yes, therapy helps!
Gender stereotypes: this is how they reproduce inequality

Gender stereotypes: this is how they reproduce inequality

September 25, 2022

The illusion of gender equality that we are in today's society in which we think that inequality is a thing of the past or of other countries, despite the existence of gender violence (maximum expression of such inequality), the wage gap, the unequal distribution of housework and parenting, the economic and political areas that continue to be mostly male ... etc, show the continuity of this problem and the need to analyze the factors that cause and perpetuate this inequality.

At the base of gender inequality there are, among other aspects perpetuating the problem, gender stereotypes , as we will see.


  • Maybe you're interested: "What is radical feminism?"

How is gender inequality inherited?

One of the theories that analyzes these aspects is the theory of differential socialization proposed by Walker and Barton (1983) that explains how people, in their process of initiation of social and cultural life and from the influence of socializing agents, acquire gender differential identities that entail attitudes, behaviors, moral codes and stereotyped norms of the behavior assigned to each gender. That is, the differential socialization based on sex generates gender inequality.

  • Related article: "Causes of gender inequality: differential socialization"

This differential socialization uses the different agents of socialization to transmit stereotypes that contribute to maintaining gender inequalities. In addition, these stereotypes persist, since continue to be transmitted in the process of socialization in all stages of development.


During the primary socialization in which one's own identity is constructed, the boy or girl through family models observes how the father plays certain roles while the mother has others, at the same time it will be incorporated to a reference group according to its sex , thus building its own identity. After this initial socialization, the process of socialization continues in school (secondary socialization) at which time the differences in socialization of men and women begin to consolidate and in turn contribute to the maintenance of gender stereotypes.

In this way, belonging to one or another sexual category will determine both the differences in the identity of each as an individual as the different social realities that occur in the interaction with others. Both determinations will condition the future behavior, that is, the future life choices, and of course the subsequent professional performance.


A) Yes, the woman will assume family functions of home maintenance , care of the children and elderly people, tasks that given the differential socialization will have to reconcile with their work.

The gender schemes

The term "mental scheme" it refers to the organized structure of knowledge or information that is constructed due to the existence of a need for knowledge as an evolutionary form of adaptation to the environment. Its development and development is closely related to the processes of socialization.

Thus, when we talk about gender schemes we refer to the set of knowledge through which the shared features are organized and those that are assigned differentially to women and men.

The gender schemes, like the rest of the cognitive schemes, have an adaptive function since they provide information about the environment to face it and adapt the behaviors to it. However, all cognitive schemes, including gender, involve a process of schematization of knowledge or information with which It simplifies and you lose nuances of reality , since the basis for your organization focuses on two rules: distortion and accommodation.

Thus, authors such as Monreal and Martínez (2010) indicate that these gender schemes contribute to the maintenance of differences between men and women through three dimensions:

  • Sex roles : they are the attributions that are made on the consideration of that there are quantitative differences in the realization of activities between men and women.
  • Gender role stereotypes : they refer to those beliefs about what kind of activities are more appropriate or appropriate for one sex or the other.
  • Stereotypes of gender traits : those psychological aspects that are attributed differentially to men and women. These three dimensions contribute to the maintenance of inequalities because the gender schemas are based on stereotypes that assume the order established in the patriarchal society.

Gender and sexual stereotypes

In scientific research prior to the seventies, sex differences based on stereotypes were considered as positive masculine characteristics attributed to man and those characteristics considered feminine, attributed to women, as negative. However, authors such as Bosch, Ferrer and Alzamora (2006) show that from the seventies onwards, this consideration of sexual differences began to be questioned and criticized due to different reasons:

  • The existence of multiple investigations that yielded results in which the similarities between the sexes are greater than the differences .
  • Women's access to the world of work that allowed them to demonstrate that they can perform tasks that were previously performed exclusively by men .
  • The contributions of the feminist movement such as the concept of gender.
  • Explanations of social learning theories or cognitivism about the sexual typing .

From these contributions, began to consider and detect the presence of stereotypes in various investigations. The term stereotype refers to the belief system about certain characteristics or attributes common to a particular group or society. Specifically, the sexual stereotype It refers to the set of socially shared beliefs that attribute certain characteristics to each person based on their belonging to one sex or the other.

The sexual stereotype understands personality traits, behaviors and occupations that are considered as belonging to women and men.

  • Maybe you're interested: "15 gender prejudices in the Yang Liu pictograms"

The stereotype of the feminine

Traditionally the feminine stereotype has been shaped by characteristics that attribute inferiority to women respect to man, based on the argumentation of the moral, intellectual and biological inferiority of women.

Although this argumentation lacks a scientific basis, it is used culturally and socially in order to maintain the patriarchal system in which women continue to be considered in terms of the female stereotype, assigning them roles and behaviors typical of the private sphere, motherhood and care tasks.

Monreal & Martínez (2010) explain how stereotypes originating in earlier times and transmitted through education maintain inequality because stereotypes present a prescriptive and normative character formed in the society by which people will guide and adapt both the representation of the self as a man or woman, their identity, expectations, beliefs and behaviors.

This character of the stereotypes allows the perpetuation of the same, since in cases in which the person adjusts to the stereotype of normative gender, that is to say, to the imposed and internalized social noma, the stereotype is corroborated, and in those cases in which the person does not conform to the gender stereotype imposed will receive the "social punishment" (reprimands, sanctions, lack of affection ...).

Inequality, today

At present, the reality and the social situation have been modified through various structural changes that attempt to eliminate gender inequalities. However, the stereotypes have not been modified and adapted to the new social situation which produces a greater distance between it and stereotypes.

The gap between the stereotype and the social reality increases due to the effect of self-compliance and the strong resistance to change presented by stereotypes . Therefore, the differences between both genders continue as men and women automatically internalize their own stereotype, with the corresponding values ​​and interests of each gender, values ​​that will be reflected in the roles they perform.

Although stereotypes fulfill an adaptive function that allows us to know the reality and the environment that surrounds us quickly and schematically, they are characterized by attributing the feminine and masculine as two excluding groups, in a dualistic way, as two dimensions represented at opposite poles in the one that the masculine exerts its dominion on the feminine producing clear maladaptive effects.

Thus, both gender schemas and gender stereotypes produce a vision of what can be considered as a man and a woman, influencing from the identity and decisions of each person as well as his vision of the environment, society and the world.

Despite the characteristics of the aforementioned gender schemas and stereotypes, its influence is not deterministic and immovable, so by modifying the socialization process and its transmission through the agents of socialization, a process of change could be achieved with the one that adapts the stereotypes to society allowing the current mirage of equality to be a social reality.

Bibliographic references:

  • Bosch, E., Ferrer, V., & Alzamora, A. (2006). The Patriarchal Labyrinth: Theoretical-practical reflections on violence against women.Barcelona: Anthropos, Editorial of Man.
  • Monreal, Mª., & Martínez, B. (2010). Gender schemes and social inequalities. In Amador, L., & Monreal Mª. (Eds) Social intervention and gender. (pp.71-94). Madrid: Narcea Editions.
  • Walker, S., Barton, L. (1983). Gender, class and education. New York: The Falmer Press.

Theories of Gender: Crash Course Sociology #33 (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les stéréotypes de genre: c'est ainsi qu'ils reproduisent l'inégalité

Les stéréotypes de genre: c'est ainsi qu'ils reproduisent l'inégalité

Juillet 2, 2022

L'illusion de l'égalité des sexes que nous sommes dans la société d'aujourd'hui dans laquelle nous pensons que l'inégalité est une chose du passé ou d'autres pays, malgré l'existence de violences de genre (expression maximale de telles inégalités), l'écart de salaire, la répartition inégale des les tâches ménagères et la parentalité, les domaines économique et politique qui continuent à être principalement masculins ... etc, montrent la continuité de ce problème et la nécessité d'analyser les facteurs qui causent et perpétuent cette inégalité.

À la base de l’inégalité entre les sexes, il existe, entre autres aspects, la perpétuation du problème: stéréotypes de genre , comme nous le verrons.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Qu'est-ce que le féminisme radical?"

Comment hérite-t-on l'inégalité de genre?

L’une des théories analysant ces aspects est la théorie de la socialisation différentielle proposée par Walker et Barton (1983), qui explique comment les gens, dans leur processus d’initiation de la vie sociale et culturelle et de l’influence d’agents socialisants, acquérir des identités différentielles de genre qui impliquent attitudes, comportements, codes moraux et normes stéréotypées du comportement attribué à chaque sexe. Autrement dit, la socialisation différentielle fondée sur le sexe génère une inégalité entre les sexes.

  • Article connexe: "Causes de l'inégalité entre les sexes: socialisation différentielle"

Cette socialisation différentielle utilise les différents agents de socialisation pour transmettre des stéréotypes qui contribuent au maintien des inégalités entre les sexes. En outre, ces stéréotypes persistent, car continuer à être transmis dans le processus de socialisation à tous les stades de développement.


Au cours de la socialisation primaire dans laquelle se construit sa propre identité, le garçon ou la fille observe, à travers des modèles familiaux, comment le père joue certains rôles tandis que la mère en a d'autres, en même temps il sera intégré à un groupe de référence en fonction de son sexe , construisant ainsi sa propre identité. Après cette socialisation initiale, le processus de socialisation se poursuit à l'école (socialisation secondaire), moment où les différences de socialisation entre hommes et femmes commencent à se consolider et contribuent à maintenir les stéréotypes de genre.

De cette manière, l'appartenance à l'une ou l'autre catégorie sexuelle déterminera à la fois les différences dans l'identité de chaque en tant qu'individu comme les différentes réalités sociales qui se produisent dans l'interaction avec les autres. Les deux déterminations conditionneront le comportement futur, c'est-à-dire les choix de vie futurs et, bien sûr, les performances professionnelles ultérieures.


Ainsi, la femme assumera les fonctions familiales d'entretien de la maison , soins aux enfants et aux personnes âgées, tâches qui, compte tenu de la socialisation différentielle, devront se réconcilier avec leur travail.

Les schémas de genre

Le terme "schéma mental" elle fait référence à la structure organisée de connaissances ou d'informations construite en raison de l'existence d'un besoin de connaissances en tant que forme évolutive d'adaptation à l'environnement. Son développement et son développement sont étroitement liés aux processus de socialisation.

Pour lui, quand on parle de schémas de genre nous nous référons à l'ensemble des connaissances à travers lesquelles les fonctionnalités partagées sont organisées et celles attribuées différemment aux femmes et aux hommes.

Les schémas de genre, comme le reste des schémas cognitifs, ont une fonction adaptative puisqu'ils fournissent des informations sur l'environnement pour y faire face et adaptent les comportements à cet environnement. Cependant, tous les schémas cognitifs, y compris le genre, impliquent un processus de schématisation des connaissances ou des informations avec lequel Cela simplifie et vous perdez des nuances de réalité , puisque la base de votre organisation repose sur deux règles: la distorsion et l’accommodation.

Ainsi, des auteurs tels que Monreal et Martínez (2010) indiquent que ces schémas de genre contribuent au maintien des différences entre hommes et femmes à travers trois dimensions:

  • Rôles sexuels : ce sont les attributions qui sont faites en considérant qu'il existe des différences quantitatives dans la réalisation d'activités entre hommes et femmes.
  • Stéréotypes de genre : ils se réfèrent à ces croyances sur le type d'activités qui conviennent le mieux à un sexe ou à un autre.
  • Stéréotypes de traits de genre : ces aspects psychologiques attribués différemment aux hommes et aux femmes. Ces trois dimensions contribuent au maintien des inégalités car les schémas de genre sont basés sur des stéréotypes qui supposent l’ordre établi dans la société patriarcale.

Genre et stéréotypes sexuels

Dans les recherches scientifiques menées avant les années soixante-dix, les différences entre les sexes fondées sur des stéréotypes étaient considérées comme des caractéristiques masculines positives attribuées à l'homme et les caractéristiques considérées comme féminines, attribuées aux femmes, comme négatives. Cependant, des auteurs tels que Bosch, Ferrer et Alzamora (2006) montrent que, à partir des années 70, cette prise en compte des différences sexuelles a commencé à être remise en question et critiquée pour différentes raisons:

  • L’existence d’enquêtes multiples donnant des résultats dans lesquels les similitudes entre les sexes sont plus grandes que les différences .
  • L’accès des femmes au monde du travail leur a permis de démontrer qu’elles peuvent effectuer des tâches qui étaient auparavant effectuées exclusivement par des hommes .
  • Les contributions du mouvement féministe telles que le concept de genre.
  • Explications de théories d’apprentissage social ou de cognitivisme sur le typage sexuel .

À partir de ces contributions, a commencé à examiner et à détecter la présence de stéréotypes dans diverses enquêtes. Le terme stéréotype fait référence au système de croyance relatif à certaines caractéristiques ou attributs communs à un groupe ou à une société en particulier. Plus précisément le stéréotype sexuel Il fait référence à l'ensemble des croyances socialement partagées qui attribuent certaines caractéristiques à chaque personne en fonction de son appartenance à un sexe ou à un autre.

Le stéréotype sexuel comprend les traits de personnalité, les comportements et les occupations qui sont considérés comme appartenant à des femmes et des hommes.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "15 préjugés de genre dans les pictogrammes de Yang Liu"

Le stéréotype du féminin

Traditionnellement, le stéréotype féminin a été façonné par caractéristiques qui attribuent l'infériorité aux femmes respect de l'homme, fondé sur l'argumentation de l'infériorité morale, intellectuelle et biologique de la femme.

Bien que cette argumentation soit dépourvue de fondement scientifique, elle est utilisée culturellement et socialement pour maintenir le système patriarcal dans lequel les femmes continuent à être considérées en fonction du stéréotype féminin, en leur attribuant des rôles et des comportements typiques de la sphère privée, de la maternité et de la femme. tâches de soins.

Monreal & Martínez (2010) expliquent comment des stéréotypes apparus dans le passé et transmis par le biais de l'éducation préservent les inégalités, car ils présentent un caractère normatif et normatif formé dans la société par lequel les gens vont guider et adapter à la fois la représentation de soi en tant qu’homme ou de femme, leur identité, leurs attentes, leurs croyances et leurs comportements.

Ce caractère des stéréotypes permet de le perpétuer, car dans les cas où la personne s’ajuste au stéréotype du genre normatif, c’est-à-dire au noma social imposé et intériorisé, le stéréotype est corroboré, et dans ces cas dont la personne ne se conforme pas au stéréotype de genre imposé recevra le "châtiment social" (réprimandes, sanctions, manque d'affection ...).

L'inégalité, aujourd'hui

À l'heure actuelle, la réalité et la situation sociale ont été modifiées au moyen de divers changements structurels visant à éliminer les inégalités entre les sexes. Cependant, les stéréotypes n’ont pas été modifiés ni adaptés à la nouvelle situation sociale, qui crée une distance plus grande entre celle-ci et les stéréotypes.

L’écart entre le stéréotype et la réalité sociale s’accroît sous l’effet du respect de soi et de la la forte résistance au changement présentée par les stéréotypes . Par conséquent, les différences entre les hommes et les femmes persistent alors que les hommes et les femmes intériorisent automatiquement leur propre stéréotype, avec les valeurs et les intérêts correspondants de chaque sexe, valeurs qui seront reflétées dans les rôles qu’ils jouent.

Bien que les stéréotypes remplissent une fonction adaptative qui nous permette de connaître la réalité et l’environnement qui nous entoure rapidement et schématiquement, ils se caractérisent par l’attribution du féminin et du masculin à deux groupes exclus, de manière dualiste, à deux dimensions celui que le masculin exerce sa domination sur le féminin en produisant clairement des effets mésadaptés.

Ainsi, les schémas de genre et les stéréotypes de genre donnent une vision de ce qui peut être considéré comme un homme et une femme, influencer par l'identité et les décisions de chaque personne ainsi que sa vision de l'environnement, de la société et du monde.

En dépit des caractéristiques des schémas et stéréotypes de genre susmentionnés, son influence n’est ni déterministe ni immuable. Par conséquent, en modifiant le processus de socialisation et sa transmission par les agents de la socialisation, un processus de changement pourrait être réalisé: celui qui adapte les stéréotypes à la société, permettant ainsi au mirage actuel de l’égalité de devenir une réalité sociale.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bosch, E., Ferrer, V. et Alzamora, A. (2006). Le labyrinthe patriarcal: réflexions théoriques et pratiques sur la violence à l'égard des femmes.Barcelone: ​​Anthropos, Éditorial de Man.
  • Monreal, Mª. Et Martínez, B. (2010). Schémas de genre et inégalités sociales. Dans Amador, L., & Monreal Mª. (Eds) Intervention sociale et genre. (pp.71-94). Madrid: Editions Narcea.
  • Walker, S., Barton, L. (1983). Genre, classe et éducation. New York: La Falmer Press.

L'influence des stereotypes de genre sur notre quotidien. Sandrine Cina à TEDxLausanne (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes