yes, therapy helps!
Gavilan model: what it is and how it is applied to solve problems

Gavilan model: what it is and how it is applied to solve problems

July 19, 2024

Search information and different ways to solve a problem it is something that living beings need to constantly do in order to survive. This also extends to the human being, who is also characterized for having developed a society in which the problems are not limited to immediate aspects related to survival but in the generation of different methods to solve abstract and complex problems (labor, social aspects, logical or scientific for example).

That is why from childhood and throughout education it is necessary to stimulate the ability to investigate, search and select information in order to solve certain problems. The methodologies and models used to achieve this stimulation can be multiple, being an example of them called the model Gavilan , which we are going to talk about throughout this article.


  • Related article: "The 10 best academic search engines to investigate in science"

The Gavilán model: an information search methodology

It receives the name of model Gavilán to a methodology consisting of four basic steps that aims to contribute to achieve valid, coherent, logical and rational investigations . It is a methodology born and applied fundamentally in the academic field (both in school and university training).

The model in question seeks on the one hand to provide guidance to students in the face of the methodology to be used when looking for information in order to be able to simultaneously stimulate competence and control over the fact of locating, selecting and using information.


This model It was prepared by the Gabriel Piedrahita Uribe Foundation (The name Gavilán comes from the nickname that was given in childhood to this young man, who died at age 22 in a plane crash and shortly before graduating from Harvard as a teacher) given the difficulties that were observed in other educational models at the time to ensure that the student study carried out exhaustive and quality information searches in a way that offered guidance and allowed teachers to develop activities that allow the student to know a specific methodology to search for reliable information in the best possible way.

The Gavilán model is a simple and easily understandable model in the different ages in which it is usually applied, dedicated to the search of information referring to very specific issues and problems. focused on the collection and analysis of information in itself and not so much of the real resolution of a problem. In other words, this model offers a framework or methodology, but not a solution to the questions that require a response.


Its phases

As we mentioned before, the Gavilán model consists of a series of four steps or phases focused on the search and collection of information, each of them counting with different substeps within each other.

Is about a simple process that can be followed by both students and professionals Although the process is focused on the student or researcher, the model also offers different options to analyze and evaluate the process to the teachers who apply it, being able to carry out evaluations in each of the steps that are part of it. The steps in question would be the following.

1. Define the problem

In the first place, the Gavilán model proposes that in order to carry out a good investigation, the first thing that needs to be done is to define and delimit the problem or issue on which one wants to investigate or that requires a solution. This is how they learn to identify what they are working on, what the objective is and what they may need to do to get there.

In this step we must first ask a specific question, delimiting the topic or aspect that is intended to work or the objectives to be achieved .

Subsequently this question should not only be identified but also analyzed in order to understand what they are looking for, what opinion or ideas they have on the basis of the problem and the difficulties that may involve the fulfillment of their objectives or resolution of the problem to be investigated.

After that, it will be necessary for the subject to generate a series of possible ways or processes that he can follow to obtain the information and the aspects of the question that can provide information to resolve it . In other words, draw up a research plan.

During the elaboration of this plan, secondary questions will arise that, in the end, will provide us with more precise information about what we want to know and allow us to have a more accurate and precise view of the subject.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 15 types of research (and features)"

2. Search and evaluate information

Once located on what to investigate and planned how we are going to do it, the next step is to take action: start the search for information. The objective of this step of the model is the development of information search skills.

In the first place it will be necessary to identify possible sources of information, evaluating which could be the most indicated and valid and the kind of information they can get from them.

A second step would be to enter those sources of information or those that are available (because access to them is not always possible, especially), and proceed to look at them for the type of information that would be needed.

Once this is done and observing the type of source and its content it is sought that the student is able to consider whether the source itself is reliable or valid.

3. Analyze the information

Although the previous step focused more on finding, accessing and valuing the sources, in this third step the work will be carried out directly with the information to be worked on. We will work on aspects such as the critical assessment of information, the use of resources or the search for coherence in information.

First, the subject will have to proceed to read the information present in the sources previously evaluated and analyze what of that information fits the initial question or the secondary questions .

Once this has been done, a critical analysis of the information that has been extracted must be carried out in order to assess whether it allows the resolution of the problems, or whether a deeper, exhaustive exploration or through other sources may be necessary. Not only should you read but also understand and give it meaning.

Later, with this information, secondary questions will be answered, transforming the information based on what the subject has understood about it and its relation to the questions asked.

4. Synthesize the information and use it

The last step of this model focuses on having the information already extracted, generate content or give a real answer to questions or initial problems. We work on aspects such as the provision of meaning, the understanding of what explored and the capacity for both synthesis and application of the analyzed .

Initially it will be necessary, having already answered the secondary questions that arose during the elaboration of the intervention plan, to synthesize them and generate an answer for the main question that led to the research process.

After having this answer we should be able to apply it in concrete situations, generating a product or using it to solve the basic problem (even if it is at a theoretical level).

Finally, taking into account that the Gavilán model is focused on research, the last step will be to explain, express or record the results of the process. It is a step that lets others see the existence of real research and understanding and mastery of it.

A very useful model

The Gavilan model is relatively recent, but we are facing a simple and easily applicable model .

In addition, it allows students to improve their skills in the search and handling of information of different types, which is essential in a computerized society (this model was created taking into account the high presence of information and communication technologies) and with access to a huge volume of information sources, many of which are unreliable, contradictory with other sources or outdated.

This is applicable to all types of research process , especially in the educational field but not adhering to it (although a scientific investigation usually requires a much more demanding process for example when validating the data).

Bibliographic references

  • Cánchica de Medina, M. (2016). Gavilán model for the development of skills in the management of information through Google drive. An innovative experience. Academia and Virtuality Magazine, 9, (2), 10-26.
  • Eduteka (2007). Model Gavilán 2.0. A proposal for the development of the competence to manage information (CMI). [Online]. Available at: //www.eduteka. org / pdfdir / ModeloGavilan.pdf [Accessed January 25, 2018].
  • González, L. and Sánchez, B. (2007). Guide to use the Gavilan Model in the classroom. [On-line]. Available at: www.eduteka.org/modulos/1/1/.

MODEL MEDIATION (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le modèle Gavilan: de quoi s'agit-il et comment est-il appliqué pour résoudre des problèmes

Le modèle Gavilan: de quoi s'agit-il et comment est-il appliqué pour résoudre des problèmes

Novembre 18, 2022

Rechercher des informations et différentes manières de résoudre un problème c'est une chose que les êtres vivants doivent constamment faire pour survivre. Cela concerne également l'être humain, qui se caractérise également par le développement d'une société dans laquelle les problèmes ne se limitent pas aux aspects immédiats liés à la survie mais à la génération de méthodes différentes pour résoudre des problèmes abstraits et complexes (travail, aspects sociaux, etc.). logique ou scientifique par exemple).

C’est pourquoi dès l’enfance et tout au long de l’éducation, il est nécessaire de stimuler la capacité d’enquêter, de rechercher et de sélectionner des informations afin de résoudre certains problèmes. Les méthodologies et modèles utilisés pour réaliser cette stimulation peuvent être multiples, être un exemple d'entre eux appelé le modèle Gavilan , dont nous allons parler tout au long de cet article.


  • Article connexe: "Les 10 meilleurs moteurs de recherche universitaires à étudier en science"

Le modèle de Gavilán: une méthodologie de recherche d'informations

Il reçoit le nom de modèle Gavilán à une méthodologie consistant en quatre étapes de base qui vise à contribuer à réaliser des enquêtes valides, cohérentes, logiques et rationnelles . C'est une méthodologie née et appliquée fondamentalement dans le domaine académique (à la fois dans la formation scolaire et universitaire).

Le modèle en question cherche, d’une part, à orienter les étudiants face à la méthodologie à utiliser lors de la recherche d’informations afin de pouvoir simultanément stimuler la compétence et le contrôle sur le fait de localiser, sélectionner et utiliser l'information.


Ce modèle Il a été préparé par la Fondation Gabriel Piedrahita Uribe (Le nom Gavilán vient du surnom donné dans l'enfance à ce jeune homme décédé à 22 ans dans un accident d'avion et peu de temps avant d'obtenir son diplôme d'enseignant à Harvard) compte tenu des difficultés observées dans d'autres modèles éducatifs à l'époque. veiller à ce que les étudiants effectuent des recherches d’informations exhaustives et de qualité de manière à offrir une orientation et à permettre aux enseignants de développer des activités permettant à l’étudiant de connaître une méthodologie spécifique pour rechercher les informations fiables de la meilleure façon possible.

Le modèle de Gavilán est un modèle simple et facilement compréhensible aux différentes époques d'application, dédié à la recherche d'informations se rapportant à des problèmes très spécifiques. axé sur la collecte et l'analyse d'informations en soi et pas tellement de la résolution réelle d'un problème. En d'autres termes, ce modèle offre un cadre ou une méthodologie, mais pas une solution aux questions nécessitant une réponse.


Ses phases

Comme nous l’avons déjà mentionné, le modèle de Gavilán consiste en une série de quatre étapes ou phases axées sur la recherche et la collecte d’informations, chacune comptant avec des sous-étapes différentes les unes des autres.

Il s'agit de un processus simple qui peut être suivi à la fois par les étudiants et les professionnels Bien que le processus soit centré sur l'étudiant ou le chercheur, le modèle offre également différentes options pour analyser et évaluer le processus aux enseignants qui l'appliquent, en pouvant effectuer des évaluations à chacune des étapes qui le composent. Les étapes en question seraient les suivantes.

1. Définir le problème

En premier lieu, le modèle de Gavilán propose que pour mener une bonne enquête, la première chose à faire est de définir et de délimiter le problème ou la question sur laquelle on veut enquêter ou qui nécessite une solution. C'est ainsi qu'ils apprennent à identifier ce sur quoi ils travaillent, quel est leur objectif et ce qu'ils peuvent avoir besoin de faire pour y parvenir.

Dans cette étape, nous devons d'abord poser une question spécifique, délimiter le sujet ou l'aspect qui est censé fonctionner ou les objectifs à atteindre .

Par la suite, cette question devrait non seulement être identifiée mais également analysée afin de comprendre ce qu’ils recherchent, leur opinion ou leurs idées sur la base du problème et les difficultés pouvant impliquer la réalisation de leurs objectifs ou la résolution du problème à étudier.

Après cela, le sujet devra générer une série de méthodes ou de processus qu'il peut suivre pour obtenir les informations et les aspects de la question qui peuvent fournir des informations pour la résoudre . En d’autres termes, élaborez un plan de recherche.

Lors de l'élaboration de ce plan, des questions secondaires se poseront qui, à la fin, nous fourniront des informations plus précises sur ce que nous voulons savoir et nous permettront d'avoir une vision plus précise du sujet.

  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Les 15 types de recherche (et fonctionnalités)"

2. Rechercher et évaluer des informations

Une fois que vous avez identifié les éléments à étudier et planifié la manière dont nous allons procéder, la prochaine étape consiste à prendre des mesures: lancez la recherche d'informations. L'objectif de cette étape du modèle est le développement des compétences de recherche d'informations.

En premier lieu, il sera nécessaire d’identifier les sources d’information possibles, évaluer ce qui pourrait être le plus indiqué et le plus valable et le type d'informations qu'ils peuvent obtenir d'eux.

Une deuxième étape consisterait à entrer ces sources d’information ou celles qui sont disponibles (car leur accès n’est pas toujours possible, en particulier), puis à les rechercher pour le type d’information qui serait nécessaire.

Une fois que cela est fait et observer le type de source et son contenu on cherche à ce que l'étudiant soit en mesure de déterminer si la source elle-même est fiable ou valide.

3. Analyser les informations

Bien que l'étape précédente ait été davantage axée sur la recherche, l'accès et la valorisation des sources, cette troisième étape consistera à travailler directement avec les informations à traiter. Nous travaillerons sur des aspects tels que l’évaluation critique de l’information, l’utilisation des ressources ou la recherche de cohérence dans l’information.

En premier lieu, le sujet devra procéder à la lecture des informations présentes dans les sources précédemment évaluées et analyser lequel de ces informations correspond à la question initiale ou aux questions secondaires .

Une fois que cela a été fait, une analyse critique des informations extraites doit être effectuée afin de déterminer si elle permet la résolution des problèmes, ou si une exploration plus approfondie et exhaustive ou par le biais d'autres sources peut s'avérer nécessaire. Non seulement devriez-vous lire mais aussi comprendre et lui donner un sens.

Plus tard, avec cette information, on répondra aux questions secondaires, en transformant les informations en fonction de ce que le sujet a compris à son sujet et de sa relation avec les questions posées.

4. Synthétiser les informations et les utiliser

La dernière étape de ce modèle consiste à disposer des informations déjà extraites, à générer du contenu ou à apporter une réponse réelle aux questions ou problèmes initiaux. Nous travaillons sur des aspects tels que la fourniture de sens, la compréhension de ce que explorés et la capacité à la fois de synthèse et d’application du document analysé. .

Après avoir déjà répondu aux questions secondaires posées lors de l’élaboration du plan d’intervention, il sera nécessaire de les synthétiser et de générer une réponse à la question principale ayant conduit au processus de recherche.

Après avoir obtenu cette réponse, nous devrions pouvoir l’appliquer dans des situations concrètes. générer un produit ou l'utiliser pour résoudre le problème de base (même si c'est au niveau théorique).

Enfin, compte tenu du fait que le modèle de Gavilán est axé sur la recherche, la dernière étape consiste à expliquer, exprimer ou enregistrer les résultats du processus. C’est une étape qui permet aux autres de voir l’existence d’une recherche réelle, de la comprendre et de la maîtriser.

Un modèle très utile

Le modèle de Gavilan est relativement récent, mais nous sommes confrontés à un modèle simple et facilement applicable .

En outre, il permet aux étudiants d’améliorer leurs compétences en matière de recherche et de traitement d’informations de différents types, ce qui est essentiel dans une société informatisée (ce modèle a été créé en tenant compte de la forte présence des technologies de l’information et de la communication) et l'accès à un volume énorme de sources d'informations, dont beaucoup sont peu fiables, contradictoires avec d'autres sources ou obsolètes.

Ceci est applicable à tous les types de processus de recherche , en particulier dans le domaine de l’éducation mais n’y adhérant pas (bien qu’une enquête scientifique nécessite généralement un processus beaucoup plus exigeant, par exemple lors de la validation des données).

Références bibliographiques

  • Cánchica de Medina, M. (2016). Modèle Gavilán pour le développement des compétences dans la gestion de l'information via Google drive. Une expérience innovante. Academia et Virtuality Magazine, 9, (2), 10-26.
  • Eduteka (2007). Modèle Gavilán 2.0. Une proposition pour le développement de la compétence pour gérer l'information (CMI). [En ligne]. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.eduteka. org / pdfdir / ModeloGavilan.pdf [Consulté le 25 janvier 2018].
  • González, L. et Sánchez, B. (2007). Guide d'utilisation du modèle Gavilan en classe. [En ligne] Disponible à l'adresse suivante: www.eduteka.org/modulos/1/1/.

???? ANIMAL PLANET,DOCUMENTALES DE ANIMALES - LAS AGUILAS - DOCUMENTALES,DOCUMENTAL,ANIMALES SALVAJES (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes