yes, therapy helps!
Group therapy: history, types and phases

Group therapy: history, types and phases

June 11, 2024

The concept of "group therapy" encompasses a large number of different interventions, which can focus on the management of specific problems, on the acquisition of behavioral and cognitive skills or on the social benefits of the group experience itself.

In this article we will describe what they are the phases of group therapy and what types exist . We will also synthesize the development of this therapeutic method and the main theoretical orientations in this regard.

  • Related article: "Types of psychological therapies"

History of group therapy

Group therapy as we know it began to develop in the 1920s and 1930s. In the 20s of the last century Pratt applied pioneering group interventions for the management of tuberculosis, while Lazell did it with schizophrenia patients.


Psychoanalysis, which enjoyed great popularity in the first half of the 20th century, had a great influence on early group therapy. Wender transferred the ideas of Sigmund Freud on family functioning to the therapeutic groups, while Schilder adopted the analysis of dreams and transference as a methodology.

Moreno's psychodrama It was one of the first group therapies to acquire certain relevance. Moreno worked group dynamics through dramatic procedures focused on emotion, close to interpretation. At the same time, in the 30s and 40s, Redl began to apply group therapy in children, and Slavson did the same with teenagers.


Group therapy became popular in the United States after World War II. Slavson founded the American Psychotherapy Association, while his rival Moreno created the American Society of Group Psychotherapy. Later, other schools and authors greatly influenced these therapies, such as Gestalt, neofreudianos, Ellis or Carl Rogers.

From the 60's the different traditions specialized and developed. It began to distinguish clearly between therapies focused on the treatment of specific disorders and others closer to what we know today as psychoeducation. Cognitive-behavioral therapies They acquired great relevance in the most practical side of group therapy.

  • Related article: "Jacob Levy Moreno's psychodrama: what is it?"

Types of group

There are many different ways to classify therapeutic groups. We will focus on some of the most fundamental differentiations, especially those that refer to the composition and structure of the group.


1. Psychoeducational and process-centered

Psychoeducational groups aim to provide their members information and tools to handle difficulties . They can focus on pathologies, such as psychoeducational groups for family members of people with psychosis or bipolar disorder, or on specific topics, such as emotional education for adolescents.

In contrast, the groups focused on the process, closer to the psychodynamic and experiential traditions, focus on the usefulness of the group relationship itself. promote emotional expression and psychological change in the people who participate.

2. Small and large

It is usually considered that a therapeutic group is small when it is formed by between 5 and 10 members, approximately. In these groups interaction and cohesion are greater, and in many cases close relationships are created. The ideal size of the groups It is between 8 and 10 people, according to experts.

Larger groups are more productive, but they tend to facilitate the formation of subgroups and the division of tasks. In addition, participants in large groups tend to feel less satisfied than those in small groups.

3. Homogeneous and heterogeneous

The homogeneity or heterogeneity of a group can be assessed according to a single criterion, such as the presence of a single problem or several, or at a general level; For example, the members of a group can vary in gender, age, socioeconomic status, ethnicity , etc.

Homogeneous groups tend to function more quickly, to generate more cohesion and to be less problematic. Despite the heterogeneity, especially in specific disorders or difficulties, it can be very useful to present different behavioral alternatives.

4. Closed and open

In the closed groups the people who are present in the creation of the group are also present when it ends, while in open groups members vary to a greater extent , usually because they remain active for longer.

Closed groups generate greater cohesion but are more vulnerable to the departure of members.Open groups are applied, for example, in psychiatric hospitals and in associations such as Alcoholics Anonymous.

  • Perhaps you are interested: "Systemic therapy: what is it and on what principles is it based?"

Phases of group therapy

In this section we will describe the four phases of group therapy according to Gerald Corey . Although other authors speak of different phases, most classifications of the stages of the group process converge on the key aspects.

1. Initial or orientation stage

In the orientation phase the central task of the therapist is establish the trust of group members towards him and towards the rest of the participants. The norms, both explicit and implicit, must also be clear. There is often a clash between the needs for autonomy and those of belonging to the group.

2. Transition stage

After the initial stage it is possible that members feel doubts about the benefits they can get from the group, as well as fear of exposure. It is common for conflicts to appear between members and for the authority of the therapist to be questioned.

3. Work stadium

According to Corey, in the work phase there is cohesion among the participants as of addressing specific problems and conflicts that arise in the group itself. The therapist can challenge the members in order to move towards therapeutic goals.

4. Final or consolidation stage

In the consolidation stage, a recapitulation of the progress made by members , which aims to integrate the experience of group therapy in everyday life.

Participants may feel some sadness and fear of facing new difficulties without the help of their colleagues and the therapist, so it is advisable to prepare the finalization well and plan follow-up sessions, if necessary.


Four Stages of Group Development (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Thérapie de groupe: histoire, types et phases

Thérapie de groupe: histoire, types et phases

Septembre 8, 2022

Le concept de "thérapie de groupe" englobe un grand nombre d'interventions différentes, qui peuvent être axées sur la gestion de problèmes spécifiques, sur l'acquisition de compétences comportementales et cognitives ou sur les avantages sociaux de l'expérience de groupe elle-même.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire ce qu’ils sont les phases de la thérapie de groupe et quels types existent . Nous allons également synthétiser le développement de cette méthode thérapeutique et les principales orientations théoriques à cet égard.

  • Article connexe: "Types de thérapies psychologiques"

Histoire de la thérapie de groupe

La thérapie de groupe telle que nous la connaissons a commencé à se développer dans les années 1920 et 1930. Dans les années 20 du siècle dernier Pratt a appliqué des interventions de groupe pionnières pour la prise en charge de la tuberculose, tandis que Lazell l’a fait avec des patients schizophrènes.


La psychanalyse, qui jouissait d'une grande popularité dans la première moitié du 20e siècle, a eu une grande influence sur les premières thérapies de groupe. Wender transféra les idées de Sigmund Freud sur le fonctionnement de la famille aux groupes thérapeutiques, tandis que Schilder adoptait l'analyse des rêves et du transfert comme méthodologie.

Le psychodrame de Moreno Ce fut l'une des premières thérapies de groupe à acquérir une certaine pertinence. Moreno a travaillé la dynamique de groupe à travers des procédures dramatiques centrées sur l'émotion, proches de l'interprétation. Au même moment, dans les années 1930 et 1940, Redl a commencé à appliquer la thérapie de groupe chez les enfants et Slavson a fait de même avec les adolescents.


La thérapie de groupe est devenue populaire aux États-Unis après la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Slavson a fondé l'American Psychotherapy Association, tandis que son rival Moreno a créé l'American Society of Group Psychotherapy. Plus tard, d'autres écoles et auteurs ont fortement influencé ces thérapies, telles que Gestalt, neofreudianos, Ellis ou Carl Rogers.

A partir des années 60, les différentes traditions se sont spécialisées et développées. Elle a commencé à distinguer clairement les thérapies centrées sur le traitement de troubles spécifiques de celles qui se rapprochent de ce que nous connaissons aujourd'hui sous le nom de psychoéducation. Thérapies cognitivo-comportementales Ils ont acquis une grande pertinence dans les aspects les plus pratiques de la thérapie de groupe.

  • Article connexe: "Le psychodrame de Jacob Levy Moreno: de quoi s'agit-il?"

Types de groupe

Il existe différentes manières de classer les groupes thérapeutiques. Nous nous concentrerons sur certaines des différenciations les plus fondamentales, en particulier celles qui se rapportent à la composition et à la structure du groupe.


1. Psychoéducational et centré sur le processus

Les groupes psychoéducatifs ont pour objectif de fournir à leurs membres informations et outils pour gérer les difficultés . Ils peuvent se concentrer sur des pathologies, telles que les groupes psychoéducatifs pour les membres de la famille de personnes atteintes de psychose ou de trouble bipolaire, ou sur des sujets spécifiques, tels que l'éducation émotionnelle des adolescents.

En revanche, les groupes axés sur le processus, plus proches des traditions psychodynamiques et expérientielles, se concentrent sur l'utilité de la relation de groupe elle-même. promouvoir l'expression émotionnelle et le changement psychologique dans les personnes qui participent.

2. petit et grand

On considère généralement qu'un groupe thérapeutique est petit lorsqu'il est composé d'environ 5 à 10 membres, environ. Dans ces groupes, l'interaction et la cohésion sont plus grandes et, souvent, des relations étroites sont créées. La taille idéale des groupes C'est entre 8 et 10 personnes, selon les experts.

Les groupes plus importants sont plus productifs, mais ils ont tendance à faciliter la formation de sous-groupes et la division des tâches. De plus, les participants des grands groupes ont tendance à se sentir moins satisfaits que ceux des petits groupes.

3. Homogène et hétérogène

L'homogénéité ou l'hétérogénéité d'un groupe peut être évaluée selon un critère unique, tel que la présence d'un ou plusieurs problèmes, ou à un niveau général; Par exemple, les membres d’un groupe peuvent varier sexe, âge, statut socio-économique, appartenance ethnique etc.

Les groupes homogènes ont tendance à fonctionner plus rapidement, à générer plus de cohésion et à poser moins de problèmes. Malgré l'hétérogénéité, en particulier lors de troubles ou de difficultés spécifiques, il peut être très utile de présenter différentes alternatives comportementales.

4. fermé et ouvert

Dans les groupes fermés, les personnes qui participent à la création du groupe sont également présentes à la fin, tandis que dans les groupes ouverts, les membres varient dans une plus grande mesure , généralement parce qu’ils restent actifs plus longtemps.

Les groupes fermés génèrent une plus grande cohésion mais sont plus vulnérables au départ des membres.Les groupes ouverts sont appliqués, par exemple, dans les hôpitaux psychiatriques et dans des associations telles que les Alcooliques anonymes.

  • Vous êtes peut-être intéressé par: "La thérapie systémique: qu'est-ce que c'est et sur quels principes est-elle basée?"

Phases de la thérapie de groupe

Dans cette section, nous allons décrire les quatre phases de la thérapie de groupe selon Gerald Corey . Bien que d'autres auteurs parlent de différentes phases, la plupart des classifications des étapes du processus de groupe convergent vers les aspects clés.

1. Phase initiale ou d'orientation

Dans la phase d’orientation, la tâche principale du thérapeute est établir la confiance des membres du groupe vers lui et vers le reste des participants. Les normes, à la fois explicites et implicites, doivent également être claires. Il y a souvent un conflit entre les besoins d'autonomie et ceux d'appartenance au groupe.

2. Étape de transition

Après la phase initiale, il est possible que les membres ont des doutes sur les avantages qu’ils peuvent retirer du groupe, ainsi que sur la peur de l’exposition. Il est fréquent que des conflits apparaissent entre membres et que l’autorité du thérapeute soit mise en cause.

3. Stade de travail

Selon Corey, dans la phase de travail, il existe une cohésion entre les participants dès le résoudre des problèmes et des conflits spécifiques qui se posent dans le groupe lui-même. Le thérapeute peut défier les membres afin de progresser vers des objectifs thérapeutiques.

4. Phase finale ou de consolidation

En phase de consolidation, un récapitulation des progrès réalisés par les membres , qui vise à intégrer l'expérience de la thérapie de groupe dans la vie quotidienne.

Les participants peuvent ressentir de la tristesse et de la peur de faire face à de nouvelles difficultés sans l'aide de leurs collègues et du thérapeute. Il est donc conseillé de bien préparer la finalisation et de planifier des sessions de suivi, si nécessaire.


Les mots du conflit - Charles Rojzman à TEDxVaugirardRoad 2013 (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes