yes, therapy helps!
Grisi siknis: symptoms and causes of this cultural syndrome

Grisi siknis: symptoms and causes of this cultural syndrome

November 28, 2022

Cultural syndromes or linked to culture are disorders that have been identified exclusively in a specific society. Some of the most well-known cultural syndromes are Koro, which occurs in Southeast Asia, and Amok, typical of Indonesia and the Pacific.

In this article we will talk about the causes and symptoms of grisi siknis, a syndrome linked to culture that occurs between the Miskitos, natives of Honduras and Nicaragua. We will also describe some similar disorders that occur in other cultures.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Hikikomori: young people permanently locked in their room"

What is grayi siknis?

Grisi Siknis is a specific cultural syndrome of the Miskito society , an ethnic group of Central America . The name is probably derived from the English words "crazy sickness"; in that case it could be translated as "madness disease". It is also known as "grisi munaia", "Nil siknis" and "Chipil siknis". This disorder was described by Philip A. Dennis in 1981.


It occurs mainly in adolescent women between 15 and 18 years . Although Western psychology and psychiatry have attributed the occurrence of grisi siknis episodes to emotional distress and stress, traditional Miskito explanations claim that it is an experience of possession by evil spirits or sorcerers.

This esoteric account of the nature of the syndrome is fueled by the fact that medicine and other Western treatments do not seem effective in resolving the symptoms of grisi siknis. In contrast, the traditional and herbal remedies of the Miskito healers are effective in dealing with the symptoms, perhaps by suggestion and placebo effect.


One of the most peculiar characteristics of Grisi Siknis is its contagious nature, which causes epidemics to occur . For example, outbreaks of grisi siknis were reported in March 2009, affecting many young people in the municipalities of Puerto Cabezas and Siuna, in Nicaragua. These epidemics happened shortly after Hurricane Felix, which caused havoc along the coast of Honduras and Nicaragua.

Symptoms of this disorder

Episodes of Grisi Siknis are preceded by physical and psychological symptoms such as anxiety, anger, irrational fear, headache, dizziness and nausea .

The onset of the attack coincides with the loss of consciousness that causes the person to fall to the ground. Then begins to run, plunged into a state of dissociation and lack of control of behavior.

During the grisi siknis crisis it is common for affected people to carry out aggressive behavior against themselves or against invisible aggressors hallucination product s ; Those who have suffered episodes say they see spirits or demons that come to look for them, sometimes to rape them or have sex with them.


There is a great power of suggestion in this syndrome, partly because of the atmosphere of esotericism that is generated in the crises and that recalls the classic cases of Folie à Deux. It is also common for people affected by grisi siknis to say the name of the following who presumably will suffer it, although not necessarily correct. There are Miskito stories that tell supernatural facts happened during episodes of this syndrome, as victims who speak in unknown languages ​​or who vomit hair, spiders or coins.

The gray siknis It can last several months, even a year, if it is not treated . During this period there are usually recurrent episodes with symptoms such as those described in the previous paragraphs.

  • Related article: "Hallucinations: definition, causes, and symptoms"

Causes and explanations

According to the DSM-IV-TR manual, grisi siknis is a psychological disorder that occurs due to stress, emotional shock and despair ; In this sense, this syndrome has been linked to the dissociative leak, as is the case with Amok syndrome, another well-known cultural disorder. However, grisi siknis has been little studied and therefore its causes are not entirely clear.

The Miskitos attribute Grisi Siknis to a destabilization in the spirit world, caused by the appearance of epidemic outbreaks or the action of dark sorcerers. These factors would lead to the possession of young girls by spectra.

As we have seen, a possible explanation for the peculiar fact that grisi siknis is contagious is the suggestion; thus, the appearance of this syndrome in several people at once could be influenced by contact with other cases of Grisi Siknis . Seen in this way, the syndrome would have certain similarities with the shared psychotic disorder, better known as Folie à Deux.

Similar cultural syndromes

The symptoms of anxiety, physical discomfort and loss of control are very common in a large number of disorders, including those that are specific to certain cultures. As in Grisi Siknis, in many cases these syndromes have traditionally been attributed to the possession of spirits.

1. Amok or kill elap

Alteration detected in males from Malaysia characterized by appearance of a dissociative episode during which aggressive behaviors occur . It is related to psychosis. After the attack of amok the person does not remember what happened.

There are other cultural syndromes with symptoms very similar to those of amok and grisi siknis in different cultures, such as cafard, berserk, fighting evil and iich'aa, identified in Polynesia, Scandinavia, Puerto Rico and the Navajo Indians, respectively.

2. Pibloktoq or Arctic hysteria

The pibloktoq occurs among the Inuit of Greenland. It usually consists of a dissociative episode of about 30 minutes that occurs after a period of agitation, irritability or low mood. The person behaves aggressively and uninhibited , being able for example to take off all the clothes, shout obscene words or eat stools.

3. Windigo or witiko

The windigo is a mythological being of North America to which human and bestial characteristics are attributed. As a disorder, the windigo is related to delirious experiences of possession who have a compulsive desire to eat human flesh. Currently the existence of this cultural syndrome is very questioned as such.

4. Nervous attack

This name is given to episodes of loss of control with cries, cries, tremors and aggression that occur in some Latin American and Mediterranean cultures. It differs from panic attacks in the fact that the symptoms occur spontaneously, without a trigger and without feelings of fear.

5. Bouffée delirious

The delirious bouffée (in French, "delirious breath") it's a type of psychotic outbreak which is characterized by psychomotor agitation, violence, confusion and visual or auditory hallucinations. It is typical of Haiti and West Africa.

6. Tsar

Dissociative episodes with screaming, crying, laughter and uncontrolled songs, as well as self-harm, attributed to experiences of spirit possession. In African countries where it has been identified, such as Ethiopia, Sudan, Egypt and Somalia, it is not considered a pathology .

7. Illness of the spirits

In some Native American societies a syndrome has been described consisting of an intense concern for death and deceased persons, along with various physical and psychological symptoms: anxiety, weakness, loss of appetite, dizziness, confusion, nightmares, hallucinations, etc.

8. Hsieh-ping

The hsieh-ping, a cultural syndrome detected in Taiwan , it is defined as a brief trance state during which the person believes that he is possessed by ancestral spirits who try to communicate with family members. Symptoms include disorientation and hallucinations.

9. Madness

According to the psychiatric manual DSM-IV, the term "madness" is used in Latin America to refer to a type of chronic psychosis They include symptoms such as interpersonal difficulties, agitation, hallucinations, incoherence, impulsivity and aggression.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. Task Force on DSM-IV. (2000). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 4th Edition Text Revision. Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Association.
  • Barrett, B. (1997). Herbs and healing on Nicaragua's Atlantic Coast. American Botanical Council, 41: 35-48.
  • Dennis, P. A. (1981). Part Three: Grisi Siknis Among the Miskito. Medical Anthropology, 5 (4): 445-505.

Grissi Siknis trailer (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Grisi siknis: symptômes et causes de ce syndrome culturel

Grisi siknis: symptômes et causes de ce syndrome culturel

Février 27, 2024

Les syndromes culturels ou liés à la culture sont des troubles qui ont été identifiés exclusivement dans une société spécifique. Certains des syndromes culturels les plus connus sont Koro, présent en Asie du Sud-Est, et Amok, typique de l'Indonésie et du Pacifique.

Dans cet article, nous allons parler de les causes et les symptômes de grisi siknis, un syndrome lié à la culture cela se produit entre les Miskitos, originaires du Honduras et du Nicaragua. Nous décrirons également des troubles similaires qui se produisent dans d’autres cultures.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Hikikomori: des jeunes enfermés en permanence dans leur chambre"

Qu'est-ce que Grayi Siknis?

Grisi Siknis est un syndrome culturel spécifique de la société miskito , un groupe ethnique d'Amérique centrale . Le nom est probablement dérivé des mots anglais "crazy sickness"; dans ce cas, il pourrait être traduit par "maladie de la folie". Il est également connu sous les noms de "grisi munaia", "Nil siknis" et "Chipil siknis". Ce trouble a été décrit par Philip A. Dennis en 1981.


Il survient principalement chez les adolescentes âgées de 15 à 18 ans. . Bien que la psychologie et la psychiatrie occidentales aient attribué la survenue d'épisodes de grisi siknis à une détresse émotionnelle et au stress, les explications traditionnelles miskito affirment qu'il s'agit d'une expérience de possession par des esprits mauvais ou des sorciers.

Ce compte ésotérique de la nature du syndrome est alimenté par le fait que les médicaments et autres traitements occidentaux ne semblent pas efficaces pour résoudre les symptômes de grisi siknis. En revanche, les remèdes traditionnels et à base de plantes des guérisseurs Miskito sont efficaces pour traiter les symptômes, peut-être par suggestion et par effet placebo.


Une des caractéristiques les plus particulières de Grisi Siknis est sa nature contagieuse, ce qui provoque des épidémies . Par exemple, des épidémies de grisi siknis ont été signalées en mars 2009, touchant de nombreux jeunes dans les municipalités de Puerto Cabezas et de Siuna, au Nicaragua. Ces épidémies sont survenues peu de temps après l'ouragan Felix, qui a ravagé les côtes du Honduras et du Nicaragua.

Symptômes de ce trouble

Les épisodes de Grisi Siknis sont précédés de symptômes physiques et psychologiques tels que anxiété, colère, peur irrationnelle, maux de tête, vertiges et nausées .

Le début de l'attaque coïncide avec la perte de conscience qui fait tomber la personne sur le sol. Puis commence à courir, plongé dans un état de dissociation et un manque de contrôle du comportement.

Pendant la crise des grisi siknis, il est courant que les personnes touchées adoptent un comportement agressif contre elles-mêmes ou contre produit hallucination des agresseurs invisibles s ; Ceux qui ont souffert des épisodes disent voir des esprits ou des démons qui viennent les chercher, parfois pour les violer ou avoir des relations sexuelles avec eux.


Il existe un grand pouvoir de suggestion dans ce syndrome, en partie à cause de l'atmosphère d'ésotérisme générée dans les crises et qui rappelle les cas classiques de Folie à Deux. Il est également courant que les personnes atteintes de grisi siknis prononcent le nom de la personne suivante qui en souffrira vraisemblablement, bien que cela ne soit pas nécessairement correct. Il y a des histoires de Miskito qui racontent des faits surnaturels qui se sont produits pendant les épisodes de ce syndrome, en tant que victimes qui parlent dans des langues inconnues ou qui vomissent des cheveux, des araignées ou des pièces de monnaie.

Le siknis gris Il peut durer plusieurs mois, voire un an, s'il n'est pas traité . Pendant cette période, il y a généralement des épisodes récurrents avec des symptômes tels que ceux décrits dans les paragraphes précédents.

  • Article connexe: "Hallucinations: définition, causes et symptômes"

Causes et explications

Selon le manuel du DSM-IV-TR, grisi siknis est un trouble psychologique dû au stress, au choc émotionnel et au désespoir ; En ce sens, ce syndrome a été lié à la fuite dissociative, comme c'est le cas du syndrome d'Amok, un autre désordre culturel bien connu. Cependant, les grisi siknis ont été peu étudiés et, par conséquent, leurs causes ne sont pas parfaitement claires.

Les Miskitos attribuent Grisi Siknis à une déstabilisation du monde des esprits, provoquée par l'apparition d'épidémies ou l'action de sorciers noirs. Ces facteurs conduiraient à la possession de jeunes filles par spectres.

Comme nous l'avons vu, la suggestion est une explication possible du fait particulier que grisi siknis est contagieux. ainsi, l'apparition de ce syndrome chez plusieurs personnes à la fois pourrait être influencé par le contact avec d'autres cas de Grisi Siknis . Vu sous cet angle, le syndrome aurait certaines similitudes avec le trouble psychotique partagé, mieux connu sous le nom de Folie à Deux.

Syndromes culturels similaires

Les symptômes d'anxiété, d'inconfort physique et de perte de contrôle sont très fréquents dans un grand nombre de troubles, y compris ceux spécifiques à certaines cultures. Comme dans Grisi Siknis, ces syndromes ont souvent été attribués à la possession d'alcool.

1. Amok ou tuer elap

Altération détectée chez des mâles de Malaisie caractérisée par apparition d'un épisode dissociatif au cours duquel se produisent des comportements agressifs . C'est lié à la psychose. Après l'attaque d'un amok, la personne ne se souvient pas de ce qui s'est passé.

Il existe d'autres syndromes culturels présentant des symptômes très similaires à ceux des amok et des grisi siknis dans différentes cultures, tels que cafard, berserk, combattre le mal et iich'aa, identifiés en Polynésie, en Scandinavie, à Porto Rico et chez les Indiens Navajo, respectivement.

2. Pibloktoq ou l'hystérie arctique

La pibloktoq est présente chez les Inuits du Groenland. Il s'agit généralement d'un épisode dissociatif d'environ 30 minutes qui se produit après une période d'agitation, d'irritabilité ou de mauvaise humeur. La personne se comporte de manière agressive et sans entrave , pouvant par exemple enlever tous ses vêtements, crier des paroles obscènes ou manger des selles.

3. Windigo ou witiko

Le windigo est un être mythologique d'Amérique du Nord auquel sont attribuées des caractéristiques humaines et bestiales. En désordre, le windigo est liée à des expériences délirantes de possession qui ont un désir compulsif de manger de la chair humaine. Actuellement, l'existence de ce syndrome culturel est très remise en question en tant que telle.

4. attaque nerveuse

Ce nom est donné aux épisodes de perte de contrôle avec pleurs, cris, tremblements et agressions qui se produisent dans certaines cultures latino-américaines et méditerranéennes. Il diffère des attaques de panique par le fait que les symptômes apparaissent spontanément, sans déclencheur ni sentiment de peur.

5. bouffée délirante

La bouffée délirante (en français, "souffle délirant") c'est un type d'épidémie psychotique qui se caractérise par une agitation psychomotrice, la violence, la confusion et des hallucinations visuelles ou auditives. C'est typique d'Haïti et de l'Afrique de l'Ouest.

6. tsar

Épisodes dissociatifs avec cris, pleurs, rires et chants incontrôlés, ainsi que des blessures auto-infligées, attribués à des expériences de possession d'esprit. Dans les pays africains où il a été identifié, tels que l’Éthiopie, le Soudan, l’Égypte et la Somalie, ce n'est pas considéré comme une pathologie .

7. Maladie des esprits

Dans certaines sociétés amérindiennes, on a décrit un syndrome comportant un souci intense de la mort et des personnes décédées, ainsi que divers symptômes physiques et psychologiques: anxiété, faiblesse, perte d’appétit, vertiges, confusion, cauchemars, hallucinations, etc.

8. Hsieh-ping

Le hsieh-ping, un syndrome culturel détecté à Taiwan , il est défini comme un bref état de transe au cours duquel la personne croit être possédée par des esprits ancestraux qui tentent de communiquer avec les membres de la famille. Les symptômes incluent désorientation et hallucinations.

9. folie

Selon le manuel psychiatrique DSM-IV, le terme "folie" est utilisé en Amérique latine pour désigner un type de psychose chronique Ils comprennent des symptômes tels que difficultés interpersonnelles, agitation, hallucinations, incohérence, impulsivité et agressivité.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. Groupe de travail sur le DSM-IV. (2000). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux, 4e édition, révision de texte. Washington, DC: Association américaine de psychiatrie.
  • Barrett, B. (1997). Herbes et guérison sur la côte atlantique du Nicaragua. American Botanical Council, 41: 35-48.
  • Dennis, P. A. (1981). Troisième partie: Grisi Siknis parmi les Miskito. Anthropologie médicale, 5 (4): 445-505.

Grissi Siknis trailer (Février 2024).


Articles Connexes