yes, therapy helps!
Goodbye emotional dependence; hi affective autonomy

Goodbye emotional dependence; hi affective autonomy

May 6, 2021

In his book The art of Loving, Erich Fromm reflects on the difficulties we find in relationships, among other reasons because we do not consider loving as an action (an art, according to him) that requires prior learning).

We become entangled in tortuous and toxic relationships that end up producing more pain than wellbeing because nobody ever taught us how to behave within the couple. How to handle the whirlwind of emotions that our body generates when we fall in love , how to give space to the other person when what we most want is to be at his side 24 hours a day, how to handle the fear of breaking or cheating ... in short, how to get to love healthily, and not madly as it teaches us that we must do society.


You only need to take a couple of songs at random to realize that the messages we receive regarding love are tremendously harmful, and make apology for dependent, symbiotic and sickly love. If we take for example the song of The Police "Every Step You Take" and we read it instead of singing it, it is probable that we are diagnosed with obsessive affective disorder or we are accused of being stalkers:

Every day, every word you say

Every game you play

Every night that you stay

I will be watching you

Can not you see that you belong to me?

How does my poor heart hurt with every step you take?

Emotional dependence and pathological loves

Keeping in mind that Hollywood movies, books or television series also encourage this pathological love, It is normal that we are involved in unhealthy behaviors of attachment and dependence that take away all the sense of being a couple. We must aspire to free love, for our psychological health and that of our partner, and because the only way to be happy is to let go of fear.


Relationships move in the field of uncertainty, and not accept or not want to see this reality inevitably leads to fear, suffering and frustration, trying to control the uncontrollable. If we want to enjoy our loved one healthily we have to be willing to lose it, however much this thought hurts us.

Affective dependence

Affective dependence is not "excess of love" but an excess of fear . It is an addiction in which the individual feels literally unable to live without the other (which is also well seen in our society, we have all heard phrases like "you are everything to me", "I do not know what I would do without you", "Without you I am nothing ...") and has all the components of any other addiction to substances: urgency to "consume" our drug linked to love, withdrawal syndrome when we are without it, irritability, compulsivity, feeling of incomprehension around us , stop doing the things that we previously enjoyed to be alone with our "drug".


According Walter Riso , the central scheme of all attachment is emotional immaturity, understood as a "naive and intolerant perspective to certain situations in life, generally uncomfortable or aversive". The most important manifestations of emotional immaturity related to affective attachment would be low thresholds of suffering, low tolerance to frustration and the illusion of permanence, that is, disability and imagining the end of the relationship. The immature person emotionally (who can be mature in other areas of his life) requires the care of his beloved as a child of his mother. Without her protection figure she feels lost, scared and unprotected .

How to learn to love healthy?

The first step is to be aware of loving as a verb and not as a noun , as an action and not as a feeling or thought. Loving is a behavior that we carry out when we perform actions that affect the well-being of the other, when we rejoice for their achievements, when we respect their motivations, when we give them room to grow.

As we tend to be more focused on being loved than on loving, we live pending the demonstrations of love of our couple or the absence of them. This is totally unproductive, since we can not get into each other's shoes and behave in a way that meets our expectations. It is advisable to leave the receptive orientation and start having proactive behaviors.

Instead of complaining because our partner is not loving, we are the ones who start the approach, instead of complaining because it is not retailer, we have some detail with it. In the background the best way to start receiving is to start giving .

To begin to cleanse our relationship we must get rid of the old patterns of pseudo-love that many of us have incorporated and that prevent us from enjoying relationships in their fullness. Moving from emotional dependence to affective autonomy.

Achieving affective autonomy

What is sought with affective autonomy is not indifference or coldness, but a healthy way of relating independently, not possessive and not addictive .

Autonomy promotes anti-addiction schemes and produces healthier ways of relating, as well as greater individual well-being. Autonomous people gain more self-confidence when they see that they do not need anyone to resolve their issues, which increases their feeling of self-efficacy and therefore their self-esteem. They become more emotionally mature and handle loneliness better, losing their fear of it.

