yes, therapy helps!
Galatea effect: do you believe in your possibilities?

Galatea effect: do you believe in your possibilities?

May 1, 2024

"This child is stupid", "you will never get to anything", "take away, you do not know how to do it". These phrases clearly reflect a negative expectation regarding the person to whom they refer. And not only that, but whether they express themselves or not, they probably perform a series of actions that will cause the subject to introject that idea and end up behaving in the expected way.

This is known as the Pygmalion effect. But there is also an effect related to the same situation, although from a different perspective: we are talking about the Galatea effect.

  • Related article: "Self-fulfilled prophecies, or how to make yourself a failure"

The myth of Pygmalion and Galatea

To better understand how the Pygmalion effect and the Galatea effect work, it may be useful to see where these terms come from, being its history linked to mythology .


The myth of Pygmalion presents us as king of Cyprus, who throughout his life had sought the perfect woman to become his wife. However, I could not find anyone. The king decided to dedicate his time to sculpture, art in which he stood out. He decided to represent the perfect woman in one of his works, creating an ivory statue of such perfection that he ended up falling in love with it . Galatea called her and spent a long time admiring her. But the statue did not stop being such a thing.

Pygmalion went to various religious celebrations and prayed to the gods to give him life, and Aphrodite, goddess of love and passion, responded to his pleas. When returning to his home Pygmalion spent long time observing with sadness to Galatea, to finally kiss it. But surprisingly he found that the touch was warm. With a second kiss, Galatea came alive, falling in love with Pygmalion.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Self-concept: what is it and how is it formed?"

The Pygmalion effect

Through the myth, we can observe how Pygmalion's wishes and expectations caused him to carry out a series of actions that in turn would lead to those wishes and expectations becoming a reality .

From the same myth we have extrapolated what is called the Pygmalion effect, according to which the expectations we project on others will cause us to do actions that in the long run will generate in the person in question that type of behavior. For example, if we think that a child is not going to achieve anything and we project unconsciously on that idea, in the long run the child is more likely to believe the same and end up fulfilling the behavior and role that was expected of him.

The Pygmalion effect is well known in the world of psychology and education n , can generate a great effect on individuals what others expect from them. But the same as the expectations of others have an effect, so do their own. In this way we can observe the existence of another important complementary effect to this. It is about the Galatea effect.


  • Related article: "The Pygmalion Effect: how children end up being the longings and fears of their parents"

The Galatea effect

The Galatea effect it refers to the power of belief in one's own abilities and possibilities or the lack of these when it comes to achieving or not success in our objectives.

If a person feels safe and able to achieve what they want, they will have a much greater chance of reaching their goals because his behavior will be more focused and focused on them . The subject will tend to depend more on their own effort and will feel much more committed to achieving the objectives.

On the contrary, someone who feels unable to achieve what they want, who lacks confidence, will not dare to go with everything to their objectives. He will tend to doubt, to make possible errors and failures visible and his commitment to it will be more fragile, which will effectively be more likely than not to meet his goal.

Its relation to the perception of others

The Galatea effect does not have only an internal connotation. Our self-perception and self-confidence is projected to the outside through our attitudes and behaviors, so that others will capture and train them an image of us based among other things on them .

The image that they form will be more positive or negative according to what they can capture, and that image will influence how they treat us. As an example, if they see us as weak, they may be more likely to try to take advantage of us or protect us, whereas if we project a more determined image they may admire or envy us. Also in the expectations that others form from us

In the same way, the perception that others have of us and what they transmit to us will affect us modifying to some degree our self-perception and with it our way of acting, which in turn makes the Galatea effect and the Pygmalion effect intimately related.

However, what is more important in the face of predict our success or failure is what we think of ourselves and our chances of achieving it, since a person can succeed even if their environment does not believe in it, while someone who does not believe in himself will have much more difficult even if his environment supports it.

Linkage with control locus

The Galatea effect is also related to the locus of control, understanding as such the link we establish between what happens and what we do, that is to say, the attribution of the events to the performance itself or to other factors such as the and .

A person who believes that their successes are due to internal, stable and global factors will conduct much more active and goal-directed behavior, while someone who thinks they are due to external, unstable and particular factors may consider that their successes are not such but mere chance and therefore lose the motivation to fight for their goals.

  • Related article: "Theories of causal attribution: definition and authors"

11. Don Quixote, Part I: Chapters XXXVI-LII (cont.) (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Effet Galatea: croyez-vous en vos possibilités?

Effet Galatea: croyez-vous en vos possibilités?

Avril 17, 2024

"Cet enfant est stupide", "vous n'aboutirez jamais à rien", "enlève, tu ne sais pas comment le faire". Ces expressions reflètent clairement une attente négative vis-à-vis de la personne à laquelle elles se rapportent. Et pas seulement cela, mais qu'ils s'expriment ou non, ils effectuent probablement une série d'actions qui amèneront le sujet à introjecter cette idée et à se comporter de la manière attendue.

Ceci est connu sous le nom d'effet Pygmalion. Mais il y a aussi un effet lié à la même situation, bien que dans une perspective différente: on parle de l'effet Galatea.

  • Article connexe: "Des prophéties auto-accomplies ou comment se faire un échec"

Le mythe de Pygmalion et de Galatée

Pour mieux comprendre le fonctionnement des effets Pygmalion et Galatée, il peut être utile de voir d'où viennent ces termes, étant son histoire liée à la mythologie .


