yes, therapy helps!
Gabapentin: uses, precautions and side effects

Gabapentin: uses, precautions and side effects

May 26, 2024

There are a large number of medications created for a specific purpose and that have subsequently been highly effective for another completely different. This is the case of gabapentin .

This antiepileptic drug has been found to be very helpful in people with neuropathic pain due to its anagnesic effects. Below we describe its properties, precautions and side effects.

  • Related article: "Psychotropic drugs: drugs that act on the brain"

What is gabapentin?

Gabapentin is a drug that was initially created to intervene in the treatment of epilepsy . However, over time it was discovered that it was also effective as a treatment for pain, especially for that pain with a neuropathic cause.


Its main advantage over benzodiazepines used to treat epilepsy is that, unlike these, gabapentin has the property of improving sleep considerably and without the risk of addiction that benzodiazepines have. In addition, it is a drug very well tolerated by practically all patients.

What is it for?

The main applications of gabapentin, in any of its formats, have to do with the control of certain types of seizures suffered by people with epilepsy . Specifically, seizures decrease by reducing or controlling the abnormal excitation of the brain

Also, both capsules, tablets or oral solution are very effective in the treatment of pain caused by postherpetic neuralgia , since gabapentin alters the way in which the body experiences such pain.


Another of its formats, which is presented in prolonged-release tablets, is used in the treatment of restless legs syndrome, which generates in the person a deep affliction in the legs that is accompanied by an urgent need to move them continuously,

As for the less common uses, the effectiveness of gabapentin in the prevention of frequent migraines has been confirmed, and for the treatment of nystagmus , which causes involuntary and uncontrollable movements of the eyes. However, these uses have not yet been approved by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

Finally, despite having generated some controversy, it has been tried to use gabapentin as a treatment for bipolar disorder, since some studies claim that it generates fewer adverse effects than other medications, such as lithium, for this disorder. However, most research claims that this medication is not much more effective than the placebo used in them.


How is this medication given?

As mentioned above there are several formats in which gabapentin is presented. These are: pills, capsules, long-acting capsules and oral solution .

It is always advisable that the administration of this medication is carried out always following the recommendations of the physician who prescribes them; avoiding increasing or decreasing doses independently , just as it should not be taken more often than indicated,

Although gabapentin is extremely effective at controlling the symptoms of certain disorders or conditions, it is does not have the ability to cure it . Therefore, it is of vital importance that the patient does not stop taking the medication even if he feels that he feels better or that his symptoms have subsided, if the doctor has not indicated it to him thus.

If the patient decides on his own to stop taking this medication, he may end up suffering from a series of symptoms related to withdrawal symptoms such as anxiety, insomnia, nausea or excessive sweating.

Precautions

There are a number of situations or people in which the use of gabapentin is not recommended, starting with those patients who have manifested some type of hypersensitivity to this medicine or any of its active ingredients.

Although there are only animal studies on the effects of gabapentin during pregnancy, it is not recommended during pregnancy, with the sole exception that the benefit to the pregnant woman is greater than the possible risks to the fetus.

Also, due to the sedative effects of gabapentin, this may cause drowsiness, dizziness or lack of coordination , problems that tend to worsen with alcohol consumption. So it is necessary to avoid driving any type of vehicle or machinery, at least until the patient is sure of what are the effects that this drug has on your body.

Regarding its effect in children, gabapentin can alter the behavior and capabilities of these during the period in which it is administered.It is necessary to take into account that minors can experience changes in mood, irritation, hyperactivity or concentration problems. Therefore the supervision of an adult is necessary in any activity that the child carries out.

Although only the most important are listed here, there are many precautions to take into account before taking gabapentin. Therefore, the patient must inform the medical specialist of any allergy, consumption of other medications or diseases or organic conditions that he / she suffers.

Side effects of gabapentin

Between the most common side effects after gabapentin administration there is dizziness, drowsiness or peripheral edema, which refers to the inflammation of the extremities.

Other common side effects are:

  • Muscular weakness .
  • Headaches
  • Tremors
  • Anxiety.
  • Memory problems .
  • Acidity.
  • Diarrhea.
  • Fever .
  • Changes in appetite.
  • Itchy eyes

A strange but rather striking side effect of gabapentin is the genesis and development of suicidal ideations in patients suffering from epilepsy or some other type of mental illness or disorder. This trend occurs in approximately 1 in 500 people and has to appear just one week after starting treatment.

If the patient has any doubt or concern about the side effects of this drug, it is recommended that you go to the doctor who was prescribed or to your trusted pharmacist to solve all kinds of questions.


Lyrica (pregabalin): Side Effects and Dosing (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Gabapentine: utilisations, précautions et effets secondaires

Gabapentine: utilisations, précautions et effets secondaires

Décembre 1, 2022

Il existe un grand nombre de médicaments créés dans un but spécifique et qui ont été par la suite très efficaces pour un autre complètement différent. C'est le cas de la gabapentine .

Ce médicament antiépileptique s’est avéré très utile chez les personnes souffrant de douleur neuropathique en raison de ses effets anagnésiques. Nous décrivons ci-dessous ses propriétés, ses précautions et ses effets secondaires.

  • Article connexe: "Drogues psychotropes: des drogues qui agissent sur le cerveau"

Qu'est-ce que la gabapentine?

La gabapentine est un médicament créé à l'origine intervenir dans le traitement de l'épilepsie . Cependant, au fil du temps, il a été découvert qu’il était également efficace en tant que traitement de la douleur, en particulier de la douleur d'origine neuropathique.


Son principal avantage par rapport aux benzodiazépines utilisées pour traiter l'épilepsie est que, contrairement à celles-ci, la gabapentine a la propriété d'améliorer considérablement le sommeil et sans risque de dépendance que les benzodiazépines ont. En outre, il s'agit d'un médicament très bien toléré par pratiquement tous les patients.

À quoi sert-il?

Les principales applications de la gabapentine, dans n’importe lequel de ses formats, concernent le contrôle de certains types de crises chez les personnes atteintes d'épilepsie . Plus précisément, les crises diminuent en réduisant ou en contrôlant l'excitation anormale du cerveau

En outre, les deux capsules, les comprimés ou la solution orale sont très efficaces dans le traitement de la douleur causée par la névralgie post-herpétique , car la gabapentine modifie la façon dont le corps ressent une telle douleur.


Un autre de ses formats, présenté sous forme de comprimés à libération prolongée, est utilisé dans le traitement du syndrome des jambes sans repos, qui engendre chez la personne une douleur profonde aux jambes qui s'accompagne d'un besoin urgent de les déplacer de manière continue,

Quant aux utilisations moins courantes, l'efficacité de la gabapentine dans la prévention des migraines fréquentes a été confirmée. pour le traitement du nystagmus , qui provoque des mouvements involontaires et incontrôlables des yeux. Cependant, ces utilisations n'ont pas encore été approuvées par la Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

Enfin, malgré quelques controverses, il a été tenté d’utiliser la gabapentine dans le traitement du trouble bipolaire, certaines études affirmant qu'elle génère moins d’effets indésirables que d’autres médicaments, tels que le lithium, pour traiter ce trouble. Cependant, la plupart des recherches affirment que ce médicament n’est pas beaucoup plus efficace que le placebo qu’il utilise.


Comment ce médicament est-il administré?

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, il existe plusieurs formats dans lesquels la gabapentine est présentée. Ceux-ci sont: pilules, capsules, capsules à action prolongée et solution buvable .

Il est toujours conseillé d’administrer ce médicament en suivant toujours les recommandations du médecin qui les a prescrits; en évitant d'augmenter ou de diminuer les doses indépendamment , juste comme il ne devrait pas être pris plus souvent qu'indiqué,

Bien que la gabapentine soit extrêmement efficace pour contrôler les symptômes de certains troubles ou affections, il est n'a pas la capacité de guérir . Par conséquent, il est d’une importance vitale que le patient n’arrête pas de prendre le médicament, même s’il a le sentiment de se sentir mieux ou que ses symptômes ont disparu, si le médecin ne le lui a pas indiqué.

Si le patient décide lui-même de cesser de prendre ce médicament, il risque de souffrir d’une série de symptômes liés aux symptômes de sevrage tels que l’anxiété, l’insomnie, des nausées ou une transpiration excessive.

Précautions

Il existe un certain nombre de situations ou de personnes dans lesquelles l'utilisation de la gabapentine n'est pas recommandée, à commencer par les patients qui ont manifesté un type d'hypersensibilité à ce médicament ou à l’un de ses principes actifs.

Bien qu'il n'y ait que des études sur les effets de la gabapentine chez les animaux pendant la grossesse, il n'est pas recommandé de le faire pendant la grossesse, à la seule exception que le bénéfice pour la femme enceinte est supérieur aux risques possibles pour le fœtus.

En outre, en raison des effets sédatifs de la gabapentine, cette peut provoquer somnolence, vertiges ou manque de coordination , problèmes qui ont tendance à s'aggraver avec la consommation d'alcool. Il est donc nécessaire d'éviter de conduire tout type de véhicule ou de machine, au moins jusqu'à ce que le patient soit certain des effets de ce médicament sur votre corps.

En ce qui concerne son effet chez les enfants, la gabapentine peut modifier le comportement et les capacités de ceux-ci pendant la période au cours de laquelle elle est administrée.Il est nécessaire de prendre en compte que les mineurs peuvent éprouver changements d'humeur, irritation, hyperactivité ou des problèmes de concentration. Par conséquent, la surveillance d'un adulte est nécessaire dans toute activité que l'enfant exerce.

Bien que seuls les plus importants soient énumérés ici, de nombreuses précautions doivent être prises en compte avant de prendre la gabapentine. Par conséquent, le patient doit informer le médecin spécialiste de toute allergie, consommation d'autres médicaments ou maladies ou conditions organiques qu'il / elle souffre.

Effets secondaires de la gabapentine

Entre les effets indésirables les plus fréquents après l'administration de gabapentine il y a le vertige, la somnolence ou l'œdème périphérique, qui se rapporte à l'inflammation des extrémités.

Les autres effets indésirables courants sont:

  • Faiblesse musculaire .
  • Maux de tête
  • Tremblements
  • Anxiété
  • Problèmes de mémoire .
  • L'acidité
  • La diarrhée
  • Fièvre .
  • Changements d'appétit.
  • Yeux qui piquent

Un effet secondaire étrange mais assez frappant de la gabapentine est la genèse et le développement des idées suicidaires chez les patients souffrant d'épilepsie ou d'un autre type de maladie mentale. Cette tendance touche environ 1 personne sur 500 et doit apparaître une semaine seulement après le début du traitement.

Si le patient a des doutes ou des préoccupations concernant les effets secondaires de ce médicament, il est recommandé de consulter un médecin qui vous a été prescrit ou votre pharmacien de confiance pour résoudre toutes sortes de questions.


Lyrica (pregabalin): Side Effects and Dosing (Décembre 2022).


Articles Connexes