It is worth learning to enjoy the times we spent alone as well as the times we spent with the couple , and not stay in a mummified state every time we separate from it until we see it again. Maintain the life that exists beyond the couple: the space itself, the friends themselves, the hobbies, the moments of solitude. In a relationship it is much healthier to miss that "throwing more".

You do not need to be weak to be loved. If the couple loves us in a healthy way, they will be willing to help us develop an independent personality, which does not mean that we love them less, but that we love them better. People who have found their vocation and their own way of living life become immune to emotional dependence. The most positive thing is to focus on cultivating and caring for other areas of our lives. The key is always in balance .


Yelawolf - Till It’s Gone (Official Music Video) (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Adieu la dépendance émotionnelle; salut autonomie affective

Adieu la dépendance émotionnelle; salut autonomie affective

Août 12, 2022

Dans son livre L'art d'aimerErich Fromm réfléchit aux difficultés que nous rencontrons dans les relations, entre autres parce que nous ne considérons pas aimer comme une action (un art, selon lui) nécessitant un apprentissage préalable).

Nous sommes empêtrés dans des relations tortueuses et toxiques qui finissent par produire plus de douleur que de bien-être, car personne ne nous a jamais appris comment se comporter au sein du couple. Comment gérer le tourbillon d'émotions que notre corps génère lorsque nous tombons amoureux , comment donner de la place à l’autre alors que ce que nous voulons le plus, c’est d'être à ses côtés 24 heures sur 24, comment gérer la peur de se briser ou de tricher ... bref, comment se mettre à aimer sainement et non follement cela nous enseigne que nous devons faire la société.


Il vous suffit de prendre quelques chansons au hasard pour vous rendre compte que les messages que nous recevons au sujet de l'amour sont extrêmement nocifs et vous présenter des excuses pour un amour dépendant, symbiotique et maladif. Si nous prenons par exemple la chanson de la police "Every Step You Take" et que nous la lisons au lieu de la chanter, il est probable que nous sommes diagnostiqués avec un trouble affectif obsessionnel ou que nous soyons accusés de harceleurs:

Chaque jour, chaque mot que tu dis

Chaque jeu auquel vous jouez

Chaque nuit que tu restes

Je vais te regarder

Tu ne vois pas que tu m'appartiens?

Comment mon pauvre cœur souffre-t-il à chaque pas que vous faites?

Dépendance émotionnelle et amours pathologiques

Gardant à l'esprit que les films, les livres ou les séries télévisées hollywoodiens encouragent également cet amour pathologique, Il est normal que nous adoptions des comportements malsains d'attachement et de dépendance cela enlève tout le sentiment d'être un couple. Nous devons aspirer à libérer l’amour, pour notre santé psychologique et celle de notre partenaire, car le seul moyen d’être heureux est d’abandonner la peur.


Les relations évoluent dans le champ de l'incertitude et ne pas accepter ou ne pas vouloir que cette réalité conduise inévitablement à la peur, à la souffrance et à la frustration, en essayant de contrôler l'incontrôlable. Si nous voulons profiter de notre être cher sainement, nous devons être disposés à le perdre, même si cette pensée nous fait mal.

Dépendance affective

La dépendance affective n'est pas un "excès d'amour" mais un excès de peur . C'est une dépendance dans laquelle l'individu se sent littéralement incapable de vivre sans l'autre (ce qui est également bien vu dans notre société, nous avons tous entendu des phrases telles que "tu es tout pour moi", "je ne sais pas ce que je ferais sans toi", "Sans toi je ne suis rien ...") et a toutes les composantes de toute autre dépendance à des substances: urgence de "consommer" notre drogue liée à l'amour, syndrome de sevrage lorsque nous sommes sans elle, irritabilité, compulsivité, sentiment d'incompréhension autour de nous , arrêtez de faire ce que nous avons apprécié auparavant d'être seul avec notre "drogue".


