yes, therapy helps!
Gordon Allport's personality theory

Gordon Allport's personality theory

September 11, 2022

Throughout history, the set of characteristics that make people different from each other, having a distinctive way of interpreting, acting and living the life have been thoroughly studied. This distinctive pattern is what we commonly know as personality. Being an abstract concept, the personality is interpretable from a large number of approaches .

Among these approaches, some consider that personality is a unique configuration in each person, there being no two alike. Thus, each person is totally unique, although some similarities can be found with others. This point of view is what we consider idiographic approach, being the maximum exponent of this Gordon Allport and his theory of personality.


  • Related article: "Types of psychological tests: their functions and characteristics"

What makes us do what we do?

The fact that we behave, or that we respond to the world in one way or another is due to a wide group of variables and factors.

The situations we live in, what they demand of us and how we interpret both the situation and what we may be able to see are very relevant elements when deciding on an action plan or another. However, not only does the situation control the behavior, but also there are a series of internal variables that govern together with the environmental demands that we make and we even think concretely .

The latter correspond to the set of characteristics that make up our personality, which according to the principle of functional autonomy of the motives, is a force that causes us to motivate us to act in a certain way, this motivating action being in turn due to the activation of the patterns learned throughout the life cycle.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 15 best sentences of Gordon Allport"

The Propium and its configuration in the personality

The personality has been conceptualized in very different ways according to the author, theoretical current and approach that has treated it. In the case of Allport, this important psychologist considers that the personality is a dynamic organization of the psychophysiological systems that determine the way of thinking and acting characteristic of the subject. Through these elements, Allport creates a theoretical system oriented to explain what is the style of behavior of individuals.

However, the personality needs a structuring element in which the different characteristics of the personality are structured. This axis is what the author calls propium, this being the self-perception of being a differentiated entity. It is about the perception of the subject of himself as being integrated by different characteristics, experiences and desires, being the self-perception of being a differentiated being.


In Allport's theory of personality, it is considered that this perception of the entity itself is formed by different factors . The elements that make up this skeleton of mental life, which are acquired throughout the psychic maturation, are the following.

1. I corporal

This part of the propium is basically the experience of bodily and perceptive sensations , that allow the experience with the external environment. It is the component of consciousness about the parts of one's body and the way in which it feels when it comes into contact with external stimuli.

2. Identity

It is about the idea that we are a "something" in a continuous way, that is living different experiences throughout life. It can be understood as the backbone of our own life history, the way in which we interpret the journey we have made and, from this, the conclusions we draw about ourselves.

3. Self-esteem

The perception that we are not passive entities, but that we modify our experience and our life with our performance, is a very important part when integrating the personality. We see ourselves as valuable beings.

  • Related article: "10 keys to increase your self-esteem in 30 days"

4. Self-image

It is a comparative element, which takes into account on the one hand the performance itself and on the other the reaction of the medium before it. In other words, it is what others think of themselves.

5. Extension of the self

This part of the self refers to the perception that the person has concrete interests, these being important elements for us. These objectives and goals form a vector of action that guides the behavior.

6. Rationality

Self-perception of the ability to find adaptive solutions to the different problems and demands that the environment can provide. It is closely related to self-confidence.

7. Intentionality

The most complex element of the propium, the creation of an intentional self, presupposes the self-awareness of being a being with its own objectives and goals, the ability to motivate oneself and strive to achieve

The structure of personality

Personality is an element that can be understood as a kind of organized system that generates behavioral patterns based on the activity of the subject. To explain your organization and allow the study and prediction of behavior, it is necessary to take into account the main and most basic of the elements that configure it: the features.

The traits are that element that allows us to evaluate different stimuli as a set to which we can respond in a similar way, our behavior being in some way adaptive to them.

The features are understood as the point of union between mental processes and physiological components, this union being responsible for our performance. A) Yes, Allport states that the traits cause the tendency to always act in a similar way .

The traits in Allport's personalistic theory

As the main exponent of the idiographic approach, Allport considered that the behavioral patterns of each person are unique and different between subjects. In spite of that, it is considered that human beings have in general the same types of traits, such as dependence, aggressiveness, sociability and anxiety, so it is not uncommon for similar patterns to exist. What makes each individual have his own personality is the relationship that occurs between personality traits and those that stand out in each one.

Personality traits can be classified according to the identification of the general behavior of the subject , considering the author three major types of features

1. Cardinal features

Cardinal features are considered those personality traits that are part of the person's own core , affecting and defining most of the person's behavioral repertoire. That is, they are those that have more weight in the way of being of each individual.

2. Central features

The central features are those sets of characteristics that have an influence on the behavior of the person in different contexts . They participate in our performance and the tendencies that we have even though they influence a more restricted set of behavior, such as socialization, being generally independent among them.

3. Secondary features

It is about some elements that, although they are not part of the general personality of the subjects, they may arise at certain times , as when dealing with a specific situation.

All this set of factors makes the theory of Allport a complex element that tries to give a sense to the personality from a structural point of view, being the main characteristics of personalistic theory the fact that each person is configured through a composition of different traits unique in each person and the fact that the human being is an entity that is not limited to remain static while life passes, but actively participates in its environment to build, experiment and meet goals and objectives.

What kind of theory is Allport?

Allport's theory of personality is interesting not only because of its content, but also because of the confluence between different ideologies and theoretical perspectives.

Regardless of whether it is limited to an idiographic point of view, which highlights the variables that make each person unique and different, The theory established by Allport indicates that although the configuration of each person is unique there are common behavior patterns , because personality traits are in general innate elements shared.

In the same way, although his theory is of an innatist nature, he does not ignore the influence of situational factors when explaining behavior, so he approaches interactionist positions that see behavior as a combination between biological and environmental.

Finally, Allport's theory is part of the structuralist theories of personality. These theories are based on the idea that the personality is a configuration of characteristics organized with a concrete structure, which allows predicting future behavior as the individual tends to act according to said structure.

However, it also shows a certain interest in the process, that is, in the process by which it is developed and not only its structure, in analyzing how the propium is being formed.

Bibliographic references:

  • Allport, G.W. (1961). Pattern and Growth in personality. New York: Holt.
  • Bermúdez, J. (1996). Personal theory of G.W. Allport. In Bermúdez, J. (Ed.) Psychology of the personality. Madrid: UNED.
  • Hernangómez, L. & Fernández, C. (2012). Psychology of Personality and Differential. CEDE Preparation Manual PIr, 07. CEDE: Madrid.

Allport's Approach to Personality Theory (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie de la personnalité de Gordon Allport

La théorie de la personnalité de Gordon Allport

Mars 25, 2019

Tout au long de l'histoire, l'ensemble des caractéristiques qui différencient les personnes les unes des autres, ayant une manière distincte d'interpréter, d'agir et de vivre la vie ont été minutieusement étudiées. Ce motif distinctif est ce que nous appelons communément la personnalité. En tant que concept abstrait, la personnalité est interprétable à partir d'un grand nombre d'approches .

Parmi ces approches, certaines considèrent que la personnalité est une configuration unique dans chaque personne, il n'y a pas deux semblables. Ainsi, chaque personne est totalement unique, bien que certaines similitudes puissent être trouvées avec d'autres. Ce point de vue est ce que nous considérons comme une approche idiographique, étant l’exposant maximal de cette Gordon Allport et sa théorie de la personnalité.


  • Article connexe: "Types de tests psychologiques: fonctions et caractéristiques"

Qu'est-ce qui nous fait faire ce que nous faisons?

Le fait que nous nous comportions ou que nous réagissions au monde d'une manière ou d'une autre est dû à un vaste groupe de variables et de facteurs.

Les situations dans lesquelles nous vivons, ce qu’elles exigent de nous et la façon dont nous interprétons la situation et ce que nous pouvons être en mesure de voir sont des éléments très pertinents pour décider d’un plan d’action ou d’un autre. Cependant, non seulement la situation contrôle-t-elle le comportement, mais également une série de variables internes régit les exigences environnementales que nous formulons et nous pensons même concrètement .

Celles-ci correspondent à l'ensemble des caractéristiques qui constituent notre personnalité et qui, selon le principe de l'autonomie fonctionnelle des motifs, constitue une force qui nous pousse à nous motiver à agir d'une certaine manière, cette action motrice étant elle-même liée à l'activation. des modèles appris tout au long du cycle de vie.


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 15 meilleures phrases de Gordon Allport"

Le Propium et sa configuration dans la personnalité

La personnalité a été conceptualisée de manières très différentes selon l'auteur, le courant théorique et l'approche qui l'a traitée. Dans le cas d'Allport, cet important psychologue considère que la personnalité est une organisation dynamique des systèmes psychophysiologiques qui déterminent la manière de penser et d'agir caractéristique du sujet. À travers ces éléments, Allport crée un système théorique visant à expliquer quel est le style de comportement des individus.

Cependant, la personnalité a besoin d'un élément structurant dans lequel sont structurées ses différentes caractéristiques. Cet axe est ce que l'auteur appelle propium, ceci étant la perception de soi d'être une entité différenciée. Il s'agit de la perception du sujet de lui-même comme étant intégré par différentes caractéristiques, expériences et désirs, constituant la perception de soi d'être un être différencié.


Dans la théorie de la personnalité d'Allport, on considère que cette perception de l'entité elle-même est formée par différents facteurs . Les éléments qui composent ce squelette de la vie mentale, acquis tout au long de la maturation psychique, sont les suivants.

1. je suis caporal

Cette partie du propium est essentiellement l'expérience des sensations corporelles et perceptives , qui permettent l'expérience avec l'environnement externe. C'est la composante de la conscience concernant les parties de son corps et la façon dont elle se sent lorsqu'elle entre en contact avec des stimuli externes.

2. identité

Il s'agit de l'idée que nous sommes un "quelque chose" de manière continue, c'est-à-dire que nous vivons différentes expériences tout au long de la vie. Cela peut être compris comme l’épine dorsale de notre propre histoire de vie, la façon dont nous interprétons le voyage que nous avons fait et, partant, les conclusions que nous tirons de nous-mêmes.

3. Estime de soi

La perception que nous ne sommes pas des entités passives, mais que nous modifions notre expérience et notre vie avec nos performances, est un élément très important lors de l'intégration de la personnalité. Nous nous considérons comme des êtres précieux.

  • Article connexe: "10 clés pour augmenter votre estime de soi en 30 jours"

4. image de soi

C'est un élément comparatif qui prend en compte d'une part la performance elle-même et d'autre part la réaction du milieu le précédant. En d'autres termes, c'est ce que les autres pensent d'eux-mêmes.

5. Extension du moi

Cette partie du soi renvoie à la perception que la personne a des intérêts concrets, qui sont des éléments importants pour nous. Ces objectifs et buts forment un vecteur d’action qui guide le comportement.

6. Rationalité

Auto-perception de la capacité de trouver des solutions adaptatives aux différents problèmes et demandes que l'environnement peut fournir. Il est étroitement lié à la confiance en soi.

7. Intentionnalité

L'élément le plus complexe du propium, la création d'un soi intentionnel, présuppose la conscience de soi d'être un être avec ses propres buts et objectifs, la capacité de se motiver et de s'efforcer d'atteindre

La structure de la personnalité

La personnalité est un élément qui peut être compris comme une sorte de système organisé générant des schémas comportementaux basés sur l'activité du sujet. Pour expliquer votre organisation et permettre l’étude et la prévision du comportement, il est nécessaire de prendre en compte l’élément principal et le plus fondamental des éléments qui le configurent: les fonctionnalités.

Les traits sont cet élément qui nous permet d'évaluer différents stimuli comme un ensemble auquel nous pouvons répondre de la même manière, notre comportement leur étant en quelque sorte adaptatif.

Les caractéristiques sont comprises comme le point d'union des processus mentaux et des composants physiologiques, cette union étant responsable de notre performance. Ainsi, Allport déclare que les traits provoquent la tendance à toujours agir de la même manière .

Les traits de la théorie personnaliste d'Allport

En tant que principal exposant de l’approche idiographique, Allport a estimé que les schémas comportementaux de chaque personne sont uniques et différents d’un sujet à l’autre. Malgré cela, on considère que les êtres humains ont en général les mêmes types de traits, tels que la dépendance, l'agressivité, la sociabilité et l'anxiété. Il n'est donc pas rare que des modèles similaires existent. Ce qui fait que chaque individu a sa propre personnalité, c'est la relation qui existe entre les traits de personnalité et ceux qui se démarquent dans chacun.

Les traits de personnalité peuvent être classés en fonction de l'identification du comportement général du sujet. , en considérant l'auteur trois principaux types de caractéristiques

1. Caractéristiques cardinales

Les caractéristiques cardinales sont considérées ces traits de personnalité qui font partie du noyau de la personne , affectant et définissant la plupart du répertoire comportemental de la personne. C'est-à-dire que ce sont ceux qui ont le plus de poids dans la manière d'être de chaque individu.

2. Caractéristiques centrales

Les caractéristiques centrales sont les ensembles de caractéristiques qui ont une influence sur le comportement de la personne dans différents contextes . Ils participent à notre performance et aux tendances que nous avons même s'ils influencent un ensemble de comportements plus restreint, tel que la socialisation, étant généralement indépendants entre eux.

3. Caractéristiques secondaires

Il s'agit de certains éléments qui, bien qu'ils ne fassent pas partie de la personnalité générale des sujets, ils peuvent survenir à certains moments , comme lorsqu'il s'agissait d'une situation particulière.

Tout cet ensemble de facteurs fait de la théorie d’Allport un élément complexe qui cherche à donner un sens structurel à la personnalité, étant les caractéristiques principales de la théorie personnaliste le fait que chaque personne est configurée à composition de différents traits uniques chez chaque personne et le fait que l'être humain est une entité qui ne se limite pas à rester statique pendant que la vie passe, mais participe activement à son environnement pour construire, expérimenter et atteindre des buts et objectifs.

Quel genre de théorie est Allport?

La théorie de la personnalité d'Allport est intéressante non seulement pour son contenu, mais également pour la convergence entre différentes idéologies et perspectives théoriques.

Peu importe qu’il soit limité à un point de vue idiographique, ce qui met en évidence les variables qui rendent chaque personne unique et différente, La théorie établie par Allport indique que bien que la configuration de chaque personne soit unique, il existe des modèles de comportement communs , parce que les traits de personnalité sont en général des éléments innés partagés.

De même, bien que sa théorie soit de nature innatiste, il n’ignore pas l’influence des facteurs situationnels dans l’explication du comportement. Il aborde donc les positions interactionnistes qui considèrent le comportement comme une combinaison entre biologique et environnemental.

Enfin, la théorie d'Allport fait partie des théories structuralistes de la personnalité. Ces théories reposent sur l’idée que la personnalité est une configuration de caractéristiques organisée avec une structure concrète, ce qui permet de prédire le comportement futur de l’individu ayant tendance à agir en fonction de cette structure.

Cependant, il montre également un certain intérêt pour le processus, c'est-à-dire le processus de développement et non seulement la structure, pour analyser la formation du propium.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Allport, G.W. (1961). Modèle et croissance de la personnalité. New York: Holt.
  • Bermúdez, J. (1996). Théorie personnelle de G.W. Allport. Dans Bermúdez, J. (Ed.) Psychologie de la personnalité. Madrid: UNED.
  • Hernangómez, L. & Fernández, C. (2012). Psychologie de la personnalité et différentielle. Manuel de préparation du CEDE, p. 07. CEDE: Madrid.

Les Big Five (Mars 2019).


Articles Connexes