yes, therapy helps!
Gaucher disease: symptoms, causes and types

Gaucher disease: symptoms, causes and types

June 25, 2022

Lysosomal storage diseases are associated with a deficient functioning of certain enzymes, which causes lipids and proteins to accumulate in the cells.

In this article we will analyze Symptoms, causes and three types of Gaucher's disease , the most frequent of disorders of this kind, which affects multiple functions of the organism.

  • Related article: "The differences between syndrome, disorder and disease"

What is Gaucher's disease?

Gaucher disease is a disorder caused by genetic mutations that are transmitted by autosomal recessive inheritance. It affects the blood, the brain, the spinal cord, the bones, the liver, the spleen, the kidneys and the lungs, and the severe forms of the alteration cause death or significantly reduce life expectancy.


It was described by Philippe Gaucher, a French physician specializing in dermatology, in the year 1882. Initially Gaucher believed that the symptoms and signs were manifestations of a specific class of spleen cancer; until 1965 the true underlying causes, related to biochemical and non-immune aspects, were not identified.

Gaucher disease belongs to a set of alterations that are known as "Lysosomal storage diseases" or "by lysosomal storage" , related to a deficit in the function of enzymes. It is one of the most common in this group, since it occurs in approximately 1 in 40 thousand births.


The prognosis of this disease depends on which of the three variants that exist we refer to. Type 1, the most frequent in the West, can be managed by enzyme replacement therapies and of reducing the concentration of the accumulated substances that cause the pathology, while the neurological signs of types 2 and 3 are not treatable.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Pick's disease: causes, symptoms and treatment"

Symptoms and main signs

Gaucher disease causes alterations in many different organs and tissues, as well as in the blood; this explains the appearance of signs of varied character. A fundamental criterion in determining the severity of the disease is the presence or absence of neurological damage, which endangers life and significantly interferes with development.

Among the most common symptoms and signs and highlights of Gaucher disease we find the following:


  • Enlargement of the liver and spleen (hepatosplenomegaly) that causes inflammation of the abdomen
  • Pain in bones and joints, arthritis, osteoporosis and increased frequency of bone fractures
  • Anemia (decrease in the number of red blood cells) which causes fatigue, dizziness or headache
  • Increase the ease with which bruises form and bleed
  • Increased risk of developing diseases in the lungs and other organs
  • Yellowish or brown pigmentation of the skin
  • Brain injuries, altered brain development, apraxia , seizures, muscular hypertonia, abnormal eye movements, apnea, olfactory deficits (if there are neurological alterations)

Causes and physiopathology

Gaucher's disease appears as a consequence of a deficiency in the enzyme glucocerebrosidase , which is located in the membranes of lysosomes (cellular organelles that contain a large number of enzymes) and has the function of breaking down the fatty acids of the class of glucocerebrosides, as well as others of different types.

Alterations in the function of glucocerebrosidase mean that certain substances can not be adequately eliminated in lysosomes. Consequently they accumulate in the body, giving rise to the symptoms of Gaucher's disease. There are other disorders with similar causes, such as Tay-Sachs disease, Hunter disease or Pompe disease.

In the case of Gaucher's disease, these alterations are due to a genetic mutation that is transmitted by autosomal recessive inheritance . Therefore, to affect a person this must have inherited the genetic defect of both his father and his mother; if both parents present it, the risk of suffering from the disease is 25%.

The mutation that causes the symptoms varies depending on the variant of Gaucher's disease, but it is always related to the beta-glucosidase gene, which is located on chromosome 1 . We have found about 80 different mutations that have been grouped into three categories; to these we will dedicate the following section.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 12 most important brain diseases"

Types of Gaucher disease

In general, Gaucher disease is divided into three types depending on the severity of the neurological disorders: type 1 or non-neuropathic, type 2 or acute neuropathic infantile and type 3 chronic neuropathic .

It is important to emphasize that the validity of this categorization has been questioned and accused of reductionism by various experts.

1. Type 1 (not neuropathic)

Type 1 is the most common variant of Gaucher's disease in Europe and the United States; in fact, approximately 95% of the cases detected in these regions are grouped in this category. The term "non-neuropathic" refers to the absence or mildness of central nervous system involvement .

In people with type 1 of Gaucher's disease, no alterations in brain development are observed, unlike what happens in types 2 and 3. The most notable symptoms include the sensation of fatigue, the enlargement of the spleen and the liver and the problems related to the bones.

2. Type 2 (acute neuropathic infant)

Acute neuropathic-type Gaucher disease in children is the most severe form of the disorder. Causes brain damage and irreversible neurological abnormalities , including the malformation of the brainstem, for which there is no treatment at present, and generally causes the death of the affected baby before he reaches 2 years.

3. Type 3 (chronic neuropathic)

Although the chronic neuropathic type is rare in Western countries, it is the most common variant in the rest of the world. The severity of type 3 is at an intermediate point between those of types 1 and 2 : causes the symptoms of class 1 but also some neurological alterations, and reduces the life expectancy to less than 50 years.


Being screened for Gaucher disease (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Maladie de Gaucher: symptômes, causes et types

Maladie de Gaucher: symptômes, causes et types

Décembre 9, 2021

Les maladies de stockage lysosomal sont associées à un fonctionnement déficient de certaines enzymes, ce qui entraîne une accumulation de lipides et de protéines dans les cellules.

Dans cet article, nous analyserons Symptômes, causes et trois types de maladie de Gaucher , le plus fréquent des désordres de ce genre, qui affecte de multiples fonctions de l’organisme.

  • Article connexe: "Les différences entre syndrome, trouble et maladie"

Qu'est-ce que la maladie de Gaucher?

La maladie de Gaucher est un trouble provoqué par des mutations génétiques transmises par une transmission autosomique récessive. Il affecte le sang, le cerveau, la moelle épinière, les os, le foie, la rate, les reins et les poumons, et les formes graves de l'altération causent la mort ou réduire considérablement l'espérance de vie.


Il a été décrit par Philippe Gaucher, médecin français spécialisé en dermatologie, en 1882. Initialement, Gaucher pensait que les symptômes et les signes étaient des manifestations d'une classe spécifique de cancer de la rate; jusqu'en 1965, les véritables causes sous-jacentes, liées aux aspects biochimiques et non immuns, n'étaient pas identifiées.

La maladie de Gaucher fait partie d’un ensemble de modifications connues sous le nom de "Maladies à stockage lysosomal" ou "par stockage lysosomal" , liée à un déficit de la fonction des enzymes. C'est l'un des plus fréquents dans ce groupe, puisqu'il survient chez environ 1 naissance sur 40 000.


Le pronostic de cette maladie dépend de laquelle des trois variantes existantes nous faisons référence. Type 1, le plus fréquent dans l'ouest, peut être géré par des thérapies de remplacement d'enzymes et de réduire la concentration des substances accumulées qui causent la pathologie, alors que les signes neurologiques des types 2 et 3 ne peuvent pas être traités.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Maladie de Pick: causes, symptômes et traitement"

Symptômes et principaux signes

La maladie de Gaucher provoque des altérations dans de nombreux organes et tissus, ainsi que dans le sang; cela explique l'apparition de signes de caractère varié. Un critère fondamental pour déterminer la gravité de la maladie est la présence ou l'absence de dommages neurologiques qui mettent en danger la vie et entravent considérablement le développement.

Parmi les symptômes et les signes les plus courants et faits saillants de la maladie de Gaucher, nous trouvons ce qui suit:


  • Elargissement du foie et de la rate (hépatosplénomégalie) provoquant une inflammation de l'abdomen
  • Douleur dans les os et les articulations, arthrite, ostéoporose et fréquence accrue de fractures osseuses
  • Anémie (diminution du nombre de globules rouges) qui provoque de la fatigue, des vertiges ou des maux de tête
  • Augmente la facilité avec laquelle les ecchymoses se forment et saignent
  • Risque accru de développer des maladies dans les poumons et d'autres organes
  • Pigmentation jaunâtre ou brune de la peau
  • Lésions cérébrales, altération du développement cérébral, apraxie , convulsions, hypertonie musculaire, mouvements oculaires anormaux, apnée, déficits olfactifs (en cas d'altération neurologique)

Causes et physiopathologie

La maladie de Gaucher apparaît à la suite d'une déficit en enzyme glucocérébrosidase , qui se trouve dans les membranes des lysosomes (organites cellulaires contenant un grand nombre d’enzymes) et a pour fonction de décomposer les acides gras de la classe des glucocérébrosides ainsi que d’autres de types différents.

Les altérations de la fonction de la glucocérébrosidase signifient que certaines substances ne peuvent pas être éliminées de manière adéquate dans les lysosomes. Par conséquent, ils s'accumulent dans le corps, provoquant les symptômes de la maladie de Gaucher. Il existe d'autres troubles ayant des causes similaires, tels que la maladie de Tay-Sachs, la maladie de Hunter et la maladie de Pompe.

Dans le cas de la maladie de Gaucher, ces altérations sont dues à une mutation génétique transmise par héritage autosomique récessif . Par conséquent, pour toucher une personne, cela doit avoir hérité du défaut génétique de son père et de sa mère; si les deux parents le présentent, le risque de souffrir de la maladie est de 25%.

La mutation qui cause les symptômes varie en fonction de la variante de la maladie de Gaucher, mais elle est toujours liée à le gène de la bêta-glucosidase, situé sur le chromosome 1 . Nous avons trouvé environ 80 mutations différentes qui ont été regroupées en trois catégories. nous y dédierons la section suivante.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 12 maladies du cerveau les plus importantes"

Types de maladie de Gaucher

En général, la maladie de Gaucher est divisée en trois types en fonction de la gravité des troubles neurologiques: type 1 ou non neuropathique, type 2 ou neuropathique aigu infantile et type 3 neuropathique .

Il est important de souligner que la validité de cette catégorisation a été mise en doute et accusée de réductionnisme par divers experts.

1. Type 1 (non neuropathique)

Le type 1 est la variante la plus courante de la maladie de Gaucher en Europe et aux États-Unis; en fait, environ 95% des cas détectés dans ces régions sont regroupés dans cette catégorie. Le terme "non neuropathique" désigne l'absence ou douceur du système nerveux central .

Chez les personnes atteintes du type 1 de la maladie de Gaucher, aucune altération du développement cérébral n’a été constatée, contrairement à ce qui se passe pour les types 2 et 3. Les symptômes les plus notables sont la sensation de fatigue, l’agrandissement de la rate et la foie et les problèmes liés aux os.

2. Type 2 (nourrisson neuropathique aigu)

La maladie de Gaucher de type neuropathique aiguë chez les enfants est la forme la plus grave de la maladie. Cause des lésions cérébrales et des anomalies neurologiques irréversibles , y compris la malformation du tronc cérébral, pour laquelle il n’existe actuellement aucun traitement, et qui provoque généralement la mort du bébé touché avant l’âge de 2 ans.

3. Type 3 (neuropathique chronique)

Bien que le type neuropathique chronique soit rare dans les pays occidentaux, il s'agit de la variante la plus répandue dans le reste du monde. La sévérité du type 3 est à un point intermédiaire entre celles des types 1 et 2 : provoque les symptômes de la classe 1 mais aussi certaines altérations neurologiques et réduit l'espérance de vie à moins de 50 ans.


Est-ce la maladie de Gaucher? (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes