yes, therapy helps!
Glucolysis: what is it and what are its 10 phases?

Glucolysis: what is it and what are its 10 phases?

March 30, 2024

Glycolysis is a chemical process that allows respiration and cellular metabolism, specifically by means of the decomposition of glucose.

In this article we will see in more detail what glycolysis is and what it is for, as well as its 10 phases of action.

  • Related article: "How does sugar and fat work in our brain?"

What is glycolysis?

The term "glycolysis" is composed of the Greek "glycos" which means "sugar", and "lysis" which means "rupture". In this sense, glycolysis is the process by which the composition of glucose is modified to extract enough energy to benefit the cells. In fact, it not only acts as an energy source, but also impacts on cellular activity in different ways , without necessarily generating additional energy.


For example, it produces a high yield of molecules that allow metabolism and cellular respiration both aerobic and anaerobic. Broadly speaking, aerobic is a type of metabolism that consists of extracting energy from organic molecules from the oxidation of carbon by oxygen. In the anaerobic the element used to achieve oxidation is not oxygen but sulphate or nitrate.

At the same time, glucose is an organic molecule composed of a 6-ring membrane which is found in the blood, and which is generally the result of the transformation of carbohydrates into sugars. In order to enter the cells, glucose travels through the proteins responsible for transporting it from the outside of the cell to the cytosol (intracellular fluid, that is, the liquid found in the center of the cells).


Through glycolysis, glucose is converted into an acid called "pyluric acid" or "pyruvate" which has a very important role in biochemical activity. This process occurs in the cytoplasm (the part of the cell that lies between the nucleus and the membrane). But for glucose to become pyruvate, a very complex chemical mechanism composed of different phases must occur.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of major cells of the human body"

Its 10 phases

Glycolysis is a process that has been studied since the second decade of the nineteenth century, when chemists Louis Pasteur, Eduard Buchner, Arthur Harden and William Young began to detail the mechanism of fermentation. These studies allowed to know the development and different forms of reaction in the composition of the molecules.

It is one of the oldest cellular mechanisms, and is likewise the fastest way to obtain energy and metabolize carbohydrates . For this it is necessary that 10 different chemical reactions occur, divided into two large phases. The first of them consists of spending energy by transforming the glucose molecule into two different molecules; while the second phase is obtaining energy by transforming the two molecules generated in the previous stage.


Having said that, we will now see the 10 phases of glycolysis.

1. Hexokinase

The first step in glycolysis is to convert the D-glucose molecule into a glucose-6-phosphate molecule (glucose-phosphorylated molecule on carbon 6). To generate this reaction it is necessary to participate in an enzyme known as Hexoquinasa, and has the function of activating glucose so that it can be used in later processes .

2. Phosphoglucose isomerase (Glucose-6 P isomerase)

The second reaction of glycolysis is the transformation of glucose-6-phosphate into fructose-6-phosphate. For it must act an enzyme called phosphoglucose isomerase . This is the phase of defining the molecular composition that will consolidate glycolysis in the two stages that follow.

3. Phosphofructokinase

In this phase, fructose-6-phosphate is converted to fructose 1,6-bisphosphate, through the action of phosphofructokinase and magnesium . It is an irreversible phase, which means that glycolysis begins to stabilize.

  • Related article: "10 healthy foods rich in magnesium"

4. Aldolasa

Now the fructose 1,6-bisphosphate is divided into two isomer-type sugars, that is, two molecules with the same formula, but whose atoms are arranged in different ways, which also have different properties. The two sugars are dihydroxyacetone phosphate (DHAP) and glyceraldehyde 3-phosphate (GAP), and the division occurs due to the activity of the enzyme aldolase .

5. Trifosphate isomerase

Phase number 5 consists of reserving the glyceraldehyde phosphate for the next stage of glycolysis.For this it is necessary that an enzyme called triphosphate isomerase act inside the two sugars obtained in the previous stage (dihydroxyacetone phosphate and glyceraldehyde 3-phosphate). This is where the first of the great stages that we described at the beginning of this numbering ends, whose function is to generate the energy expenditure .

6. Glyceraldehyde-3-phosphate Dehydrogenase

In this phase, the energy generation starts (during the previous 5 it was only spent). We continue with the two sugars generated previously and its activity is as follows: produce 1,3-bisphosphoglycerate , by adding an inorganic phosphate to glyceraldehyde 3-phosphate.

In order to add this phosphate, the other molecule (glyceraldehyde-3-phosphate dehydrogenase) must be dehydrogenated. This means that begins to increase the energy of the compound.

7. Phosphoglycerate kinase

In this phase there is another transfer of a phosphate, to be able to form adenosine triphosphate and 3-phosphoglycerate. It is the 1,3-bisphosphoglycerate molecule that receives a phosphate group from the phosphoglycerate kinase.

8. Phosphoglycerate mutase

From the above reaction, 3-phosphoglycerate was obtained. Now it is necessary to generate 2-phosphoglycerate, by means of the action of an enzyme called phosphoglycerate mutase . The latter relocates the position of the third carbon phosphate (C3) to the second carbon (C2), and thus the expected molecule is obtained.

9. Enolase

An enzyme called enolase is responsible for removing the water molecule of 2-phosphoglycerate. In this way, the precursor of pyruvic acid is obtained and we are nearing the end of the glycolysis process. This precursor is phosphoenolpyruvate.

10. Pyruvate kinase

Finally, a phosphorus transfer of phosphoenolpyruvate to adenosine diphosphate occurs. This reaction occurs by the action of the enzyme pyruvate kinase, and allows the glucose to finish transforming into pyruvic acid.

Bibliographic references:

  • Glycolysis-10 steps explained steps by steps with diagram (2018). MicrobiologyInfo.com. Retrieved September 26, 2018. Available at //microbiologyinfo.com/glycolysis-10-steps-explained-steps-by-steps-with-diagram/.

Steps of glycolysis | Cellular respiration | Biology | Khan Academy (March 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Glucolyse: de quoi s'agit-il et quelles sont ses 10 phases?

Glucolyse: de quoi s'agit-il et quelles sont ses 10 phases?

Janvier 17, 2022

La glycolyse est un processus chimique cela permet la respiration et le métabolisme cellulaire, notamment par la décomposition du glucose.

Dans cet article, nous verrons plus en détail ce qu'est la glycolyse et à quoi elle sert, ainsi que ses 10 phases d'action.

  • Article connexe: "Comment le sucre et les graisses agissent-ils dans notre cerveau?"

Qu'est-ce que la glycolyse?

Le terme "glycolyse" est composé du grec "glycos" qui signifie "sucre" et "lyse" qui signifie "rupture". En ce sens, la glycolyse est le processus par lequel la composition de glucose est modifiée pour extraire suffisamment d’énergie pour aider les cellules. En fait, il agit non seulement comme source d’énergie, mais aussi impacts sur l'activité cellulaire de différentes manières , sans générer nécessairement d’énergie supplémentaire.


Par exemple, il produit un rendement élevé en molécules qui permettent le métabolisme et la respiration cellulaire à la fois aérobie et anaérobie. En termes généraux, l'aérobie est un type de métabolisme qui consiste à extraire de l'énergie des molécules organiques de l'oxydation du carbone par l'oxygène. En anaérobie, l’élément utilisé pour réaliser l’oxydation n’est pas l’oxygène, mais le sulfate ou le nitrate.

À son tour, le glucose est une molécule organique composée d'une membrane à 6 cycles qui se trouve dans le sang et qui est généralement le résultat de la transformation des glucides en sucres. Pour pénétrer dans les cellules, le glucose traverse les protéines responsables de son transport vers le cytosol (le liquide intracellulaire, c'est-à-dire le liquide qui se trouve au centre des cellules).


Grâce à la glycolyse, le glucose est converti en un acide appelé "acide pylurique" ou "pyruvate" qui joue un rôle très important dans l'activité biochimique. Ce processus se produit dans le cytoplasme (la partie de la cellule située entre le noyau et la membrane). Mais pour que le glucose devienne un pyruvate, un mécanisme chimique très complexe composé de différentes phases doit avoir lieu.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Types de cellules majeures du corps humain"

Ses 10 phases

La glycolyse est un processus étudié depuis la deuxième décennie du XIXe siècle, lorsque les chimistes Louis Pasteur, Eduard Buchner, Arthur Harden et William Young ont commencé à détailler le mécanisme de la fermentation. Ces études ont permis de connaître le développement et les différentes formes de réaction dans la composition des molécules.

C’est l’un des mécanismes cellulaires les plus anciens, et il en va de même le moyen le plus rapide d'obtenir de l'énergie et de métaboliser les glucides . Pour cela, il est nécessaire que 10 réactions chimiques différentes se produisent, divisées en deux grandes phases. Le premier consiste à dépenser de l'énergie en transformant la molécule de glucose en deux molécules différentes; tandis que la seconde phase consiste à obtenir de l’énergie en transformant les deux molécules générées au stade précédent.


Cela dit, nous allons maintenant voir les 10 phases de la glycolyse.

1. hexokinase

La première étape de la glycolyse consiste à convertir la molécule de D-glucose en une molécule de glucose-6-phosphate (molécule de glucose phosphorylée sur du carbone 6). Pour générer cette réaction, il est nécessaire de participer à une enzyme appelée Hexoquinasa, qui a pour fonction d’activer le glucose. afin qu'il puisse être utilisé dans des processus ultérieurs .

2. Phosphoglucose isomérase (Glucose-6 P isomérase)

La deuxième réaction de la glycolyse est la transformation du glucose-6-phosphate en fructose-6-phosphate. Pour cela doit agir une enzyme appelée phosphoglucose isomérase . C'est la phase de définition de la composition moléculaire qui consolidera la glycolyse dans les deux étapes suivantes.

3. Phosphofructokinase

Dans cette phase, le fructose-6-phosphate est converti en fructose 1,6-bisphosphate, par l'action de la phosphofructokinase et du magnésium . C'est une phase irréversible, ce qui signifie que la glycolyse commence à se stabiliser.

  • Article connexe: "10 aliments sains riches en magnésium"

4. Aldolasa

Le 1,6-bisphosphate de fructose est maintenant divisé en deux sucres de type isomère, c'est-à-dire deux molécules de même formule, mais dont les atomes sont disposés de différentes manières et qui ont également des propriétés différentes. Le dihydroxyacétone phosphate (DHAP) et le glycéraldéhyde 3-phosphate (GAP) sont les deux sucres. se produit en raison de l'activité de l'enzyme aldolase .

5. Trifosphate isomérase

La phase 5 consiste à réserver le phosphate de glycéraldéhyde pour la prochaine étape de la glycolyse.Pour cela, il est nécessaire qu'une enzyme appelée triphosphate isomérase agisse à l'intérieur des deux sucres obtenus au stade précédent (phosphate de dihydroxyacétone et glycéraldéhyde 3-phosphate). C’est là que se termine la première des grandes étapes que nous avons décrites au début de cette numérotation, dont la fonction est de générer la dépense énergétique .

6. Glycéraldéhyde-3-phosphate déshydrogénase

Au cours de cette phase, la génération d’énergie commence (au cours des 5 dernières années, elle n’était que dépensée). Nous continuons avec les deux sucres générés précédemment et son activité est la suivante: produire 1,3-bisphosphoglycerate en ajoutant un phosphate inorganique à la glycéraldéhyde 3-phosphate.

Afin d'ajouter ce phosphate, l'autre molécule (glycéraldéhyde-3-phosphate déshydrogénase) doit être déshydrogénée. Cela signifie que commence à augmenter l'énergie du composé.

7. phosphoglycérate kinase

Dans cette phase, il y a un autre transfert d'un phosphate, pour pouvoir former de l'adénosine triphosphate et du 3-phosphoglycérate. C'est la molécule 1,3-bisphosphoglycérate qui reçoit un groupe phosphate de la phosphoglycérate kinase.

8. Phosphoglycerate mutase

A partir de la réaction ci-dessus, du 3-phosphoglycérate a été obtenu. Maintenant, il est nécessaire de générer du 2-phosphoglycérate, au moyen de l'action d'une enzyme appelée phosphoglycérate mutase . Ce dernier déplace la position du troisième phosphate de carbone (C3) sur le deuxième carbone (C2), ce qui permet d'obtenir la molécule attendue.

9. Enolase

Une enzyme appelée énolase est responsable de l’élimination de la molécule d’eau du 2-phosphoglycérate. De cette manière, le précurseur de l'acide pyruvique est obtenu et nous approchons de la fin du processus de glycolyse. Ce précurseur est le phosphoénolpyruvate.

10. Pyruvate kinase

Enfin, il se produit un transfert de phosphoénolpyruvate dans l’adénosine diphosphate dans le phosphore. Cette réaction se produit sous l'action de l'enzyme pyruvate kinase et permet au glucose de finir de se transformer en acide pyruvique.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Glycolyse-10 étapes expliquées étapes par étapes avec diagramme (2018). MicrobiologyInfo.com. Récupéré le 26 septembre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //microbiologyinfo.com/glycolysis-10-steps-explained-steps-by-steps-with-diagram/.

Cours de biochimie: Glycolyse (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes