniques et la supériorité de la race blanche.

On se souvient surtout de Granville Stanley Hall pour son rôle dans la fondation de l'American Psychological Association et pour son long mandat à la présidence, rôle qu'il a assumé depuis la fondation de l'APA en 1892 jusqu'à sa mort en 1924. cette organisation constitue la plus grande communauté de psychologues et influent du monde.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Sigmund Freud: la vie et l'œuvre du célèbre psychanalyste"

Esoteric Agenda - Best Quality with Subtitles in 13 Languages (Octobre 2019).


Articles Connexes