yes, therapy helps!
Generous people: these 8 virtues take them far in life

Generous people: these 8 virtues take them far in life

May 6, 2021

Generous people are often described as the big losers in modern societies of the West, in which individualism prevails and the pursuit of pleasure for oneself.

This, which is based on a part of truth, is a distortion of reality, since being generous is also rewarded by a series of physical and psychological benefits.

The advantages of being generous

And is that, contrary to what we might think, pure selfishness also leaves certain blind spots for which problems and adversities can attack: the instability of relationships, the relative lack of support systems and a strong community that serves as protection, etc.


Then we will see some benefits that generous people are the first to enjoy .

1. They have better mental health

When the demands of having to take care of others are not very demanding in terms of time and effort, altruism is correlated with a greater propensity to enjoy good mental health . The psychological repercussions of knowing how to be useful to others who need it could be behind this.

2. They can feel better with less

Unlike selfish people, who need to get material rewards in return for their effort to feel good, generous people are able to feel good by simply performing altruistic tasks , which can be done whenever they want because they depend on them. After being involved in these tasks, many of them feel physically more energized, with less pain and stress, and with a better self-image, which affects all areas of their lives.


3. Affection helps young people grow better

It has long been known that those caregivers who, in addition to providing children and adolescents With formal "obligatory" care such as food, water and a place to sleep, they are much more likely to surround themselves with offspring who can take care of them during old age. This is so because, with the creation of attachments, there is also the ability of young people to care for other people.

4. Create trust networks easily

The hormone oxytocin, which is related to generous and altruistic behaviors, is also associated with the creation of bridges of mutual trust, which can be very useful for developing ambitious and costly projects that can only be carried out if several people agree and they collaborate for a long period of time. This means that generous people will be somewhat more likely to devote their efforts to making projects whose long-term goals reach their goal.


5. They can become the most visible part of the community

Generous people are able to give selflessly for long periods whether or not there are prizes or rewards related to extrinsic motivation. This means that they are able to make others perceive them as generous at the same time, instead of sequentially: there are times when many people have benefited from the help of this type of profile without having given anything concrete in return. .

In this way, it often happens that the members of a community, seeing that everyone considers that there is someone especially generous, the public image of this person reaches a new level, which in many cases is related to a protective role and , therefore, of authority.

6. They are further away from depression in old age

People over 65 who practice volunteering to help others are less likely to develop depression, thanks to the social integration that these tasks produce. This is very useful, taking into account that self-concept and self-image may decrease in old age if retirement is interpreted as a sign that it is no longer useful for anyone.

7. You can concentrate more on positive thoughts

Generous people are more likely to help others selflessly, which isl it creates a climate of positivity and a certain optimism . This makes them more exposed to situations in which attention shifts towards optimistic and cheerful ideas, which is useful to maintain good levels of well-being.

8. Propensity to greater longevity?

Even though still need to be done studies about the longevity of the kind people , it has been seen that a tendency to concentrate on positive ideas and behaviors based on affection increases longevity and is associated with a strengthening of the immune system.

Bibliographic references:

  • Musick, M. A. and Wilson, J. (2003). volunteering and depression: the role of psychological and social resources in different age groups. Social Science & Medicine, 56 (2), pp.259-269.
  • Post, S. G. (2005). Altruism, Happiness, and Health: It's Good to Be Good. International Journal of Behavioral Medicine, 12 (2), pp. 66-77.
  • Schwartz, C., Meisenhelder, J. B., Ma, Y., & Reed, G. (2003). Altruistic social interest behaviors are associated with better mental health. Psychosomatic Medicine, 65, pp. 778-785.
  • Zack, P. J., Kurzban, R. and Matzner, W. T. Oxytocin is associated with human trustworthiness. Hormones and Behavior, 48 (5), pp. 522-527.

Seven Things You Should Always Keep Secret (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Des gens généreux: ces 8 vertus les mènent loin dans la vie

Des gens généreux: ces 8 vertus les mènent loin dans la vie

Février 24, 2021

Les gens généreux sont souvent décrits comme les grands perdants des sociétés modernes de l’Occident, dans lequel l’individualisme prévaut et la recherche du plaisir pour soi.

Ceci, qui est basé sur une partie de la vérité, est une déformation de la réalité, car être généreux est également récompensé par une série d'avantages physiques et psychologiques.

Les avantages d'être généreux

Et est-ce que, contrairement à ce que l'on pourrait penser, le pur égoïsme laisse également certains angles morts auxquels peuvent s'attaquer les problèmes et les adversités: l'instabilité des relations, le manque relatif de systèmes de soutien et une communauté forte qui sert de protection, etc.


Ensuite nous verrons des avantages que les gens généreux sont les premiers à apprécier .

