yes, therapy helps!
Gender bender: what it is and how it transgresses gender roles

Gender bender: what it is and how it transgresses gender roles

May 2, 2024

David Bowie, Lady Gaga, Prince ... all of them are or were great professionals highly recognized worldwide for the quality of their songs. Likewise, they were also seen as eccentric because of their wardrobe or their search for an androgynous appearance. They gather characteristics of people gender bender , a concept that we are going to talk about throughout this article.

  • Related article: "Gender dysphoria: being born in the wrong body"

Gender bender: what is it?

The term gender bender refers to that person which is revealed against gender roles and stereotypes and the binary system that these establish , being said rupture for them shown to the public in an active way.


The manifestation of this rebellion towards gender roles can be carried out in innumerable ways. One of the most common is to show roles and behaviors attributed by gender roles to the opposite sex. Another one (and probably the most visible externally) is the use of a costume or appearance that is either associated with that other sex or employs elements of both , achieving an androgynous look in the last case. It is also common for both forms of expression to occur, as drag queens or drag kings do.

The gender bender may be trying to generate social change, as a movement or activism. However, it is important to bear in mind that gender bending does not have to be a radical activist position, being merely a form of self-expression or even of exploration to forge one's own identity independent of the opinion of others.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Gender stereotypes: this reproduces inequality"

The gender bending as a social movement

While not on all occasions, gender bending can be understood (being the trend itself and the gender bender the person who practices it) as a form of movement and social activism .

In this sense, there would be a protest against gender roles, which are excessively restricted and tend to exclude those who do not limit themselves to them. It would be expressing a greater desire for freedom to be as you want to be, being able to be and express freely without being constrained or constrained by patterns not chosen by oneself and without that discrimination or social criticism.

This activism usually acts in a demanding but peaceful way, sometimes acting through parody and theatricality to express the artificiality of the gender construct. As we have indicated, elements associated with the other gender are usually used, although non-gender and androgeneity, or the mixture of characteristics linked to each of the genres, can also be sought.


It should also be borne in mind that this type of activism occurs in societies with a binary system and with gender roles such as ours, but not in other cultures that even recognize a third sex or identity in a traditional way.

Differentiation of other concepts

Even though gender bending is a type of reaction to gender stereotypes that is associated with the LGTBI collective population , due among other aspects to the fact that this group has had to fight against discrimination and defends the right to sexual and identity freedom, in reality it covers and is addressed to the entire population.

In fact, this relationship often causes the gender bending to be identified with other concepts that, although in some cases they may have some connection, it would be incorrect to consider them as synonyms.

1. Confusion with sexual orientation

In the first place, it is important to consider that gender bending is a reaction to gender stereotypes , this being independent of the sexual orientation of the person in question. And it is that the sexual orientation marks the preference and sexual attraction towards the people of a certain sex.

Thus, although socially considered to be linked to homosexuality or bisexuality, the truth is that a gender bender can have any type of sexual orientation, being in fact many of them heterosexual. And conversely, any person or dependent of your orientation can follow or fulfill gender roles.

2. Transexuality

Another aspect, which in fact is often identified when selling bender, is transsexuality. But also in this case the identification between both concepts is not correct .

Transsexuality implies the presence of an identification with a sex that is not the one given to us by birth, not necessarily implying a rejection of gender roles (although the majority of transsexuals must face stigmas linked to them) .

Also, the gender bending it does not have to involve feeling in the wrong body .

3. Cross-dressing: not always a means of expression of the gender bender

Finally, there is the concept of transvestism, perhaps the most socially linked to the gender bender. And it is true that one of the ways to manifest the rejection of gender roles and stereotypes is through the use of clothing, accessories and makeup linked to the opposite sex, or to mix styles typically considered male and female.

However, not all the people who go through it do so as a sign of social activism or to break with stereotypes, in addition to the gender bender can show his break with gender roles in other ways beyond his wardrobe (for example at the behavioral level).

Appearance in multiple contexts

We have started this would be talking about different singers that have marked and been relevant in the collective imagination and that on more than one occasion have used androgynous looks as a way of expression.

This is because the world of music in general generates easily recognizable figures and icons by all. But gender-benders do not only exist in this sphere: actors and actresses, writers or dramatists have introduced or represented this dispute or break with gender stereotypes.

In any case it should be noted that in part because of the poor social consideration that until a few years ago have had different options to those established by tradition, many people of this group have not been able to freely express their way of living. see themselves, as well as being often ignored, marginalized and even persecuted .

That yes, although the gender bending as movement would not begin until the sixties this does not mean that the concept behind it is not something that has been talked about over the centuries.

And not only in reality, but also in multiple works of fiction can be seen cases of gender bending. It is said that even Shakespeare introduced in some of his characters some kind of mention of stereotypes or gender roles or acting in a way attributed to the opposite sex.

Bibliographic references:

  • Butler, J. (1988). Performative Acts and Gender Construction: An Essay in Phenomenology and Feminist Theory (PDF).
  • Butler, J. (2006). Gender Trouble: Feminism and the Subversion of Identity. 1st Edition. Routledge Classics
  • Lonc, C. (1974). Genderfuck and Its Delights. Gay Sunshine, 21

How Do We and The Sims Perform Gender? | Idea Channel | PBS Digital Studios (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Gender bender: qu'est-ce que c'est et en quoi il transgresse les rôles des genres

Gender bender: qu'est-ce que c'est et en quoi il transgresse les rôles des genres

Septembre 30, 2022

David Bowie, Lady Gaga, Prince ... sont tous ou étaient de grands professionnels hautement reconnus dans le monde entier pour la qualité de leurs chansons. De même, ils étaient également considérés comme excentriques en raison de leur garde-robe ou de leur recherche d'une apparence androgyne. Ils rassemblent les caractéristiques des personnes bender , un concept dont nous allons parler tout au long de cet article.

  • Article connexe: "Dysphorie de genre: être né dans le mauvais corps"

Gender bender: qu'est-ce que c'est?

Le terme genre bender désigne cette personne qui se révèle contre les rôles et les stéréotypes de genre et le système binaire que ceux-ci établissent , étant dite rupture pour eux montrée au public de manière active.


La manifestation de cette rébellion envers les rôles de genre peut être réalisée de nombreuses manières. L'une des plus courantes consiste à montrer les rôles et les comportements attribués par les rôles de genre au sexe opposé. Un autre (et probablement le plus visible de l’extérieur) est l'utilisation d'un costume ou d'une apparence associée à cet autre sexe ou utilisant des éléments des deux , obtenant un regard androgyne dans le dernier cas. Il est également courant que les deux formes d'expression se produisent, comme le font les drag queens ou les drag kings.

La personne sexuée peut tenter de générer un changement social, en tant que mouvement ou activisme. Cependant, il est important de garder à l'esprit que la flexion des sexes ne doit pas nécessairement être une position militante radicale, mais simplement une forme d'expression de soi ou même d'exploration pour se forger sa propre identité indépendamment de l'opinion des autres.


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Stéréotypes de genre: cela reproduit l'inégalité"

Le genre se pliant comme un mouvement social

Bien que ce ne soit pas toujours le cas, on peut comprendre la flexion selon le sexe (c'est-à-dire la tendance elle-même et le facteur de genre, la personne qui la pratique) comme une forme de mouvement et d'activisme social .

En ce sens, il y aurait une protestation contre les rôles de genre, qui sont excessivement restreints et ont tendance à exclure ceux qui ne se limitent pas à eux. Ce serait exprimer un plus grand désir de liberté, d’être comme on veut, d’être et d’exprimer librement sans être contraint ou contraint par des schémas non choisis par soi-même et sans discrimination ni critique sociale.

Cet activisme agit généralement de manière exigeante mais pacifique, agissant parfois par la parodie et la théâtralité exprimer le caractère artificiel de la construction de genre. Comme nous l'avons indiqué, des éléments associés à l'autre sexe sont généralement utilisés, bien que l'on puisse également rechercher un non-genre et une androgénité, ou le mélange de caractéristiques liées à chacun des genres.


Il faut également garder à l’esprit que ce type d’activisme se produit dans des sociétés avec un système binaire et avec des rôles de genre tels que le nôtre, mais pas dans d’autres cultures qui reconnaissent même un troisième sexe ou une identité de manière traditionnelle.

Différenciation d'autres concepts

Bien que la flexion entre les sexes soit un type de réaction aux stéréotypes de genre qui est associé à la population collective LGTBI , en raison notamment du fait que ce groupe a dû lutter contre la discrimination et défendre le droit à la liberté sexuelle et d’identité, il couvre en réalité et s’adresse à toute la population.

En fait, cette relation entraîne souvent l’identification de la différence de sexe avec d’autres concepts qui, même s’ils ont parfois un lien, ont peut-être tort de les considérer comme des synonymes.

1. Confusion avec l'orientation sexuelle

En premier lieu, il est important de considérer que la flexion entre les sexes est une réaction aux stéréotypes de genre , ceci étant indépendant de l'orientation sexuelle de la personne en question. Et c'est que l'orientation sexuelle marque la préférence et l'attirance sexuelle envers les personnes d'un certain sexe.

Ainsi, bien que socialement considéré comme lié à l’homosexualité ou à la bisexualité, la vérité est qu’un délinquant sexiste peut avoir n’importe quel type d’orientation sexuelle, étant en réalité un grand nombre d’entre eux hétérosexuels. Et inversement, toute personne ou dépendant de votre orientation peut suivre ou remplir des rôles de genre.

2. transsexuelle

Un autre aspect, qui est en fait souvent identifié lors de la vente de bender, est la transsexualité. Mais aussi dans ce cas l'identification entre les deux concepts n'est pas correcte .

La transsexualité implique la présence d'une identification avec un sexe qui n'est pas celui qui nous a été attribué par la naissance, pas nécessairement un rejet des rôles de genre (bien que la majorité des transsexuels doivent faire face à des stigmates qui leur sont liés) .

En outre, la flexion des sexes il ne faut pas impliquer de se sentir dans le mauvais corps .

3. Le travestissement: pas toujours un moyen d’expression du facteur de genre

Enfin, il y a le concept de travestissement, peut-être le plus socialement lié au facteur de genre. Et il est vrai que l’un des moyens de manifester le rejet des rôles et des stéréotypes sexistes consiste à utiliser des vêtements, des accessoires et du maquillage liés au sexe opposé, ou à mélanger des styles typiquement masculins et féminins.

Cependant, toutes les personnes qui le traversent ne le font pas en tant que signe d'activisme social ou pour rompre avec les stéréotypes, en plus de la distinction de genre peut montrer sa rupture avec les rôles de genre autrement que par sa garde-robe (par exemple au niveau comportemental).

Apparence dans plusieurs contextes

Nous avons commencé par parler de différents chanteurs qui ont marqué et sont restés pertinents dans l’imaginaire collectif et qui ont utilisé à plusieurs reprises l’apparence androgyne comme moyen d’expression.

C'est parce que le monde de la musique en général génère des personnages et des icônes facilement reconnaissables Pour tous. Mais les sexistes n'existent pas seulement dans cette sphère: des acteurs et des actrices, des écrivains ou des dramaturges ont introduit ou représenté ce conflit ou rompu avec les stéréotypes de genre.

Quoi qu’il en soit, il convient de noter que, en partie à cause de la médiocre considération sociale, de nombreuses personnes de ce groupe n’avaient pas jusqu’il ya quelques années des options différentes de celles établies par la tradition, n’ont pu exprimer librement leur mode de vie. se voient et sont souvent ignorés, marginalisés et même persécutés .

Que oui, bien que le mouvement de genre en tant que mouvement ne commence pas avant les années 60, cela ne signifie pas que le concept qui le sous-tend ne fait pas l’objet de discussions au cours des siècles.

Et non seulement dans la réalité, mais aussi dans de multiples œuvres de fiction, on peut voir des cas de déformation sexuelle. On dit que même Shakespeare a introduit dans certains de ses personnages une sorte de mention de stéréotypes ou de rôles de genre ou d’agir d’une manière attribuée au sexe opposé.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Butler, J. (1988). Actes performatifs et construction du genre: Essai en phénoménologie et théorie féministe (PDF).
  • Butler, J. (2006). Problème de genre: le féminisme et la subversion de l'identité. 1ère édition. Classiques Routledge
  • Lonc, C. (1974). Genderfuck et ses délices. Gay Sunshine, 21 ans

Pavalek Norajovitch - Épisode 0 : l'état du monde en deux minutes (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes