yes, therapy helps!
Gerd Gigerenzer: biography and work of this psychologist

Gerd Gigerenzer: biography and work of this psychologist

August 10, 2022

Gerd Gigerenzer is a German psychological acquaintance , currently leader of the Max Planck Institute for Human Development and the "Harding Center of Risk Literacy". He is an important author who, in addition to performing the previous positions, has studied and analyzed the role of heuristics and intuition in making decisions in our lives.

Throughout this article we will make a brief review of your figure, through a short biography of Gerd Gigerenzer and a look at his main contributions to the field of psychology.

  • Related article: "The theory of the perspectives of Daniel Kahneman"

A short biography of Gerd Gigerenzer

Gerd Gigerenzer was born in Wallersdorf, Germany, on September 3, 1947. During his youth he expressed artistic concerns, and in fact he mentioned in some interviews having played the banjo and even played in the group "The Munich Beefeaters" that the band would play. sound to the first television ad of Volkswagen Golf. However, at one point decided to leave that world and turn to the academic world.


He graduated in psychology at the University of Munich , and in 1977 he obtained his doctorate in psychology at the same university with a thesis that would analyze nonmetric multidimensional scaling as a model of judgment behavior (Nonmetrische multidimensionale Skalierung als Modell des Urteils Verhaltens). That same year he would start working as a professor of psychology at the same institution that had trained him.

In 1984 he would move to the University of Constance, where he would remain until in 1990 he returned to move to the University of Salzburg. Two years later he would leave the position to work as a professor of psychology at the University of Chicago.

Throughout his career as a teacher he would be the tutor of the doctorate of another great and renowned psychologist, Daniel Goldstein, with whom he would begin theorize about the recognition and heuristic processing of reality .


It would be in 1995 when, before his contribution to the psychological field, he would be appointed director of the Max Planck Institute for Human Development, an address that he continues to exercise today. As of 2008, in addition to that, he also directs the Harding Center for Risk Literacy. He also directed the Center for Adaptive Behavior and Cognition (ABC) of the same institute. He married Lorraine Daston, a well-known historian of science and great authority regarding the history of the scientific and intellectual development of European modernity, with whom she has a daughter in common.

  • Maybe you're interested: "" Heuristic ": the mental shortcuts of human thought"

Your life today

He is a member of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences, as well as the German Academy of Sciences and an honorary member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the American Philosophical Society. Throughout his career he has received numerous awards , like the German Psychology Award, and has several Honoris Causa doctorates at other universities, such as the Open University of Netherlands. Their publications are also highly recognized, highlighting among them Instinctive decisions. The intelligence of the unconscious (Calculated Risks, Gut Feelings: The Intelligence of the Unconscious). Finally, he is linked to several projects, such as one in which he works jointly with the Bank of England, "Simple heuristics for a safer World".


  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

His work and research areas

There are many contributions of Gerd Gigerenzer to the field of psychology, of which we will mention some of the best known.

Elements that stand out throughout his career are interest in aspects such as decision making, the role of heuristics , the restriction of time and uncertainty in it and the great power of intuition, social intelligence, communication of risks and training and strategies of doctors, judges and managers in decision making.

Among all this, perhaps the best known is the defense of the role of intuition in decision making, which has traditionally been considered as something aberrant and difficult to choose. Unlike most authors, Gigerenzer argues that most people make decisions based on their intuitions, starting with an unconscious intelligence.

The author also indicates that intuition is a product of evolution, the result of learning the rules that our species has acquired and incorporating its repertoire. This is used in making all kinds of decisions, especially those that involve emotional elements such as choosing a partner.

Mental shortcuts are useful

The studies carried out at the Max-Planck Institute show that, contrary to what logic seems to dictate, those people who are guided by intuition have to make effective decisions when using shortcuts. These mental shortcuts would save cognitive resources and allow rapid decision making, receiving the strategies used for this the name of heuristics. However, a logical analysis requires locating and analyzing all the possibilities, something that takes time and generates a less efficient choice.

The risk exists in choosing the rule that best applies to each case, something that for example could have negative consequences in the formation of prejudices and stereotypes, and cognitive biases may appear. In these cases, the problem would be that one of the rules learned and acquired throughout the life of the subject is being generalized, but not one applicable in the particular case in question.

Another of the elements for which he is best known is the idea of ​​the "Adaptative Toolbox" or "adaptive toolbox" , which mainly proposes that we have different cognitive systems, using one or the other as we need to adapt to a specific situation. Different domains of thought require different cognitive mechanisms, this idea being contrary to the existence of a universal strategy.

Bibliographic references:

  • Gigerenzer, G. (2008). Instinctive decisions. The intelligence of the unconscious. Barcelona: Editorial Ariel.
  • Gigerenzer, G & Selten, R. (2001). Bounded Rationality: The Adaptive Toolbox. Dahlem Workshop Reports.
  • Corrales, E. (2010). Intuition as a cognitive process. Communication, Year 31, 19 (2): 33-42.

How do smart people make smart decisions? | Gerd Gigerenzer | TEDxNorrköping (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Gerd Gigerenzer: biographie et travail de ce psychologue

Gerd Gigerenzer: biographie et travail de ce psychologue

Septembre 27, 2022

Gerd Gigerenzer est une connaissance psychologique allemande , actuellement chef de l'Institut Max Planck pour le développement humain et du "Harding Centre of Risk Literacy". C'est un auteur important qui, en plus d'avoir occupé les postes précédents, a étudié et analysé le rôle de l'heuristique et de l'intuition dans la prise de décisions dans nos vies.

Tout au long de cet article, nous ferons un bref aperçu de votre silhouette, à travers une courte biographie de Gerd Gigerenzer et un regard sur ses principales contributions au domaine de la psychologie.

  • Article connexe: "La théorie des perspectives de Daniel Kahneman"

Une courte biographie de Gerd Gigerenzer

Gerd Gigerenzer est né à Wallersdorf, en Allemagne, le 3 septembre 1947. Durant sa jeunesse, il exprima des préoccupations artistiques. En effet, il mentionna dans certaines interviews avoir joué du banjo et même joué dans le groupe "The Munich Beefeaters". son à la première publicité télévisée de Volkswagen Golf. Cependant, à un moment donné, a décidé de quitter ce monde et de se tourner vers le monde universitaire.


Il est diplômé en psychologie de l'Université de Munich. et en 1977, il obtient son doctorat en psychologie de la même université avec une thèse qui analysera l’échelle multidimensionnelle non métrique en tant que modèle de comportement du jugement (Nonmetrische multidimensionale Skalierung comme modèle des Urteils Verhaltens). La même année, il commence à travailler comme professeur de psychologie dans la même institution que celle qui l’a formé.

En 1984, il ira s'installer à l'Université de Constance, où il restera jusqu'en 1990. Il retournera ensuite à l'Université de Salzbourg. Deux ans plus tard, il quittera son poste pour travailler en tant que professeur de psychologie à l'Université de Chicago.

Tout au long de sa carrière d'enseignant, il serait le tuteur du doctorat d'un autre grand psychologue renommé, Daniel Goldstein, avec lequel il commencerait théoriser sur la reconnaissance et le traitement heuristique de la réalité .


Ce serait en 1995 qu'avant sa contribution au domaine de la psychologie, il serait nommé directeur de l'Institut Max Planck pour le développement humain, discours qu'il continue de prononcer aujourd'hui. En 2008, il dirige également le Harding Centre for Risk Literacy. Il a également dirigé le Centre pour le comportement adaptatif et la cognition (ABC) du même institut. Il a épousé Lorraine Daston, une historienne des sciences bien connue et une grande autorité en matière d'histoire du développement scientifique et intellectuel de la modernité européenne, avec qui elle a une fille en commun.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "" Heuristique ": les raccourcis mentaux de la pensée humaine"

Votre vie aujourd'hui

Il est membre de l'Académie des sciences Berlin-Brandebourg, ainsi que de l'Académie allemande des sciences et membre honoraire de l'Académie américaine des arts et des sciences et de la Société philosophique américaine. Tout au long de sa carrière, il a reçu de nombreux prix , comme le prix allemand de psychologie, et a plusieurs doctorats honoris causa dans d’autres universités, telles que l’Université ouverte des Pays-Bas. Leurs publications sont également très reconnues, soulignant parmi elles Décisions instinctives. L'intelligence de l'inconscient (Risques calculés, sentiments Gut: L'intelligence de l'inconscient). Enfin, il est associé à plusieurs projets, dont celui dans lequel il travaille conjointement avec la Banque d’Angleterre, "Une heuristique simple pour un monde plus sûr".


  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Ses domaines de travail et de recherche

Gerd Gigerenzer a apporté de nombreuses contributions au domaine de la psychologie, parmi lesquelles nous citerons quelques-unes des plus connues.

Les éléments qui se démarquent tout au long de sa carrière sont intérêt pour des aspects tels que la prise de décision, le rôle des heuristiques , la limitation du temps et de l’incertitude ainsi que le grand pouvoir de l’intuition, de l’intelligence sociale, de la communication des risques et de la formation et des stratégies des médecins, juges et gestionnaires dans la prise de décision.

Parmi tout cela, le plus connu est peut-être la défense du rôle de l'intuition dans la prise de décision, qui était traditionnellement considéré comme quelque chose d'aberrant et de difficile à choisir. Contrairement à la plupart des auteurs, Gigerenzer soutient que la plupart des gens prennent leurs décisions en fonction de leurs intuitions, en commençant par une intelligence inconsciente.

L'auteur indique également que l'intuition est un produit de l'évolution, résultat de l'apprentissage des règles acquises par notre espèce et de l'intégration de son répertoire. Ceci est utilisé dans toutes sortes de décisions, en particulier celles qui impliquent des éléments émotionnels tels que le choix d'un partenaire.

Les raccourcis mentaux sont utiles

Les études menées à l’Institut Max-Planck montrent que, contrairement à ce que semble logique de dicter, ceux qui sont guidés par l'intuition doivent prendre des décisions efficaces lors de l'utilisation de raccourcis. Ces raccourcis mentaux économiseraient les ressources cognitives et permettraient une prise de décision rapide, en attribuant aux stratégies utilisées le nom d'heuristique. Cependant, une analyse logique nécessite de localiser et d'analyser toutes les possibilités, ce qui prend du temps et génère un choix moins efficace.

Le risque existe en choisissant la règle qui s'applique le mieux à chaque cas, ce qui pourrait par exemple avoir des conséquences négatives sur la formation de préjugés et de stéréotypes, et des biais cognitifs pourraient apparaître. Dans ces cas, le problème serait que l’une des règles apprises et acquises tout au long de la vie du sujet est en train d’être généralisée, mais non applicable dans le cas particulier en question.

Un autre des éléments pour lesquels il est le plus connu est l'idée de "boîte à outils adaptative" ou "boîte à outils adaptative" , qui propose principalement d’avoir différents systèmes cognitifs, en utilisant l’un ou l’autre comme il faut s’adapter à une situation donnée Différents domaines de la pensée nécessitent différents mécanismes cognitifs, cette idée étant contraire à l’existence d’une stratégie universelle.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Gigerenzer, G. (2008). Décisions instinctives. L'intelligence de l'inconscient. Barcelone: ​​Éditorial Ariel.
  • Gigerenzer, G & Selten, R. (2001). Rationalité limitée: La boîte à outils adaptative. Rapports d'atelier Dahlem.
  • Corrales, E. (2010). L'intuition en tant que processus cognitif. Communication, Année 31, 19 (2): 33-42.

The paradox of choice | Barry Schwartz (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes