yes, therapy helps!
Glycine (neurotransmitter): what it is and how it acts on the body

Glycine (neurotransmitter): what it is and how it acts on the body

July 23, 2024

Neurotransmitters are a set of chemicals that the neurons of our brain and the rest of our nervous system use to communicate with each other.

However, not all neurotransmitters have the same effect on our body or on the cells and organs that make it up. For example, the neurotransmitter known as glycine has specific effects on specific receptors, while other substances, such as dopamine or serotonin, affect other regions and produce other psychophysiological repercussions.

In this particular article we will see what is glycine and what are its particularities of this neurotransmitter and amino acid .


  • Related article: "Types of neurotransmitters: functions and classification"

What is glycine?

As much as the human brain is the set of organs from which the ability to think rationally arises, the truth is that its functioning is not rational at all. For example, neurons, which are perhaps the most important cell types in this part of the body, function thanks to neurotransmitters, chemical particles that usually circulate throughout the body pretty uncontrollably.

In all this chaos of neurotransmitters, our body is able to minimize the effects of unpredictability and take advantage of the existence of cells that react when they reach a certain amount of a type of neurotransmitter, regardless of whether this has been generated near or far or if It has always circulated through the nervous system or been outside of it.


Glycine, for example, is a neurotransmitter thanks to which the neurons can communicate with each other , but it is also an amino acid from which proteins are created. Without changing shape and properties, this element can be used both to help create and regenerate tissues or cell components and to act as a bridge of chemical communication between nerve cells.

  • Related article: "What is the synaptic space and how does it work?"

As an amino acid

In its facet as an amino acid, glycine is the smallest amino acid of those that can be found throughout the human body.

Its structure is very simple, and in fact can be synthesized by the body itself, something that does not happen with the essential amino acids. It is not necessary to ingest glycine doses incorporating foods that contain them into our diet.


As a neurotransmitter

Glycine is released into the bloodstream and begins to circulate through this medium until it crosses the blood-brain barrier and access to the interior of the central nervous system . It is in this space that his work as a neurotransmitter works.

Once inside the context of the nervous system, the glycine is circulating until it is inserted in certain receptors. This combination makes glycine act as a "key" that triggers certain biological processes. But ... what exactly is the mechanism of action of this substance?

The mechanism of action

Glycine has a specific class of receptor that only responds to the presence of this substance. It is the GLyR type receiver. Once this fit has occurred, several valves of the neuron in which the receiver is located begin to work so that chloride ions enter into this nerve cell .

This generates a chain reaction that, depending on the circumstances in which the neuron is located, causes a depolarization stage to occur or not, which causes an electrical impulse to travel throughout the cell until its effects reach other crevices. synaptic (the spaces in which neurons communicate with each other).

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 5 types of chemical bonds: this is how matter is composed"

The functions of glycine

Regarding the different processes performed by glycine on neurons, the main ones are the following.

1. Regulation of motor behavior

Glycine, along with other neurotransmitters, intervenes in the regulation of movements making the muscle tone is maintained and that muscle groups can be coordinated to perform coherent actions.

2. Regenerate fabrics

Glycine is practically throughout the body contributing to the development and regeneration of cellular tissues thanks to its action as an amino acid .

3. It has inhibitory effects on the brain

Like other neurotransmitters such as GABA, glycine acts in certain areas of the brain, helping us to enter a state of relative calm, that is, absence of stress. Thanks to this effect, glycine makes it relatively difficult to enter a state of nervous hyperarousal .

However, this does not mean that glycine will numb us.

Four.Contributes to the fluency of cognition

It is believed that glycine secretion helps cognitive functions develop more effectively . For example, remembering or making decisions become more spontaneous and easier to perform, perhaps partly because the absence of excessive stress makes planning when guiding these functions easier.


2-Minute Neuroscience: GABA (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Glycine (neurotransmetteur): qu'est-ce que c'est et comment agit-il sur le corps

Glycine (neurotransmetteur): qu'est-ce que c'est et comment agit-il sur le corps

Juillet 30, 2021

Les neurotransmetteurs sont un ensemble de produits chimiques que les neurones de notre cerveau et le reste de notre système nerveux utilisent pour communiquer entre eux.

Cependant, tous les neurotransmetteurs n'ont pas le même effet sur notre corps ni sur les cellules et les organes qui le composent. Par exemple, le neurotransmetteur connu sous le nom de glycine a des effets spécifiques sur des récepteurs spécifiques, tandis que d’autres substances, telles que la dopamine ou la sérotonine, affectent d’autres régions et produisent d’autres répercussions psychophysiologiques.

Dans cet article particulier, nous verrons quelle est la glycine et quelles sont ses particularités de ce neurotransmetteur et acide aminé .


  • Article connexe: "Types de neurotransmetteurs: fonctions et classification"

Qu'est-ce que la glycine?

Bien que le cerveau humain soit l’ensemble des organes à l’origine de la capacité de penser rationnellement, la vérité est que son fonctionnement n’est pas du tout rationnel. Par exemple, les neurones, qui sont peut-être les types de cellules les plus importants dans cette partie du corps, fonctionnent grâce aux neurotransmetteurs, particules chimiques qui circulent habituellement dans tout le corps assez incontrôlable.

Dans tout ce chaos de neurotransmetteurs, notre corps est capable de minimiser les effets de l'imprévisibilité et de tirer parti de l'existence de cellules qui réagissent lorsqu'elles atteignent une certaine quantité d'un type de neurotransmetteur, que celui-ci ait été généré près ou loin Il a toujours circulé dans le système nerveux ou en dehors de celui-ci.


La glycine, par exemple, est un neurotransmetteur grâce à laquelle les neurones peuvent communiquer entre eux , mais c’est aussi un acide aminé à partir duquel les protéines sont créées. Sans changer de forme ni de propriétés, cet élément peut être utilisé à la fois pour contribuer à la création et à la régénération de tissus ou de composants cellulaires et pour servir de pont de communication chimique entre les cellules nerveuses.

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que l'espace synaptique et comment ça marche?"

En tant qu'acide aminé

Dans sa facette en tant qu'acide aminé, la glycine est le plus petit acide aminé de ceux qui peuvent être trouvés dans tout le corps humain.

Sa structure est très simple et peut en fait être synthétisée par le corps lui-même, ce qui n’arrive pas avec les acides aminés essentiels. Il n’est pas nécessaire d’ingérer de la glycine en incorporant des aliments qui en contiennent dans notre alimentation.


Comme neurotransmetteur

La glycine est libérée dans la circulation sanguine et commence à circuler dans ce milieu jusqu'à ce qu'elle traverse la barrière hémato-encéphalique et accès à l'intérieur du système nerveux central . C'est dans cet espace que son travail de neurotransmetteur fonctionne.

Une fois dans le système nerveux, la glycine circule jusqu'à ce qu'elle soit insérée dans certains récepteurs. Cette combinaison fait de la glycine une "clé" qui déclenche certains processus biologiques. Mais ... quel est exactement le mécanisme d'action de cette substance?

Le mécanisme d'action

La glycine a une classe spécifique de récepteurs qui ne réagit qu’à la présence de cette substance. C'est le récepteur de type GLyR. Une fois cet ajustement effectué, plusieurs valves du neurone dans lequel se trouve le récepteur commencent à fonctionner de sorte que les ions chlorure entrent dans cette cellule nerveuse .

Cela génère une réaction en chaîne qui, selon les circonstances dans lesquelles se trouve le neurone, provoque ou non une étape de dépolarisation, ce qui provoque le déplacement d'une impulsion électrique dans la cellule jusqu'à ce que ses effets atteignent d'autres fissures. synaptique (les espaces dans lesquels les neurones communiquent entre eux).

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 5 types de liaisons chimiques: voilà comment se compose la matière"

Les fonctions de la glycine

En ce qui concerne les différents processus réalisés par la glycine sur les neurones, les principaux sont les suivants.

1. Régulation du comportement moteur

La glycine, avec d’autres neurotransmetteurs, intervient dans la la régulation des mouvements rendant le tonus musculaire est maintenue et que les groupes musculaires peuvent être coordonnés pour effectuer des actions cohérentes.

2. régénérer les tissus

La glycine est pratiquement dans tout le corps et contribue au développement et à la régénération des tissus cellulaires grâce à son action en tant qu'acide aminé .

3. Il a des effets inhibiteurs sur le cerveau

À l'instar d'autres neurotransmetteurs tels que le GABA, la glycine agit dans certaines zones du cerveau, ce qui nous aide à entrer dans un état de calme relatif, c'est-à-dire d'absence de stress. Grâce à cet effet, la glycine il est relativement difficile d'entrer dans un état d'hyperexcitation nerveuse .

Cependant, cela ne signifie pas que la glycine va nous engourdir.

4Contribue à la fluidité de la cognition

On croit que la sécrétion de glycine aide les fonctions cognitives à se développer plus efficacement . Par exemple, se souvenir ou prendre des décisions devient plus spontané et plus facile à exécuter, peut-être en partie parce que l'absence de stress excessif facilite la planification pour guider ces fonctions.


voici pourquoi les médecins donnent de la gélatine dans les hôpitaux | NOUVELLES 24H (Juillet 2021).


Articles Connexes