Le mythe de Pygmalion nous présente comme le roi de Chypre, qui tout au long de sa vie a cherché la femme idéale pour devenir sa femme. Cependant, je n'ai trouvé personne. Le roi décide de consacrer son temps à la sculpture, art dans lequel il se démarque. Il a décidé de représenter la femme parfaite dans l'une de ses œuvres, créant une statue d'ivoire d'une telle perfection qu'il finit par en tomber amoureux . Galatea l'a appelée et a passé beaucoup de temps à l'admirer. Mais la statue n'a pas cessé d'être une telle chose.

Pygmalion s'est rendu à diverses célébrations religieuses et a prié les dieux de lui donner la vie, et Aphrodite, déesse de l'amour et de la passion, a répondu à ses demandes. De retour chez lui, Pygmalion passa un long moment à observer avec tristesse Galatée pour enfin l’embrasser. Mais étonnamment il a trouvé que le contact était chaud. Avec un second baiser, Galatea s'anima et tomba amoureuse de Pygmalion.


  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Le concept de soi: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment est-il formé?"

L'effet pygmalion

À travers le mythe, nous pouvons observer comment les souhaits et les attentes de Pygmalion lui ont valu de mener une série d’actions qui conduirait à ces souhaits et attentes devenant une réalité .

À partir du même mythe, nous avons extrapolé ce que l’on appelle l’effet Pygmalion, selon lequel les attentes que nous projetons vis-à-vis des autres nous feront faire des actions qui, à long terme, généreront ce type de comportement chez la personne concernée. Par exemple, si nous pensons qu'un enfant ne réussira pas et que nous projetons inconsciemment sur cette idée, à long terme, il aura plus de chances de croire la même chose et finira par remplir le comportement et le rôle que l'on attend de lui.

L'effet Pygmalion est bien connu dans le monde de la psychologie et de l'éducation n , peut générer un grand effet sur ce que les autres attendent d’eux. Mais les mêmes que les attentes des autres ont un effet, les leurs aussi. De cette manière, nous pouvons observer l’existence d’un autre effet complémentaire important. Il s'agit de l'effet Galatea.


  • Article connexe: "L'effet Pygmalion: comment les enfants finissent par être les désirs et les peurs de leurs parents"

L'effet Galatea

L'effet Galatea il fait référence au pouvoir de croire en ses propres capacités et les possibilités ou le manque de ceux-ci quand il s'agit d'atteindre ou non de nos objectifs.

Si une personne se sent en sécurité et capable d’atteindre ce qu’elle veut, elle aura beaucoup plus de chances d’atteindre ses objectifs car son comportement sera plus concentré et concentré sur eux . Le sujet aura tendance à dépendre davantage de ses propres efforts et se sentira beaucoup plus engagé à atteindre les objectifs.

Au contraire, une personne qui se sent incapable d’atteindre ce qu’elle veut, qui manque de confiance en soi, n’osera pas aller avec tout ce qui est nécessaire pour atteindre ses objectifs. Il aura tendance à douter, à rendre visibles les erreurs et les échecs possibles et son engagement à cet égard sera plus fragile, ce qui aura effectivement plus de chances d’atteindre son objectif.

Son rapport à la perception des autres

L'effet Galatea n'a pas seulement une connotation interne. Notre perception de soi et notre confiance en soi sont projetées vers l'extérieur à travers nos attitudes et comportements, afin que d'autres puissent les capturer et les former. une image de nous basée entre autre sur eux .

L'image qu'ils forment sera plus positive ou négative en fonction de ce qu'ils peuvent capturer, et cette image influencera la façon dont ils nous traitent. À titre d’exemple, s’ils nous voient comme faibles, ils auront peut-être plus de chances d’essayer de nous exploiter ou de nous protéger, alors que si nous projetons une image plus déterminée, ils peuvent nous admirer ou nous envier. Aussi dans les attentes que d'autres nous forment

De la même manière, la perception que les autres ont de nous et de ce qu’ils nous transmettent nous affectera. modifier dans une certaine mesure notre perception de soi et avec elle notre façon d’agir, ce qui rend l’effet Galatea et l’effet Pygmalion intimement liés.

Cependant, ce qui est plus important face aux prédire notre succès ou notre échec C’est ce que nous pensons de nous-mêmes et de nos chances d’y parvenir, puisqu’une personne peut réussir même si son environnement n’y croit pas, alors que celle qui ne croit pas en elle-même aura bien plus de difficultés même si son environnement le supporte.

Liaison avec le locus de contrôle

L’effet Galatea est également lié au locus de contrôle, comprenant ainsi le lien que nous établissons entre ce qui se passe et ce que nous faisons, c’est-à-dire: l'attribution des événements à la performance elle-même ou à d'autres facteurs tels que la e .

Une personne qui croit que ses succès sont dus à des facteurs internes, stables et globaux adoptera un comportement beaucoup plus actif et orienté vers un objectif, tandis que ceux qui pensent qu’ils sont dus à des facteurs externes, instables et particuliers peuvent considérer que leurs succès ne sont pas tels. mais simple chance et donc perdre la motivation pour se battre pour leurs objectifs.

  • Article connexe: "Théories de l'attribution causale: définition et auteurs"

A. Campra: «Tancrède» [The Sixteen / La Grande Écurie et la Chambre du Roy] (Avril 2024).


Articles Connexes