1. Ils ont une meilleure santé mentale

Lorsque les besoins de prendre soin des autres ne sont pas très exigeants en termes de temps et d’efforts, l'altruisme est corrélé à une plus grande propension à jouir d'une bonne santé mentale . Les conséquences psychologiques de savoir comment être utile à ceux qui en ont besoin pourraient être derrière cela.

2. Ils peuvent se sentir mieux avec moins

Contrairement aux personnes égoïstes, qui ont besoin d'obtenir des récompenses matérielles en échange de leurs efforts pour se sentir bien, des personnes généreuses sont capables de se sentir bien en effectuant simplement des tâches altruistes , ce qui peut être fait quand ils veulent parce qu’ils dépendent d’eux. Après avoir été impliqués dans ces tâches, beaucoup d’entre eux se sentent physiquement plus énergiques, avec moins de douleur et de stress, et avec une meilleure image de soi, ce qui affecte tous les domaines de leur vie.


3. L'affection aide les jeunes à mieux grandir

On sait depuis longtemps que les personnes qui dispensent des soins aux enfants et aux adolescents Avec des soins «obligatoires» officiels tels que de la nourriture, de l'eau et un endroit où dormir, ils sont beaucoup plus susceptibles de s'entourer de progéniture capable de s'occuper d'eux pendant leur vieillesse. En effet, avec la création d'attachements, les jeunes ont également la capacité de s'occuper d'autres personnes.

4. Créer facilement des réseaux de confiance

L'ocytocine, une hormone liée aux comportements généreux et altruistes, est également associée à la création de ponts de confiance mutuelle, ce qui peut être très utile pour développer des projets ambitieux et coûteux qui ne peuvent être réalisés que si plusieurs personnes sont d'accord. et ils collaborent pendant une longue période. Cela signifie que les personnes généreuses seront un peu plus susceptibles de consacrer leurs efforts à la réalisation de projets dont les objectifs à long terme atteignent leur objectif.


5. Ils peuvent devenir la partie la plus visible de la communauté

Les gens généreux sont capables de donner de façon désintéressée pendant de longues périodes s'il existe ou non des prix ou des récompenses liés à la motivation extrinsèque. Cela signifie qu'ils sont capables de faire en sorte que les autres les perçoivent comme généreux en même temps, et non de manière séquentielle: il arrive que beaucoup de personnes bénéficient de l'aide de ce type de profil sans avoir rien donné de concret en retour. .

De cette manière, il arrive souvent que les membres d’une communauté, voyant que tout le monde considère qu’il ya une personne particulièrement généreuse, l’image publique de cette personne atteignent un nouveau niveau, qui dans de nombreux cas est lié à un rôle de protection et donc d'autorité.

6. Ils sont plus éloignés de la dépression chez les personnes âgées

Les personnes de plus de 65 ans qui pratiquent le bénévolat pour aider les autres sont moins susceptibles de développer une dépression, grâce à l'intégration sociale que ces tâches produisent. Ceci est très utile, étant donné que le concept de soi et l'image de soi peuvent diminuer avec l'âge si la retraite est interprétée comme un signe qu'elle n'est plus utile pour personne.

7. Vous pouvez vous concentrer davantage sur les pensées positives

Les personnes généreuses sont plus susceptibles d’aider les autres de façon désintéressée, ce qui estl il crée un climat de positivité et un certain optimisme . Cela les rend plus exposés aux situations dans lesquelles l'attention se tourne vers des idées optimistes et gaies, ce qui est utile pour maintenir de bons niveaux de bien-être.

8. Propension à une plus grande longévité?

Bien que encore besoin d'être fait des études sur la longévité des personnes aimables , il a été constaté que la tendance à se concentrer sur des idées et des comportements positifs fondés sur l’affection augmente la longévité et est associée à un renforcement du système immunitaire.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Musick, M.A. et Wilson, J. (2003). bénévolat et dépression: rôle des ressources psychologiques et sociales dans différents groupes d'âge. Social Science & Medicine, 56 (2), pp.259-269.
  • Post, S. G. (2005). Altruisme, bonheur et santé: il est bon d'être bon. Journal international de médecine comportementale, 12 (2), pp. 66-77.
  • Schwartz, C., Meisenhelder, J. B., Ma, Y. et Reed, G. (2003). Les comportements d'intérêt social altruistes sont associés à une meilleure santé mentale. Psychosomatic Medicine, 65, pp. 778-785.
  • Zack, P. J., Kurzban, R. et Matzner, W. T. L'ocytocine est associée à la fiabilité humaine. Hormones and Behavior, 48 (5), pp. 522-527.

Secrets d'Histoire - Un homme nommé Jésus (Intégrale) (Février 2021).


Articles Connexes