yes, therapy helps!
Ganser syndrome: its most frequent symptoms and causes

Ganser syndrome: its most frequent symptoms and causes

October 4, 2022

In the medical and psychological literature we find mentions of Ganser syndrome, a very infrequent mental disorder characterized by symptoms such as approximate answers to simple questions, complex hallucinations and conversion phenomena.

In this article we will analyze the causes and symptoms of Ganser syndrome .

  • Related article: "The differences between syndrome, disorder and disease"

What is Ganser syndrome?

Ganser syndrome is a very rare clinical picture that was first described in 1898. The name given to this phenomenon comes from its discoverer: the German psychiatrist Sigbert Ganser. We also find the terms "Hysterical pseudodementia", "pseudo-demential syndrome" and "prison psychosis" .


This last name refers to the fact that Ganser syndrome has been identified with a higher frequency than usual in prison populations. In most of these cases, the symptoms are most likely an attempt to receive better treatment from prison staff or other inmates.

The most characteristic symptom of Ganser syndrome are the responses or approximate answers; these are failed answers but relatively close to the truth given to simple questions. The other signs of this picture include conversion phenomena, eco-phenomena and apparent alterations of consciousness, among others.


The few available prevalence studies indicate that Ganser syndrome appears in a more common in males than in females , in a 3: 1 ratio. The average age of the diagnosis would be somewhat above 30 years, although occasionally it occurs in children. However, very little is known about this phenomenon because of its extreme infrequency.

Possible causes and psychological hypotheses

Ganser syndrome has traditionally been classified in the category of factitious disorders, which are characterized by Pretending a disease to get a "patient role" . The other typical phenomenon of this class is the Münchausen syndrome, in which the person feigns illnesses or psychological traumas in order to obtain social reinforcement.

In this sense, factitious disorders of simulation can be distinguished. In the vocabulary of clinical psychology and other nearby disciplines, the term "simulation" is used to refer to cases in which a disease or a mental disorder is pretended for a purpose other than obtaining the role of the patient, as be the economic benefit


It is extended the understanding of Ganser syndrome as a dissociative disorder , so that it would be more similar to phenomena such as depersonalization, derealization and dissociative amnesia. Dissociative experiences consist of separations of cognitive processes (including consciousness) that arise as a reaction to stress.

However, at present the most accepted explanation about the causes of Ganser syndrome is defined as a psychotic disorder . In this sense, it is worth highlighting the association of this clinical picture with schizophrenia, intoxication by alcohol and other psychoactive substances and severe depressive disorders.

Symptoms and main signs

The responses, the conversion symptoms, the alterations of consciousness and pseudoalucinations are the four most defining features of Ganser syndrome. It is also important to highlight the eco-phenomena, which occur with some frequency in this clinical context, and the high levels of stress and anxiety that are detected in these people.

1. Approximate answers or answers

The answers are based on answers relatively close to reality that are given to easy questions to answer. In many cases, the Ganser syndrome is conceptualized around this peculiar manifestation; in fact, the DSM-IV manual places the approximate answers at the core of the criteria for the diagnosis of the table.

2. Symptoms of somatic conversion

The conversion consists in the presence of physical symptoms, such as pain or sensory and motor deficits, in the absence of an organic cause identifiable Conversion disorder is currently questioned; DSM-5 includes it in the category "somatic symptom disorders", which also includes factitious disorder, among others.

3. Altered level of consciousness

The two symptoms related to the level of alertness, and therefore to consciousness, that appear more commonly in Ganser syndrome are the feeling of mental confusion and the loss of personal identity . In general, people with this clinical picture may have difficulty reacting to the stimuli of the environment and to process them.

  • You may be interested: "The 6 levels of loss of consciousness and associated disorders"

4. Complex hallucinations

People with Ganser syndrome often report very elaborate hallucinations and in any of the sensory modalities. Since in psychiatric disorders such as schizophrenia hallucinations are usually auditory and simple, this type of stories can serve as a clue in the diagnosis of this rare syndrome .

  • Related article: "Hallucinations: definition, causes, and symptoms"

5. Ecofenómenos

Echo-phenomena or ecosymptoms are behaviors of imitation or repetition that occur without voluntary control of the subject. The stimuli of the environment that reproduce can be actions (echopraxia), verbalizations (ecolalia) or facial expressions (ecomimia), among others.

  • Related article: "Echolalia: what it is, causes and related disorders"

What is GANSER SYNDROME? What does GANSER SYNDROME mean? GANSER SYNDROME meaning & explanation (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome de Ganser: ses symptômes et ses causes les plus fréquents

Syndrome de Ganser: ses symptômes et ses causes les plus fréquents

Octobre 13, 2019

La littérature médicale et psychologique mentionne le syndrome de Ganser, un trouble mental très peu fréquent caractérisé par des symptômes tels que des réponses approximatives à des questions simples, des hallucinations complexes et des phénomènes de conversion.

Dans cet article, nous analyserons les causes et les symptômes du syndrome de Ganser .

  • Article connexe: "Les différences entre syndrome, trouble et maladie"

Quel est le syndrome de Ganser?