Selon Walter Riso , le schéma central de tout attachement est l’immaturité émotionnelle, comprise comme une "perspective naïve et intolérante de certaines situations de la vie, généralement inconfortable ou aversive". Les manifestations les plus importantes d'immaturité émotionnelle liée à l'attachement affectif seraient les seuils de souffrance, la faible tolérance à la frustration et l'illusion de permanence, à savoir le handicap et l'imagination de la fin de la relation. La personne immature sur le plan émotionnel (qui peut être mature dans d'autres domaines de sa vie) a besoin de prendre soin de sa bien-aimée en tant qu'enfant de sa mère. Sans elle, elle se sent perdue, effrayée et sans protection .

Comment apprendre à aimer en bonne santé?

La première étape consiste à prendre conscience de l’amour comme verbe et non comme nom. , en tant qu'action et non en tant que sentiment ou pensée. Aimer est un comportement que nous adoptons lorsque nous accomplissons des actes qui affectent le bien-être des autres, lorsque nous nous réjouissons de leurs réalisations, lorsque nous respectons leurs motivations, lorsque nous leur donnons la possibilité de grandir.

Comme nous avons tendance à être plus concentrés sur l'amour que sur l'amour, nous vivons en attendant les démonstrations d'amour de notre couple ou leur absence. C'est totalement improductif, car nous ne pouvons pas nous mettre à la place des autres et nous comporter de manière à répondre à nos attentes. Il est conseillé de laisser l’orientation réceptive et commencer à avoir des comportements proactifs.

Au lieu de se plaindre parce que notre partenaire n’aime pas, c’est nous qui avons lancé l’approche, au lieu de nous plaindre parce que ce n’est pas un détaillant, nous avons quelques détails à ce sujet. En arrière-plan, la meilleure façon de commencer à recevoir est de commencer à donner .

Pour commencer à purifier notre relation, nous devons nous débarrasser des anciens schémas de pseudo-amour que beaucoup d’entre nous ont incorporés et qui nous empêchent d’apprécier pleinement les relations. Passer de la dépendance émotionnelle à l'autonomie affective.

Atteindre l'autonomie affective

Ce qui est recherché avec l’autonomie affective, ce n’est pas l’indifférence ou la froideur, mais une relation saine en toute indépendance, non possessive et non addictive .

L'autonomie favorise les schémas anti-toxicomanie et produit des moyens de relations plus sains, ainsi qu'un plus grand bien-être individuel. Les personnes autonomes acquièrent davantage de confiance en elles-mêmes lorsqu'elles constatent qu'elles n'ont besoin de personne pour résoudre leurs problèmes, ce qui accroît leur sentiment d'efficacité personnelle et donc leur estime de soi. Ils deviennent plus matures émotionnellement et gèrent mieux la solitude, en perdant la peur.

Il vaut la peine d'apprendre à profiter des moments passés seuls et des moments passés en couple et ne pas rester dans un état momifié chaque fois que nous nous en séparons avant de le revoir. Maintenir la vie qui existe au-delà du couple: l'espace lui-même, les amis eux-mêmes, les loisirs, les moments de solitude. Dans une relation, il est beaucoup plus sain de rater ça "en jeter plus".

Vous n'avez pas besoin d'être faible pour être aimé. Si le couple nous aime de manière saine, ils seront disposés à nous aider à développer une personnalité indépendante, ce qui ne veut pas dire que nous les aimons moins, mais que nous les aimons mieux. Les personnes qui ont trouvé leur vocation et leur propre mode de vie deviennent immunisées contre la dépendance émotionnelle. La chose la plus positive est de se concentrer sur la culture et le soin d’autres domaines de notre vie. La clé est toujours en équilibre .


Vivir sin estrés ni ansiedad por Covadonga Pérez-Lozana PARTE 1 (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes