yes, therapy helps!
Gaslighting: the most subtle emotional abuse

Gaslighting: the most subtle emotional abuse

February 8, 2024

Have you ever been told these phrases in response to a complaint ?: "you are crazy", "that never happened", "you are very sensitive", etc.

If so, They may be using the "Gaslighting" technique to confuse you .

What is Gaslighting?

"Gaslighting" is a pattern of emotional abuse in which the victim is manipulated so that he comes to doubt his own perception, judgment or memory . This makes the person feel anxious, confused or even depressed.

This term, which does not really have a translation into Spanish, comes from the classic Hollywood movie called "Gaslight" , in which a man manipulates his wife to believe that she is crazy and thus steal her hidden fortune. He hides objects (pictures, jewels) making his wife believe that she has been responsible, even if he does not remember. He also dimmed the gas light (there was no electricity) and made him believe that the fire still shines in the same intensity as before.


Of course, that makes the protagonist feel that she is going crazy, do not want to leave the house, be anxious and cry continuously. The husband warns her that she will leave the relationship, and threatens to send her to a doctor to be medicated or secluded. Of course, the abuser knows very well what he is doing and almost gets his job if it were not for an investigator who deciphers the situation and unmasks the thief.

  • Related article: "Manipulators have these 5 traits in common"

The characteristics of this type of deception

Although this movie presents us with an extreme case, this manipulation technique is used consciously or unconsciously in relationships .


Let's see some scenarios. For example, you can say:

"When you said that you hurt me" and the abuser says "I never said that, you are imagining it" and there plant the seed of doubt.

It could also occur in this way:

"When you did that I felt very bad", to which the abuser replies "you are very sensitive, it was a joke only". Try to persuade us to believe that it has been a matter of an error of perception itself.

In the same way, you may fight and defend yourself but still get the same words: "You are exaggerated", "you are making a storm in a glass of water" or "you are delirious" etc. so that instead of continuing to confront or move away, you allow doubt to arise within you in an attempt to favor the relationship and seek the approval of your partner or family member.

This type of manipulation is very subtle but dangerous, since it leads to continue toxic relationships, to believe that there is really something wrong with us, to be insecure and to depend on the opinion of others. It can also take us away from our loved ones for fear of being confronted about your relationship.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Emotional blackmail: a powerful form of manipulation in the couple"

How to realize Gaslighting

These are 10 signs to know if we are being "Gassed" (information collected from psychologist Robin Stern, author of the book The gaslighting effect).

  1. You constantly question your ideas or actions.
  2. You wonder if you are too sensitive many times a day.
  3. You are always apologizing: your parents, the couple, the boss.
  4. You wonder why you are not happy, if so many good things are apparently happening in your life.
  5. You constantly offer excuses to your family or friends for the behavior of your partner.
  6. You see yourself holding or hiding information so you do not have to explain or give excuses to couples or friends.
  7. You start to lie to prevent them from changing your reality.
  8. It's hard for you to make decisions, even simple ones.
  9. You feel that you can not do anything right.
  10. You wonder if you are being good enough daughter / friend / employee / boyfriend / girlfriend constantly.

What can you do?

However subtle this type of manipulation may be, we are not helpless before it. There are ways to deal with this type of attack, unless there is already a strong precedent of abuse and we can not face the situation while maintaining a minimum of serenity. For Act before Gaslighting cases, you can follow these guidelines :

1. Trust your intuition

If you feel that something is not right, pay attention to that and examine which parts do not fit . When analyzing our own experiences, our experience counts more than the rest.

In addition, communication is not a game in which you have to strive to understand everything that others say. In a couple, if a message has not been understood, the responsibility is often shared (provided we have paid attention).

2. Do not look for approval

Resist the temptation to convince the other to get approval , instead you can say "We disagree" or "I thought about what you told me but I do not feel it is true for me" or "I listen to what you say, but my reality is very different from yours". You are perfectly free to end a conversation.

This is only recommended in cases of Gaslighting, since in any other context, as in a discussion in which the arguments of the other person are solid, it can become an excuse to not admit that you are not right and, ultimately, in a tool of cognitive dissonance.

3. Remember your sovereignty over your own thoughts

Remember that emotions are neither good nor bad, and no one can tell you if what you feel is true or not. If you say "that made me feel criticized" or "I felt sad for what you did" you are not subjecting it to debate. After all, if you feel that they humiliate you or harm you psychologically, only you feel that; what you experience is not subject to discussion.

Do not apologize for feeling , what you should avoid is to attack, manipulate or act in a harmful way.

4. Be aware of your values

Why values ​​do you want to be reminded? Create a list of personal values. For example, "spend quality time with my loved ones," "keep promises," "be generous / compassionate," "tell the truth," "travel," "have an open mind," "maintain spirituality." That will help you stay focused and also know what you value from others .

In a way, values ​​act as the backbone of our behavior. Whatever happens, what others say or do or should not force us to go against them. The moment someone pressures us to violate these basic principles, we will know that we are being manipulated.

5. Keep your personal limits

If someone transfers them, let them know and raise a consequence . For example, if they shout or verbally abuse you, you can say "I'm not comfortable with what you said, I think it's disrespectful and I do not intend to let it go". Keep firm.

If it is repeated, make it known again and depending on the relationship, look for a sincere dialogue where both are committed not to do it again or go away.

If the person is not responsible for their faults and continues "gaslighteándote" ask yourself if you want to continue the relationship or frequency of visits in the case of family or friends. Working your own assertiveness is essential to assert your own interests with dignity.


Bibliographic references:

  • Rey-Anacona, C. A. (2009). Physical, Psychological, Emotional, Sexual and Economic Abuse at the Courtship: An Exploratory Study. Colombian Act of Psychology 12 (2): pp. 27-36.
  • Rodríguez-Carballeira, A. (2005). A comparative study of psychological abuse strategies: in pairs, in the workplace and in manipulative groups. Psychology Yearbook.

10 Gaslighting Signs in an Abusive Relationship (February 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Gaslighting: l'abus émotionnel le plus subtil

Gaslighting: l'abus émotionnel le plus subtil

Septembre 18, 2019

Avez-vous déjà entendu ces phrases en réponse à une plainte: "tu es fou", "ça n'est jamais arrivé", "tu es très sensible", etc.

Si c'est ainsi, Ils peuvent utiliser la technique "Gaslighting" pour vous embrouiller .

Qu'est-ce que Gaslighting?

"Gaslighting" est un modèle de violence psychologique dans laquelle la victime est manipulée de manière à douter de sa propre perception, de son jugement ou de sa mémoire . Cela rend la personne anxieuse, confuse ou même déprimée.

Ce terme, qui n’a pas vraiment de traduction en espagnol, vient du classique film hollywoodien appelé "Gaslight" , dans lequel un homme manipule sa femme pour se croire folle et voler ainsi sa fortune cachée. Il cache des objets (images, bijoux) faisant croire à sa femme qu'elle est responsable, même s'il ne s'en souvient pas. Il a également réduit l'intensité de la lampe à gaz (il n'y avait pas d'électricité) et lui a fait croire que le feu brillait toujours avec la même intensité qu'auparavant.


Bien sûr, cela donne à la protagoniste le sentiment de devenir folle, de ne pas vouloir quitter la maison, d’être anxieuse et de pleurer continuellement. Le mari la prévient qu'elle va quitter la relation et la menace de l'envoyer chez un médecin pour lui administrer un traitement médicamenteux ou l'isoler. Bien sûr, l'agresseur sait très bien ce qu'il fait et obtient presque son travail s'il ne s'agissait pas d'un enquêteur qui décrypte la situation et démasque le voleur.

  • Article connexe: "Les manipulateurs ont ces 5 traits en commun"

Les caractéristiques de ce type de déception

Bien que ce film nous présente un cas extrême, cette technique de manipulation est utilisée consciemment ou inconsciemment dans les relations .


Voyons quelques scénarios. Par exemple, vous pouvez dire:

"Quand vous avez dit que vous m'avez fait mal" et que l'agresseur a déclaré: "Je ne l'ai jamais dit, vous l'imaginez" et vous y avez semé le doute.

Cela pourrait aussi se produire de cette façon:

"Quand vous avez fait cela, je me suis senti très mal", ce à quoi l'agresseur répond "vous êtes très sensible, ce n'était qu'une blague". Essayez de nous persuader de croire qu’il s’agissait d’une erreur de perception elle-même.

De la même manière, vous pouvez vous battre et vous défendre, tout en conservant les mêmes mots: "vous êtes exagéré", "vous faites une tempête dans un verre d'eau" ou "vous êtes en délire", etc. Pour ce que au lieu de continuer à vous affronter ou à vous éloigner, vous laissez le doute surgir en vous dans le but de favoriser la relation et d'obtenir l'approbation de votre partenaire ou d'un membre de votre famille.

Ce type de manipulation est très subtil mais dangereux, car il conduit à maintenir des relations toxiques, à croire qu'il y a vraiment quelque chose qui ne va pas chez nous, à être précaire et à dépendre de l'opinion des autres. Cela peut aussi nous éloigner de nos proches par peur d’être confrontés à votre relation.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Chantage émotionnel: une puissante forme de manipulation dans le couple"

Comment réaliser Gaslighting

Ce sont 10 signes pour savoir si nous sommes "gazés" (informations recueillies auprès du psychologue Robin Stern, auteur du livre L'effet de l'éclairage au gaz).