Le syndrome de Ganser est un tableau clinique très rare décrit pour la première fois en 1898. Son nom vient de son découvreur: le psychiatre allemand Sigbert Ganser. Nous trouvons aussi les termes "Pseudodementia hystérique", "syndrome pseudo-démentiel" et "psychose en prison" .


Ce nom de famille fait référence au fait que le syndrome de Ganser a été identifié avec une fréquence plus élevée que d'habitude dans les populations carcérales. Dans la plupart des cas, il s’agit très probablement d’une tentative de traitement de la part du personnel pénitentiaire ou d’autres détenus.

Le symptôme le plus caractéristique du syndrome de Ganser sont les réponses ou des réponses approximatives; Ce sont des réponses manquées mais relativement proches de la vérité donnée à des questions simples. Les autres signes de cette image incluent des phénomènes de conversion, des éco-phénomènes et des altérations apparentes de la conscience, entre autres.


Les rares études de prévalence disponibles indiquent que le syndrome de Ganser apparaît dans plus fréquent chez les hommes que chez les femmes , dans un rapport de 3: 1. L'âge moyen du diagnostic serait légèrement supérieur à 30 ans, bien que cela se produise parfois chez les enfants. Cependant, on sait très peu de choses sur ce phénomène en raison de son extrême rareté.

Causes possibles et hypothèses psychologiques

Le syndrome de Ganser a traditionnellement été classé dans la catégorie des troubles factices caractérisés par Prétendre une maladie pour obtenir un "rôle de patient" . L’autre phénomène typique de cette classe est le syndrome de Münchausen, dans lequel la personne feint de contracter une maladie ou un traumatisme psychologique afin d’obtenir un renforcement social.

En ce sens, on peut distinguer les troubles factices de la simulation. Dans le vocabulaire de la psychologie clinique et des autres disciplines proches, le terme "simulation" désigne les cas dans lesquels une maladie ou un trouble mental est prétendu dans un but autre que d'obtenir le rôle du patient, comme être l'avantage économique


Il est étendu la compréhension du syndrome de Ganser en tant que trouble dissociatif , de sorte qu’il ressemble davantage à des phénomènes tels que la dépersonnalisation, la déréalisation et l’amnésie dissociative. Les expériences dissociatives consistent en des séparations de processus cognitifs (y compris la conscience) résultant d'une réaction au stress.

Cependant, à l'heure actuelle, l'explication la plus acceptée concernant les causes du syndrome de Ganser est la suivante: un trouble psychotique . En ce sens, il convient de souligner l'association de ce tableau clinique avec la schizophrénie, l'intoxication par l'alcool et d'autres substances psychoactives et les troubles dépressifs sévères.

Symptômes et principaux signes

Les réponses, les symptômes de conversion, les altérations de conscience et les pseudoalucinations sont les quatre caractéristiques les plus caractéristiques du syndrome de Ganser. Il est également important de souligner les éco-phénomènes, fréquents dans ce contexte clinique, ainsi que les niveaux élevés de stress et d'anxiété détectés chez ces personnes.

1. Réponses approximatives ou réponses

Les réponses sont basées sur des réponses relativement proches de la réalité qui sont donnés à des questions faciles pour répondre. Dans de nombreux cas, le syndrome de Ganser est conceptualisé autour de cette manifestation particulière; En fait, le manuel DSM-IV place les réponses approximatives au cœur des critères pour le diagnostic du tableau.

2. Symptômes de conversion somatique

La conversion consiste en la présence de symptômes physiques, tels que douleur ou déficits sensoriels et moteurs, en l'absence de cause organique identifiable Le trouble de conversion est actuellement remis en question. Le DSM-5 l'inclut dans la catégorie "troubles des symptômes somatiques", qui comprend également les troubles factices, entre autres.

3. Niveau de conscience altéré

Les deux symptômes liés au niveau de vigilance, et donc à la conscience, qui apparaissent plus fréquemment dans le syndrome de Ganser sont: le sentiment de confusion mentale et la perte de l'identité personnelle . En général, les personnes présentant ce tableau clinique peuvent avoir des difficultés à réagir aux stimuli de l'environnement et à les traiter.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Les 6 niveaux de perte de conscience et les troubles associés"

4. hallucinations complexes

Les personnes atteintes du syndrome de Ganser font souvent état d'hallucinations très élaborées et de l'une des modalités sensorielles. Comme dans les troubles psychiatriques tels que la schizophrénie, les hallucinations sont généralement auditives et simples, ce type d’histoires peut servir d'indice dans le diagnostic de ce syndrome rare .

  • Article connexe: "Hallucinations: définition, causes et symptômes"

5. Ecofenómenos

Les écho-phénomènes ou écosymptomes sont des comportements d'imitation ou de répétition qui se produisent sans contrôle volontaire du sujet. Les stimuli de l’environnement qui se reproduisent peuvent être actions (echopraxia), verbalisations (ecolalia) ou expressions faciales (ecomimia), entre autres.

  • Article connexe: "Echolalia: Qu'est-ce que c'est, ses causes et ses désordres"

Le Trouble Factice, c'est quoi ? ( Syndrome de Münchhausen) (Octobre 2019).


Articles Connexes