  1. Vous remettez constamment en question vos idées ou vos actions.
  2. Vous vous demandez si vous êtes trop sensible plusieurs fois par jour.
  3. Vous vous excusez toujours: vos parents, le couple, le patron.
  4. Vous vous demandez pourquoi vous n'êtes pas heureux si tant de bonnes choses se passent apparemment dans votre vie.
  5. Vous offrez constamment des excuses à votre famille ou à vos amis pour expliquer le comportement de votre partenaire.
  6. Vous voyez vous-même détenir ou cacher des informations afin de ne pas avoir à expliquer ou donner des excuses aux couples ou aux amis.
  7. Vous commencez à mentir pour les empêcher de changer votre réalité.
  8. Il est difficile pour vous de prendre des décisions, même simples.
  9. Vous sentez que vous ne pouvez rien faire de bien.
  10. Vous vous demandez si vous êtes assez bon fille, ami, employé, petit ami ou petite amie en permanence.

Qu'est ce que tu peux faire?

Aussi subtil que soit ce type de manipulation, nous ne sommes pas impuissants devant lui. Il existe des moyens de faire face à ce type d’attaque, sauf s’il existe déjà un précédent fort d’abus et que nous ne pouvons faire face à la situation tout en maintenant un minimum de sérénité. Pour Agissez avant les cas Gaslighting, vous pouvez suivre ces directives :

1. Faites confiance à votre intuition

Si vous pensez que quelque chose ne va pas, faites attention à cela et examiner quelles pièces ne correspondent pas . Lorsque nous analysons nos propres expériences, notre expérience compte plus que le reste.

En outre, la communication n'est pas un jeu dans lequel vous devez vous efforcer de comprendre tout ce que les autres disent. Dans un couple, si un message n'a pas été compris, la responsabilité est souvent partagée (à condition que nous ayons fait attention).

2. Ne cherchez pas l'approbation

Résistez à la tentation de convaincre l'autre d'obtenir l'approbation au lieu de cela, vous pouvez dire «nous ne sommes pas d’accord» ou «j’ai pensé à ce que vous m’avez dit mais je ne pense pas que ce soit vrai pour moi» ou «j’écoute ce que vous dites, mais ma réalité est très différente de la vôtre». Vous êtes parfaitement libre de mettre fin à une conversation.

Ceci n’est recommandé que dans les cas de Gaslighting, car dans tout autre contexte, comme dans une discussion dans laquelle les arguments de l’autre personne sont solides, il peut devenir une excuse pour ne pas admettre que vous n’avez pas raison et, finalement, un outil de dissonance cognitive.

3. Rappelez-vous votre souveraineté sur vos propres pensées

Rappelez-vous que les émotions ne sont ni bonnes ni mauvaises et que personne ne peut vous dire si ce que vous ressentez est vrai ou non. Si vous dites «cela m'a fait me sentir critiqué» ou «je me suis senti triste de ce que vous avez fait», vous ne le soumettez pas à un débat. Après tout, si vous avez l’impression de vous humilier ou de vous faire souffrir psychologiquement, vous ne le sentez que; ce que vous vivez n'est pas sujet à discussion.

Ne vous excusez pas pour le sentiment , ce que vous devriez éviter, c’est d’attaquer, de manipuler ou d’agir de manière préjudiciable.

4. Soyez conscient de vos valeurs

Pourquoi voulez-vous que des valeurs vous soient rappelées? Créez une liste de valeurs personnelles. Par exemple, "passer du temps avec mes proches", "tenir ses promesses", "être généreux / compatissant", "dire la vérité", "voyager", "avoir l'esprit ouvert", "maintenir la spiritualité". Cela vous aidera à rester concentré et à savoir ce que vous valorisez des autres .

D'une certaine manière, les valeurs agissent comme l'épine dorsale de notre comportement. Quoi qu’il arrive, ce que les autres disent, font ou ne devraient pas nous obliger à aller contre eux. Au moment où quelqu'un nous poussera à violer ces principes de base, nous saurons que nous sommes manipulés.

5. Gardez vos limites personnelles

Si quelqu'un les transfère, faites-le savoir et soulignez une conséquence . Par exemple, s'ils crient ou vous insultent verbalement, vous pouvez dire "Je ne suis pas à l'aise avec ce que vous avez dit, je pense que c'est irrespectueux et je n'ai pas l'intention de l'abandonner". Reste ferme.

Si cela se répète, faites-le savoir à nouveau et, en fonction de la relation, recherchez un dialogue sincère où les deux parties s'engagent à ne plus le faire ou à s'en aller.

Si la personne n'est pas responsable de ses fautes et continue "gaslighteándote", demandez-vous si vous souhaitez poursuivre la relation ou la fréquence des visites dans le cas des proches ou des amis. Travailler votre propre affirmation est essentiel pour faire valoir vos propres intérêts avec dignité.


Références bibliographiques:

  • Rey-Anacona, C.A. (2009). Abus physique, psychologique, émotionnel, sexuel et économique à la cour: une étude exploratoire. Acte colombien de psychologie 12 (2): pp. 27-36.
  • Rodríguez-Carballeira, A. (2005). Une étude comparative des stratégies de violence psychologique: à deux, sur le lieu de travail et dans des groupes manipulateurs. Annuaire de psychologie.

10 Types of Emotional Manipulation (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes